Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cityhostel Berlin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 2819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 2819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Aug 2017
10.0

The staff was great, it was really social and we got free breakfast in the morning! The atmosphere was cool everyone was down to make friends and socialize. We loved it and would recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lucyt28294610
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Aug 2017
8.6

Bathrooms Didn't seem private and wifi wasn't the best but other than that perfect and would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Aug 2017
8.6

Good if you are liking for a cheap place to stay in central Berlin. Facilities are basic but clean, and there is a nice bar downstairs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • isaacchong1010
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Aug 2017
5.1

The only good thing is location Bad room & shower condition Wifi slower than dialup modem speed 20years back......zzz

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2017
4.0

Our light in the bathroom stopped working and all they said they could do was wait and fix it tomorrow or change rooms in the middle of our stay and night. It wasn't until we complained and asked for compensation that they actually tried to look at it. Not enough outlets in the room. The staff varied, one wouldn't look at us when we spoke and barely responded to our question. Overall it wasn't our favorite, we didn't feel like the staff tried to make our stay better.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Aug 2017
4.0

Stayed for 4 nights, and overall was very disappointed with the experience. Positives - The location was very good, metro stop close. The rooms are very spacious. Negatives - The staff were extremely rude and weren't very helpful with questions we had. We were told there was washing facilities, there was not. The wifi is awful. The toilets/showers were very dirty and no privacy. The lockers don't lock, even with a padlock attached. The hostel funds North Korea. Would not recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Aug 2017
7.4

A hostel that fulfilled our needs: beds were comfy but a little noisy. The locations was great with only a two minute walk from the metro and Hit Ullrich (which was a fab supermarket, especially for breakfast and lunch pastries). It is also a short walk to Checkpoint Charlie and a longer - but manageable - walk to the Reichstag and Brandenburg Tor. The staff were a little abrubt, slow and unaccomidating so be mindful of that. The showers didn't seem to get cleaned that regularly either.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
3.7

Terrible hostel. Their wifi did not work, which is a problem when traveling (couldn't look up directions, weather, email to meet people etc.) The staff said it always has problems/doesn't work, so they should't say they have wifi. Cleaning women were extremely rude. They would clean right at the time people are trying to get ready to leave for the day (to make a tour/go explore etc.), about 7-9am, and harass anyone using the bathroom to get ready. They actually started hissing at me.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • mirandapoulter
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Aug 2017
9.1

The rooms were standard but the bathrooms were pretty grim- a little unclean and absolutely no privacy in the showers with curtains that didn't close fully, you gotta be prepared to be seen naked!(although they are single sex). The hostel was also massive so felt more like a hotel in that people tended not to socialise in the communal areas. The location/staff made up for this however and made our stay very worthwhile! Within walking distance to all attractions and very close to the tube.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2017
6.0

Well; the angry old man who ran breakfast really put a damper on the start of my day. Already off to a rough start from the sounds of creeking coming from the sketchy bunk beds throughout the morning, and the sunlight blaring into our room because our room was the only room not equipped with blinds, the grumpy staff didnt really help me wake up with joy to take on the day. Mixing that with dirty washrooms and awful wifi made my stay just barely worth the price i paid for it. Great location tho 😬

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.