X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink261 Reviews

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1397 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

This is the fourth or fifth time I have stayed at Clink261 and as always it was a really pleasant experience. Clink261 is always clean and its refreshing to see cleaning staff working right though the day, the receptionist checking me in was wonderfully polite and pleasant. The room I stayed in was a little small for 6 beds, however, since I'd actually paid for an 18 bed room, I'm certainly not complaining. Thanks for the pleasant stay Clink, I'll be returning again!

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind words, you made my day! I am really glad to know you have had a pleasant stay here in Clink and we are looking forward to see you back soon! Have a nice day! Kind regards, Sérgio

77%

Excellent location just few minutes walk from King's Cross station. Few eateries and groceries stores nearby which is handy. Bed is comfortable, only issue was bathroom cubicle was the smallest I've ever used, and it has no ventilation. Else, things are generally good here. Cheers!


80%

You can't beat the location which is excellent, but the hostel itself is small, dark and hot. I think I would rather stay somewhere less prime location and have a little more space!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for leaving a review and for appreciating the excellent location of the hostel. I am surprised to read you found the hostel small and dark, as our common areas are quite spacious and warmly decorated. About the heat, this summer we had some very hot days, which we all loved, but this can make rooms warmer. Next time, don’t hesitate and just drop by reception where you can lend a fan. Enjoy your future travels! Sérgio

91%

Very friendly & extremely helpful staff! Room was clean and good. Location gets you everywhere in London quite quickly! All in all a very pleasant stay! Would sleep there again :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for such a lovely review and for appreciating staff and location. It´s great to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and I hope to see you in Clink back soon. Have a nice day! Kind regards, Federica

83%

Great location, walking distance from Kings Cross and Euston station. The staff was very helpful. I stayed in an 18 person dorm which was a little cramped. The toilets and showers were clean, but poorly ventilated so they got pretty warm. The kitchen facilities were very nice, but are not allowed to be used until 12:00. Take advantage of the walking tour!


83%

Friendly staff, good facilities .


97%

Far better than any other London hostel I've stayed in before. I stayed in a 10 bed dorm which had powerpoint and individual lights above each bed, which I heard some of the bigger dorm rooms did not. There were also large lockers under each bunk, although only one per bunk bed. I never had to wait to use a shower even in typically busy times. Although the internet was a bit patchy in the rooms, it worked fine in reception and the lounge. I would certainly stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for appreciating service and facilities. I am glad to read you had a great time with us and please do come back :) Have a nice day! Kind regards, Federica

100%

Could not fault our stay, will be using this hostel again.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for the great review and for the time taken to leave it. I am really happy to see you had an amazing stay at Clink, please do come back! Enjoy your future travels. Kind regards, Federica

83%

My favorite part about this hostel was that guests are allowed to keep their luggage in a storage room even after checking out of their room. Also, there are lockers (but you need your own padlock!) in the lobby to store valuable items. Located nearby King's Cross Station, it saved me a lot of trouble since I brought a lot of luggage. Breakfast was average and my roommates were loud at night, but I would definitely stay there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us a revuiew and for appreciating the facilities. I am happy to read you also had a good stay with us, but regarding the noise, did you report this to Reception?! Next time, don´t be shy and talk to us :) I hope to see you in Clink back soon. Enjoy your future travels. Kind regards, Federica

86%

Good hostel. Friendly staff and clean rooms and bathrooms. Only one locker for two beds in the room. One locker for every bed would be handier.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for leaving us your feedback and for appreciating staff and facilities. About the free lockers, remember that you have plenty of them in Reception area that you can use any time. I hope to see you soon here in Clink. Enjoy your future travels. Kind regards, Federica

97%

Very friendly staff! Briliant location and clean rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for the lovely review and for taking the time to leave us your comments, I am glad to read you had a fantastic stay at Clink and I hope to see you here back again soon. Have a great day! Kind regards, Federica

86%

This hostel is great, this is the second time I've stayed here. The only downside about security is there is only one locker between one bunk, so if you're the second to arrive you'll have to leave your luggage out of the locker. But there are small lockers in reception for passports/ wallets etc if you bring your own lock. Hostel was clean, provided breakfast was decent and standard. Would stay here again, very close to kings cross station so it's very easy to get around to all the sights!


86%

So warm in that place! I have no idea why.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks a lot for your feedback and for taking the time to leave a review! This summer has had some really great sunny and warm days which I know we all love. This can make things warmer inside. Next time just drop by reception and we can lend you a fan. Enjoy your future travels! Sérgio

89%

Comfy bed, lovely showers, great location! No bar and it's hard to meet people there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks for your positive vibes and feedback with regards to facilities and the location of the hostel! On your next stay, I would suggest to drop in in our sister hostel Clink78 (it is just 5 minutes’ walk from our location!), in which you can find our awesome ClashBAR and meet plenty of people  Hope to see you with us in the near future! Sérgio

74%

Pro's: location, staff, security Con's: limited shower facilities, very noisy bedrooms (lots of external noise from street).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for appreciating the staff, security and location of the hostel! Remember that our reception is always open 24 hours, so in case you find your room noisy we can always try to allocate you in a quieter room. We can offer you some earplugs for free as well, just let us know. There are showers which can be found on the other floors if showers are busy! Enjoy your future travels! Sérgio

83%

Clink261 was a wonderful hostel and I would definitely stay there again. I think location was its best asset but the staff were amazing as well. Staff were super friendly and went out of their way to help you. Since there's a bar at Clink78, there wasn't much of an atmosphere, which is probably good for a family friendly hostel. Travellers were still willing to engage in conversation which was great! It was a little pricey but then again, so is all of London. overall it was great!!


74%

Really short beds! I'm not tall & my feet hit the board at the end of the bed. Small rooms, very little space to put bags. Each bed does have a light & power point, which is a major plus! No wifi in the rooms. Nearest girls toilet was on the floor below mine. Kitchen & the common area by it closes throughout the day & night at different times, which was frustrating

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest,thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm sorry to read that your stay wasn't as you expected.Regarding room's size for next time,I'd suggest a bigger dorm or a private room as should match your expectations.The free wifi, as you probably know, it works better in common areas as we're still working on solutions to improve it.The kitchen closes for a couple of hrs after breakfast and at night in order to have it clean and ready for you to use Have a nice day Kindly,Federica

74%

Nice Hostel, clean, perfect location- just no atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for leaving us your comments. I am happy to read that you liked the hostel, the location and the cleanliness, as you know everyone does it's best to give to our guests a great experience. Regarding the atmosphere, on your next stay I would suggest to pop in in our sister Hostel Clink 78, in which you can find a bar and meet a lot of people :) Enjoy your future travels. Kind regards, Federica

86%

Friendly staff. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Well equipped kitchen and lounge area. Very good value for money with breakfast included. Location excellent. Hope to return in September

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback and for pointing out the staff and the very good value for money. We are really glad to know you enjoy the hostel’s facilities, and we are looking forward to seeing you with us again in September! Enjoy your future travels! Kind regards, Sérgio Reception Supervisor

71%

Lockers did not work in the room (18 bed dorm), but in reception area. No hook, no shelf to put your stuff on while taking a shower. Apart from that: excellent location, safe and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thank you for your feedback and appreciating the location and safety of the hostel. In the 18 bed dorm you can find small lockers on top of the bed for small items such as passports, mobile phones etc. If you book in any of the other dormitories you will find lockers to keep your valuables. Regarding the hooks in the showers; we will definitely look into this as to improve your stay and others the next time! Enjoy your travels. Sérgio

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(61 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback