X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink261 Reviews

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1642 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great location, price, and atmosphere. Was a little cramped in the dorm rooms; the beds were literally right next to each other with only a plastic barrier separating them. Would stay again though

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

location excellent. Showers very cramped. No outlets in room to charge devices. kitchen / lounge closes at 10 reopens at 1 which is annoying. Key card kept not working

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear that you found our location excellent. We are currently working on increasing the amount of outlets in all rooms in the meanwhile our guests are more than welcome to leave their electronic devices charging at reception. We look forward to see you again in London in your next adventure. Sincerely, Marc

80%

our room (4 persons bedroom) was very clean but also very small there wasn't even a chair in the room! If you're planning on being out most of your time this isn't a big problem just a bit annoying

  • 2nd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thanks so much for leaving a review. We are are sorry to hear that you were not entirely pleased with the size of the room, but happy to know that you managed to enjoy your stay with us and explored London in full. Sincerely, Marc

77%

in total i enjoyed my stay at clink. however i have to say that the internet is very slow during dinner and night time (too many people are connected). in summer i could imagine that the rooms facing the street are very loud and hard to relax while sleeping (wintertime is ok because the windows are closed).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the hostel, we are currently improving our free WIFI connection and it will be up an running very soon. Have a nice day. Marc

80%

My stay at Clink261 was really good! The hostel doesn't have the most amazing public areas or atmosphere.. but it is clean, safe and with a helpful staff! The only really negative thing about this hostel is the Wifi! You can forget about getting on the wifi, so if you want to stay at this hostel.. So be prepared, that you might have to keep yourself updated in a different way or more expensive way! :)

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest. Thanks so much for your review. We are currently working on improving our free WIFI connection for our guests. We look forward seeing you again very soon. Sincerely Marc

100%

Very good location, very friendly staff, bedroom and bathroom are always clean. Great stay ! I recommend ! I had some problems to catch the Wifi but otherwise everything was perfect, thanks !

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest. Thanks for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed our facilities. At the moment we are working on improving our free WIFI for our guests. We look forward seeing you again in London, Sincerely Marc

97%

Everything was great! I totally recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thanks so much for your review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward seeing you again soon. Sincerely Marc

86%

It's a really good place to stay, cheap, close to king's cross station, close to shops and facilities. Great stay

  • 27th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


23%

Pictures don't match the reality at all. First floor:1 bathroom for 43 persons ! Second floor, two tiny and dirty bathrooms for 45 persons !! Often only lukewarm from showers. Stuff is really unkind and unfriendly. Especially the supervisor, he's always upset, and any querie you ask him, he looks at you like if he wanted to knock you out !! Is that real ?? Rooms are tiny, with triple bunkbed, and matresses seem like the ones used for camping. WORST EXPERIENCE EVER. MEDITATE PRIOR RESERVING HERE

  • 26th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

We were booked for 5 nights but had to leave after 2 as I could not sleep in the mouldy room due to allergies. The hostel is full of 40-50 year old men who live there and it is not an inviting environment to young female backpackers. The only positive was the staff were very understanding and helpful with the issues.


91%

The hostel looks nice and new, the beds,with the personal plugs and lights are really good. Too bad the USB power plugs are not working, it would have been perfect for foreign travelers. Breakfast was nice and well organized. The staff is kind and helpful, the location is perfect. As often in London over the winter, the rooms were very hot, even with the windows open. A few more sinks in the bathrooms would add up to the general quality of the hostel. For me, one of the best in London so far :)

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really great, clean hostel in a central London location. I would recommend the 10 bed dorms rather than an 18 bed dorms because they have power outlets and a light on each bed, as well as lockers in the room for suitcases and backpacks.

  • 19th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Many thanks for leaving us a feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our 10 and 18 bed dorms are spacious. However, you are right we do have power outlets and lights not in each rooms. Also we do have some lockers in all of the rooms and spare ones at the reception area where our guests can keep their valuable safe. We hope to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

69%

No vibe, no wifi in the bedrooms so you had to sit in the basement or reception area for wifi., showers had nowhere to put anything except on the floor. Too many Old and drunk people around.Pretty cheap place to book into but it attracts the wrong people and lacks any ambience . Think Ill pay a bit more and go else where next tome.

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving us a feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had unpleasant stay with us. If you do experiencing some issues you always welcome to talk to any of our staff. We trying to fix the Wifi issue, since the router is located in the reception area sometimes is not reaching room areas. However, we will try to fix this issue. Good luck and thank you again for your review. Kind Regards, Asta

80%

Great location for experienced travellers. Breakfast was plentiful. Enough power sockets for a full room of guest.

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Costumer, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a feedback. We glad that enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

94%

very nice place - good location, free breakfast, good value for money... highly recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we do appreciate that you took your time to leave such nice feedback. We glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

83%

Rooms pretty clean. Great location at Kings Cross, I rather take a bus and walk through the city, so the location was perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We glad that enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come to visit us once again pretty soon. Kind Regards, Asta

74%

I'd not stayed at hostel before staying Clink261 but I think that This hostel is good for backpackers because location is quite good.

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for taking your time to leave us a feedback. We glad that you had a good experience with us. Hope to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

83%

I didn't find an excellent atmosphere, maybe it was just my taste. Very good position, few minutes walking from Kings Cross and Camdem Town. I felt the dorm I was in was very humid with poor aircirculation, therefore I didn't sleep very good as I kept sweating and freezing going out of the duvet. Anyway, good value for money.

  • 7th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Costumer, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a feedback. I am sorry that you didn't had such pleasant experience with us and had problems with aircirculation. Our reception is open 24h so if you will have any problem do not hesitate to talk to any of our staff. Kind Regards, Asta

83%

The staff member at the reception desk tried to rip me off by over charging me an extra £5. Absolutely disgraceful

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time. Sorry to hear that you had bad experience at the reception. I am sure that receptionist did not intentionally wanted to overcharged you, probably it was an honest mistake. Sorry about this experience. Hopefully it won't effect your future stay with us and we going to see you pretty soon. Kind Regards, Asta

57%

I didn't like this hostel. Mainly due to the fact that there is a bunch of old men who live there. They're so rude, won't let you watch the tv or use the kitchen as they want to use it, and they yell at you for talking. I paid to stay in a hostel and this was definitely not what I expected! I'm on a holiday and want to have fun, and the hostel does not have this vibe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving a feedback. Sorry to hear that your experience with other guest destroyed your vacation vibe. If you do have any problems (with a facilities, fellow guests, etc) you are welcome to talk to any of our staff - our reception is open 24/7. Enjoy your future holidays and have fun ;) Kind Regards, Asta

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(119 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback