X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink261 Reviews

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1173 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Nice new hostel with comfotable beds and an okay breakfast included.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for your review and good marks. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels! Ale

86%

I don't see why this has such a low rating. My room had adequate security and it was BIG, a huge plus in London. Staff were friendly, location was great and they had a blackboard with hot paces to go. Breakfast was free and adequate. This was the best hostel I stay in in London and I talked to other travelers who echoed the same sentiment. Wifi is a iffy, they have they tell you to connect through facebook and it never works, but just ask staff and they provide an axillary password. Will recc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for such a great feedback! It's so nice you describe Clink261 as the best hostel in London.. :) Please come again and stay longer! Enjoy your travels!

69%

Hostel and rooms were quite small, I felt slightly cramped. My room was so small, so I had no room for my suitcase and had to repack my belongings in front of everyone in the common room (not fun af the end of a month long trip, embarrassing). Guy at the desk was nice though and put my suitcase in the storage room for the night. Facilities were good and wifi was good in the lobby. Would recommend only if you're packed light and in London for a few nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback! I'm glad you liked the facilities, sorry for all that went wrong. Smaller dorms are more private but we offer spacious and a bit cheaper dorms for more people. Maybe next time you can try these? Since it's a budget accommodation the rooms are smaller than in hotels that's why our common areas offer everything else a traveler may need, like the storage room. Hope to see you again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

80%

The female washroom was always a huge mess - sometimes the guests fault, but there was often no toilet paper. The rooms were insanely hot which made it rather uncomfortable. The bunks were nice, they had 2 plug ins plus some USB plug ins along with the light which was excellent!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for your feedback We are sorry you found the toilets like that We clean them twice per day and reception is open 24 hours, ready to provide paper or anything you could need. Next time, If you find something you thing we could improve, please, let as know and we will do our best. All the rooms have windows, but July was extremely hot and London is not ready in itself for those temperatures. NOw, for example, is cold as hell and we are still in August We hope to see u again. A.

83%

The free breakfast was a really nice perk, and the hostel is conveniently close to King's Cross. I would recommend Clink 261 in particular for those who will be making use of both the tube and the national railway, because the station is just down the street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Clink! Hope to see you again :) Enjoy your travels! Agata

83%

Wifi doesn't work in the rooms and there were not enough lockers in the room for everyone. Staff however was very nice and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and appreciating the staff! :) Unfortunately we couldn't fit as many lockers as there are beds that's why there are additional lockers at the reception area. We're looking into getting internet in the whole building. Hope you'll come again to Clink! Enjoy your travels! Agata

89%

Good value for money staff where helpful and organised would stay there again.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello There! Many thanks for your review and good marks! We would love to see you here again! Since then, I hope you keep travelling! Safe travels Ale

77%

Good location and friendly staff. In the room you will have some problem with the number of lockers available. In some case one room with 8 bed has only 6 lockers for example. But, in general, the hostel offers a good structure. Its localization is really good especially for who likes to go by walking for some places in the city. Furthermore, since the hostel is relatively large probably you will find many groups in the runners and the main living room. Nevertheless, the room is silent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you liked the hostel! Unfortunately we couldn't fit enough lockers in some rooms but there are additional lockers available at the reception area. Hope to see you again at Clink. Enjoy your travels! Agata

77%

It was a good location and very clean. We found the 4 bedroom dorm was a rather squeezy fit for four adults, though I realise we were in the heart of London and accommodation is at a premium here.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you liked the hostel. Bigger dorms are more spacious maybe you can try these next time. Also we have a lot of space to hang out in common areas. Hope to see you again at Clink. Enjoy your travels! Agata

54%

One of the worst hostels I've stayed in. I was in an 18 bed mixed dorm and it was very cramped, there was nowhere to put your bags, not enough storage lockers for everyone, no power outlets at all and the bed squeaked extremely loudly and was very uncomfortable. The showers were very small and not enough for so many people. The roof leaked, letting in dirt and rain. Very hot inside the room, wifi very slow, free breakfast was very basic. Only positive is it's location near kings cross.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback, I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. 18 bedded mixed dorms are the most basic and therefore the cheapest. However receptionists will do everything to help you - charge your devices, give you earplugs, close windows when it's raining (they're on the roof). Other rooms costs only few pounds more and have brand new beds with individual lights and plugs. Hope you'll give us another chance. Enjoy your travels! Agata

100%

A great location. Close to the tube station (king's cross) and food restaurants and convenience store for your snacks. Have a room for storing your belongings and a mini locker box to keep your sensitive items (be sure to bring your own locks). They offer continental breakfast enough for you to last til lunch. Safe place. Guests varies from 10-45 yrs old. Staff very friendly and helpful. Took my wife and my son for a mini vacation and we all ended up in a 18 mixed room with great people.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for such positive review! It's so nice people of all ages and whole families enjoy staying with us. It was great having you here and I'm glad you had fun on your vacation. Hope you'll come again. Enjoy your travels! Agata

49%

Well I didn't like this hostel much because of many reasons. Very hot no windows in the room I was in and it was an 18 bed dorm. Also there was not enough showers for the number of people. I stayed at some really nice hostels for the same price and the pictures aren't at all what it looks like

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Recently we're experiencing very hot weather unusual in UK. There are windows in 18 bedded dorms, hard to reach but receptionists can open them at any time. I hope you will come again when the weather is better and you'll be able check other facilities we offer like kitchen, tv room, lounge and bar in our sister hostel. Enjoy your travels! Agata

80%

Beds were comfort and had a couple of plugs over the head to charge your devices. Staff was nice and the hostel is like 4 blocks away from Kings Cross what makes it really easy to access and move around London. I missed having big lockers to leave my important stuff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. All the rooms with 10, 8, 6 and 4 beds, have lockers under the beds. If all of them are take, next time you could use for free one of the small lockers in reception. We hope to see you soon. Safe travels! Ale

89%

Very hot rooms with no AC.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for leaving a review and good marks! The rooms was that hot because London was crazily hot those days!! London is not ready for this temperatures. We would have the AC off 360 days per year, which it makes me feel sad if I think about it... Anyway, I hope to see you soon back in London, perhaps next time in a raining day :) Safe travels Ale

80%

Good location. But noisy and some of room is stinky. But breakfast is free and quality is quite good And staff was working hard

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for leaving a review. Next time you could ask for one of our rooms looking at the back yard. These are really silents. Regarding the smell, sharing rooms with random people brings you this, sometimes, "different experiences". Next time, you could ask to change room. Our staff will try their best to find another room for you! Safe travels Ale

83%

The kitchen shouldn't be closed for three hours (between 10am-1pm) what if you want to cook lunch? Showers need more attention it is a bit gross with all that hair on the floor. And it could be a safe basket each in the dorm room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for the tips. We need these three hours to clean and set up the kitchen after breakfast. We don,t want to use cleaning products while people are cooking. We clean showers and bathrooms two times per day, but reception is open 24 hours. There are lockers in all the rooms, but if all of them are taken, you could use the ones in reception, always free of charge. We hope to see you here again Safe travels! Ale

71%

There needs to be a bathroom on the third floor and please put wifi throughout the hostel! (: Also, please add more lockers in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback. We're having a look at the Wi-Fi issue and soon should know the details when it will be available in the whole building. Unfortunately there's not enough space for female bathroom on 3rd floor but guests may use bathrooms on all other floors. Hope you'll come again and enjoy Wi-Fi in your room :) Enjoy your travels! Agata

89%

One of the best hostels I've stayed at in London recently - it's in a good location, it seems to be cleaned regularly and the breakfast was good. There were only 2 lockers in a 4 bed dorm which was disappointing, and the bunk beds were a bit wobbly, though had nice touches like individual lights and USB chargers on them. Depending on price and the location I'll be, this will be my choice stay next time I'm in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and such nice words. I'm so glad you want to come back - there's no better review than this :) I'm sorry we couldn't fit more lockers in your room but we have a lot of them at reception area. See you again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

97%

Very close to King's Cross & a wonderful friendly atmosphere. Definitely great for solo travelers. Would 100% stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for leaving a review and for these nice words. See you next time then!! Ale

89%

Very impressive service - I was able to have breakfast the day I arrived before check-in and offered use of all the facilities. Very convenient for public transport. Beds have barriers giving a bit more privacy - and the reading lights are handy. I was very happy there and would definitely recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks a lot for this nice words. We also hope to see you here again.

(117 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback