X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink261 Reviews

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1637 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

If you have a choice in London, I would stay elsewhere. The hostel rooms are tiny and prison-like. You can't sit up on the lower bunk due to no space. There is nowhere to sit, even on the beds. The lighting is very poor. The showers have nowhere to put your toiletries or clothes, so they are on the wet ground. There is nothing awful about this place, it's just that if there are other hostels available, you would probably be happier in another place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leaving us a comment. Sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant stay. We are a small hostel. But we do have a lounge area where you can hang out as well, not just in your room area. However, than you for your review. Enjoy your travels. Kind Regards, Asta

80%

Been here 6 times before, it's still nice. Love the free breakfast. Wifi is much better than before. London is very high in hostel prices, but still Clink is always one of the cheapest while I think it's nice to stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. We are glad that you are always choosing to stay with us. Yes, we are trying to improve our Free Wifi services. Thank you for loyalty and hope to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

97%

excellent location, great hostel with lovely staff. thank you so much!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words. We glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and took your time to leave us a review. Hopefully we going to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

69%

I couldn't connect to wifi, only in the lobby. It supposed more than 30 euros in my phone bill cos I really need it for work.

  • 23rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We appreciate that you take your time to leave us a comment. I am sorry to hear that you had some issues with free WiFi connection. Yes, lately we were experiencing some issues with a reception in a rooms. We trying to fix it as soon as possible. However, free WiFi works as always in the reception area and in the lounge area where you can hang out anytime. Kind

74%

Location is amazing, very close to a main train station (St. pancras and Kings Cross). Bed was comfortable enough. Has lockers which are good sized for suit case. Bathroom were very very sub-par. Tiny things could improve this hostel. Mainly extra hooks in the showers and shelves to put toiletries on. Bed has light, and outlet above it, which was really nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for leaving us a comment. We are glad that you find our beds comfortable. I do agree that small things could improve our hostel. Thank you so much for your suggestions about the hooks and shelves in the bathrooms. I will pass it along to my superior. Kind Regards, Asta

91%

The hostel is very good, clean and perfectly located. They only negative comment I would have is that the corridor is VERY noisy (the noise reverberates a lot and the room doors are designed to slam when shut, which woke me up quite a few times). Apart from that the rooms are small but convenient and clean, beds are very comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving us a feedback. We are glad that find our rooms convenient and comfortable. I am sorry to hear that noise from our corridor's disturbed your stay. Our reception is working 24/7. Next time if you will experience some issues just pop in we will try to sort things out. Kind Regards, Asta

91%

Good hostel for the budget conscious traveller. It's clean and the beds are comfortable enough. The breakfast is quite simple: cereals, toast, juice and coffee. But at least there is one! Staff is friendly and the whole establishment is well organized. Location is perfect! Overall, good choice for London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank for your such a kind words. We really glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are doing our best to provide best services! Hope to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

89%

Stayed in a 10 bed female dorm. It would be great if the hostel could provide 1 more locker per bunk! There are lockers on the first floor and a luggage room though, so if you need a safe place to store your stuff, you can use those. Only 2 stalls in the girl's showers had hot water, and 1 of them was pretty small so try to use the one closest to the door if you can. Staff are really friendly and helpful, the bathrooms and kitchen are cleaned very regularly too :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback and kind words. Yes, you are right. We do have some lockers in the rooms and spare lockers in our reception area, were our guests could keep their belongings safe. I am sorry to hear about the hot water. However, we highly encourage to speak to any of our staff if you do have any problems with our facilities. We are here 24/7. Hope to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

94%

Great hostel, would recommend it to my friends and stay there again next time I'm in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for such a lovely feedback. We really appreciate that. We are looking forwards to seeing once again and we will gladly welcome all your friends. Kind Regards, Asta

86%

Everything was just fine. The only one thing I was surprised about was the size of the room to accomodate 18 people in there. I expected it to be larger. On the other hand, I understand, that every m2 in London is very expensive

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we are small hostel and our biggest room is 18bb. However, we do have a bigger hostel Clink79 which a capacity to accommodate more guests in general. It is located in King's Cross area as well, 5 min walking distance from us. Enjoy your travels and we are looking forward seeing you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

71%

Helpful staff, good distance from Kings Cross, a bit noisy with the amount of traffic outside the window, great kitchen facilities though space was a bit limited with the amount of people coming and going

  • 11th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The atmosphere was ok. The bed was comfortable and it has its own light, usb and 3port UK socket. Breakfast was ok. The staff is superb! First awesome staff experience: I was upgraded during a last minute booking (every pound counts in London!!). And the second awesome staff experience: I left my cardigan and the receptionist took time to leave her desk to go to my room just to see for herself if I left it there!


80%

I enjoy coming to clink 261l use it on a regular basis when in central London. It's close to transport and other facilities and I enjoy the friendly nature of the hostel would recommend to family and friends.

  • 9th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and for appreciating our location and facilities :) I am really happy to read you had a nice stay with us! I hope to see you in Clink soon again! Have a nice day! Kind regards, Sérgio

71%

Great location, good kitchen facilities. It would be good to have curtains for extra privacy in the dorm rooms and also the bathroom facilities were fairly limited - female bathrooms were two floors down and only one sink so difficult to get in to brush your teeth in the morning.

  • 8th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments and for appreciating location and facilities. I am sorry to read you found insufficient facilities during your stay, as it is not a common situation and rarely guests need to wait to use them. Regarding the bed curtains, we will definitely take your suggestion into consideration, as your opinion is always important to us to improve our service! Hope to see you very soon with us again! Have a nice day! Sérgio

49%

It was really noisy and I could hear people talking in the next room. The room was very stuffy and the shower facilities were not so cleaned as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a feedback. I am sorry that you had unpleasant stay with us. Just remember next time if you are having some issues you always welcome to any of our staffs. Our reception is open 24h/7 and we would try to sort things out. Kind Regards, Asta

80%

I used this hostel for an overnight stay to be close to St Pancras International. Good value for what a large kitchen and TV area. The beds are a little noisy and so are the under-bed cage lockers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking your time to leave a feedback for us. We really glad that you find your our hostel convenient and overall enjoyed your stay. Yes, we do have lounge area downstairs, were you always welcome to hang out and also we do have lockers in our rooms and in reception area. Hope to see you very soon. Kind Regards, Asta

66%

The room was super dark and the bed was very uncomfortable but nice staff and good location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We really glad that you appreciate our services, we trying our best to welcome our guest. However, I am very sorry to hear that our room facilities didn't meet your expectation. We hope that it won't effect your future decision to stay with us. Hoping to see you soon. Enjoy your travels. Kind Regards, Asta

83%

Thanks, the staff were all really lovely and I would definitely stay here again.

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, a big thank you for your nice words :) you literally drawn a smile on my face! I hope to see you in Clink back very soon. Have a nice day! Kind regards, Federica

97%

This hostel is a great place to stay. The rooms are, thought a bit small, very clean and comfortable and the common rooms are also very nice. The breakfast is very good and the staff is kind and helpful. The location of the hostel is very good as it is close to Kings Cross station where you can reach all public transport (busses, trains or the tube) to visit the interesting places in the city. There is a supermarket right beside it to buy snacks, drinks or food for cooking.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very kind words. We appreciate that you stayed with us and we glad that you had a pleasant stay. We are hoping to see you very soon. All the best, Asta

86%

Stayed 5 nights in 8 bed dorm. One set of bunks too many for space. Only one locker available for each set of bunks. Room was stifling hot but if you opened the window street noise was very loud. Nice big hostel, well organised breakfast with a staff member cleaning up after everyone to keep things flowing. Very close to tube. Bathrooms cleaned regularly, the female's was on our floor but the male's was on a different floor. Each bunk had own light and powerpoints, pillows ridiculously thin.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for leaving your comments. I am glad to know you enjoyed the free breakfast and our facilities! About the heating, don't forget that we have our reception open 24/7, to help you out with any problem or issue; by letting us know in time, we can turn the heating down or give you an extra pillow. Next time, please, don’t be shy and come to reception. Hope to see you back with us very soon! Enjoy your future travels! Sérgio

(120 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback