Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City House Hostels: Old City Philly

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1663 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1663 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
10.0

All the staff, especially David, were great!! Very clean and orderly, friendly and enjoyable! Jean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Feb 2017
8.9

Great staff, good atmosphere. They've got plenty of stuff to do if you fancy staying in. My only complaint really is that the room I was in was just a partition off the main reception area and the light leaked in making it difficult to sleep. Also some staff were staying in my room and what I assume was a middle of the night shift change was quite noisy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
7.4

When they mean Old City House, they mean it. Very intimate and friendly. It kind of felt like staying at a friend of a friend's house rather than a hostel. Shoes free, small rooms, small common area, overall a small hostel. I would just keep that in mind before staying here. I know some people aren't into that type of hostel atmosphere. The 8 bed shared room I stayed in was nice and clean although at night it was disgustingly hot. Awesome location, walking distance to everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
9.1

Helpful and friendly staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.1

The highlight of my stay here was how friendly and approachable the staff were. The location is good with food and sights nearby but the thing that makes this hostel is the homely feeling it gives downstairs in the common area. Would go again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
10.0

I was in the city for the night because of a long layover and for a first time going to a hostel, this was amazing. Staff is really awesome, showed me around, took good care of people and kept a good social ambiance. Really cool experience! It's too bad I had to leave so shortly, it would've been cool to get to know the people better. Anyways, awesome place. If I'm ever back in Philly,I'll be sure to hit up this place again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
9.7

Good atmosphere with friendly staff who will take the hostel out to bars on certain nights. Clean with good facilities. And in a good location near some popular tourist sites.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Best hostel in Philly, hands down. The staff is engaging and friendly creating a home like environment making all feel welcome....especially Joel Gdowski. Thanks for looking out y'all!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
8.9

This place checks off all the boxes. Steps away from the important sights in Philly. A great price. Adequate kitchen facilities. Great buzz. Approachable staff. and the place is spotless.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jan 2017
9.7

the location is great,close to everything in walking distance in old town, also very close to transportation. I really liked this hostel, the staff was very friendly and if you want to cook they have a full kitchen. They have free beers and activities every night. the only downside was the beds are hard the hall lights are always on and the walls are pretty thin so you can hear everything if you are a light sleeper like me just be prepared. dont miss out on this gem if your taveling on your own!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.