Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Clink78

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 6128 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 6128 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jun 2017
8.9

This hostel was in a great location about a 5-10 minute walk to Kings Cross station and Islington. The bar makes it easy for you to meet people as they have events daily. It is also a pick up point for walking tours. The rooms are a bit claustrophobic and the beds are angled so they are all next to each other. Not the best for air flow. Despite the rooms being hot during the day, they were cool at night so that was good. I was annoyed that the showers on my floor only had scolding HOT water.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
8.9

Clink78 was just great! I was nervous as this was my first solo travel experience but the staff made me feel at home and I met some great fellow travellers in the Clashbar downstairs. I was in an 8 dorm room girls only with a shared bathroom, it was right next to our room so couldn't be better. Girls can be gross tho, there were usually hairs in the shower and the bin for pads and tampons in the toilet was not empties every day. Other than that everything was perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2017
8.9

This hostel is a 5 minute walk from King's Cross Station making the rest of London easily accessible. Check out Pizza Union, it's close & crazy inexpensive (for London) w/ huge portions. The breakfast is mediocre but cheap (1 pound) and all you can eat. They offer free walking tours which I recommend, as it's an easy and informative way to knock out a lot of London's "must-see" attractions and meet people in your hostel. Bring an eye mask and earplugs if you want to sleep at all!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
10.0

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave great recommendations on restaurants and things to do in the city. The room got very hot (I stayed in the middle of summer) and a fan or some way to circulate air through the room would be appreciated, but otherwise, everything was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2017
9.1

Everything was stellar except not every bed had a power point. Great security and vibe, amazing location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
9.4

Great place I ll be back

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
4.9

I usually stay at the Generator hostel on Tavistock Place and I will definitely not make the mistake of choosing a different hostel again. Worst hostel I've stayed at so far. Toilets were awful, showers were filthy, beds were hard...just no one every level. I've never had a bad night at Generator but it seems people who stay here don't care about other people in their room. Noisy all night, slam doors when coming into the room. Generator must just attract nicer people. Stay at the Generator.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jun 2017
8.0

Clink78 is in an old court house and they've managed to confer a huge amount of fun lively character into this building. The rooms are small but not overcrowded, and there's solid storage lockers. The bar downstairs is incredible and I had a great night there both nights! The doors outside my room slammed shut and didn't have a door closer to slow them down. The impact woke me up periodically, so please bring ear plugs. The staff was pretty helpful but obviously stressed. I'd stay again though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Excellent stay for a traveller looking to meet other young travellers and have a good time. The rooms are clean and well maintained, and the staff is extremely helpful . Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • briannasommer1
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Jun 2017
9.1

Incredible location, very good security/staff, and fun bar downstairs. My only issue was that there was no air conditioning alongside the fact that we could barely open the window. While London isn't usually hot enough for a.c., having 12 people squished in one room gets very hot and stuffy so it would be nice if they could work on getting those windows to open up more for fresh air (especially for the top bunkers). Also, the towel hire shouldn't be 2.50 since every other hostel is 1 pound.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks Brianna for sharing! Great you loved it :-) ! The windows can only be opened for a bit for safety reasons. Please next time let us know so we can provide a fan! London isn't usually really hot so hope you enjoyed the summer days in the city :-) Happy travels! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.