X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink261 Reviews

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1634 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

The only good thing was the location. The man on the front desk at night was so rude. The beds did not seem clean and the showers had so much hair in them. Probably the worst hostel we've stayed in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving us a feedback. Sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us. Hopefully it won't effect your future stay with us and we going to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

83%

18 bed dorm packed so tightly it's fairly ridiculous. Yes, I know it's a hostel but barely room to crawl into bed. Terrifying lighting and also no Windows but a skylight, felt very prison like. Cancellation policy around New Year's quite ridiculous. They want 7 days advance instead of two despite it being the busiest time of the year when they'd easily be able to find people. However, staff very friendly, place clean, and kitchen facilities good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a comment. I am sorry that your stay was so unpleasant. We do have different kind of dormitories. Therefore, if you do have any problems with your room you are always welcome to talk to any of our staff (reception is open 24/7)- we are here to help. Yes, our cancelation policy during Christmas is longer but because holiday season is pretty tricky. Therefore, for reassurance we extend our cancelation policy. Sorry for inconvenience. Kind Regards. Asta

63%

There were no outlets in the bunks so hostelers in my room were left scrambling for ways to charge their phones. The lights in the bunks were not functional either. I was unsure of whether my bedding was cleaning because it was thrown all over the bed like it had already been slept in and the floor was sticky and crumby. It may have been an off night for the hostel but I would not stay here again. The location is good since it's so near the tube but I had doubts about whether it was clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant experience. If you do have some issues our reception working 24/7 and we could help if all of your enquiries. We definitely have some power sockets in our room areas and lights should work on the bed, if not you should ask at the reception. The same with bedding. But thank you for your review. Enjoy your travels. Kind Regards, Asta

83%

The place is great located! Breakfast included and good staff. The wi-fi goes and comes off but works, My only advice would be to update the computer at the lobby, some new airline apps do not work properly with that software version.


89%

A nice little hostel within walking distance of St Pancras and King's Cross. Only stayed there one night, but staff was lovely, breakfast excellent, room was a little small but we slept soundly. Price are aligned on the usual London pricing, no surprise there. Would definitely come back, thanks for the stay and all the best!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. We glad that you had a pleasant stay in our hostel and find our breakfast service excellent. Hope to see you very soon. Enjoy your travels. Kind Regards, Asta

100%

Great location and clean rooms and bathrooms. The heating was a bit too high in the bedroom and the duvet was very heavy which made it difficult to sleep. When I arrived my bedding was screwed up on the bed, which made me worry it wasn't fresh. I asked the other room mates and they advised that all of the beds are made like that so not to worry.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you found our hostel clean. I am sorry to hear that it was too hot for you. Next time if you will have any doubts about the rooms and the bedding feel free to talk to any of our staff we immediately sort things out and change the bedding. Hope to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

86%

Fantastic staff.. Super friendly but not invasive.. Will take you out for a beer if interested. Plenty of banter in the shared living spaces.. Big enough to not feel cramped but small enough to remain cosy and to preserve the strong sense of family maintained between guests.. Fantastic!


94%

Great location, easy to find and travel around London. If you stay longer than few days, every museum or something else you can reach by foot. Breakfast included, thats the best, because at London [center] you cant find enything cheap for breakfast. Only around 5 pounds. large kitchen, rest area near it, with tv. Rooms ok, not too large, was hot, but when windows open was good. Everything was clean, so if you keep it like that, there is no mess.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a feedback. We are glad that you had enjoyable stay and liked our services. Hope we going to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

89%

A very nice hostel,clean and fresh throughout,shall stay here again..nice staff,enjoyed my stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We do appreciate your kind words and glad that you enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

69%

Good location in the city centre with minimal road noise. Serious lack of security - nowhere in the 4 bed dorm even to put a bag - let alone put it away securely. The room was swelteringly hot - radiators on full blast when it's 13 degrees outside is unnecessary. Also, despite checking in at bang on 2pm, receptionist put me in the bottom bunk which was so cramped I couldn't actually sit up in bed - when the other beds were entirely free - which I didn't realise until the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear that you had unpleasant stay with us. We are trying our best to assigned beds under our costumers requests. Our reception is working 24 hours, therefore, if you do have any problems you can pop in and we would try to sort out things. Also we do have some lockers in the rooms and at the reception area where you can lock your stuff. I hope you will enjoy future travels. Kind Regards, Asta

100%

2nd visit, everytime I come to London, it's my first choice of accommodation, especially when you are on a budget.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a feedback. We are glad that we are your first choice. Hoping to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

83%

I only stayed here for one night due to my flight being pushed back, but it was clean and convenient. Only a 5 minute walk to King's Cross which makes getting around London very easy. The showers and toilets were very clean. I was in the 4 bed female dorm which was tiny (only one person could be standing in the room at a time) but that's London for you. The internet didn't work consistently, even in the common areas. Staff were friendly enough. Altogether perfectly fine for a short stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a comment. We are glad that you find our hostel convenient and clean. We are small hostel and trying to provide the best services in London. Yes, sometimes during the busy times we experiencing some issues with our free wifi connection but we are trying to sort out this issue. We hope to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

77%

Everytime I decide to stay in an 18 bed dorm, it is when I arrive I immediately regret it. People come all hours and the door is heavy and noisy (unfortunately this is not the hostels fault, learnt my lesson again). I thought this smaller version of the Clink 78 would be a nicer stay however it still has a cramped feel, and a strange smell (again.. maybe 18 people in one room?) Apart from that it was value for money, did the job, close to kings cross station and the staff so helpful/friendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us comment. Yes, we are small hostel but we do have various rooms not just 18 dorm. Sorry, to hear that you experienced some discomfort. But we glad that location was suitable for you and glad that you found staff helpful. Hope to see you next time where you could try different type of room. Kind Regards, Asta

94%

Arrived on a Thursday for two nights, place was clean and friendly. Staff were helpful and cheery, suggesting places to grab food and the girl in the kitchens in the mornings was so lovely it kicked our days off in the best way.

  • 3rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving us a feedback. We glad that you liked our services and we helped to start to kick your days off. Hope to see you very soon. Enjoy your travels. Kind Regards, Asta

80%

Rooms are too small for 6 people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a comment. Sorry that you found our 6 dorm too small. We are small hostel but we do have different types of rooms which some of them are more spacious and were we can accommodate more people as well. Hope we still going to see very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

80%

The fact that the bathrooms are separated by gender is great but there are not enough women bathrooms, so we had to wait to shower in the morning. The Wifi didn't work that well and it doesn't work in the room. We booked a room for 4, but it was so small! But having sink in the room is a good idea.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment. Sorry that you had to wait for showers. However, we do have showers on several floors as well. Unfortunately, sometimes our free wifi services does not reach rooms areas but it should work in common areas. Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. Enjoy your travels and hope to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

69%

10 beds in a small room is way too much!!!

  • 29th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving us a comment. Yes, we are very small hostel but with a variety of dorms. If you feel that 10 dorm is too crowded we do have other options, as 8 beds, 6 beds or 4 beds. Furthermore, we do have 18 bed dorms, where rooms are allocated in the ground floor and are more specious. Kind Regards, Asta

60%

Stayed in an 8 bed dorm which was extremely small. Had cage lockers under the beds but not enough for all 8 people. Breakfast was pretty plain but free so not complaining about that. I stayed on the 3rd floor and the girls bathrooms were on the 2nd and there were only 2 toilets and 2 showers for all of us so a there was always a line. Shower pressure was poor but hot. Great location though and charging points at the bed head which is always a plus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a room. Sorry that you found or rooms too small. However, we are very small hostel. About the showers, yes we do have showers for girls on the second and on the third just for boys. Although, we do have more showers on the ground floor and first floor for both genders as well. And last but not least we do have some spare lockers in the reception are if it not is enough in the rooms. Enjoy your travels. Kind Regards, Asta

60%

If you have a choice in London, I would stay elsewhere. The hostel rooms are tiny and prison-like. You can't sit up on the lower bunk due to no space. There is nowhere to sit, even on the beds. The lighting is very poor. The showers have nowhere to put your toiletries or clothes, so they are on the wet ground. There is nothing awful about this place, it's just that if there are other hostels available, you would probably be happier in another place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leaving us a comment. Sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant stay. We are a small hostel. But we do have a lounge area where you can hang out as well, not just in your room area. However, than you for your review. Enjoy your travels. Kind Regards, Asta

80%

Been here 6 times before, it's still nice. Love the free breakfast. Wifi is much better than before. London is very high in hostel prices, but still Clink is always one of the cheapest while I think it's nice to stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. We are glad that you are always choosing to stay with us. Yes, we are trying to improve our Free Wifi services. Thank you for loyalty and hope to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

(120 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback