Hostelworld.com

Claremont Guesthouse

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1051 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1051 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • cynthiajoanne
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Feb 2017
9.7

Great place with loads of character! Totally recommended. Right by the train and tons of great places to eat around. Breakfast (toast and cereal) was a bonus but would have been cool to have real coffee :P

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
9.7

It was super fancy if you just look the outside of your room, I had a small two-bed room which has only a small light on the wall. Also I couldn't open my 'real' window, so getting fresh air seems more difficult. In total it's a quite nice place to live and it was really convient, close to the South Yarra Station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
8.3

The property was great. The staff was okay. I think for the value paid it is a very good place to stay. The location for restaurants and public transportation is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Oct 2016
6.6

I don't know why this hostel gets the high review it does. For 48$/night I was disappointed to learn they have no real cooking facilities (I bought groceries), you need to ask reception for a key to patron fridges like a child since its locked at all times, and there's a limit on the wifi. It is kept very clean, and it's a cool building, but it isn't enough. There is absolutely no atmosphere and I didn't sleep well because of noise carrying so easily from the bathroom to my room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Oct 2016
7.1

Location is nice as long as you don't want/need to be in CBD, good transport to city centre or lovely walk across botanic gardens. Good sized metal locker, can fit whole rucksack/suitcase in it. Room was large with 3 bunk beds, but not enough plug sockets and no reading lights, tiny window so not much natural light and difficult to ventilate. Not quite a hotel, not quite a hostel either. Showers hit and miss on water pressure/temperature. Dorm across hallway from bathroom - take earplugs.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Sep 2016
7.4

Showers have irregular temperature and this is not really a hostel as there is very little community. It is exceptionally cleans and the staff is excellent. Impossible to charge phone under your pillow, which is annoying.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
9.7

Lovely stay at this guesthouse. 1 min from train station, which then is a 5 min train to city. Good size rooms, very clean and comfortable beds and linen. Only thing was our dorm was opposite the bathroom and there were thin walls so could hear the cleaner banging around quite loudly at 12:30 in the middle of the night. Other than this most staff were extremely friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Sep 2016
9.4

Very clean, spacious 'luxury' dorm with all facilities needed including good storage, heaters if cold. Nice breakfast included and nice staff, placed in a good area (South Yarra) close to the train station, shops, restaurants and bars. Felt nicer than super hipster Fitzroy. Only thing is when I came there was no atmosphere. Stayed in a 6 bed form but was the only person at the time so hard to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.