Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City House Hostels: Old City Philly

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1761 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1761 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jul 2017
8.0

Very cozy hostel, overall friendly staff. The wifi couldn't always handle the capacity of all guest. I felt like the bathrooms were not properly cleaned, as the staff sometimes seemed unmotivated to do so. it's a great place to meet people and relax. The hostels hosted a happy hour every night with a free beer and some games, and afterwards a pub crawl or other activity was hosted in town together with another hostel nearby. The no shoe policy seemed a bit useless to me. Overall good hostel! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2017
8.6

Very friendly and clean, with great location and powerful air con. Can get a little noisy at night but worth it for the location Would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2017
9.7

The kitchen is big and the beds comfortable! The staff is great, it's so cheap for all the things it has! We had a really good time there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2017
8.3

I enjoyed my stay and was appreciative of the quick check-in process. Facilities was kept clean and was relatively quiet. No issues to report. Would come back again as they are well located to different parts of the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
10.0

Great Hostel, would definitely recommend staying here! The location is perfect, staff are helpful, beds are comfy/clean, has a fantastic atmosphere and fantastic communal areas!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2017
10.0

Great place, easy to get to - and great 'get to know you' each evening. Staff goes out of their way to be sure that all are included, or with directions for all other options. Clean and really great place to prepare own food!! Will definitely return and highly recommend. Will most likely use their other hostels in the various cities, like DC. Kudos!! Thanks very much. Satira

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
7.4

Before booking this hostel, my cousin and I read through many of these reviews here on Hostel World and saw that overall they were all very positive. Here's a few things we can point out after visiting: - Fantastic location, friendly staff. - AC was broken or barely worked because it was VERY warm in the entire house at all times. Others told us this had been happening since before our arrival. - Bathrooms are very, very small. They could also use a little clean-up to smell better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th May 2017
8.0

Really good location for independence hall and surrounds. Nice and clean with decent showers. Good common areas but lacking in vibe and activity, so felt empty and quiet. Events occurred at the larger companion hostel. Rooms ok though got very cold in them also noise from everyone walking past in the one corridor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
9.7

Staff named Chistina is very helpful and pretty as well

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
8.0

Good value, a bit long walk from Jefferson St. station with luggage, besides that, everything is good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.