Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City House Hostels: Old City Philly

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1730 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1730 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
8.0

Good value, a bit long walk from Jefferson St. station with luggage, besides that, everything is good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
6.9

This hostel was very welcoming and clean. The rooms are comfortable - Although, one of the nights the air conditioning malfunctioned and the room was hotter than an oven. Majority of the guests didn't sleep trying to find cooler areas such as the corridors etc. The situation wasn't resolved till later in the afternoon the next day. In saying this, the staff tried to make it comfortable. The hostel is nice and staff. Although maintenance is a priority.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
8.6

Good hostel. Better than most. It's def older than its sister hostel. To be in the heart of downtown philly it's quite quiet there. My only complaint is the room was def warm. I swear the devil was drinking lemonade to cool off. Lol

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
8.6

Staff were helpful and friendly and the place felt pretty safe as it's quite small so not too many people around. The location is also great, within walking distance of everything you could want. The showers were warm and reasonably powerful but the bathrooms in general could do with a bit of modernising, also a shame about no breakfast but there was always tea and coffee available!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
10.0

It's a really nice hostel with good atmosphere!!! I wish I can come back next time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th May 2017
4.9

This place needs a lot of TLC. Some of the staff were rude to each other and made the atmosphere really awkward as a result. The bathroom was falling apart. I wouldn't recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th May 2017
10.0

Staff is cooperative indeed and they maintain a very nice and conducive atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
8.6

Overall a good, clean hostel with nice people staying there. I adjusted my reservation a few days before which confused the staff and I needed 45 minutes to convince them that they wanted to charge me too much money. After doing the maths for the manager that was alright :D I do still recommend the hostel as it's in a nice area and everybody was very friendly at all times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
6.6

This hostel needs some love - the ceiling is showing wear/had holes in it above my bed & the bathrooms are very small/in need of an update. Our room was cramped with 2 bunk beds and did not have a window which could be opened, making it very hot and stuff during the night. We were told to keep the door open during the night but as the light was on in the hallway, this was not the best solution. The mattresses were also uncomfortable and some (not all!) of the staff seemed disinterested at best.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
5.7

Overall not a very pleasant stay. Would not reccomend it. Positives: Great location Negatives: I found one person in the stuff quite rude... just looked like he was very bored by his job all the time. The way they treat travellers over there did not impress me, lacking a little more respect over here folks. The facilities are also not good. There are no lockers, very few bathrooms. Some of the staff seem to actually live there which in my view is not great considering the lack of structure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.