Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City House Hostels: Old City Philly

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1710 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1710 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Apr 2017
6.6

This hostel needs some love - the ceiling is showing wear/had holes in it above my bed & the bathrooms are very small/in need of an update. Our room was cramped with 2 bunk beds and did not have a window which could be opened, making it very hot and stuff during the night. We were told to keep the door open during the night but as the light was on in the hallway, this was not the best solution. The mattresses were also uncomfortable and some (not all!) of the staff seemed disinterested at best.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2017
10.0

We had a great stay in this very clean hostel. Perfect location in the old part of the city. Excellent facilities and a special shout out to David on the front desk. He was very kind but also professional. Would recommend to both solo travellers or groups.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dekimmen8843
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
9th Apr 2017
10.0

Very positive, very friendly staff who immediately asked if i wanted to socialize in the group downstairs as i was a solo traveler. Good hostel for single travelers as the athmosphere and room downstairs encourage people to meet each other. Very good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2017
10.0

Everything is just peachy. And I'm a big fan of the No Shoes policy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
8.0

Awesome facilities in a good location. Staff were pretty laid back and helpful. No lockers in the rooms, though, and our room didn't lock. I'd likely stay there again, though, as the common room was pretty solid (Netflix, video games, kitchen)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • a_fish_called_god
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th Mar 2017
4.9

I've stayed at a lot of hostels and this one would be very low on my list. It's in a historical building with great potential but the interior is so bland it's a real missed opportunity. Every surface needs a wash and a new coat of paint and not in a cool bohemian way. Staff was weird, one guy kept asking how many in our group were single and opened our completely lockless room door on us without knocking while we were all half dressed. Obnoxiously loud Escape Room on the floor above.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
8.6

This hostel was wonderful! The location was fantastic. The staff was very friendly. They have a large room downstairs for socializing, stocked with a tv, some games, musical instruments, etc. which looked very fun. I was surprised that there was no shampoo or soap for the showers. All the other hostels I've stayed in usually have these items in the shower. It was also hard to find the front door to enter the hostel. It would be nice to know before arriving that you have to ring the doorbell.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
9.4

Jason said he worked at hostel for 1 month,he lied saying check-out is 10,later said it's 11.His racial hateful aggression is obvious.I made clear I knew he was lying to begin with,he said leave,I'll open the door, I told him I want to leave & can open door myself.I went back to get forgotten charger he got in my face said he will call police I said get out my face call them,he was tough inside but didn't want to come outside. Wes & Nixon the manager, addressed everything immediately.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
9.4

Staffs are good. The reception is nice. David and another girl is great. We had inside game playing and free beer every night we stayed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2017
8.0

This hostel is very clean and things felt pretty safe. The staff was extremely friendly. One staff member named Bird gave me a bag to carry my boxed wine in and another staff member let me use her tooth paste. Its a little expensive but I would stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.