X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink261 Reviews

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1642 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Excellent hostel, convenient and quiet location. Clean facilities and rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for such an amazing review, you have drawn a smile on my face! I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Clink 261, and I hope to see you with us in the near future! Enjoy your travels! Kind regards, Sérgio

83%

The hostel was very nice. The staff was friendly and well-informed. The only problem i had was that the Wi-Fi was really weak so i had to go to a nearby starbucks for internet. Also the free breakfast was nice as a concept but i found the execution lacking.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for appreciating the staff. I am happy to read that you had a nice stay in Clink. Regarding the free wifi, have you reported the issue to reception? sometimes we just need to restart it to make it work perfectly again :) I hope you are coming back to see us soon in Clink Have a nice day! Kind regards, Federica

89%

I enjoyed my stay. The hostel was clean and a great location. The breakfast was basic (toast, cereal and juice) but adequate.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thanks for the amazing review and to appreciate the cleanliness and the service. It's great to know you had a great stay in Clink and I hope you are coming back soon! Enjoy your future travels. Kind regards, Federica

31%

DO NOT STAY HERE. I stayed in the 18 bed dorm which has NO LOCKERS. the beds are so close your practically on top of each other. It's dark and smelly. A lot of strange people living in the hostel made it uncomfortable (should enforce an age limit). And the staff were very inappropriate towards my female friends. The wifi also doesn't work in the rooms. Would NOT come back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest thanks for the time to write us a review I'm sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay About lockers I'd like to point out that you have small ones in the room where can fit your wallet or mobile phone or you have the free big lockers in reception Regarding the room, did you ask us whether was possible to have another one? remember that we work 24 hrs for any issue Also could you please tell us more about the inappropriate behaviour from the staff? Kind regards Federica

100%

Seriously probably the best hostel I've been to in London yet! So close to a huge train and underground station, plus a lovely walk to central london for all the sightseeing and clubs, bars, shops, etc. ALL the staff at the hostel were so nice and great to talk to and the price was never out of budget. Really enjoyed it and made for a great atmosphere to come "home" to daily. Thanks guys!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, a big thank you for this lovely review, you made my day :) I am happy to read that you had a great stay in Clink and please do come back. Enjoy your future travels. Kind regards, Federica

86%

Very good location! Beds are comfortable. Staffs are nice! It would be better if there could be more toilet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your nice review and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am happy to read that you appreciate staff and location. About toilets, remember that you are more than welcome to use them on the other floors. I hope to see you in Clink soon again. Enjoy your future travels. Kind regards, Federica

77%

Perfect for an overnight stay close to Kings Cross! Nothing much in the way of socialising.


74%

The Clink261 is an average hostel. For two entire levels, there is only THREE male toilets! This causes lanes in the mornings and, it is impossible to keep them clean. Additionally, in a 10-beds bedroom there is only 5 lockers! The hostel mention they offer lockers, but that is only half-true. The kitchen is too small for the number of people trying to using it. The breakfast is OK - not exceptional, not bad. The staff is awesome though. Away for the city-center, close to subway station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments and for appreciating the staff. I am sorry to read you found insufficient facilities during your stay, as it is not a common situation and rarely guests need to wait to use them I’d like to point out that we have loads of free lockers in reception in case you don’t have any available in your room, next time pop in at reception and let us know! Breakfast is made up of a selections of cereals, toasts , jam, coffee and milk, an

80%

Great little hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I am happy to read you found Clink great! I hope you will come back to see us soon. Have a nice day! Kind regards, Sérgio

91%

My stay in this hostel was really great, I stayed with my mom and we liked it. The hostel was clean in perfect location, staff was really nice-I felt more than welcome. Breakfast was ok, two kinds of cereal, bread jam and butter, big choice of drinks. Only two things we missed was electricity for each bed and that we shared room with boys-there was no female room to choose but this is not such a big disadvantage. I will stay again.

  • 20th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review and for appreciating staff, facilities and service. About the power in your room, did you report this to reception? remember that is 24 hours open just to help you out with anything you need. I hope to see you in Clink back soon. Have a nice day! Kind regards, Federica

80%

Great location, tiny rooms, no bathroom on my floor which was a pain, great kitchen and lounge, wifi not reliable. But overall I would stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for appreciating the location and facilities.For the room size I would suggest a bigger dorm or a private room on your next stay, as it would definitely match your expectations.Regarding the toilets instead, as you know you are more than welcome to use the ones on the other floors.The wifi can be slow sometimes but it definitely works in all common areas. I hope to see you soon Enjoy your future travels Kind regards Federica

71%

Overall a nice hostel in a great location (public transportation near Kings Cross makes it accessible at all hours of the day/night) On the ground floor room I was staying, I was in a big room that was poorly lit, felt dusty and damp plus the nearby showers and bathrooms were VERY small. However if you're on a budget - I can definitely recommend this place as the free breakfast was a nice consolation!


63%

Excellent location, decent price for the room. Girls 4 bed dorm is too small though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for leaving us a review. About the size of the room, on your next stay I would suggest a private room or a bigger dorm like 8bb or 10bb as they provide the same facilities as the smaller dorms and are more spacious and comfortable. Enjoy your future travels. Kind regards, Federica

77%

Its cheap, expect just place to sleep, may be noisy sometimes. Booked room 16 mixed , in bathroom had to stay in line a little. Staff was nice, Breakfast included but nothing healthy: cereals, toasts, jam, but u can cook anything by yourself, grocery next door works till 11. Easy to get from Heathrow, 30 min. walk to St Paul, 15 min. to British museum. When checked out, left baggage in locked room, also small safes are available just should have lockers. WIFI slow. had to go to cafes nearby

  • 13th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and for appreciating the location and the staff About the noise, as you know reception works 24 hours, next time just ask for some free earplugs Regarding the free wifi, can be slow sometimes but we are still working to improve it. Anyway this works pretty well in reception area and in the kitchen, just remember to report any issue of any kind at reception next time, we are always there for you:) Enjoy your future travel Federica

91%

Amazing staff, breakfast- would definitely stay again! Xx

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for the time taken to leave such a nice review! I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Clink and I hope to see you back soon here. Have a nice day! Kind regards, Federica

63%

Not my favourite experience. The location is not the best except that it's close to kings cross St pancras so when you're leaving it's not stressful getting to the trains. The room was stuffy and too packed. There were only three "lockers" in the room so you had to keep your bags under the bed which was dusty and unsafe. The receptionist was the best part of the whole experience. He was very friendly and always said hello.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback and for appreciating the staff About the location, I'm surprised to read that, as we are literally at just 5 minutes walking to King's Cross St and it's very well linked to airports and at just 30 minutes walking to the centre The lockers, besides the ones in the room, that can be closed safely with a lock, in your possession or buying it in reception, there are also the free ones in reception area Enjoy your travels Federica

83%

The 18 people room smelled a little bit bad, but it was clean anyway. The showers and toilets are really small and unpractical to use. There is also no locker in that room, which was kind of an issue for me. Besides that, very good hostel for the price and very good location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest,we are glad that you took the time to leave us a review. We are sorry that your stay didn't meet your expectations,regarding the toilets and showers on your next stay I will suggest to try a private room en suite in our sister Hostel Clink 78, where you will feel more comfortable. About the lockers instead,we also have lockers in the reception area that you can use for free. Wish you safe travels and hope to see you again. Kind regards, Radu

57%

Terrible small rooms no security or storage in room for luggage, tiny room couldn't open door fully. Incredibly noisy location and old creaky bunk beds. Terrible experience. Wifi never worked. Good location near Kings Cross. Didn't like the fact families allowed to stay, in a youth hostel and brought screaming baby into room ensuring absolutely no sleep between the beds creaking, construction work, traffic and baby..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your feedback I'm sorry to hear that your stay didn't match your expectations I'd like to point out that both Clink are considered unique and amazing backpackers Hostels just because everyone is more than welcome here, but we could have helped you with some free earplugs for the noise Also, about the beds, it sounds strange to read that beds are creaky as they are brand new. I hope you have a nice day Kind regards Federica

100%

Really good place to stay. V clean staff friendly. Wish I had known about it earlier Will certainly come back and recommend it with out reservation

  • 8th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! I am glad to read that you had a great stay with us and that you appreciate staff and cleanliness. I hope to see you in Clink back soon! Have a great day. Kind regards, Federica

80%

A little difficult to get onto and off top bunk beds the first few times until got the hang of it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and for the time taken to leave us your comments. I am sorry to hear you had difficulties to get on the top bunk, did you report this to reception? Just so you know, the reception works 24 hours to help everyone, also with this kind of issues. Next time don't be shy and ask for what you need. Have a nice day! Kind regards, Federica

(121 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback