X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink261 Reviews

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1173 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Some of my fellow guests weren't too respectful at 2 am, but the staff made up for it by letting me change rooms the next night. All in all, good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad we could help with this issue. Please, come again! :) Enjoy your travels! Agata

94%

It was a pleasant stay with all the necessary facilities, big kitchen, and very good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and great ratings! I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again at Clink. Enjoy your travels! Agata

80%

The room I was in had only a single power outlet for 18 beds. In a world where everyone has at least one mobile device that needs to be charged every night, one outlet for 18 people is unacceptable. It was especially annoying because every bed has a light built into it - how hard would it be to just wire in an outlet too?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback and good ratings. Recently we installed some extra outlets in the big dorms, we'll have a look into getting more. For the time being the receptionists are more than happy to charge guests' devices. Moreover, smaller 10, 8, 6 and 4 bedded dorms have individual plugs. I hope that apart from that you had a nice stay in London! Enjoy your travels! Agata

49%

There were no outlets in the bedrooms or the bathrooms. The ladders to get to the top bunk are the most poorly designed ladders I have ever seen. The showers were gross. The staff was not friendly, impatient and rude.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Was a quality stay relatively quiet with a nice chill out / kitchen area that I would recommend to other travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for such nice feedback. I'm glad you had a nice stay and that you'd recommend us. Hope to see you again at Clink! Enjoy your travels! Agata

83%

All the basic amenities and essential living items were available. Hostel gets cleaned quite regularly which makes it pleasant for staying at. The staff were very helpful as well. Location is very convenient from the Kings Cross St. Pancras station. Perhaps what could be improved on is having access to wifi in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your nice words and feedback. I'm glad you liked the hostel. We'll do our best to make Wi-fi available for the whole building as soon as possible. Hope to see you again soon! Enjoy your travels! Agata

69%

Should have locks available to secure items.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We do have lockers available. Next time, please, ask one of our friendly receptionists where to find them :) Hope to see you again at Clink! Enjoy your travels! Agata

74%

I had an overall great experience. I did however, have issues with one of the attendants at the desk. She was rude and not compassionate.


63%

The bed I slept in had old candy stuck to the bottom of the mattress.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your ratings and comment. I'm sorry your mattress wasn't clean. The HK team is working 24/7 so if they missed a spot please come and report it to the reception and we'll quickly organize cleaning. Hope to see you again at Clink! Enjoy your travels! Agata

69%

Cons: Internet did not work in the room at all. Internet in the reception room was pretty unstable, it crashed every 3 minutes. Rooms for 8 ppl are too small. 4 persons for that size would be ok. pros: Breakfast included location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. I hope that apart from the things you mentioned you enjoyed your stay in London. The rooms are not very spacious but we offer a budget accommodation and I believe modern comfortable beds and nice cosy common rooms make up for the size. The internet gets slower when a lot of people are using it at the same time. We're having a look into improving the connection. Hope you'll stay with us again. Enjoy your travels! Agata

54%

Stay in this hostel if you like hard beds, flat pillows, and a very central location. I only stayed here one night, but I found that the rooms were tiny and hot (the one I stayed in had a door that opened up to a neighboring roof, and I could open it easily. The room also had a sink, but no toilet). The girls toilets were messy, but the showers were ok. Staff was very accommodating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback and appreciating the staff! I'm sorry your stay wasn't as good as expected. We have 24/7 reception and housekeeping so if there are any issues, please, come to us. We cannot change the central location - which for most travelers is an advantage, but we're happy to give an extra pillow or organize cleaning. Hope you'll give us another chance! Enjoy your travels! Agata

66%

good located, very close to Kings Cross. The hostel is extremly narrow, there is no space nowhere and the lobby is tiny. All in all a good hostel, but its a little pricey for what you get.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't find our hostel a good value for money. I hope you took advantage of our other common areas - TV room, kitchen, dining area and a bar in our sister hostel. We also offer free breakfast and daily walking tours. Please come again and we will do our best to make your stay unforgettable :) Enjoy your travels! Agata

80%

The breakfast could be better, with different and variable food, or at least frut.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and good ratings. The breakfast is free and we offer toasts, butter, jam, coffee, hot chocolate, 4 types of cereals, 3 types of tea. Yes, it could be improved, but if we add more things we'l have to charge for it. I hope you had a nice stay and will come again to Clink. Enjoy your travels! Agata

89%

Clean, cheap, good security and convenient location, although a bit close to a busy main road.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for such nice words! I'm glad you liked our hostel. Since we're located in the center the roads get busy but we have some rooms away from the street, please, ask for them next time you book with us. Hope to see you again at Clink! Enjoy your travels! Agata

26%

The worst hostel i've ever been in, the staff was awful, the room was really dirty and it was overall an horrible experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Reception and Housekeeping is open and ready for helping 24 hours. You were sleeping in a room with 18 beds. We clean it everyday but we cannot control everything our guests do there. So, if you give us a second chance, next time you could stay in a smaller room with more facilities (like plugs over your bed and light). Many thanks and Safe travels. Ale

74%

The cleanliness and hangout areas were great. There should be more outlets in the bedrooms when you have 16+ people in there. Two staff members were arguing in the kitchen during my breakfast. I thought this was very unprofessional. Another staff member working the desk could not answer any of my questions about sight seeing things in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback and nice words. I'm sorry you didn't find our receptionist helpful, normally we're doing our best to answer all the questions and give suggestions about what to see in London. I'm sorry about the unprofessional behavior you witnessed, I'll talk to the team as it shouldn't happen. Hope you will come again and give us second chance to make a better impression. Enjoy your travels! Agata

57%

Brief walk to and from King's Cross/St. Pancras Station which is good, but the surrounding area seemed a little slummy and a tad dangerous at points. Room rates were fair, but far from an excellent deal for what you were getting. Staff was friendly and approachable and were helpful for directions and questions, etc. 24 hour reception is a plus but better security for the luggage check room is definitely necessary. Whole place could have really been a lot cleaner as well.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bahamas
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback ans appreciating the staff. The center of a big city is never as safe as a small town but the police is patrolling the streets. The luggage room is only for non valuable things but we offer free lockers for valuables. I'm sorry you didn't find a place clean enough - we have 24h reception and housekeeping so please don't hesitate to report any issues. Hope to see you again. Enjoy your travels! Agata

97%

Fantastic hostel! I was wary of the 18 person room but it's set up very smartly with divides so you still have privacy. The staff are fabulous and the common room is cozy. The sister hostel is quite nearby and offers cheap tickets to attractions and West End shows and even has a bar! It's super close to King's Cross so you can get anywhere very easily. I will definitely be staying here the next time I'm in London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!! It was also very nice to meet you. Many thanks for leaving the review See you next time Safe travels Ale

86%

Excellent hostel stayed for 1 night excellent.location just down from st pancras was handy to go to france early the next morning. Washing machine and dryer downstairs. Breakfast was ok. Nice tv room and kitchen too :) and free wifi. Beds were quite comfy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for such nice words and marks. We hope to see you back Safe travels Ale

80%

foverall, it was good, i booked for another day, but didnt book for the day rthat i wanted, i had to wait one hour to be shown into my room, because of the days mix up. i was finally let into my room. thanks sanaa erreg

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for leaving a review! We are happy that we sorted out your booking and you enjoyed your stay. We always try to do our best, and I'm sure that we could do it faster that one hour next time ;) Hope to see you soon Safe travels Ale

(117 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback