Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Clink78

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 5,645 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 5,645 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
Clink78 Located at 78 Kings Cross rd, , London.
Clink78
England
London WC1X 9QG 78 Kings Cross rd
81% 5645
51.5287841 -0.1154208
Clink78
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
8.6

Everything was great except the rooms. Small and dark, you get what you pay for. I'm sure it's a Lot better if you're sharing a room with just friends as there's not any privacy or room etc. Great staff, good bar, and common rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your review! Happy future travels :-) Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
2.0

No chance to review - I paid for a stay which I did not get I slept rough in Gatwick Airport UK - could not get there due to the strike - of course they charged me the full price at Clink78 - Dont they know there is a rail strike I would not recommend this place to anybody - heartless people in their reservation dept - had they not charged me their full rate - i asked them in advance to cancel it because I had no way of getting there - I spent the night on the floor of Gatwick Airport

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Sorry to hear you couldn't reach the hostel! If you booked a fully flexible rate, you still have to cancel your booking 48hrs before arrival date. Sorry to hear you were disappointed by that! Next time try to find an Uber, it's not that expensive! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
10.0

Very good facilities for the price. Slept very well in the dorm.A happy place to stay in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot Brian!! We hope to see you back again soon! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Jan 2017
4.3

Wouldn't recommend this hostel

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear that! Can you please send me an e-mail with some more detailed feedback so we can work on that? Thanks a lot! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager laura@clinkhostels.com

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
9.7

Good hostel with really great staff who are competent and kind. Free breakfast, great bar downstairs which is not too loud if you want to sleep, cool story as a former courthouse. Only complaint is the hostel is pretty cramped in terms of rooms and rooms can get a little hot / stuffy--made it seem less nice at first. if you book a private room I would get two twin bunks not full / twin because there's so little space in the full/ twin rooms we could barely fit our suitcases.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your great compliments! Love to hear you liked the bar and the story of the hostel :-) Rooms are indeed not the biggest, we do have large social areas to hang out! Happy future travels :-) Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
5.1

We stayed in birds nest girls dorm (we had 12 people in our room) there was four other rooms of similar size with ONE TOILET nearby! This toilet was always dirty and never enough toilet paper. Showers were tiny - water sprays everywhere when shower on. Room was very squashed, however clean and lockers good. No power points near beds to charge phones or camera, so take a power bank. Very noisy and we were stuck with an older lady who snored so we had no sleep! Breakfast ok, staff mostly friendly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback! Sorry to hear the toilet was dirty, I will pass this on to our housekeeping team! We provide free ear plugs at the reception (in case of snoring room mates or other noise). Happy future travels! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

2nd Jan 2017
10.0

I definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for sharing :-) Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

1st Jan 2017
4.6

I paid more for 8 bed room, but it is smaller than 12 bed room and pretty crowded. Water is not hot enough for shower on 4 floor. Couldn't bring alcohol into the hostel, unbelievable!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback! Alcohol is indeed not allowed due our bar license. We do have pretty cheap drinks in our own bar (with a great atmosphere). Hope you enjoyed your time in London :-) Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

29th Dec 2016
6.9

Beds are crammed together-only a thin board between you and the person sleeping next to you. It's pretty far from all the main attractions. No plugs by the beds. If someone else starts showering in the same bathroom as you are, you'll lose all water pressure and end up standing under a barely dripping shower head trying to rinse out shampoo... But the free breakfast was a plus and the tv courtroom was cool.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback! We do have lots of showers in the corridors as well to use :-) Great to hear you liked the TV room! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
8.3

The staff, security, and location at this hostel were excellent during my visit. The location is very close to King's Cross station, which is right in the center of London. The security was excellent, with card locks on the doors and on the main entrance. Despite all of that being excellent, I left the hostel early. I've stayed at probably 30 hostels and the rooms at Clink 78 are the smallest and most cramped I've ever seen. I also wish for such cramped rooms they had single gender dorm rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.