Hostelworld.com

City Public Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 1,936 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 1,936 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
City Public Hostel Located at Absalonsgade 8, , Copenhagen.
City Public Hostel
Denmark
Copenhagen 1658 Absalonsgade 8
73% 1936
55.6716797 12.5539183
City Public Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Aug 2015
8.3

The 66 bed dorm is not bad at all- bring earplugs! Beds were comfortable enough and the lockers right next to the beds were a bonus. The staff is really nice, and here is always somebody around. The added cost for bedding is really expensive however. The kitchen is huge and clean, and there is tons of space inside and outside for hanging out. The wifi is fast, and it's close to the train station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Aug 2015
8.3

Some reviews make this place out to be a hell-hole but I didn't see that at all. It was actually one of the more pleasant hostel stays we've had. The showers were the only thing that needed better cleaning. The lockers in the room were a little small and our combination locks couldn't fit in the handle. Nbd though, we just used the ones in the downstairs locker room. Back courtyard was beautiful but closed at 10 pm so we just moved to the front. Location is right in the middle of Vesterbro.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Aug 2015
4.6

We arrived at the hostel at 6am. We're not welcome at all. I asked for early check-in but it was not accepted. We had to pay full night stay. And we also had to pay extra 60 DKK for pillow, blanket and bed sheet! I've never seen such thing before. Hostel staff are only taking care of money, it is not friendly at all. Other things are not more than average.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Aug 2015
4.0

Not enough showers and toilets for the amount of people staying there. Also £15 would have been a good price if you didn't have to pay another £10 each for bedding, meaning the value for money was very poor. The atmosphere was mellow.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Aug 2015
7.7

66-room is suprisingly fine, especially if - like me - you were barely ever in the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Scripted_Chicken
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Aug 2015
6.3

It's cheap for Sweden, but not for having to share a room with 59 others...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Peterkxy
  • Malaysia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
23rd Aug 2015
6.6

Good part is kitchen full of equipment. Bad part is not so safety there. I lost my wallet there. They don't provide pillow and blanket also if you dont rent it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Aug 2015
7.1

Good location with a reasonable price. Only thing that bothers me slightly is they don't provide pillow and duvet. Atmosphere is perfect and you will always have a chance to meet new friends here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2015
2.0

- no security to get into the premises or rooms - lockers too small to even fit the smallest of bags - dirty everywhere - beds so close to the top bunk you cannot sit up - huge lack of facilities, showers on a different floor to rooms and communal - maximum of two plug sockets in a 12 bed dorm, very few throughout the rest of the hostel - 25 minute walk into the centre, very little in the surrounding area We checked out after one night and found somewhere else. Avoid this place

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Aug 2015
9.1

Great place to stay- and has parking if you travel by car or motorcycle

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.