X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink261 Reviews

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1106 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Beds were comfort and had a couple of plugs over the head to charge your devices. Staff was nice and the hostel is like 4 blocks away from Kings Cross what makes it really easy to access and move around London. I missed having big lockers to leave my important stuff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. All the rooms with 10, 8, 6 and 4 beds, have lockers under the beds. If all of them are take, next time you could use for free one of the small lockers in reception. We hope to see you soon. Safe travels! Ale

89%

Very hot rooms with no AC.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for leaving a review and good marks! The rooms was that hot because London was crazily hot those days!! London is not ready for this temperatures. We would have the AC off 360 days per year, which it makes me feel sad if I think about it... Anyway, I hope to see you soon back in London, perhaps next time in a raining day :) Safe travels Ale

80%

Good location. But noisy and some of room is stinky. But breakfast is free and quality is quite good And staff was working hard

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for leaving a review. Next time you could ask for one of our rooms looking at the back yard. These are really silents. Regarding the smell, sharing rooms with random people brings you this, sometimes, "different experiences". Next time, you could ask to change room. Our staff will try their best to find another room for you! Safe travels Ale

83%

The kitchen shouldn't be closed for three hours (between 10am-1pm) what if you want to cook lunch? Showers need more attention it is a bit gross with all that hair on the floor. And it could be a safe basket each in the dorm room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for the tips. We need these three hours to clean and set up the kitchen after breakfast. We don,t want to use cleaning products while people are cooking. We clean showers and bathrooms two times per day, but reception is open 24 hours. There are lockers in all the rooms, but if all of them are taken, you could use the ones in reception, always free of charge. We hope to see you here again Safe travels! Ale

71%

There needs to be a bathroom on the third floor and please put wifi throughout the hostel! (: Also, please add more lockers in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback. We're having a look at the Wi-Fi issue and soon should know the details when it will be available in the whole building. Unfortunately there's not enough space for female bathroom on 3rd floor but guests may use bathrooms on all other floors. Hope you'll come again and enjoy Wi-Fi in your room :) Enjoy your travels! Agata

89%

One of the best hostels I've stayed at in London recently - it's in a good location, it seems to be cleaned regularly and the breakfast was good. There were only 2 lockers in a 4 bed dorm which was disappointing, and the bunk beds were a bit wobbly, though had nice touches like individual lights and USB chargers on them. Depending on price and the location I'll be, this will be my choice stay next time I'm in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and such nice words. I'm so glad you want to come back - there's no better review than this :) I'm sorry we couldn't fit more lockers in your room but we have a lot of them at reception area. See you again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

97%

Very close to King's Cross & a wonderful friendly atmosphere. Definitely great for solo travelers. Would 100% stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for leaving a review and for these nice words. See you next time then!! Ale

89%

Very impressive service - I was able to have breakfast the day I arrived before check-in and offered use of all the facilities. Very convenient for public transport. Beds have barriers giving a bit more privacy - and the reading lights are handy. I was very happy there and would definitely recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks a lot for this nice words. We also hope to see you here again.

83%

The location is good.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and good ratings. I'm glad location was convenient for you. Hope to see you again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

66%

The hostel was clean. However, the room was very hot and the hostel noisy throughout the night. I was also disappointed with the pressure in the showers For the money, I was expecting at least a comfy bed, but the bunks don't accommodate anyone over 6 foot tall apparently. In all, this is a typical hostel, therefore I would expect to pay typical hostel prices....except these were much more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't find your bed comfortable enough. The reception open 24/7 and always ready to help if there are any problems with the noise, showers etc. Please note that during season the prices in all tourism sector go up and for the central London we offer standard rates and as a bonus - free breakfast. Enjoy your travels! Agata

77%

Pretty solid hostel. Its the little sister of Clink78 up the street but I think this one is better. Less cramped rooms, lower capacity and cleaner amenities. It doesnt have a bar like Clink78 but if you want a better night sleep and are happy to hit the bars outside of your hostel I would recommend this one. Plugs and lights on each bed is also a massive extra.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for such nice words! I'm glad you found your favorite Clink hostel. :) Just to clarify - the Clash bar is open also for guests from Clink261, it's within less than 5 minutes walking distance. Hope to see you again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

86%

Staff were helpful and very friendly! The hostel was clean and loved the beds - lights and USB chargers.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for your nice words! We hope to see you again! Safe travels Ale

74%

The staff people are nice and helpfull, the room where I slept was a little small and crawed...

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your review. We have many different types of rooms with more or less space between beds. SO next time you could ask for a bigger dorm. All ours bunks have a panel giving more privacy to your sleep. Hope to see you soon! Safe travels! Ale

66%

I have stayed in many many hostels, most of them in London. While the location of Clink is hard to beat because it is so close to King's Cross and thus easily connected throughout the city, it is difficult to get a good night's sleep in the Clink hostels. While 261 is the quieter or the duo, those sardine-like bunk beds and extremely cramped rooms feel chaotic.


66%

Great location and the staff was really nice. But the bathrooms were so tiny and not very clean. The mixed dorm was so scrunched together.. They separated the bunks with these metal cage things, but when people snored it echoed even louder. Also the wifi was terrible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for your review. We clean bathrooms twice a day but Staff is ready 24 hours to improve anything you could find under your expectations. Next time you could try a smaller dorm or also a private room. Safe travels! Ale

94%

We had a great stay. We only needed one night's accommodation and most hostels have a 2 night maximum so this was our main reason for choosing Clink. Great location, spotlessly clean, friendly staff. Although our 4 birth room was tiny, each bunk had its own panel with sockets and reading light which was great for charging phone etc. great kitchen. What would make it better? Adjust the door closers so they don't bang. Put a female toilet and shower room on each floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback, such nice words and great ratings. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comment about the doors to our maintenance team to see if there's anything we can do with the slamming. Unfortunately there's not enough space for female showers and toilets on the 3rd floor but guests can use them on all other floors. Enjoy your travels! Agata

86%

Great location; in zone 1, 5 minutes from Kings Cross. Staff were helpful and friendly. There weren't enough lockers for beds though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for such nice words and good ratings! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! Unfortunately there weren't enough space to instal as many lockers as we have beds but there are additional ones at the reception area. Hope you will stay with us again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

77%

Need more sockets in the room! And the kitchen downstairs was poorly ventilated so it was always stuffy and hot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and good ratings! We realize the kitchen located in the basement can get stuffy so we open the door at peak times for better ventilation. We're also having a look into installing more sockets in 18 bedded dorms, in the meantime guest may leave devices to charge with reception. Please also note that other, smaller dorms, have individual sockets and cost just few pounds more. See you again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

89%

It was a nice place to stay; super good location, nice staff, and good breakfast in the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for such nice words! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you'll come again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

80%

I stayed in a 4 bunk dorm room. My main criticism is that the space was WAY too small for four people - we literally could not all stand up at the same time, and when it came time to check out, we all had to take turns to move our suitcases into the hallway (it was not possible to open up a suitcase in the room) in order to pack. Also, the bed was too short, even for small person (I could not stretch out) and the top bunk too low (bottom bunk could not sit up.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't find 4 bedded dorms comfortable enough. Maybe next time you can try bigger dorms which are more spacious and cheaper. My personal favourites are 10 and 8 bedded dorms. I guess dorm rooms are not best for sitting around but that's why we have arranged big and nice common areas where guests can relax and socialize. Hope you come again and try different rooms! Enjoy your travels! Agata

(119 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback