X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

City Guesthouse Reviews

306 Wellesley st E, Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
102 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

20min from downtown, you can easily use public transportation from that location. People are welcoming and ready to help. I recommend that place

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Quiet. Just off the main street. Easy to get to and bike friendly. Old, but clean. Cable TV in the room was nice.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location, very friendly staff and comfortable bedrooms! We had a very good time.


97%

very nice hostel, 10 min walk to the subway!


49%

The City Guesthouse was disappointing. For the amenities (or lack of them) it seemed to me to be too expensive. The bathroom could have used some cleaning in spots and we needed to ask repeatedly for towels. The host greeted us promptly but was otherwise difficult to find. The room in which e stayed was rather unattractive and only cooled by a small portable fan. Since the weather was warm and humid, this made for a less than comfortable stay.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kind of strange about your comments about not seeing the staff when you saw us more than half a dozen times you were here as we tried to guide you with the parking so your car would not get towed or get a ticket. Also it appears you have not looked across Toronto and the prices downtown. We feel when people have crossed a certain age it is best they dig deep into thier pocket, pay some more and stay in a hotel.

89%

- A great (!) deal given the price (many good things could be highlighted here...) - HOWEVER, the hotel/guest house needs to make sure that its address in Google Maps and all sorts of booking websites be corrected!!! The wrong address shows up EVERYWHERE. It's not fun to show up at the wrong place, just to be told that the hotel/guest house changed location a few years ago. And no, you typically do not expect several websites to agree on an outdated, wrong address.


100%

Great location and the owner was such a friendly and helpful gentleman.


66%

The house has so much potential, it's a beautiful area. The staff who received us was nice, but the rooms and bathroom desperatly need to be dusted and cleaned better, and on a much more regular basis.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

I was definitely not the first one who slept on the sheet of my bed. but apart from basic cleanliness the hostel was secure and cosy. Its location is very good. The manager was friendly and helpful.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I loved this guesthouse! The staff were very helpful, the room was very nice and the kitchen was well equipped. It felt as staying at someones home. Would definitely stay here again!




View all Toronto Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback