X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink261 Reviews

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1153 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Storage lockers need to be fixed. There were only three in the 18 bed room and all are bent out of shape and could not be closed to put a lock on. There was also one that I tried in the front reception room that was broken. (It should not be too expensive to put a couple of storage lockers underneath the bunk beds for each guest.)


63%

just your average hostel, good for a sleepover when you travel from KX the next day. My internet signal was dodgy with drop-outs No special atmosphere here, their sister hostel Clink 78 is better in this sense...


86%

Great location, near King's X... 24/7 reception, helpfull staff ;)


100%

The best ive ever stayed in IN london i wil be back


74%

Overall, I had a good experience at this hostel. It was close to St. Pancras Kings Cross, and surrounded by good restaurants. Breakfast was good, and the place was very clean; the towel rental and washing machine were fair. There were quite a few rude staff, and after getting a neck-ache from the bad pillow, I asked for another one and got a rude response. I was lucky that I got a luggage cage though; there were only five for a room of ten, but it made me feel safer about my luggage.

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

This is a dingy, dirty place, and put me in mind of a crack house. I came with my daughter, and was appalled. We moved to a different hostel, losing money paid to this one. The smokers stand just outside the entrance, despite a sign saying not to smoke there. Each time the door is opened, the smell gets sucked in, and can be noticed down the hall and even in the dorm room. The lighting is poor, and the bunks are stacked side by side so that one must crawl in from the foot of the bed.


80%

This was a great hostel to stay at that was close to Kings Cross, definitely the hub you want to stay at when exploring London. The place full activity during the evening in the common room in the basement, they had a great kitchen if you wanted to make dinner. The rooms are ok, I felt like I was sleeping on a brick, the beds were't comfortable at all. But all the beds came with their own plugs and lights.


100%

Staff was very friendly, breakfast was well stocked and staffed, very clean room and showers, and a great location. I had a wonderful stay here - thank you!

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, After such lovely review we can only send you positive vibes and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you for appreciating our work. Enjoy your travels! Agata

97%

Some of my fellow guests weren't too respectful at 2 am, but the staff made up for it by letting me change rooms the next night. All in all, good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad we could help with this issue. Please, come again! :) Enjoy your travels! Agata

94%

It was a pleasant stay with all the necessary facilities, big kitchen, and very good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and great ratings! I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again at Clink. Enjoy your travels! Agata

80%

The room I was in had only a single power outlet for 18 beds. In a world where everyone has at least one mobile device that needs to be charged every night, one outlet for 18 people is unacceptable. It was especially annoying because every bed has a light built into it - how hard would it be to just wire in an outlet too?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback and good ratings. Recently we installed some extra outlets in the big dorms, we'll have a look into getting more. For the time being the receptionists are more than happy to charge guests' devices. Moreover, smaller 10, 8, 6 and 4 bedded dorms have individual plugs. I hope that apart from that you had a nice stay in London! Enjoy your travels! Agata

49%

There were no outlets in the bedrooms or the bathrooms. The ladders to get to the top bunk are the most poorly designed ladders I have ever seen. The showers were gross. The staff was not friendly, impatient and rude.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Was a quality stay relatively quiet with a nice chill out / kitchen area that I would recommend to other travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for such nice feedback. I'm glad you had a nice stay and that you'd recommend us. Hope to see you again at Clink! Enjoy your travels! Agata

83%

All the basic amenities and essential living items were available. Hostel gets cleaned quite regularly which makes it pleasant for staying at. The staff were very helpful as well. Location is very convenient from the Kings Cross St. Pancras station. Perhaps what could be improved on is having access to wifi in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your nice words and feedback. I'm glad you liked the hostel. We'll do our best to make Wi-fi available for the whole building as soon as possible. Hope to see you again soon! Enjoy your travels! Agata

69%

Should have locks available to secure items.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We do have lockers available. Next time, please, ask one of our friendly receptionists where to find them :) Hope to see you again at Clink! Enjoy your travels! Agata

74%

I had an overall great experience. I did however, have issues with one of the attendants at the desk. She was rude and not compassionate.


63%

The bed I slept in had old candy stuck to the bottom of the mattress.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your ratings and comment. I'm sorry your mattress wasn't clean. The HK team is working 24/7 so if they missed a spot please come and report it to the reception and we'll quickly organize cleaning. Hope to see you again at Clink! Enjoy your travels! Agata

69%

Cons: Internet did not work in the room at all. Internet in the reception room was pretty unstable, it crashed every 3 minutes. Rooms for 8 ppl are too small. 4 persons for that size would be ok. pros: Breakfast included location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. I hope that apart from the things you mentioned you enjoyed your stay in London. The rooms are not very spacious but we offer a budget accommodation and I believe modern comfortable beds and nice cosy common rooms make up for the size. The internet gets slower when a lot of people are using it at the same time. We're having a look into improving the connection. Hope you'll stay with us again. Enjoy your travels! Agata

54%

Stay in this hostel if you like hard beds, flat pillows, and a very central location. I only stayed here one night, but I found that the rooms were tiny and hot (the one I stayed in had a door that opened up to a neighboring roof, and I could open it easily. The room also had a sink, but no toilet). The girls toilets were messy, but the showers were ok. Staff was very accommodating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback and appreciating the staff! I'm sorry your stay wasn't as good as expected. We have 24/7 reception and housekeeping so if there are any issues, please, come to us. We cannot change the central location - which for most travelers is an advantage, but we're happy to give an extra pillow or organize cleaning. Hope you'll give us another chance! Enjoy your travels! Agata

66%

good located, very close to Kings Cross. The hostel is extremly narrow, there is no space nowhere and the lobby is tiny. All in all a good hostel, but its a little pricey for what you get.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't find our hostel a good value for money. I hope you took advantage of our other common areas - TV room, kitchen, dining area and a bar in our sister hostel. We also offer free breakfast and daily walking tours. Please come again and we will do our best to make your stay unforgettable :) Enjoy your travels! Agata

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(120 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback