X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

City Public Hostel Reviews

Absalonsgade 8, Copenhagen, Denmark

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1487 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

The rooms are extremely dirty and insecure. I can't believe that there is no key for the rooms! Plus, bathrooms and showers are very dirty. There is no elevator and stairs are too narrow to carry a bag. It is just not worth paying that much money for such a bad hostel. I spent only 6 hours in there but it is more than enough. Many thanks!!

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Had a good stay, keep on going!

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The security wasn't very good as really anyone could walk in despite the fact that they have a code, but everyone is just walking in and out so nobody pays attention really. But wasn't scared because its in a fine area. I'm sure nothing would happen.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The staff was great, but the security seemed lacking.


77%

Nice staff and good management, the 66 beds dorm was surprisingly nice, the kitchen is amazing, good value for your money. The only downside is that the showers and beds could be better but not a big drawback.


71%

I stayed in the giant 66 person room, and the beds were separated into cubicles of 2 bunk bed each. The environment at the hostel was great and I meet many people and went out with them. The showers aren't anything to boast about. I didn't take a shower for the two days I was there. Ick. I just couldn't bring myself to do that. Anyhow, you have to pay for the linnens for the bed. There are lockers to put your stuff right next to your bunk which felt safe to me. The staff was super fair and nice


71%

Tried the 66 bed dorm room for one night for fun. It's gross. But okay to sleep. The stuff there were awesome!


80%

At first, it took us a while to get service, but otherwise the hostel had everything you would expect from a hostel, but nothing too special.


91%

City public Hostel have been one of my greatest stay in a hostel ever. Both staff and the guests made this a place to relax, enjoy, and really get the energy to experience Copenhagen. The location of the hostel also made every trip around town a short but intresting trip. The kitchen large and well-equipped and really felt clean. The only area that could have done with some more cleaning is perhaps the toilets but also really good compared to others. Rooms good, but beds creak a lot! 96% good!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Very nice place to stay a few days, with many things near by. It has an excelent shared kitchen and good people. Just keep your important things inside the lock, and other luggage on the luggage room and security problems, shouldn't be an issue to you.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Really expensive, beds were uncomfortable and top bunks didn't have a ladder, showers were terrible and not enough, toilets needed more cleaning. However kitchen was really good. There were no codes on the doors or keys, anyone could just walk into anywhere.


80%

Sleeping in the 66 bed dorm was better than I imagined, the beds are in groups of four. I was able to sleep as well as anywhere else. The atmosphere is nice, lots of travellers and the yard has benches and grass for chilling around. Toilets and showers were dirty (especially shower room). Other than that, great value (nice location).


100%

A very nice hostel. Clean, secure, well located, and a big, well-equiped kitchen. I stayed in the bigger dorm, but it's quiet and had no problem sleeping. I'd stay there again.


83%

Cheapest in town if you choose the 66 bed dorm. Well equipped kitchen, perfect for a budget traveler.


63%

This place was terrible for 40$ a night. I had one bed in a six dorm. The room was filthy. The bunk beds felt like they were about to come apart. Linen and towels were at an extra charge. The bathroom was the worst part. It literally smelled like rotten fish. The walls of the shower were moldy. I don't think this place has received a proper deep cleaning in a long time. On the good side, the kitchen was the best part. Being able to bring your own ingredients to cook was super nice.


71%

Stayed in the 22 bed dorm. The beds are a bit noisy but overall the noise level was not too bad. Bed sheets, quilts, and such are not included which makes it possible to bring your own and save some money. It's a good hostel for your money and a good location.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

value for money

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

The location is good, which is just 10 minute of walk from the central station. The hostel doesn't accept credit card, which is a bit surprising as a hostel in a capital city. You can pay Euros, only papers are accepted... so have your Danish krone ready. The room and the bed are old. If you sleep on the lower-level bed, you can't sit with your back straight. With the bed there is no power or shelf, and you have to pay extra for sheet. The toilet and shower are a bit shabby and not clean.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

I chose this hostel because it was the cheapest option and, reading the reviews, expected it to be dull, noisy, and unfriendly, and found quite the opposite! The 66 bed dorm didn't bother me. It's worth noting that, if you choose a top bunk, you get woken up by the light early in the morning, and if you choose a bottom bunk, you are squeezing into a very tight space where even as a 5'2" woman, I would bang my head.


91%

Fantastic hostel! The atmosphere is very friendly and you meet lots of people all the time - best hostel I've been to in that regard. Also has a fantastic and new kitchen. Highly recommend this hostel.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all Copenhagen Hostels

Please give us your feedback