Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 328 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 328 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.0
City Hostel Located at St. Tome Arsovski nu.6, Address 2 :, Skopje.
City Hostel
Macedonia
Skopje 1000 St. Tome Arsovski nu.6, Address 2 :
74% 328
41.9854297 21.4319872
City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Sep 2016
5.4

Staff are keen and helpful, which somehow helps to create a relatively good atmosphere, and the garden outside is OK. As for the rest? There seems to be a serious issue with mould, and general hygiene, absolutely everywhere. The beds are adorned with spider webs, and the showers smell. The security in the main building is OK, but the dorms in the building next door are literally open to the streets. And no lockers either. Distance to the centre isn't too short or friendly, but it's doable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Aug 2016
8.3

The man that owns the hostel is so lovely and accommodating! I felt very safe during my stay and the hostel has a very pleasant atmosphere! The hostel is about 20 minutes walk from the centre of Skopje and 25 to the main bus station. The place could do with a refurbishment perhaps but this didn't make my stay any less enjoyable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • dianekaroui2973
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Aug 2016
9.7

I was away for 3 weeks and out of the six hostels I stayed in the City Hostel stood out. When I first arrived I was slightly perturbed as my room led into the kitchen and a public space where people were watching the Olympic games. My concerns didn't last long as I soon discovered that the other guests were really sociable. There were a group of men from Serbia staying there whilst in Skopja for work and their presence contrasted nicely to the usual tourist. Bobby, the owner is really helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
7.1

The hostel is not situated close to the city and any guests would need to take a bus or taxi to get there. The staff are really helpful and make you feel at ease as soon as you arrive. The hostel is real value for money and the cleaning is always done to a high standard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • obwardle9503
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
12th Jul 2016
7.1

Tasty family run hostel in Skopje. Decent 20+ minute walk to the centre of the city. Rooms are tight but the place is neat and tidy and there is a great outdoor area for socialising with other travellers, of which there are surprisingly many. Owner is friendly and incredibly helpful, and will offer up the occasional rakija or wine in the evening too. Facilities aren't great but manageable, bathrooms aren't in amazing shape either. Well worth the price though, perfectly cheap. Would come back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • kirra
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
8.6

Not super secure, no lockers and the gate was never locked when I walked through, but there was always staff watching. Considering the price it was good value for money, but the bathroom was quite old, and the bunk beds low so if you had a bottom you'd hit your head trying to get in and out. The man working was very nice, gave me a map immediately and wished me well when I left. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
28th Jun 2016
8.0

Fine hostel, staff is helpful in everything you need.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sarahbraam08
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
25th Jun 2016
6.3

The owner is super nice and helpful, not the most secure hostel but felt safe enough :) 20 minute walk from town. Bathrooms and kitchen could do with an extra good clean :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2016
10.0

BEST STAY EVER in a hostel ! Bobby, the owner, is a great man, we spent our evenings talking and drinking some nice rakia with him & the other travelers. We've never met a man that generous and nice. He is very knowledgeable about his country and it was a real pleasure to listen to him. He gave some advices about the places to visit & things to see. I definitively recommend the City Hostel if you have the chance to visit Skopje ! I know I'll come back ! Cheers !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
9.4

Paradní hostel s ještě lepším majitelem a jeho úžasná rakia doporučuji

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.