X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Citystay Mitte Reviews

Rosenstrasse 16, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
2702 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The wifi was terrible even in the main area, really, really bad. Shower has a timer so button had to be pushed every 10 seconds to keep having a shower. Woman on reception when we checked in was rude to the point of just bad manners other staff (especially two men a tall guy and a shorter guy with a hat) were better. Location was fantastic.

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

No wifi in the rooms and the showers were a bit basic. Good location and a decent vibe but probably wouldn't stay there again.


83%

Has some nice cafes & restaurants nearby. 10 min walk from Alexanderplatz so easy to get around.


40%

Negatives: Reception rude very loud past 10pm (echoing voices up the building to your room) Toilets/showers not very clean Slamming doors Poor shower system- no ventilation No wifi in rooms Bad pillows Positives: Good room space

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Good for 1 night, no where near enough power points in dorms, wifi didn't work upstairs, no kitchen and bathrooms were okay(emphasis on just okay). Felt like a military style dorm, zero atmosphere. Unless you were getting drunk in the garden

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24


100%

Hostel was very hospitable and very welcoming.

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel is fine, average location, average cleanliness. It is not that expensive. BUT there is no WIFI in the room, even the WIFI in the public area sucks.


83%

Definitely think about noise, there were some nights that we tried to get to bed early for an early start but we were kept up by lots of yelling and banging on tables from the courtyard until after midnight


66%

Showers and restrooms need a renovation as sopn as possible. Room lockers are too small


89%

Nice location, friendly staff, clean and bright twin rooms for less than 30€ a day per person... No complaints.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A fantastic hostel with a great location to attractions bars clubs and food. The staff are hugely accommodating and friendly with clean rooms and bathrooms and a lovely bar and courtyard with great prices and very cool vibes


80%

Nice people and lovely clean place with a great priced bar. Unfortunately attracts school groups which were very loud, WiFi is not very good and is some distance from the major attractions. However, the different places to see in berlin are all very spread out anyway so it is highly likely wherever you stay that you will be far from something.


74%

Great, clean and sociable hostel but the location is quite quiet, away from all the nightlife


89%

It's very close to the main places of berlin and very cheap.But the internet only works in reception and there are a lot of students that makes too much noise.Bathroom is common so it's bit dirty.If you want to make friends it's good.


91%

The location and the staff were fantastic.


83%

Great hostel, the room I stayed i was large and windows covered the entire wall. the bathroom was in the room which is great, pretty standard bathroom, clean. Breakfest for 5.5euro but it was pretty basic. I wouldnt expect to pay for it. The only complaint that I have was that there was NO Wifi in the rooms and even in the lobby area it cut out or barely worked at all.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great value for money and fantastic location! We were extremely impressed by CityStay! Downstairs had a great atmosphere with people chatting and drinking, and our only complaint (no wifi upstairs in the rooms) actually added to the social atmosphere. All in all we'd highly recommend the hostel to young travellers looking for budget accommodation.


86%

Overall an awesome stay. Sweet location, very clean and good bathroom facilities. Can get loud at night with rooms facing onto courtyard. Only real bug bare was the incredibly dodgy wifi.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The room was so hot that I couldn't stand staying in the hostel until the end of my booking. Moreover, the bathrooms were very dirty.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel is located centrally to many sights in Berlin. It was a little troublesome to find (..but that's likely because I'm not great with directions). The lounge and outdoor common area are an excellent place to meet some great people. Staff is overall great. I only encountered one person who seemed a bit stand offish. My biggest complaint is the creaking of the beds. Every movement made caused the bed to creak loud enough to wake up the whole room. Not an issue if you wear earplugs :)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(95 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback