Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

City Guesthouse Reviews

306 Wellesley st E, Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained


104 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The owner is a very kind people and provides many useful information


20min from downtown, you can easily use public transportation from that location. People are welcoming and ready to help. I recommend that place

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Quiet. Just off the main street. Easy to get to and bike friendly. Old, but clean. Cable TV in the room was nice.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


Great location, very friendly staff and comfortable bedrooms! We had a very good time.


very nice hostel, 10 min walk to the subway!


The City Guesthouse was disappointing. For the amenities (or lack of them) it seemed to me to be too expensive. The bathroom could have used some cleaning in spots and we needed to ask repeatedly for towels. The host greeted us promptly but was otherwise difficult to find. The room in which e stayed was rather unattractive and only cooled by a small portable fan. Since the weather was warm and humid, this made for a less than comfortable stay.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kind of strange about your comments about not seeing the staff when you saw us more than half a dozen times you were here as we tried to guide you with the parking so your car would not get towed or get a ticket. Also it appears you have not looked across Toronto and the prices downtown. We feel when people have crossed a certain age it is best they dig deep into thier pocket, pay some more and stay in a hotel.


- A great (!) deal given the price (many good things could be highlighted here...) - HOWEVER, the hotel/guest house needs to make sure that its address in Google Maps and all sorts of booking websites be corrected!!! The wrong address shows up EVERYWHERE. It's not fun to show up at the wrong place, just to be told that the hotel/guest house changed location a few years ago. And no, you typically do not expect several websites to agree on an outdated, wrong address.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

Great location and the owner was such a friendly and helpful gentleman.


The house has so much potential, it's a beautiful area. The staff who received us was nice, but the rooms and bathroom desperatly need to be dusted and cleaned better, and on a much more regular basis.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


I was definitely not the first one who slept on the sheet of my bed. but apart from basic cleanliness the hostel was secure and cosy. Its location is very good. The manager was friendly and helpful.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


I loved this guesthouse! The staff were very helpful, the room was very nice and the kitchen was well equipped. It felt as staying at someones home. Would definitely stay here again!


Better than any hotel I wholeheartedly recommend this guesthouse. Excellent location, very helpful staff, super comfortable bed, extravagant bathroom, all in a beautiful setting. Supreme luxury for very low price. Would not hesitate to stay again.


The owners were very kind and completely at disposal at any time in order to meet any need and give useful information. Nice position quite neighbourhood, really a great value for money


The hostel is located very close to Bus 94's Wellesley and Parliament's stop. It is very close to several South Asian restaurants, four convenience stores (including one specializing in South Asian foods), and a super market (Basic Foods). The hostel is in an old, charming Victorian house, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The kitchen is well equipped and can be used for all meals. It is an excellent value for the money and highly recommended.


Loved it! We have stayed here for the past 3 years and will continue to stay in the future !


The manager was amazing and so helpful and very friendly, he try's to help you as much as he can. Would stay again, it's a good 20 minute walk into town, but so many shops are close by for food etc only 2 minute walk. Bus stop only 2 minute walk too!!


I was very satisfied with that Guesthouse. Personnel was very friendly - showed directions and bus lines, gave advice for food, ... I was there in February and it was very cold, but still had warm water all the time, what is definitely not like that in every hostel. There was also a TV and a wardrobe available. Only one negative point has to be added: there are little sockets which can be easily improved by leaving one distributor in the room. In general - I would stay there again.


Very familiar place to stay, the owner is very friendly and tries to help as much as possible. Its not in the center, but there are places to eat and shop around and there are buses to downtown. The rooms are good. Its not the cleanest place but it was oke! We enjoyed it!


Not worth it. I'd avoid if possible.


Great price and helpful owner

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(66 results)

View all Toronto Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback