Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 232 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 10.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 232 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 10.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th May 2017
9.7

Solo traveller in a private room with ensuite bathroom. It was quiet with good facilities. Prior to my stay, Dave a star really helpful answering all my questions. I would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
9.7

I loved my stay at the St Johns City Hostel. The facility is very clean and has friendly staff. They have Hot Water and great showers. We all know that is a bonus in hostels. The location is totally amazing. It is walking distance to some of the main attractions like Signal Hill and the Waterfront/Duckworth. The transit is right around the corner. I would recommend it to anyone staying in the St Johns area. A small issue is that it does not provide breakfast and the kitchen is small.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
10.0

I loved my stay! The area is conviennent. The staff were friendly, funny and very helpful. I felt safe there and the atmosphere was amazing! I met some great people and even made some friends. I would highly recommend this lovely hostel to anyone. I hope to come back again some day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • grhamer54318
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
10.0

A friend & I shared a room with ensuite finding it very good for our needs. The hostel had a very pleasant & friendly atmosphere & the staff very helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2017
8.9

Good location, good staff, good craic :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
9.7

Excellent location, walking distance to shops and restaurants downtown. Friendly staff. The pillow was a bit lumpy, the mattress was quite worn/thin so that I could feel the springs, and the blanket was a bit too thin for the coldness that is St. John's (0 degrees out) so I didn't get a great night's sleep, but I was only there for one night. The hostel itself is a nice clean quiet place in a large lovely jellybean house.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
8.3

Location was close to downtown and historic sites of the city. Rooms and bathrooms were clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
9.7

Excellent location . Central to Duckworth Street and Water Street shops and restaurants . Close enough to George St bars to walk to but far enough away . Walking down Gower St is easy and scenic . You can take advantage of the kitchen at the hostel . Short walk to pick up groceries / snacks . Great staff at Gower St . Having a laundry facility at the hostel was a major help after Air Canada lost my bag . My 3 days of clothes in my backpack became the only clothes that I had or needed .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.