Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.1
City Hostel Located at 8 Gower Street, , St. John's.
City Hostel
Canada
St. John's NF A1C 1N1 8 Gower Street
79% 223
47.5707352 -52.7024459
City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
10.0

Friendly/helpful staff in a very clean environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
9.7

I loved the staff there. Excellent location with a nice coffee shop next door. Everything was perfect and we really enjoyed our stay. We would highly recommend the hostel and wouldn't hesitate to return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
10.0

I had a great stay at the hostel. I met some very lovely travellers and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here when back next year.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tristancarroll_758145
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Aug 2016
6.6

Place was in a good location, but being the only hostel in St John's I feel like they don't need to try, as the next option is a hotel starting at CA$150. I was happy to see the hostel cats,but there is a smell that lingers through the whole place. Not a place to stay if you have cat allergies or hate cats.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
7.7

Great location within walking distance to town but away from the noise. Staff were very friendly and acted as great hosts by providing tips for what to see and do downtown. I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • sarachan0260
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.1

We had such a great time at this hostel! Loved the staff, loved the fellow residents, and the location was the best part. 10 minute walk from everything (including signal hill, duck worth street restaurants, st. George st bars) and so easy to get to. Sure, it could've been a bit cleaner (a few dead bugs in the room and occasionally no hand soap in the washroom) but the price for this location is key.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
7.1

good location, lots of volunteer staff who were new the area so limited local insight but pleasant and helpful with checking in and orientation to the hostel. I might suggest they get rid of the green carpet, it harbors odors and gives the place a dingy feel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
3.7

This place doesn't seem to try or care because they're the only hostel in town and you're stuck with them. The staff was never around and impossible to find. When you could find them they were unknowledgeable about the hostel or St. John's. The place is dirty and disorganized. The kitchen is particularly gross. The door is left open all day, even while staff are nowhere to be found. The rooms are barren and not in a minimalistic way but a they-could-care-less way. Only pro? The location is g

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
8.6

Had a great stay in St. John's and met some really great people in the hostel! Would stay again for sure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
8.9

Staff were very friendly and super generous. Had a blast staying here. Would recommend to all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.