X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Claremont Guesthouse Reviews

189 Toorak Road, South Yarra, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
996 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

We enjoyed our short stay. Room was small...but the bed was comfortable. The hostel itself is very attractive and clean. Continental breakfast was basic bit plentiful. Staff were nice and helpful and we found the left luggage service and the free wifi a real binus. Bathrooms were modern and clean too.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Very convenient for trams and station. Tiny room with bunk beds, window faces a wall and someone else's room. Television, small fridge, and heater, extremely clean bathrooms - I found a man on hands and knees scrubbing the shower floor at 1am. Hot shower suddenly turned freezing after 11pm - and I had just lathered my hair. All shower rooms have open windows. Please provide soap, shampoo dispensers and so save waste of endless pieces of complimentary soap!

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location in south yarra, helpful staff

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Clean and conveniently located near the train station. Staff was friendly and reception was 24 hours.


86%

Great spot and beautiful historic interior - staff were professional and warm. I was on the second floor and the showers took a little while to heat up but all amenities were kept very clean and tidy. I was only there on a very brief overnight trip for an awards event and probably only spent 8 hours there to sleep and shower and it served my purposes very well. Excellent location and good value for money.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location with great cafes and train station close by.


80%

Claremont guesthouse was the first place we stayed upon our arrival to Australia and it was certainly the perfect place to be close to the action of South Yarra but it is also in a good position to hop on to the Metro and get into the city center. Our double room was clean and cheap which is always a bonus, the free breakfast was always good and complimentary tea and coffees certainly helped us heal the jetlag!


97%

Great value for money, great location. Thank you.


100%

Had a great stay. Staff very friendly and helpful with city travel questions. Room and facilities were clean on arrival. Hostel well maintained.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was excellent apart from the bunk beds squeaking.. But a minor issue as the place was close to everything, great security and easy to find

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

we enjoyed our stay very much; highlights were the breakfast and dining room; the great location; the historical nature of the building. We found our room to be adequate and the bathroom facilities to be very good and accessible On occasions we found the outside noise loud and inconvenient, part of the location and the need to keep windows open to keep cool enough we judged this as an 8/10 experience ,Thanks for having us

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

We stayed in Claremont on and off for about a month. We will always remember our stay here. Most of the staff are lovely and helpful. Free breakfast is awesome and we loved playing monopoly in the evenings. We donated a brand new monopoly game to the collection because we couldn't take it with us. Only downside was the lack of cooking facilities but we somehow managed. If we ever need a place to stay in Melbourne again it will definitely be here. Thanks guys!! Steph and Carwyn.


43%

Some of the staff were nice, some were really patronising and rude. It appeared clean until we looked closer. The kitchen only has a toaster and microwave so you can't cook anything decent. Building site behind so was woken up at 4:15am. Definitely not a place for backpackers. Local area full of snobs and people that look down their nose at outsiders.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff was friendly, location is excellent!


69%

Wifi very slow (also in the dining/Internet room), especially when several people were online. Ants in bath and in the rooms! No cooking facilities!




View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback