Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cityhostel Berlin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 2636 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 2636 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Apr 2017
5.7

Staff was pretty rude, I asked someone at the front desk if they "made food at the hostel" and he told me no. Twenty minutes later, I saw someone receive a pizza made by the front desk. Only the showers on the left of the bathroom have hot water, and there was a homeless man walking around the hallways asking for money at one point. Overall for 15 euros a night, it was a typical hostel experience. Some good things, some bad. If I go back to Berlin, I would choose a different place to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2017
4.6

I don't need a lot of things when traveling, but wifi is one of them. Food is another. City hostel has neither. The wifi barely works within 10 feet of the single router (located in the lobby). Zero connection in bedrooms. There is no kitchen, and the breakfast / snack offerings were substandard. The nearest cafes / restaurants are blocks away, and close early. I could overcome these issues if there was a positive atmosphere to distract from the facilities. Unfortunately, none of that either.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
7.4

Place was average. Wifi was terrible in the rooms and there was only 2 outlets for 8 beds. The receptionist when we checked in was very nice but when we checked out he was a bit rude. If you are not planning on spending much time in the hostel and you already know what all of the fun/cool things to do in Berlin then it is fine. It would have been nice to have more information on Berlin and what kinds of things you can do there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • vasn251094
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th Mar 2017
10.0

Excellent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Mar 2017
5.7

The showers basically only have curtains, so very low privacy. The toilets weren't too clean either. The room had two charging ports for 6 people! So I would not recomment this hostel, unless you just want to sleep in a bed at night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
5.1

The guy at the desk was not friendly. The rooms were also littered with what looked like mouse droppings, the bathrooms were consistently out of toilet paper and guests were walking around basically naked and loud at all hours. The atmosphere was fantastic in the lobby and lounges on the bottom floor, but the rooms felt like prison cells with two outlets for four people. Thankfully, my room mates were fantastic. You can stay at FAR better locations for slightly more money. Location is good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
6.9

Location is prime. Rooms are pretty standard. Wifi barely work, there're only 3 outlet in the dorm room for 6 people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
6.3

I wasn't happy with the stay. Especially the washrooms are pretty dirty. Most bizarre thing is to take a shower. No privacy at all. The showers were like communal. No doors, no changing rooms looks ugly. Very few washrooms for entire floor. There is definitely large scope of improvement.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
5.7

Good location to visit touristic stuff, but that's about it for this "hostel". Wifi barely works, even plugs in rooms don't work (phones need a full night to charge!) - and there's only 2 plugs for 8 beds dorms. No hostel feel due to its size, no kitchen either, have to pay for pool... I'm also a bit confused as to why a towel is provided, when shower privacy is barely met and there's not even soap in the soap dispensers in the bathrooms!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Todo excelente.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.