Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City Hostel Geneva

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2,831 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2,831 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1
City Hostel Geneva Located at 2 rue Ferrier, 1202 Geneva, Geneva.
City Hostel Geneva
Switzerland
Geneva 2 rue Ferrier,, 1202 Geneva,
84% 2831
46.2147932 6.1459493
City Hostel Geneva
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Sep 2016
7.7

Our room had two single beds instead of a double bed, which is a bit lame for couples, and was very small, wouldn't fit in a lot of luggage (we had two light carry on bags). The room had a sink, towels, soap, and shampoo/shower gel, which was great. Wifi was weak and kept dropping. You can borrow padlocks and adaptors for a 10chf deposit - very convenient. We also got a transport pass during our stay! But you get kicked out at 10am promptly, which is very inconvenient after a night out.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
6.9

This is definitely not a warm hostel. It is a hotel style hostel. If you are looking for a warm hostel where people share their travel story, this is not a right place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
5.7

The security and location at the hostel are decent; close to the main train station. When we first arrived it was directly after cleaning so the hallways smelled good. Immediately upon opening our room door that changed, our room smelled like mustly old bananas mixed with intense body odor. It was hard not to gag walking in. In addition, one of the provided blankets was very stained. As the day progressed each hallway developed its own strong odor. Not worth the money, would not recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 43 reviews
9th Sep 2016
9.7

5 mins from train station, with geneva tourist card easy access to different area. every floor has kitchen & recycle bins.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Sep 2016
10.0

clean very callm very friendly, had a great stay Overall thank you for great Service to personall. Best regards

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
7.1

Asked staff to fill soap in bathroom 1 day before but was not replaced. One guy on reception ( not the Italian one) seemed not to care. Kitchen is very basic and does not have enough cutlery. Location near supermarkets and station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2016
10.0

Good location, clean, pleasant, value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Afyfe85
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
5.4

Location is good, short walk from the train station and there's plenty of shops and restaurants around including a really good cafe on the corner. The hostel isn't great though. Tiny rooms, fridges in kitchens have locked compartments (more annoying than practical), pretty standard shared bathroom setup but there's practically no atmosphere here. Nothing more than a stop-gap if you're flying into/from Geneva airport. WiFi wasn't working at all which is a huge negative when you're travelling.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
9.1

Clean hostel in a good location with useful tourist information and friendly staff. Wifi a bit slow and the kitchen was tiny but I think there was one kitchen on each floor. We had booked a three bed dorm to save money but were given a double private room when we checked in for no extra cost which was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th Aug 2016
7.4

I was basically only here to sleep in between traveling, so it does it's job. No social aspect, which was fine as I was just passing through. It's very close walk from the main Geneva train station, so that was good for me. Not sure of the location in reference to other things in Geneva. Only downside was the HEAT in the rooms. No air-con, so my room was absolutely boiling- 30+. There was a rotating fan, however I was on the top bunk so didn't feel it at all. Was very hard to sleep in the heat.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.