Hostelworld.com

City Public Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 2,026 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 2,026 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.1
City Public Hostel Located at Absalonsgade 8, , Copenhagen.
City Public Hostel
Denmark
Copenhagen 1658 Absalonsgade 8
77% 2026
55.6716797 12.5539183
City Public Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
5.4

just an average hostel. nothing terrible. nothing special.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jun 2016
3.7

In the site Hostelworld, it was written that this price does not include linen... Ok linen it's the sheets... So i brought mine. When I arrived, the staff said that if i wanted to have the pillow, the sheets and the duvet I would have to pay more 8€. There wasn't written on the website that the pillow wasn't included... So I questioned and he said he didn't know what website I saw.... So if you don't want to pay this 8€ you should bring everything, pillow, sheets and duvet....

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2016
6.0

I knew this place was going to be hostel-ey, and I've stayed in many hostels, but it was honestly below my expectations. The staff was a little overly sarcastic to the point of it just being rude and annoying. It's confusing where the restrooms are, one of the women's rooms the light was not working. Paying for linens is dumb. Probably the most annoying part is that the lockers don't fit just a standard gym lock, it's some weird small special lock, another place where they'll get you

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • andreapibiri8031
  • Italy, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.0

Nice place, great staff, bice atmosphere... high value, considering that is the cheapest place in Copenhagen, even though is not cheap at all

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
8.0

Be sure to Bring sheets and a towel. Staff is very friendly and willing to help anyone. Facilities are interesting, but not horrible. Most people were very quiet and respectful in the 66 person room. Outlets are an interesting situation. Still great location, friendly staff, and comparatively inexpensive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.6

Perfect location and friendly staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Jun 2016
7.1

It's the cheapest place in Copenhagen, if you have your own padlock, bedlinen (60dkk for the stay) and stuff. And for what you have, I think it's still expensive. I slept in the 66 beds dorm and hopefully people didn't make so much noise. If you have some devices to charge, you have to stay in the hall, since the electrical outlets are there. And the hall's door is open often in the day. Great point were: the two kitchens, the location and the friendly staff (but sometimes kind of annoying).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
8.0

Great hostel for the price and location. Would be nice if rooms had some sort of lock however there is luggage storage in the basement (needs more lockers) and large lockers in the rooms so it evens it out. Staff are super friendly and willing to help with anything you might need. Wifi is the best I've used at a hostel. No smoking however some guests ignored that and lit up in the backyard. Overall a great hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jun 2016
7.7

Only two complaints: the only place to charge electronics was in the common area, no where in the bedroom, and in the bedroom they had lights on all night! Although they were dim, the first night I struggled to sleep because of this, my friend on the bottom bunk slept fine though. The hostel was clean and felt safe, the staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2016
8.9

The sleeping area, kitchen and restrooms were all very clean. The showers however were a little dirty. The staff was nice and there was a huge kitchen. The Wi-Fi was very reliable as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.