Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

City Public Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 2,143 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 2,143 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.0
City Public Hostel Located at Absalonsgade 8, , Copenhagen.
City Public Hostel
Denmark
Copenhagen 1658 Absalonsgade 8
76% 2143
55.6716797 12.5539183
City Public Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
4.3

Although the staff was friendly and the hostel was in a good location, the price for the hostel did not justify the conditions. Paying almost $40 a night in no air conditioning (OR air flow in the rooms) resulted in waking up in sweats several times during the night. I can also say the same for my 2 friends who stayed there with me. Upon arrival, only 1 shower was functioning. This was fixed by the next few hours but it was horrible to deal with. will not recommend

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
6.3

Although the hostel was correct, I expected much more. The location is great, but other than that, the kitchen lacked all type of facilities, the rooms were far from clean, better not to mention the bathrooms... However the thing I liked least was the staff. I've been to a lot of hostels and hotels, and never have I been treated so badly by the staff... They didn't even say good bye! My recommendation: if possible, look for another place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Jul 2016
6.6

Wifi was good and so was kitchen. You have to cost extra to get a pillow and a blanket. The bathroom and the toilets were filthy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
7.7

Good hostel for the money considering Copenhagen is such an expensive location. However, the hostel is not particularly clean especially the shower rooms. Also, there are no electrical outlets in the dorm rooms which made it nearly impossible to keep my phone charged.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
8.6

Great and comfortable hostel, located easy walking distance from Copenhagen central. Spacious common areas and big kitchen. Plenty of toilets and showers are ok. Great grassed area out front for relaxing and a back courtyard too. Enjoyed my stay. Only gripe was that the bunk beds were too saggy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
9.4

This was the cheapest option I found in Copenhagen, and I couldn't find much to complain about! Super helpful staff 24/7. They let me use their phone charger every night when I forgot my adapter! Very clean and a friendly environment. Only "downside" was that location could have been a bit better. It was close to the town center, but on the other side of all the attractions. I had to walk through town center to get to everything else, but not bad considering how big Copenhagen is

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
8.9

Very good location as it is 10 mins walk from Copenhagen Central station. A few super market nearby to make your life easier. Facilities for showering, cooking and relaxing are really great. They could do with a few more big luggage lockers as during the weekend is busy and you cannot find any of them free. You will need a sleeping or you can rent pillow and liners from them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
8.3

The hostel is a nice place and reasonably clean with a good kitchen facilities. Staff are helpful apart from the brainless one who thrown my freshly cooked food to the bin. Some of the rooms and beds are too small and perhaps worse than the prison cells and the concentration camp and the owner should reconsider the layout and reduced the amounts of the beds in the room and understanding that the travellers are human too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
9.7

I never write reviews but j had to for this one. This hostel is absolutely amazing! Since it is a 66bedtoom form it's probably not for everyone but the atmosphere is incredible, staff are the nicest people you will meet :) Honestly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
8.0

Beds squeaky and uncomfortable. Needs updating

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.