X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink261 Reviews

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1350 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Internet doesnt work, or barely. Rooms are too small with no where to put anything. No free floor space whatsoever or shelves. Communal area (used for breakfast) is closed for other half of morning. making it difficult to sit and plan, or do things that require any kind of concentration. (I was told to go to the other hostel to find a place to sit !) I wanted to cancel my bed but because of there 48 hour policy, I just left the paid bed 2 days early because it was less hassle.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

i had a good stay, only the breakfest could have been better. It was every day the same, and there were not a lot of toppings.

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location to Kings Cross but their wifi could definitely be improved.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for taking the time to leave a review and pointing out the good location of the hostel! We are sorry you found the Wifi slow, in that cases remember we have a 24 hours reception to help you with any issue, next time don’t be shy and ask to restart it. I hope to see you in the near future, enjoy your travels! Kind regards, Sérgio

100%

Brilliant place to stay, very near to Kingscross station. So very near for the tube station. Very clean and felt secure. Wouldd highly recommend. Very good value for money.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, you literally drawn a smile on my face! thank you for leaving such an amazing review! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay here and the convenient hostel’s situation! Please do come back  Kind regards, Sérgio

100%

Everything fine except the noice from the street. But on the other hand, this is not a hotel in the countryside.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks a lot for such a good review! You are right, sometime London can be a noisy city, it is part of its charming atmosphere! Remember that in that cases, our reception is open 24 hours, and we offer earplugs for free! Hope to see you in the near future! Enjoy your travels! Kind regards, Sérgio

80%

The room was too hot at the night

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback and the time leaving us a review. I am sorry to read that you found your room too hot, did you report this to reception? Just to remind you, our reception works 24 hours, so next time don't be shy and ask :) I hope to see you soon again. Enjoy your future travels. Kind regards, Federica Reception Supervisor

80%

Good hostel near Kings Cross. Good atmosphere with lots of young people. Only 3 power outlets in our 18 man room, at other peoples bed spaces. Wifi very slow and unreliable. Breakfast is pretty good - choice of cereal and muesli, coffee, juice etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are glad to know you enjoyed the atmosphere at Clink 261! We are sorry you found the Wifi slow, in that cases remember we have a 24 hours reception to help you with issues like that. About the socket, you can find lots of them either in the reception area or in the TV room. Enjoy your future travels! Kind regards, Sérgio

91%

Rooms totally are smaller than they appear on the photos! We had 4 people in our room and could barley move but if ur looking for just a place to sleep than this is it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the room size didn’t reach your expectations. Why don’t you try a private room next time? They are bigger and probably you will feel more comfortable. Other than that, we hope you had a good time here, and hope to see you in Clink 261 soon. Enjoy your future travels! Kind regards, Sérgio Reception supervisor

94%

Amazing time at this hostel. Great security, right near kings cross and supermarkets, such clean showers it was fantastic (they are cleaned daily), great beds, really nice big kitchen and lounge area. A little loud at night as there's a night club nearby but meh not a big deal, it is a hostel after all. Would stay again :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for your kindness and for leaving such a great review! We are happy you found the location convenient, and that you enjoyed the cleanliness and the common areas at Clink 261! On your next stay, remember that our reception is open 24 hours, so just pop in at any time and ask for some earplugs for free! Hope to see you with us again in the near future! Have a nice day! Kind regards, Sérgio

97%

Awesome place, I would find anything bad to say even if I wanted to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a great review! We are really happy you enjoyed your stay at Clink 261, and we hope to see you with us in the near future! Have a nice day! Kind regards, Sérgio

80%

Staff behind the front desk could help guests a bit quicker - pretty focused on their phone and ignored people who came up to the desk. Showers could be a bit cleaner but the bedding was very clean and orderly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to let us your comments. I am sorry to hear you didn’t find the staff helpful. I’d like to have more informations regarding this issue and I would really appreciate if you could take the time to write an email to our reservation department and give us more details. As you know we are always keen to listen to our guest’s opinion in order to improve our services and give the best experience. Have a nice day. Kind regards, Federica

71%

Excellent location within walking distance to the King's cross station. Helpful staff (especially Radu if I got his name right). Plug points at each bed. However, this doesn't have much else going for it. Very small and cramped rooms. Tiny beds where a tall person will barely fit. No lockers in the room to keep valuables. Terrible WiFi connection in the rooms. Just one toilet for men on each floor. An okay place to stay for one or two nights but I wouldn't consider staying here for longer trips.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for your feedback and appreciating the staff! We are sorry to read you found your room small, next time I would recommend you to book a private room for more space. About the lockers, apart the ones underneath the beds, you have more in reception area :) Regarding the Wi-Fi, I’d like to point out that we just started extending it to the whole building and may not reach all the rooms, but works well in common areas. Enjoy your future travels! Kind regards, Sérgio

91%

The hostel is very good value for money and the location is central to most places. I will definitely recommend it to friends

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zimbabwe
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a nice review! We are glad to know you enjoyed the hostel, and that you would recommend it to your friends! Please do come back! Have a nice day! Kind regards, Sérgio, Reception Supervisor

97%

Very happy with Clink261 - whenever a toilet was dirty or there was no more toilet paper, you could expect it would be cleaned / added within the next half hour. Very good value, amicable staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you very much for such an amazing review, you have made my day! We are really happy you enjoyed your stay at Clink 261, and we hope to see you with us in the near future! Have a nice day! Kind regards, Sérgio, Reception Supervisor

69%

Pros: great location, great bathrooms, very respectful people in my room who weren't noisy at all Cons: I now know how chickens feel in a factory; I've never seen so many bunk beds crammed in a room before. The bottom bunks are oddly dark and gloomy because the part of the bed near the head is covered by a board. Overall: interesting experience that wasn't too bad or great (although I only stayed one night)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are glad to know you enjoyed your experience with us, even if the dormitory didn’t reach your expectations. May I recommend for your next stay a different kind of dormitory, such as the 10BB? These ones are provided with a different bed configuration, more lightly and with sockets and USB chargers in every bed. Hope to see you with us again! Enjoy your travels! Kind regards, Sérgio, Reception Supervisor

100%

I found the hostel to be easy to find, the staff welcoming and the facilities clean and easy to use. It is very well located a stone's throw from Kings Cross - a really easy walk. Lots of places around for food and money exchange and a lovely pub just a few doors up. A great London hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you very much for such an amazing review! We are really happy you enjoyed your stay at Clink 261, and we hope to see you with us in the near future! Have a great day! Kind regards, Sérgio Reception Supervisor

83%

Not the worst, not the best. + Full kitchen with fridges and microwaves. + Clean bathrooms and showers. + Felt pretty secure. Key card entry to building and rooms. + 24/7 reception. Staff is knowledgeable and multilingual. + Free breakfast. - No lockers in 16 bed rooms, only very small lock boxes. - Support staff were less friendly and often did not speak English. - No choice of bunk. - Somewhat of a walk to downtown.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad to know you are happy about the facilities, the cleanliness and the security in our hostel! About the lockers, you can always find more lockers of bigger size in the reception area. Also, as you know, our reception is open 24 hours to help you out with any other issue. Our support staff’s English may not be the best, but they are always willing to help and try to do their best to get on with you. I hope to see you with us again! Sérgio

86%

small room and congested for two single bed room.. no girl toilet in the third floor and we have to go down to the second floor... good security.. even thought nearby the station but hostel is a bit far.. friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks a lot to take the time to leave a review, and for appreciating the staff ! We are sorry to read your room looked small, why not to book next time a private room? We are sure it will match your expectations! Also, if you let us know in advance, we will try our best to allocate you on any of the other floors, where you can find all the female facilities. Enjoy your travels! Kind regards, Sérgio, Reception Supervisor

71%

Small room

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are sorry to know you found the room small. Next time, I would recommend you to book a private room, they are much more spacious, and you will have plenty of space to keep your belongings. Hope to see you with us again! Enjoy your travels! Kind regards, Sérgio, Reception Supervisor

100%

Very good welcome. Speak french

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you very much for such an amazing rating! We are happy to know you felt welcome, and hope to see you with us again in the future! Merci beaucoup! Kind regards, Sérgio

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback