Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City Hostel Geneva

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2,802 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2,802 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1
City Hostel Geneva Located at 2 rue Ferrier, 1202 Geneva, Geneva.
City Hostel Geneva
Switzerland
Geneva 2 rue Ferrier,, 1202 Geneva,
84% 2802
46.2147932 6.1459493
City Hostel Geneva
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Aug 2016
8.6

Pros: great location (8 min walk from train station and 15 min from old town), friendly staff, wifi works great, cute decorated bathrooms, free towel, free locker (though not locked) Cons: vibe was just ok (mix of older/middle aged people with younger people), showers are dark and cramped

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
8.3

The location was perfect, it was a 5-10 minute walk from Gare Cornavin and many transport links such as trams and buses were outside the station too. It was also next to LIDL for cheap shopping but also had some restaurants close by so was a good mix. In terms of security, i was given a card to enter the building and my room but the reception isn't directly in front of the main entrance which means it might be difficult to see who enters. Staff were lovely and accommodating and willing to help

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
8.3

Very friendly receptionists who can speak different languages make you feel relaxed soon as you arrive. Was given a map of the city on arrival and they spent time telling me the best tourist attractions. Also receive a transport card on arrival to use all the public transport in Geneva for free during course of stay. Geneva is very expensive city so considering that, the price of the hostel is very good value and just a small walk to Lake, United Nations, boats for old City and train to airport

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
8.9

The bedroom was incredibly warm, though staff did provide us with a fan to try to cool it down. I was very impressed with the bathrooms, including very clean showers and toilets and a hairdryer! That was a welcomed addition since I was flying straight to work in the morning. It was also nice to get the card for free travel around Geneva for the day. I would stay here again if traveling through Geneva and need a place close to the train/bus station before departing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
4.9

I booked a room with my brother but unfortunately the day before our stay, he fell ill. I tried to call the hostel but nobody picked up our calls so I sent them an email. While I waited for their response, I called the company Hostelworld and they told me they would refund me the money. However, the hostel finally replied to my email saying that if they didn't resell the room I would be charged. They didn't want to understand that my brother wasn't able to make the trip and they still charged me

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
7.7

Located just down the road from the main train station. Very clean and very secure. Had a private double, it was quite a small space but it was a comfortable place to sleep at the end of the day. 2 things to note... The email they send claims that you can check in until 1:30am, however the sign on the door says 12:00am. Don't show up too late. Secondly, there is a laundry business across the street that makes tons of very loud noise starting at about 5am. Good for early risers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.6

Close to everything which is handy, staff were lovely but weird vibe

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
9.1

The only negative thing rooms are very hot and small, so if you can not stand heat staying in fully booked room might be a problem.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2016
6.9

Pretty soulless hostel but it's near the important things (station, lake, attractions, restaurants). They lock the kitchen between about 11pm and 7am which is mildly annoying if you have an early flight and you want to store stuff in the fridge and then retrieve it the next morning before 7!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
8.9

Excellent location...good value for money...They provide luggage storage facility free of charge for 13hrs...They also sale watches, Swiss knives, Chocolates at offer price...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.