X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cityhostel Berlin Reviews

Glinkastr. 5-7, EGI G mbH, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1731 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Nice spacious room. Small shared bathrooms that although not massively dirty could definitely could be cleaner. No kitchen at all. Not even tea/coffee station (You can buy from vending machine in lobby) and you can buy breakfast and lunch, but you can't make anything yourself. Apart from that it was nice enough.


57%

Staff were reasonably rude and dismissive on arrival. Was not willing to help us with our questions of Berlin at all. We had a camp of school kids who made a lot of noise in the hallways right up until we left the facility at 6am. There's a lack of powerpoints in the dorm room, could only find two for 8 people to share! Bathrooms were clean but showers are pretty exposing!


100%

Excellent breakfast


83%

The hostel is nice, clean and placed in a good location. Staff is helpful and English speaking. But other visitors of the hostel were very noisy during the whole night :-(


100%

Very nice!

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

WiFi was SLOW but breakfast was SO GOOD (eggs, cereal, bread, fruit, meat, cheese, veggies, coffee, tea etc). The facility is large with an outside patio, the location is good (a lot of attractions are within walking distance), shower rooms were separate from the toilets (at least on my floor), beds were very comfortable, clientele has a generally wide age range with families thrown in the mix.


74%

Good location for walking to famous sites such as the Brandenburg Gate, Reichstag building and Checkpoint Charlie. The room was spacious and clean but the showers weren't the best- those in the toilets had a see-through panel between them and a grotty shower curtain however the ones next door were slightly better. The 1st morning we had a free breakfast however the 2nd morning the staff told us it was 5 euros for the breakfast which was ridiculous!


80%

Nice, safe hostel in a good location. Staff could have been much friendlier than they were.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for your review. It is great for us that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. We will tach our staff to be more friendly.

71%

The shower room has no privacy at all! There are glasses dividing the shower boxes and broken curtains to "keep your privacy". However, the rooms are good and big, with a great locker. We could use the luggage room before check in and after check out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello,thanks for your feedback. WE know that we have to change something in the common showers adn will do it as soon as possible. Nice that you enjoyed your stay here in our hostel aprt from this.

57%

Shabby shower and toilet. Unreasonable check in and off time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rating. Check-in from 3pm and check-out to 10am are normal in the Berlin. The quality of our communal showers we are working on and are pleased to present you at the next visit a nicer shower.

80%

Overall a nice place to stay. Helpful staff and a great location for touristy things. Less of a good location for clubbing or finding cool hangouts. Due to the huge size of this hostel, the atmosphere is more like a hotel meaning it is difficult to meet people. There are no locks or individual cubicles for showers, which means privacy is limited. Toilets could be cleaner.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rating. We have included it in our feedback session and are constantly working on the quality. Greetings from Berlin!

51%

Common bathrooms and showers where terribly dirty in the morning. I woke up around 9.pm to take the shower and it was impossible to find a clean shower.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rating. We have included it in our feedback session and are constantly working on the quality. Greetings from Berlin!

69%

The rooms are okay, but nothing special, you have to bring your own padlock with you if you want to store something in the locker. Its a little bit cold in the lounge, because the doors are nearly almost open. The location ist excellent, only five minutes walk to Checkpoint Charly. Breakfast was quite good and value for the money. Staff was very friendly and speak many languages fluently.


77%

There were always staff at reception, which was extremely helpful, especially when checking out in the middle of the night. It was fairly clean and as a typical hostel which does tailor towards youths, noise was an issue on a couple of nights, but most of the time it was ok. A brilliant international atmosphere also existed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased that you enjoyed it.

74%

Staff were not friendly in the least and seemed bothered by even the simplest request for directions or advice. Would have appreciated a friendly face when visiting a city like Berlin for the first time. The connect to wi-fi was silly, a new code and password every 12 hours was a big ol pain. But I suppose we weren't there to sit on our wi-fi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rating. We take these seriously and work on it. Wifi code every 12 hours we have to make for privacy reasons legal in Germany.

97%

The place is located in a great spot and easy to stay in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased that you enjoyed it.

94%

Excellent hostel, very central and easy to get to. Friendly staff and nice bar/restaurant in the first floor. My sole qualm would be that the showers are a bit too open for my taste, but that's it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased that you enjoyed it. Greetings from Berlin!

71%

Hostel well located for main tourist attractions but not very well located for nightlife. Rooms spacious but slight issue with lockers as only one persons padlock in our group could keep the locker closed. Helpful staff and nice to get free towels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased that you enjoyed it. Greetings from the Cityhostel Team

80%

I had a pretty good experience in Cityhostel Berlin. The location of the hostel is amazing, the room is well equiped and very clean, so I enjoyed my stay very much. Also, the breakfast was quite nice, even though it is not included. The one thing I think could be improved is the quality of the attention of the staff, they were helpful in general, but they could be nicer.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We take this very seriously and are working to quality. Nice that you liked it here.

74%

Horrible wifi.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(56 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback