X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

City Circus Athens Reviews

16 Sarri street, Athens, Greece

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
1283 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

I don't understand why you would have hostel rooms set up like hotel rooms where you need a key card in the wall to power the lights. When sharing with strangers this is a minor but frequent source of annoyance. Would also be better if everyone had their own bed side power sockets too. Otherwise seems like a pretty good hostel.


60%

This may have been because early February is not the busiest time of year, but the hostel was almost entirely lacking in atmosphere. The incorporation of the hostel into a rather nice looking and expensive restaurant was just weird and the common areas weren't well set up. This is a hostel where you would feel perfectly comfortable coming as a family with young children, and any hostel like that is simply not worth staying at.


100%

helpful staff and good arrangement of lounges


97%

Only thing I would improve is giving each bed in the dorms access to a powerpoint at bed level, and a light a bed level, to increase privacy and reduce disturbance by others in the room


94%

Best hostel I've ever stayed in by far, so clean, amazing beds and so so clean, it almost feels like a hotel. I didn't bump into many people there overall which might be difficult for lone travellers (may also be the time of the year I stayed here though) however I did ultimately meet some really cool people.


89%

Easily one of the best hostels you could stay at. Felt more like a cheap hotel! Lovely staff always willing to help. Easy access to anything you'd like to see in the city as it's walking distance from the train station. Haven't got a bad word to say and would definitely recommend to anybody.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

wonderful location.......nice dorm......highly recommend this one


83%

It was good night's stay! The staff was very accommodating with recommending what to see and for our early morning departure.


97%

Very good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you :)

100%

After staying in hostels on 5 continents, this is my absolute favorite hostel ever! The consistent cleanliness, friendly staff, comfortable beds and awesome breakfast is why every time I come to Athens, this is where I end up! There is a particular staff member by the name of Tiziana who I would like to mention. Tiziana is very approachable and she brings a warm and positive attitude to this place; she is a pleasure to speak with and is very knowledgeable about Athens and about Greece. Thank you

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your nice review, we will pass your kind words on Tiziana! It was a surprise to see you here again after so long time, we hope you'll keep coming more often since now on :) Take care! City Circus

89%

this hostel is totally amazing. everything was nice and one of the best hostel i ever stayed. keep rocking! :)

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for sharing your impressions here.We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We promise will try keep rocking and you promise you'll return to check upon us! Kind regards, City Circus

97%

Very nice place, beautiful design in the lobby, restaurant. It may improve putting more electric plugs in the rooms. Great service and staff.

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and the suggestion, we will definitely take it into consideration and see what we can do about it! We hope will have a chance to host you here again! City Circus

94%

Our ferry to Hydra was cancelled one day and the staff was incredible at helping us cancel our hotel, rebook at the hostel, and find more things to do in Athens! It was incredibly kind. This hostel wasn't that social in my opinion, so if you are looking for more of a party hostel I'm not sure if this is it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear City Circus guest, thank you for your kind words. You see, sometimes a ferry strike doesn't necessarily mean a bad thing, at least you had time to discover Athens and the surrounding area :) You are right, we are not a party hostel but we still try to connect people through our evening activities such as wine tasting, happy hour, bar crawl or movie nights and we can say that, so far, successfully. We wish you a lot of great travels in the future and hopefully you'll pass from City Circus at least once again! Best, City Circus

97%

Staff was nice. Restaurant next door/within same building. Beds and bathroom were nice. Didn't have outlets at each bed. Location was good, restaurants and bars really close. Wifi didn't work well for me, but seemed to work well for everyone else. Nice common area. I recommend this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you here in near future. Kind regards, City Circus

100%

friendly staff, nice atmosphere, good breakfast, rooftop terrace views, extremely clean!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your nice words! We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and we hope we'll see you here again! City Circus

94%

This hostel was great. Big beds with very nice mattresses, very helpful staff, nice breakfast and a good location to visit the city and to go out at night. I would definitely stay here again.


97%

Overall my experience here was very good. Good atmosphere, and I met great people here, so if you are a solo traveler, this is an excellent option. The staff was very knowledgeable, and were able to answer all of my questions. The facilities are great, and this hostel is attached to a restaurant. Highly recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your experiences with us! We are really delighted to hear that you'd had a great time here. Your words are really motivating and rewarding! We hope you'll meet a lot of new places and people tin this year too and come back to us, we'll be always happy to see you around. City Circus

97%

Nice facility, very clean. Facilities Good only because there was only one toilet and shower in our 8-bed room, less than an ideal ratio.


97%

Very Close to the all the Archaeological sites, Lively streets around


89%

The double bed superior room is excellent. The facilities are very modern, colourful and vintage-like. And the staff were helpful! minus: For breakfast they only had bread, eggs, cheese, coffee, juice and jam. We have visited other hostels abroad and they had scrambled eggs, or toasts, croissants etc. These would be a good addition. Also the last night, the water was cold. The staff couldn't fix this issue, but when we checked out they refunded us 40eur. We'll definitely go there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Nikolaos, Thank you for your review. We serve breakfast which is fresh and healthy with enough things to provide you with energy till the lunch. We are sorry if it wasn't the same as in other hostels but it wasn't the goal after all. As of the water, some problems are beyond our fixing skills, especially if it is 3am in the morning. We were really sad about it and that's why we decided to refund you. We hope next time you will enjoy your stay uninterrupted. Happy New Year, City Circus

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(123 results)


View all Athens Hostels

Please give us your feedback