Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City Hostel Geneva

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 3210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 3210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • stephnewman90
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2017
10.0

Helpful friendly staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mbrix456
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
9.1

The hostel was super nice, short walk from the train station. The reception was super helpful for popular places in the area and also included the tram and bus pass for the area. The bunks were clean and provided towels and sheets with really nice and clean rooms!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stephencorps1441
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
7th Aug 2017
8.3

A good hostel that has everything you need and very close to the main train station. Staff are helpful and I like the fact each floor has its own kitchen so it's easier to cook for yourself when you want.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
10.0

I was very impressed by everything this hostel had to offer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2017
5.4

As stated in a few other reviews- they charge just under 10 euros to do laundry. And the dryer doesn't work. Had my clothes in there for just shy of three hours and they were still wet. The staff acted like Me and everyone else that asked anything were being bothered at home instead of doing their jobs. Also there were a ton of shady characters hanging around and staying there, not a normal hostel crowd. Wouldn't want lone young or female friends to stay there. Seemed unsafe. Also far from stuff

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Aug 2017
8.9

Great location and facilities were good however the room was very hot through the day and at night. There was a fan in the room but this didn't help with the heat. Other than the heat, a really lovely hostel :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
8.9

City Hostel is the ideal place for accommodation if you are arriving and departing from Geneva main train station especially if you arrive late in the evening as the hostel is less than ten minutes walk from the station. City Hostel is also not too far from Lake Geneva and Geneva Old Town. There is a tram route in the main road close to City Hostel that takes you in that direction. The single bedroom I was offered was spacious and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2017
8.6

Nice hostel, providing everything you'd expect. Geneva is expensive in general but this place is a good value. Location was easy enough to walk to most places and everything seemed clean and secure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
9.4

The best hostel I stayed in Switzerland. Very helpful staff and great location. My only complaint was being separated from my friend who I was traveling with, as they were unable to accommodate for us to stay in the same room (even though we booked at the same time). lesson learned, book together if you want to stay in the same room. Otherwise great stay, and bring a padlock if you have one- they have many lockers to store your luggage before/ after your stay (or can rent a lock for 10 CHF).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2017
8.0

Staff was mixed, always helpful but seemed a little annoyed at times with being bothered. For example, the clothes dyer was not drying my clothes. They kept saying I hadn't put in the right amount of money or hadn't used the proper settings. I spent 22 franks (about $25 USD) to get a single load of clothes dry because I was leaving. They did not refund my money or even put a sign on the broken machine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.