X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink261 Reviews

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1395 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I had a good time at clink. The breakfast is good and the staff very friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for leaving such a positive words! I am really glad you enjoyed your stay at Clink 261, and I hope to see you with us in the near future! Enjoy your travels! Sérgio

89%

Bathrooms were very clean, so was the kitchen. Breakfast provided was a nice start to the day. The location was nice because it was right by King Cross with easy access to the underground. Also they had a luggage room to store your things in before you left.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your nice review and the time taken to leave it. I am really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Clink and that you appreciate the location and the cleanliness. I hope to see you in Clink back soon! Enjoy your future travels. Kind regards, Federica

94%

This was a great stay especially for the cost. Location is great near Kings Cross St. Pancras. Wifi was really terrible even in the lounge and kitchen areas. Otherwise great stay.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad to know you had a great stay with us! The WIFI is for free and sometimes when large amounts of people are using it, it can slow the connection down. If this happens come at reception to inform us and we can restart the system and it will increase the speed of the connection. Enjoy your future travels and look forward to seeing you again! Sérgio

54%

Internet doesnt work, or barely. Rooms are too small with no where to put anything. No free floor space whatsoever or shelves. Communal area (used for breakfast) is closed for other half of morning. making it difficult to sit and plan, or do things that require any kind of concentration. (I was told to go to the other hostel to find a place to sit !) I wanted to cancel my bed but because of there 48 hour policy, I just left the paid bed 2 days early because it was less hassle.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, I'm sad to read that your stay didn’t meet your expectations.The WiFi is free and sometimes larger amounts of people using it can slow the connection down.If you inform us at reception about this a simple restart can increase the speed and connection.The kitchen is closed for a couple of hours in order for our amazing Housekeeping team to clean and have this ready for you to use the rest of the day. The reception area is always free to use. Enjoy your travels.Regards Federica

77%

i had a good stay, only the breakfest could have been better. It was every day the same, and there were not a lot of toppings.

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to know you had a good stay in our hostel. Breakfast is made of a selection of cereals, toasts, jam, coffee and tea, etc. Unlike most hostels in London, it is for free, and if we want to offer a wide range of products, we would have to increase the price of the accommodation. Hope to see you with us again in the near future! Enjoy your travels! Sérgio, reception supervisor.

89%

Great location to Kings Cross but their wifi could definitely be improved.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for taking the time to leave a review and pointing out the good location of the hostel! We are sorry you found the Wifi slow, in that cases remember we have a 24 hours reception to help you with any issue, next time don’t be shy and ask to restart it. I hope to see you in the near future, enjoy your travels! Kind regards, Sérgio

100%

Brilliant place to stay, very near to Kingscross station. So very near for the tube station. Very clean and felt secure. Wouldd highly recommend. Very good value for money.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, you literally drawn a smile on my face! thank you for leaving such an amazing review! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay here and the convenient hostel’s situation! Please do come back  Kind regards, Sérgio

100%

Everything fine except the noice from the street. But on the other hand, this is not a hotel in the countryside.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks a lot for such a good review! You are right, sometime London can be a noisy city, it is part of its charming atmosphere! Remember that in that cases, our reception is open 24 hours, and we offer earplugs for free! Hope to see you in the near future! Enjoy your travels! Kind regards, Sérgio

80%

The room was too hot at the night

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback and the time leaving us a review. I am sorry to read that you found your room too hot, did you report this to reception? Just to remind you, our reception works 24 hours, so next time don't be shy and ask :) I hope to see you soon again. Enjoy your future travels. Kind regards, Federica Reception Supervisor

80%

Good hostel near Kings Cross. Good atmosphere with lots of young people. Only 3 power outlets in our 18 man room, at other peoples bed spaces. Wifi very slow and unreliable. Breakfast is pretty good - choice of cereal and muesli, coffee, juice etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are glad to know you enjoyed the atmosphere at Clink 261! We are sorry you found the Wifi slow, in that cases remember we have a 24 hours reception to help you with issues like that. About the socket, you can find lots of them either in the reception area or in the TV room. Enjoy your future travels! Kind regards, Sérgio

86%

We stayed in Clink 261 in June of 2015 and were very impressed by the cleanliness and nice accommodations of the hostel. I was initially hesitant to stay in a 10 person room, but once meeting everyone and getting a locker under the bed, it was great. You share a locker with the other person on your bunk. Good breakfasts. Clean showers. The best part was the close proximity to King's Cross Station. Enabled us to make the most of our time in London and quickly get around the city with the Tube.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Rooms totally are smaller than they appear on the photos! We had 4 people in our room and could barley move but if ur looking for just a place to sleep than this is it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the room size didn’t reach your expectations. Why don’t you try a private room next time? They are bigger and probably you will feel more comfortable. Other than that, we hope you had a good time here, and hope to see you in Clink 261 soon. Enjoy your future travels! Kind regards, Sérgio Reception supervisor

94%

Amazing time at this hostel. Great security, right near kings cross and supermarkets, such clean showers it was fantastic (they are cleaned daily), great beds, really nice big kitchen and lounge area. A little loud at night as there's a night club nearby but meh not a big deal, it is a hostel after all. Would stay again :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for your kindness and for leaving such a great review! We are happy you found the location convenient, and that you enjoyed the cleanliness and the common areas at Clink 261! On your next stay, remember that our reception is open 24 hours, so just pop in at any time and ask for some earplugs for free! Hope to see you with us again in the near future! Have a nice day! Kind regards, Sérgio

97%

Awesome place, I would find anything bad to say even if I wanted to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a great review! We are really happy you enjoyed your stay at Clink 261, and we hope to see you with us in the near future! Have a nice day! Kind regards, Sérgio

80%

Staff behind the front desk could help guests a bit quicker - pretty focused on their phone and ignored people who came up to the desk. Showers could be a bit cleaner but the bedding was very clean and orderly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to let us your comments. I am sorry to hear you didn’t find the staff helpful. I’d like to have more informations regarding this issue and I would really appreciate if you could take the time to write an email to our reservation department and give us more details. As you know we are always keen to listen to our guest’s opinion in order to improve our services and give the best experience. Have a nice day. Kind regards, Federica

71%

Excellent location within walking distance to the King's cross station. Helpful staff (especially Radu if I got his name right). Plug points at each bed. However, this doesn't have much else going for it. Very small and cramped rooms. Tiny beds where a tall person will barely fit. No lockers in the room to keep valuables. Terrible WiFi connection in the rooms. Just one toilet for men on each floor. An okay place to stay for one or two nights but I wouldn't consider staying here for longer trips.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for your feedback and appreciating the staff! We are sorry to read you found your room small, next time I would recommend you to book a private room for more space. About the lockers, apart the ones underneath the beds, you have more in reception area :) Regarding the Wi-Fi, I’d like to point out that we just started extending it to the whole building and may not reach all the rooms, but works well in common areas. Enjoy your future travels! Kind regards, Sérgio

91%

The hostel is very good value for money and the location is central to most places. I will definitely recommend it to friends

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zimbabwe
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a nice review! We are glad to know you enjoyed the hostel, and that you would recommend it to your friends! Please do come back! Have a nice day! Kind regards, Sérgio, Reception Supervisor

97%

Very happy with Clink261 - whenever a toilet was dirty or there was no more toilet paper, you could expect it would be cleaned / added within the next half hour. Very good value, amicable staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you very much for such an amazing review, you have made my day! We are really happy you enjoyed your stay at Clink 261, and we hope to see you with us in the near future! Have a nice day! Kind regards, Sérgio, Reception Supervisor

69%

Pros: great location, great bathrooms, very respectful people in my room who weren't noisy at all Cons: I now know how chickens feel in a factory; I've never seen so many bunk beds crammed in a room before. The bottom bunks are oddly dark and gloomy because the part of the bed near the head is covered by a board. Overall: interesting experience that wasn't too bad or great (although I only stayed one night)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are glad to know you enjoyed your experience with us, even if the dormitory didn’t reach your expectations. May I recommend for your next stay a different kind of dormitory, such as the 10BB? These ones are provided with a different bed configuration, more lightly and with sockets and USB chargers in every bed. Hope to see you with us again! Enjoy your travels! Kind regards, Sérgio, Reception Supervisor

100%

I found the hostel to be easy to find, the staff welcoming and the facilities clean and easy to use. It is very well located a stone's throw from Kings Cross - a really easy walk. Lots of places around for food and money exchange and a lovely pub just a few doors up. A great London hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you very much for such an amazing review! We are really happy you enjoyed your stay at Clink 261, and we hope to see you with us in the near future! Have a great day! Kind regards, Sérgio Reception Supervisor

(61 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback