X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Clink261 Reviews

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
952 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

It was a good location and very clean. We found the 4 bedroom dorm was a rather squeezy fit for four adults, though I realise we were in the heart of London and accommodation is at a premium here.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you liked the hostel. Bigger dorms are more spacious maybe you can try these next time. Also we have a lot of space to hang out in common areas. Hope to see you again at Clink. Enjoy your travels! Agata

54%

One of the worst hostels I've stayed in. I was in an 18 bed mixed dorm and it was very cramped, there was nowhere to put your bags, not enough storage lockers for everyone, no power outlets at all and the bed squeaked extremely loudly and was very uncomfortable. The showers were very small and not enough for so many people. The roof leaked, letting in dirt and rain. Very hot inside the room, wifi very slow, free breakfast was very basic. Only positive is it's location near kings cross.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback, I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. 18 bedded mixed dorms are the most basic and therefore the cheapest. However receptionists will do everything to help you - charge your devices, give you earplugs, close windows when it's raining (they're on the roof). Other rooms costs only few pounds more and have brand new beds with individual lights and plugs. Hope you'll give us another chance. Enjoy your travels! Agata

100%

A great location. Close to the tube station (king's cross) and food restaurants and convenience store for your snacks. Have a room for storing your belongings and a mini locker box to keep your sensitive items (be sure to bring your own locks). They offer continental breakfast enough for you to last til lunch. Safe place. Guests varies from 10-45 yrs old. Staff very friendly and helpful. Took my wife and my son for a mini vacation and we all ended up in a 18 mixed room with great people.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for such positive review! It's so nice people of all ages and whole families enjoy staying with us. It was great having you here and I'm glad you had fun on your vacation. Hope you'll come again. Enjoy your travels! Agata

49%

Well I didn't like this hostel much because of many reasons. Very hot no windows in the room I was in and it was an 18 bed dorm. Also there was not enough showers for the number of people. I stayed at some really nice hostels for the same price and the pictures aren't at all what it looks like

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Recently we're experiencing very hot weather unusual in UK. There are windows in 18 bedded dorms, hard to reach but receptionists can open them at any time. I hope you will come again when the weather is better and you'll be able check other facilities we offer like kitchen, tv room, lounge and bar in our sister hostel. Enjoy your travels! Agata

71%

There needs to be a bathroom on the third floor and please put wifi throughout the hostel! (: Also, please add more lockers in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback. We're having a look at the Wi-Fi issue and soon should know the details when it will be available in the whole building. Unfortunately there's not enough space for female bathroom on 3rd floor but guests may use bathrooms on all other floors. Hope you'll come again and enjoy Wi-Fi in your room :) Enjoy your travels! Agata

89%

One of the best hostels I've stayed at in London recently - it's in a good location, it seems to be cleaned regularly and the breakfast was good. There were only 2 lockers in a 4 bed dorm which was disappointing, and the bunk beds were a bit wobbly, though had nice touches like individual lights and USB chargers on them. Depending on price and the location I'll be, this will be my choice stay next time I'm in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and such nice words. I'm so glad you want to come back - there's no better review than this :) I'm sorry we couldn't fit more lockers in your room but we have a lot of them at reception area. See you again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

89%

Very impressive service - I was able to have breakfast the day I arrived before check-in and offered use of all the facilities. Very convenient for public transport. Beds have barriers giving a bit more privacy - and the reading lights are handy. I was very happy there and would definitely recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks a lot for this nice words. We also hope to see you here again.

83%

The location is good.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and good ratings. I'm glad location was convenient for you. Hope to see you again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

66%

The hostel was clean. However, the room was very hot and the hostel noisy throughout the night. I was also disappointed with the pressure in the showers For the money, I was expecting at least a comfy bed, but the bunks don't accommodate anyone over 6 foot tall apparently. In all, this is a typical hostel, therefore I would expect to pay typical hostel prices....except these were much more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't find your bed comfortable enough. The reception open 24/7 and always ready to help if there are any problems with the noise, showers etc. Please note that during season the prices in all tourism sector go up and for the central London we offer standard rates and as a bonus - free breakfast. Enjoy your travels! Agata

86%

Staff were helpful and very friendly! The hostel was clean and loved the beds - lights and USB chargers.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for your nice words! We hope to see you again! Safe travels Ale

74%

The staff people are nice and helpfull, the room where I slept was a little small and crawed...

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your review. We have many different types of rooms with more or less space between beds. SO next time you could ask for a bigger dorm. All ours bunks have a panel giving more privacy to your sleep. Hope to see you soon! Safe travels! Ale

66%

Great location and the staff was really nice. But the bathrooms were so tiny and not very clean. The mixed dorm was so scrunched together.. They separated the bunks with these metal cage things, but when people snored it echoed even louder. Also the wifi was terrible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for your review. We clean bathrooms twice a day but Staff is ready 24 hours to improve anything you could find under your expectations. Next time you could try a smaller dorm or also a private room. Safe travels! Ale

94%

We had a great stay. We only needed one night's accommodation and most hostels have a 2 night maximum so this was our main reason for choosing Clink. Great location, spotlessly clean, friendly staff. Although our 4 birth room was tiny, each bunk had its own panel with sockets and reading light which was great for charging phone etc. great kitchen. What would make it better? Adjust the door closers so they don't bang. Put a female toilet and shower room on each floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback, such nice words and great ratings. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comment about the doors to our maintenance team to see if there's anything we can do with the slamming. Unfortunately there's not enough space for female showers and toilets on the 3rd floor but guests can use them on all other floors. Enjoy your travels! Agata

86%

Great location; in zone 1, 5 minutes from Kings Cross. Staff were helpful and friendly. There weren't enough lockers for beds though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for such nice words and good ratings! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! Unfortunately there weren't enough space to instal as many lockers as we have beds but there are additional ones at the reception area. Hope you will stay with us again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

77%

Need more sockets in the room! And the kitchen downstairs was poorly ventilated so it was always stuffy and hot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and good ratings! We realize the kitchen located in the basement can get stuffy so we open the door at peak times for better ventilation. We're also having a look into installing more sockets in 18 bedded dorms, in the meantime guest may leave devices to charge with reception. Please also note that other, smaller dorms, have individual sockets and cost just few pounds more. See you again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

89%

It was a nice place to stay; super good location, nice staff, and good breakfast in the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for such nice words! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you'll come again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

80%

I stayed in a 4 bunk dorm room. My main criticism is that the space was WAY too small for four people - we literally could not all stand up at the same time, and when it came time to check out, we all had to take turns to move our suitcases into the hallway (it was not possible to open up a suitcase in the room) in order to pack. Also, the bed was too short, even for small person (I could not stretch out) and the top bunk too low (bottom bunk could not sit up.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't find 4 bedded dorms comfortable enough. Maybe next time you can try bigger dorms which are more spacious and cheaper. My personal favourites are 10 and 8 bedded dorms. I guess dorm rooms are not best for sitting around but that's why we have arranged big and nice common areas where guests can relax and socialize. Hope you come again and try different rooms! Enjoy your travels! Agata

80%

Only stayed there one night. The rooms were tight but each bed had a power outlet and a reading light which was a bonus. Close walking distance to Kings Cross St Pancras station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks a lot for your feedback and good ratings! I hope next time you'll have a chance to stay longer and check out everything we offer :) Enjoy your travels! Agata

100%

staffs staffs staffs. excellent. easy relax air . very clean and tidy, thanks for the staffs. they must do the job , wow, do not know how many times a day. very tidy. the kitchen is convenient with fridge, cooker and very easy air TV room. clink 261 is much better than its another branch .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are really happy to have shared with you all this days you were here. I hope you,ll keep coming, at least to say hello :) Many thanks for your words!!

89%

Quite good hostel very well located in central London. There is a large kitchen and a nice common area. Breakfast is OK. It might need a bit more showers though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and such nice words about our hostel. Unfortunately there's not enough space for more showers so during peak hours guests may experience small gueues but apart from that it should be fine. :) . Hope to see you again at Clink. Enjoy your travels! Agata

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(66 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback