X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink261 Reviews

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1109 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

The bed I slept in had old candy stuck to the bottom of the mattress.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your ratings and comment. I'm sorry your mattress wasn't clean. The HK team is working 24/7 so if they missed a spot please come and report it to the reception and we'll quickly organize cleaning. Hope to see you again at Clink! Enjoy your travels! Agata

69%

Cons: Internet did not work in the room at all. Internet in the reception room was pretty unstable, it crashed every 3 minutes. Rooms for 8 ppl are too small. 4 persons for that size would be ok. pros: Breakfast included location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. I hope that apart from the things you mentioned you enjoyed your stay in London. The rooms are not very spacious but we offer a budget accommodation and I believe modern comfortable beds and nice cosy common rooms make up for the size. The internet gets slower when a lot of people are using it at the same time. We're having a look into improving the connection. Hope you'll stay with us again. Enjoy your travels! Agata

54%

Stay in this hostel if you like hard beds, flat pillows, and a very central location. I only stayed here one night, but I found that the rooms were tiny and hot (the one I stayed in had a door that opened up to a neighboring roof, and I could open it easily. The room also had a sink, but no toilet). The girls toilets were messy, but the showers were ok. Staff was very accommodating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback and appreciating the staff! I'm sorry your stay wasn't as good as expected. We have 24/7 reception and housekeeping so if there are any issues, please, come to us. We cannot change the central location - which for most travelers is an advantage, but we're happy to give an extra pillow or organize cleaning. Hope you'll give us another chance! Enjoy your travels! Agata

66%

good located, very close to Kings Cross. The hostel is extremly narrow, there is no space nowhere and the lobby is tiny. All in all a good hostel, but its a little pricey for what you get.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't find our hostel a good value for money. I hope you took advantage of our other common areas - TV room, kitchen, dining area and a bar in our sister hostel. We also offer free breakfast and daily walking tours. Please come again and we will do our best to make your stay unforgettable :) Enjoy your travels! Agata

80%

The breakfast could be better, with different and variable food, or at least frut.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and good ratings. The breakfast is free and we offer toasts, butter, jam, coffee, hot chocolate, 4 types of cereals, 3 types of tea. Yes, it could be improved, but if we add more things we'l have to charge for it. I hope you had a nice stay and will come again to Clink. Enjoy your travels! Agata

89%

Clean, cheap, good security and convenient location, although a bit close to a busy main road.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for such nice words! I'm glad you liked our hostel. Since we're located in the center the roads get busy but we have some rooms away from the street, please, ask for them next time you book with us. Hope to see you again at Clink! Enjoy your travels! Agata

26%

The worst hostel i've ever been in, the staff was awful, the room was really dirty and it was overall an horrible experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Reception and Housekeeping is open and ready for helping 24 hours. You were sleeping in a room with 18 beds. We clean it everyday but we cannot control everything our guests do there. So, if you give us a second chance, next time you could stay in a smaller room with more facilities (like plugs over your bed and light). Many thanks and Safe travels. Ale

74%

The cleanliness and hangout areas were great. There should be more outlets in the bedrooms when you have 16+ people in there. Two staff members were arguing in the kitchen during my breakfast. I thought this was very unprofessional. Another staff member working the desk could not answer any of my questions about sight seeing things in London.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback and nice words. I'm sorry you didn't find our receptionist helpful, normally we're doing our best to answer all the questions and give suggestions about what to see in London. I'm sorry about the unprofessional behavior you witnessed, I'll talk to the team as it shouldn't happen. Hope you will come again and give us second chance to make a better impression. Enjoy your travels! Agata

57%

Brief walk to and from King's Cross/St. Pancras Station which is good, but the surrounding area seemed a little slummy and a tad dangerous at points. Room rates were fair, but far from an excellent deal for what you were getting. Staff was friendly and approachable and were helpful for directions and questions, etc. 24 hour reception is a plus but better security for the luggage check room is definitely necessary. Whole place could have really been a lot cleaner as well.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bahamas
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback ans appreciating the staff. The center of a big city is never as safe as a small town but the police is patrolling the streets. The luggage room is only for non valuable things but we offer free lockers for valuables. I'm sorry you didn't find a place clean enough - we have 24h reception and housekeeping so please don't hesitate to report any issues. Hope to see you again. Enjoy your travels! Agata

97%

Fantastic hostel! I was wary of the 18 person room but it's set up very smartly with divides so you still have privacy. The staff are fabulous and the common room is cozy. The sister hostel is quite nearby and offers cheap tickets to attractions and West End shows and even has a bar! It's super close to King's Cross so you can get anywhere very easily. I will definitely be staying here the next time I'm in London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!! It was also very nice to meet you. Many thanks for leaving the review See you next time Safe travels Ale

86%

Excellent hostel stayed for 1 night excellent.location just down from st pancras was handy to go to france early the next morning. Washing machine and dryer downstairs. Breakfast was ok. Nice tv room and kitchen too :) and free wifi. Beds were quite comfy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for such nice words and marks. We hope to see you back Safe travels Ale

80%

foverall, it was good, i booked for another day, but didnt book for the day rthat i wanted, i had to wait one hour to be shown into my room, because of the days mix up. i was finally let into my room. thanks sanaa erreg

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for leaving a review! We are happy that we sorted out your booking and you enjoyed your stay. We always try to do our best, and I'm sure that we could do it faster that one hour next time ;) Hope to see you soon Safe travels Ale

63%

CONS: the 8 bed dorm was an absolute inferno with no airflow. One window was broken so we had only one window to cool the dorm which was not enough, it was too hot to sleep. It was also disappointing that our floor didn't have a female washroom and we had to use the floor below. PROS: every bed had a light and plug as well as privacy screens at the head of the bed. Overall it was a pretty good hostel just needed more airflow.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review Clink261! we are sorry to hear your cons about your dorm. We are working to fix that window and make the room fresh. There are female toilets in every floor but not in the 3rd one, so We hope you decide to stay with us again, next time in one of the others floors. Safe travels Ale

97%

I enjoyed my stay very much. The Hostel is very well maintained and the staff is friendly and ready to help. It is well located, and a great value for what you pay.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for all your nice words and great ratings! Nothing make us more happy than a happy customer. Hope to see you again soon! Enjoy your travels! Agata

86%

Rooms were a bit small but, hey, its a hostal, it was expected. Asides from that, all went smoothly. The personel was very kind and attentive, sheets were clean and the overall atmosphere was nice.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for leaving a review and such nice words. Next time you could choose a bigger dorm with 8, 10 or 18 beds. There are more people but also more space. We hope to see you again! Safe travels Ale

83%

I liked this place. Only thing wrong was not enough lockers for security and te stoves were barely functioning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a nice stay. We're going to replace the stoves soon, just waiting for the delivery to come. We have many extra lockers at the reception and if you have troubles with storing your valuables the 24h reception is ready to help. Hope to see you again at Clink. Enjoy your travels! Agata

83%

like many have said before the rooms are really very small and cramped. but it is a small hostel so what else to expect. luckily i was staying only for one night so i didn't mind so much. on the plus side, the rooms were very clean and beds comfortable. The best thing is location and a very friendly staff who always have a smile on their face and are ready to help.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and such nice words about the staff. I'm glad you found the beds comfortable. Some guests prefer dorms with more people - 8, 10 or 18 which are more spacious so maybe next time you will choose these? Hope to see you again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

83%

Nice hostel. There is breakfast, so nice.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • gunguntc
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your nice words! :) Hope you stay with us again. Enjoy your travels! Agata

77%

There was less space for stuff. Extra shelves or similar furniture in the rooms were great. And the wifi is pretty lame.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for leaving a review. We have many different types of rooms, so perhaps next time you could try in a bigger dorm. Just ask us, and we will try our best to allocate you there! I hope to see you back soon! Safe travels Ale

97%

I had a really nice staying. Everything I needed : can come back whenever I want, a storage room, a cool nice comfy bed. :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad we could offer everything you needed :). Hope you will stay with us again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(115 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback