X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink261 Reviews

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1337 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Brilliant place to stay, very near to Kingscross station. So very near for the tube station. Very clean and felt secure. Wouldd highly recommend. Very good value for money.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything fine except the noice from the street. But on the other hand, this is not a hotel in the countryside.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The room was too hot at the night

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback and the time leaving us a review. I am sorry to read that you found your room too hot, did you report this to reception? Just to remind you, our reception works 24 hours, so next time don't be shy and ask :) I hope to see you soon again. Enjoy your future travels. Kind regards, Federica Reception Supervisor

80%

Good hostel near Kings Cross. Good atmosphere with lots of young people. Only 3 power outlets in our 18 man room, at other peoples bed spaces. Wifi very slow and unreliable. Breakfast is pretty good - choice of cereal and muesli, coffee, juice etc.


91%

Rooms totally are smaller than they appear on the photos! We had 4 people in our room and could barley move but if ur looking for just a place to sleep than this is it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the room size didn’t reach your expectations. Why don’t you try a private room next time? They are bigger and probably you will feel more comfortable. Other than that, we hope you had a good time here, and hope to see you in Clink 261 soon. Enjoy your future travels! Kind regards, Sérgio Reception supervisor

94%

Amazing time at this hostel. Great security, right near kings cross and supermarkets, such clean showers it was fantastic (they are cleaned daily), great beds, really nice big kitchen and lounge area. A little loud at night as there's a night club nearby but meh not a big deal, it is a hostel after all. Would stay again :)


97%

Awesome place, I would find anything bad to say even if I wanted to.


80%

Staff behind the front desk could help guests a bit quicker - pretty focused on their phone and ignored people who came up to the desk. Showers could be a bit cleaner but the bedding was very clean and orderly.


71%

Excellent location within walking distance to the King's cross station. Helpful staff (especially Radu if I got his name right). Plug points at each bed. However, this doesn't have much else going for it. Very small and cramped rooms. Tiny beds where a tall person will barely fit. No lockers in the room to keep valuables. Terrible WiFi connection in the rooms. Just one toilet for men on each floor. An okay place to stay for one or two nights but I wouldn't consider staying here for longer trips.


91%

The hostel is very good value for money and the location is central to most places. I will definitely recommend it to friends

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zimbabwe
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Very happy with Clink261 - whenever a toilet was dirty or there was no more toilet paper, you could expect it would be cleaned / added within the next half hour. Very good value, amicable staff.


69%

Pros: great location, great bathrooms, very respectful people in my room who weren't noisy at all Cons: I now know how chickens feel in a factory; I've never seen so many bunk beds crammed in a room before. The bottom bunks are oddly dark and gloomy because the part of the bed near the head is covered by a board. Overall: interesting experience that wasn't too bad or great (although I only stayed one night)


100%

I found the hostel to be easy to find, the staff welcoming and the facilities clean and easy to use. It is very well located a stone's throw from Kings Cross - a really easy walk. Lots of places around for food and money exchange and a lovely pub just a few doors up. A great London hostel.


83%

Not the worst, not the best. + Full kitchen with fridges and microwaves. + Clean bathrooms and showers. + Felt pretty secure. Key card entry to building and rooms. + 24/7 reception. Staff is knowledgeable and multilingual. + Free breakfast. - No lockers in 16 bed rooms, only very small lock boxes. - Support staff were less friendly and often did not speak English. - No choice of bunk. - Somewhat of a walk to downtown.


86%

small room and congested for two single bed room.. no girl toilet in the third floor and we have to go down to the second floor... good security.. even thought nearby the station but hostel is a bit far.. friendly staff


71%

Small room

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good welcome. Speak french

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Location was perfect for one nights stay, before heading to Paris on the Eurostar in the morning. However, the rooms and bathrooms could have been cleaner. There was also only one locker per bunk - so as the second one in the bunk to arrive I did not have a locker. This would have been an inconvenience if I was staying for a couple of days.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and to point out the good location of the hostel! We are sorry to read that rooms and bathrooms weren't clean enough. Our reception is open 24 hours, and we have the housekeeping team available in case something needs to be cleaned, next time don’t doubt to come to let us know! About the lockers, you can find more lockers in the reception area that you can use at all times. Enjoy your travels! Regards, Sérgio Reception supervisor

83%

rooms (dorms and showers) too narrow wardrobes in the dorms missing

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The room is very small and accomodates 18 people. We were all ammounted in beds lined together. It felt like a coffin. The only thing that separates you from your dorm mate is a thin playe. Many of the guests were smelling and I found sleeping here unbearable. Staff is very friendly, breakfast is good and bathrooms are clean. price is cheap, but nothing mitigates the horrible configuration of those rooms.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(61 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback