X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

City Hostel Reviews

8 Gower Street, St. John's, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
164 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

I made a 3 night booking and they overbooked, so they expected me to change rooms halfway through my stay even though I booked all nights at once. They said they would fix it and let me know. On the 2nd day I came back to my room to find all of my things missing. If I had arrived 1 hour later (after office hours) I would not have been given my things, a bed, and would have missed my early flight the next day. They blamed me for this. Terrible management and both rooms stank of human sweat.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay.It is true that we had to accommodate you in a 2-bed room instead of the 4bed dorm that you had booked, you accepted this offer.We informed you that you would have to change rooms for your last night because of the booking situation and that we would most likely not be able to avoid that.On the change-day you left for the whole day,that left us no choice but to move your things in order to clean the 2-bed room in time for new guests arrivin

91%

The common room was a tad small sadly, what with the office there as well. Everyone there was extremely friendly and welcoming.


89%

Not much room when there is a full house - common room I and kitchen are quite small.


83%

The staff are extremely helpful and nice. The restroom and the bedrooms are very clean. The kitchen needs a little organization, only this!

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Good place to stay. A bit expensive for what you get, but overall very good and recommended.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Would stay here again, great location




View all St. John's Hostels

Please give us your feedback