Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Clifden Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 849 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 849 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
8.3

Only problem I had with the hostel was trying to get through to them. I rang their number several times and then used a mobile number they had listed but no answer and it did not allow us to leave a voice mail message. I was ringing to say we were delayed as I was concerned they may give our room away but we made it before 9 pm. When I advised the lady who was there on arrival about phone problems she was very flippant about it. OTHER than that it was a lovely Hostel and staff helpful .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2017
6.9

The issue with the hostel is if you are in the hostel during the day they tell you to get out, that includes in the rooms and the living room, if you're allowed in there at all. The kitchen is closed and locked from 11:00-16:30 during the day. The kitchen closes at 21:00 at night. The living room closes at 23:00 so after that, if you want to be in the hostel there is your room or the bathroom. All of the rules make it feel very restrictive. The staff were also pretty unwelcoming. Breakfast good

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
8.6

Kitchen hours are very restrictive

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
8.0

The 8 bed dormitory room was way too warm and a heavy duvet didn't help, no top sheet. The pillow was as hard as a bullet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th May 2017
8.9

All in all this hostel was nice to stay in. The wi-fi was good, you had many options for breakfast, the shower was warm and everything was clean. The only thing that bothered me was this nagging feeling that you should be very very quiet somehow. People weren't talking much.. Also there could be more options in the larger rooms to charge your electronic devices (only four outlets in a dorm room for 8 people).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
4.6

They kick you out after checkout time even if you booked multiple nights. Both the older lady and gentle men was pretty rude during the check-in. Definitely felt like all they cared about was for money. There is a hostel down the street that is much better

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
9.4

Wonderful hostel. Superb kitchen. Well looked after and, the staff could not be more helpful. Would recommend it to anyone looking to sample real Ireland, and those visiting (mainly French and German) they too were rather special. Clifden has some good food shopping. Aldi and Lidl and SuperValu all offer some great food. There is likewise an excellent set of bars, many come complete with music plus there are Coffee shops to unwind in after sampling the Atlantic sights and fresh air.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
8.6

Very good. Shaun could not have been more helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th May 2017
10.0

Great place. Comfy bunks. Great host. Pubs all over the street with great music.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2017
8.9

Great location very friendly owner, have no complaaints will definitely go back again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.