X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

City Public Hostel Reviews

Absalonsgade 8, Copenhagen, Denmark

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
1776 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I stayed for only 1 night, . It was a short walk to the Copenhagen central station (in the other direction of the city centre), but I still found it to be conveniently located and easy to walk around. To enter the hostel we receive a security code, and most of the time there is someone at the front desk. Rooms were comfortable and prices average given linen must be purchased. Hostel was clean enough and wi-fi worked. Hostel was full, but not too noisy. It was a good stay.

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Terribly filthy. Showers hadn't ever been cleaned, with curtains instead of doors, nowhere to put your soap or towel or dry cloths. Nowhere to charge your phone over night, so had to get up early and sit in the common room to charge for an hour. Beds were comfortable but squeaky, which made being quiet difficult. Staff where nice though, and very helpful.


86%

Pretty good location, nearby the central station. The place is really quiet and has a garden for chatting or just chilling. The staff was friendly and really kind and helpful, the receptionist once also joined our conversation! Good value-for-money ratio. Lockers were not big enough to allow my backpack to fit in, anyway everybody left their stuff on the ground with ease (maybe just put your valuables in the locker). I would recomend this hostel.


54%

You should be more friendly with people changing rooms. The staff claimed that the beds needed to be cleaned in between 10 and 13, but yet I found a sock in between the mattress and the bed and a pair of underwear under my new bed after changing beds (inside the same dorm). Maybe add some extra toilet paper to the toilets as it tended to finish throughout the night. And locks and some additional power sockets to the rooms would be a very good idea, as well.


97%

Helpful and friendly staff, massive kitchen, great atmosphere, good location... unforgettable stay


97%

I loved the people working there, So kind and the cleaning service is always excellent! The only thing i didnt like that much was the shower room for girls. They are only 3 for the entire hostel. But for the rest, very nice!!!

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

This place is fantastic, and responsible for me staying an additional week in Copenhagen. Exceptional staff made my stay feel like I was coming back to a big family. 24 hour reception (who will usually play awesome tunes), huge kitchen with lots of fridge space. Big patio out front and back, great for spending a sunny morning chilling and chatting other travelers up. The 66 bed dorm was my favorite room - actually much quieter and cooler than the smaller rooms, and more private as well.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Large school group when I was there. Overall a good hostel. You will want to purchase the bed sheets because without them it is pretty gross.


91%

Great central location and for the price you pay you have to compromise on people checking in at 2:30am. However friendly service and strong wifi make up the rest.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice location walking distance to train station, near supermarket and restaurants. Large communal kitchen. Friendly efficient staff.


69%

In general this hostel was good. Only problem: the bunk bed (old and really noisy) and matress (too soft) were extremely uncomfortable!

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Not very clean bathrooms. Especially showerroom. In soom rooms you can just open one window a few centimeters. So it gets quiet warm and muggy. Mattresses are saggy


77%

A very good hostel! I don't really have any complains. The showers were clean, there is a well equipped kitchen, a cozy closed yard. And it is VERY cheap compared to the very central location. I will be coming back! (so sad that its only open 3 or 4 months of the year) The matresses are a little hard though.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean hostel, good wifi signal. Each bed has free locker to use, you just need your own padlock. The storage room for luggage is open all time so seems very unsafe to leave your bags there. You have to pay 10 euro more for pillow and bed sheets.


77%

About 15 minute walk from the center of town, really big kitchen and common areas so it was easy to meet people. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Didn't really like the bathrooms or showers though. The showers offered very little privacy and really no area to get dressed afterwards. The beds were very squeaky and sheets were expensive to rent. The place was cheap though, so you get what you pay for


91%

I spent a very good time in this hostel, the people here are really helpful and welcoming, all the facilities are convenient and the area is particularly interesting to go around and visit Copenhagen. The dorm in itself was quite and confortable, despite the bright light early in the morning. All in all a very good value for a fair and small price

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Each bunk had their own locker you needed a padlock for. Sleeping in the 66 bed dorm was a much better experience that I expected. Sheets cost 60dkk and I slept without them, but I can recommend them. Wi-fi worked in the whole 66 dorm and the lobby very well and was quite fast. Showers were functional and warm. Overall a great experience for cheap, one-night stay in Copenhagen.


77%

not far from the train station, excellent facilities (really neat kitchen, nice gardens). I stayed in the 66 bed dorm and it's surprisingly quiet and comfortable. they have partitions all over the place to give a good degree of privacy. no sockets inside rooms though, so you have to charge your stuff outside but who's to complain at this price?


69%

it is a very nice hostel, you can find different solution with different price and the position is very good.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

There were stolen 2 bags when I was there. That was a little bit worrying. Bigger lockers would be good or keycard to the rooms. Showers are a little bit "open". No changing possibility in the shower itself.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all Copenhagen Hostels

Please give us your feedback