Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

City Garden Lodge Reviews

25 St Georges Bay Road, Parnell, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained


338 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 30%Atmosphere
  • 50%Cleanliness
  • 40%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Our room (double ensuite) looked over the courtyard and there was a group of kids talking loudly until 1:30a.


the hostel should ask the backpacket to keep your rooms cleaned and organized, because some people don't like to sleep in a mess.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

My stay at the City Garden Lodge was very pleasant. The hostel is nice, quite spacious rooms and the atmosphere of the house is nice, it is an old villa, with a large garden around it. The kitchen is fine too, all the things you need are there, clean teatowels, good knives etc. And at night it is quiet. The area of Parnell is a very good area of Auckland to stay in, like a small village in the city. Buses etc are close. The only thing is that a bigger supermarket is pretty far away.


Full of noisy Germans who were talking loudly & drinking outside our window well after the outdoor area was supposed to be closed. Also German family who's child was noisy outside very early in the morning. We didn't sleep well the first night and wanted to move to another hostel but they would not refund our second night.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


A good fun hostel. Worth every penny.


Nice hostel with garden in beautiful suburb. On the downside, we had only one bedside lamp working, the other one and the main light did not work. Also, the information that the hostel put on hostelworld.com about the airport shuttle prices was outdated so that was not a nice surprise to have to pay 11 dollars more than anticipated. Hope this will be fixed soon.


Little bit pricey compared to the hostels in the CBD but it is worth the few extra dollars. The atmosphere is good, with many areas to relax (including a garden) and meet people. The neighbourhood of Parnell is chilled.


Not the hostel I would recommend. Location is nice - a little way from the center, but easy to drive to and easy to find. The house itself is old and beautiful (but has seen better days). And they have single rooms, which is a bonus! BUT: the room was SO dirty,it stank like someone's dirty feet (trust me, not mine), it was so unpleasant, I wanted to avoid spending an extra minute there. Kitchen is filthy, full of flies. Also NO parking!! You just hope you find a place along a very narrow street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Ekaterina Thank you for staying in city garden lodge. I am very sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay here. We try our best to keep the lodge clean & tidy. Iam not sure what was stinking in the room. We checked the room & we could not smell any thing wierd. The kitchen is cleaned at least 5 times a day. Regarding the car parking we can park up to 6 cars in our drive way & also all the street car parking is free & has no time limit. We will try & work harder to keep the lodge clean.


Very nice place, not too big, so it's also not to crowded. Staff are considerate and clean the place every day. We had our oun mini fridge and balcony in the bedroom, both very useful. Had a great time in this hostel, would definitely came back.

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


really cozy place! great relaxed atmosphere and lots of common areas that invite talking to other travelers, indoor and outdoor. feels like something between a hostel and a bigger homestay. i've walked there from the ferry (uphill) - it's possible but better to just catch one of the frequent buses. no free wifi (as almost everywhere in NZ) and very few showers. the area isnt very close to the center, but the church and esp the park nearby are worth a visit and everything's pretty walkable.


the place was ok


Great location, staff helpful, all ages welcome, interesting older home with lots of amenities and transportation nearby.


I was very happy that I had chosen City Garden Lodge for the start of my tour of New Zealand, North Island. My initial stay was for 3 nights, but being more than satisfied, I returned for a further night and then returned for a further 2 nights - a testiment to the Lodge. The ambience was extremely relaxing and the staff most helpful. They run a good establishment.

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


After spending a week in another hostel in Auckland (Oaklands Lodge) the City Garden Lodge was a bit disappointing. It was a bit unclean and there were so many people using the kitchen and toilets, because in addition to the guests sleeping in the hostel they were official guest sleeping in tents, in caravans provided by the hostel or in their own camper vans. To say something good: The hostel has a nice living room with very cozy sofas. In the end it is ok to stay here, but not much more.


check in girl was smokin' hot


Hostel is located in a suburb about 20 min walk from Auckland CBD, which means it's quiet and peaceful. There's a ~15 min walk to the supermarket. Our room (double) was really nice and spacious. Bathrooms were pretty small but clean and sufficient for us, no more, no less. The staff is excellent and really nice. The kitchen is a little bit small during lunch hours because there's so many people trying to use it at once, but just wait 15 min and it'll be allright. Overall a good hostel!


This was one of the most soulless hostels I've ever stayed in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I have no idea what should be my response on this. This is not a party hostel & we do not have any television in the lodge so guests can talk to each other & most of them welcome this. We keep the lodge very clean & we try our best to help the guest to make their stay comfortable.


Massive sprawling old house means a long walk to limited shared bathrooms. Big communal areas and lots of outdoor space. Terrible wifi, couldn't get it in the room and rarely able to connect in the communal areas. Staff were nice.


The property isn't bad, would need some maintenance though. We stayed in a 3 person dorm. The light bulbs in the reading lights didn't work, there were only 2 outlets in the whole room, the beds were really old and not comfortable. The upstairs showers were disgusting, the downstairs ones were alright. Weird bathroom situation. The kitchen is pretty small considering the amount of people. 200 mb wifi are free, the internet didn't always work, the prices for wifi are ridiculous. Common area's ok.

  • 28th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Good hostel, clean comfortable, would certainly stay there again.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(235 results)

View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback