Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City Public Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 2,337 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 2,337 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.9
City Public Hostel Located at Absalonsgade 8, , Copenhagen.
City Public Hostel
Denmark
Copenhagen 1658 Absalonsgade 8
75% 2337
55.6716797 12.5539183
City Public Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Aug 2016
5.4

The hostel has a great location, but it was not clean (especially the shower-rooms). There was no opportunity to lock the room doors.. The linen and the lockers were for additional price - half the price of the bed itself. There were two kitchens but the people lacked dishes in both of them. The beds were inconvenient. Therefore it's too low value for that money.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
25th Aug 2016
9.1

Maybe it's because I love Copenhagen so much that I love this hostel. It is in the perfect location.You can walk to/from central station and get just about anywhere cool by bike or foot. We didn't even need to use public transportation. We were here for 5 days and met so many great people. The hostel has a big common room and people are there 24/7. The best part is the industrial sized kitchen. Everyone can cook at the same time practically. However, the fridges were very full! Overall, GREAT!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Aug 2016
8.6

This is an excellent hostel and I recommend it highly. Unfortunately it is seasonal; they have already closed their doors for 2016. Unlike other hostels I stayed at in Copenhagen, City Public Hostel was located in an interesting neighborhood (Vesterbro), close to supermarkets, shops, and the central train station. I stayed in the 22-bed dorm and it was better than many 8-bed dorms I've stayed in elsewhere. The staff are very friendly, and the common area is a great place to meet other travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
7.4

Staff wasn't the friendliest but facility was great. Large dorm room with 66 beds. Lockers per bunk. Lights out automatically between 22:00-8:00. Good location. Large kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Aug 2016
9.1

Reall really nice atmosphere and staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2016
6.9

When I first arrived there was no receptionist (he was outside smoking) then was told to pay cash only.. Got to my room and the lockers are tiny, no space to store a bag anyway so had to leave my luggage in the luggage downstairs the whole time (with lockers too small for a bag).. The showers are terrible, like being in a football change room. 3 showers and 4 toilets in the whole building just isn't enough. Beds were comfy enough, good atmosphere, but wouldn't stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
7.7

Pretty good hostel all told. The location is the best aspect: it's around a 10 minute walk to the central station and all the tourist sights, shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance. There is a big kitchen, but as the hostel is so large (one of the rooms has 66 people sleeping in it!!) there isn't that much room to hang around. Also as it's basically connected to an actual children's youth hostel there was a slightly weird blurring of boundaries. Have to pay for linen, too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
9.4

The staff was amazing. They were correct, helpful and funny.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
8.6

A very cheap deal and good for the price. However do not bring all your valuables. After I checked out I realized I left some food in the kitchen and I was able to walk right into the hostel and into any room cause few to none had sufficient locks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Aug 2016
7.7

Very safe: In the evening and at night the hostel can only be entered with a code handed out at check-in. The rooms aren't locked, but there are big lockers (bring a padlock). Central location: only 15min to City Hall and even if you end your day in Christianshavn or close to the Little Mermaid there are plenty of buses Staff: Very friendly and helpful Atmosphere: Was lacking a bit, because there have been many (big) groups of young people (

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.