Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.1
City Hostel Located at 8 Gower Street, , St. John's.
City Hostel
Canada
St. John's NF A1C 1N1 8 Gower Street
81% 208
47.5707352 -52.7024459
City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sarachan0260
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.1

We had such a great time at this hostel! Loved the staff, loved the fellow residents, and the location was the best part. 10 minute walk from everything (including signal hill, duck worth street restaurants, st. George st bars) and so easy to get to. Sure, it could've been a bit cleaner (a few dead bugs in the room and occasionally no hand soap in the washroom) but the price for this location is key.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
7.1

good location, lots of volunteer staff who were new the area so limited local insight but pleasant and helpful with checking in and orientation to the hostel. I might suggest they get rid of the green carpet, it harbors odors and gives the place a dingy feel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
3.7

This place doesn't seem to try or care because they're the only hostel in town and you're stuck with them. The staff was never around and impossible to find. When you could find them they were unknowledgeable about the hostel or St. John's. The place is dirty and disorganized. The kitchen is particularly gross. The door is left open all day, even while staff are nowhere to be found. The rooms are barren and not in a minimalistic way but a they-could-care-less way. Only pro? The location is g

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
8.6

Had a great stay in St. John's and met some really great people in the hostel! Would stay again for sure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
8.9

Staff were very friendly and super generous. Had a blast staying here. Would recommend to all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
9.4

good location...very clean bathrooms and showers. A++ Also has a bathtub. Kitchen facilities clean although small. Pretty standard rooms. Friendly staff. Nice atmosphere, although a bit small.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
10.0

I can't say enough about my visit to St. John's. The hostel was awesome, the staff helped me with any question I had. They gave me tips on what I wanted to see, how to get there and pointed me to another hostel in Bonavista. I stayed there foe 2 days, and I owe that excellent experience to the staff at 8 Gower St. I highly recommend this location to anyone. Great people, in the right place makes for a great experience. Thanks Staff and 8 Gower for making my stay and my experience excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
5.7

The staff was very friendly when I got there but when I left the girl pretended to call a cab for me to go to the airport but didn't. I waited 25 minutes then I knew something was wrong and the girl wasn't at the office anymore to ask her so I call a cab myself, it got there in 2 minutes. The laundry room is always very busy for the hostel's laundry. The bathroom were often without toilet paper and not kept very clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
9.1

Had a really nice time in Saint John's staying at the City Hostel. The location was perfect for both going downtown and heading up to Signal Hill. It was basically within walkable distance from all tourist attractions that you will want to visit (save Cape Spear which requires a car). The staff were all very friendly and gave us helpful tips on where to go and what to do. There are lockers outside the rooms to store your things if you want. The wifi worked very well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.