Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cityhostel Berlin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 2614 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 2614 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Mar 2017
5.1

The guy at the desk was not friendly. The rooms were also littered with what looked like mouse droppings, the bathrooms were consistently out of toilet paper and guests were walking around basically naked and loud at all hours. The atmosphere was fantastic in the lobby and lounges on the bottom floor, but the rooms felt like prison cells with two outlets for four people. Thankfully, my room mates were fantastic. You can stay at FAR better locations for slightly more money. Location is good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
6.9

Location is prime. Rooms are pretty standard. Wifi barely work, there're only 3 outlet in the dorm room for 6 people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
6.3

I wasn't happy with the stay. Especially the washrooms are pretty dirty. Most bizarre thing is to take a shower. No privacy at all. The showers were like communal. No doors, no changing rooms looks ugly. Very few washrooms for entire floor. There is definitely large scope of improvement.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
5.7

Good location to visit touristic stuff, but that's about it for this "hostel". Wifi barely works, even plugs in rooms don't work (phones need a full night to charge!) - and there's only 2 plugs for 8 beds dorms. No hostel feel due to its size, no kitchen either, have to pay for pool... I'm also a bit confused as to why a towel is provided, when shower privacy is barely met and there's not even soap in the soap dispensers in the bathrooms!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Todo excelente.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
10.0

This is my second stay at CityHostel and the location alone makes up for any possible gripe you could have, of which I don't have any.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
1st Jan 2017
6.9

Only stayed one night but the common room was good but not too many people around. Staff were just there for their pay. No extra effort put in. Very hotel like. Rooms were nice enough and they had free towels which was awesome. Beds were ok except they are having a laugh with the pillow. Location is a bit one sided to Berlin but transport isn't too far. Pretty good pamphlets and stuff on info but not a lot of staff help

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Dec 2016
8.6

Very central location, you can easily visit some of the main touristics attractions by foot. Good value for money though the breakfast is not included and helpful staffs. The room was clean and warm, very good atmosphere...my mates were very nice... We had a great time at the hostel bar. I recommend and I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
5.7

I was meant to stay at Cityhostel for 8 days, but ended up checking out after 3. The hostel is essentially a very low star hotel, rather than a hostel. There's no atmosphere or community. The showers are cold and if it weren't for a small partition there would be no privacy. The WIFI doesn't work in the rooms, especially when there are a lot of people staying there. The staff were very apologetic and obliging when I checked out, but this was after days of asking them to fix the showers. Average.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Preetham46
  • India, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
7.1

Its pretty much a hotel. Completely commercialized. Centrally located so all major attractions not too far. Metro station and supermarket very close to the hostel. The staff was rather rude and disinterested in their jobs. The room was good and spacious and well maintained. No kitchen to cook. Wifi was pathetic. Since there are so many rooms and so many people, the atmosphere isnt warm enough that people cozy up to each other and randomly talk to strangers. Overall, a decent hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.