X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3642 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Facilities were good but would have liked wifi in the rooms not just in the common areas


89%

I missed lockers and they don't have lockers big enought

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything about this hostel is really nice, excepto for the dorms, the beds are all over each other, no room whatsoever. But as I said everything else is good, kitchen, it's clean, etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for this feedback! We are happy that you found the place nice and enjoyed your stay with us! As for the rooms, the size depends of how big the dorm is, how many people do you share with and also on the shape of the room, next time just come to reception and we can change your room for you! Hope to see you again shall you return to London! Anna

100%

A stone's throw from Kings Cross Station means location is a huge plus. Bed was very comfortable and the shower and toilet facilities also merited many brownie points. Free breakfast was a relatively simple affair-as much cereal, toast, tea or coffee as you desired and the staff were a pleasure to meet. Spotlessly clean as well and so many areas to hang out in and meet fellow travellers. All in all look no further if coming to London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for this amazing review and perfect ratings :D We are delighted to hear all your great comments about the location, beds, facilities and cleanliness, it puts a big smile on our faces :) We hope to see you again soon and wish you amazing travels! Anna

49%

Desk staff unhelpful, no hot water in private room and I had to go ask them why rather than being informed, had to use communal showers on separate floor. Security let themselves into the room while we were in it, did not ask to enter

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The bar is amazing and the staff is really great. The atmosphere is super cool and the location is easy to access from the bus or a quick walk from Kings Cross. However, there is NO space in the room for baggage and the shower has to keep being pressed to stay on.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! It's awesome to hear that you had a great time with us and enjoyed the bar! We are happy you found the atmosphere cool and the Hostel easy to access from the station :) There are a few showers in the building without this push button - come to ask on reception next time you visit us and we will be happy to show then to you! See you soon! Anna

94%

That is very good place. I left my IPad and when I returned after 6 hours I got it back. I met so many good people. Staff was nice even they were very busy. I would recomment it to everyone who come to London.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Many thanks for your very positive feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and met cool travelers! Our staff is also grateful for the mention! We hope to see you again shall you return to London! Wish you safe travels! Anna

74%

In a 6 bed room; one female paying guest had a male guest for the night and they shared a bed, had lights on past midnight and chatting throughout the night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are sorry to hear about this incident, unfortunately it is very hard to control this sort of situations. The best would have been to come and report it on reception when it happened for the staff to take action and check the room for any extra people. We hope that other then this small problem you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! Anna

86%

Nice hostel, clean and with a decent breakfast. Not the place to come if you want total silence but good value for money given the location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking some time and writing this feedback! We are glad you had a good stay with us and found the hostel nice :) If you're however looking for a quieter place, our little sister 261 might be the right place for you! It is smaller and quieter and also closer to the King's Cross Station! Don't hesitate to check it out on your next trip to London! Hope to see you soon! Safe travels Anna

80%

Nice and cheap

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review! We are happy that you found the hostel nice and good value of money :) We hope to see you again soon! Wish you safe travels! Anna

74%

The rooms are really small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) We're sorry to hear that you found the room too small; we have different types of rooms and different sizes due to the interesting shape of the building, next time please don't hesitate to come to reception so we can have a look to change your room for something bigger :) We hope to see you again soon! Anna

86%

Beautiful building and incredible common rooms (real courtroom; large television room without television). Staff gives good advise. Good admosphere. Wifi is sometimes very, very slow. I did not sleep so well because a girl was coughing continuously (three nights long), but of course that is not the fault of the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for this great feedback! We are very happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and you liked the building! You would be happy to know that we now have a very big TV screen - it feels like a cinema! :) We are also glad for your comment regarding the staff and sorry for the person coughing in the room - as you said it's not the hostel fault but it isn't great when it happen to you. We hope to see you again shall you return to London! Safe travels Anna

74%

The hostel in general was very welcoming and clean. I was in a six girls ensuite room, the bathroom in the rooms were kind of small but still clean. Sheets were provided and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was free, you get toast, cereal and juice which is good. The wifi doesn't really work in the rooms but in the public areas you get good wifi. The luggage storage rooms were convenient. Security is good too.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, many thanks for your great feedback and rating! It's important to us that you had a good stay and found the hostel and bathroom clean. The WiFi doesn't work int he rooms even though we're currently looking into solutions to have it all through the building, so maybe it will be sorted on your next visit! Hope to see you soon and wish you safe travels! Anna

60%

Two male members of security entered a Girls Only Bird's Nest room at 2am, talking loudly and switched on the light whilst we were all sleeping! They said to collect a pillow and left the light on! Reception wasn't helpful in dealing with this matter. No TV room at the moment and internet is quite expensive. Should be free really until the TV Room is upgraded. Breakfast kind of basic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. We are sorry for the incident with security and the way reception dealt with the matter afterwards. It was a mistake and we're making sure it won't happen again. You will however be happy to learn that we have an absolutely amazing cinema size screen in the TV room now! The WiFi is actually free in all common areas as well :) We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels, Anna

74%

I think it would go a long way for a strip of rubber (or something similar) to be put on the shower area floor to block the water from streaming out into the toilet/sink area. Otherwise the bar area was incredibly vibrant and fun, and the staff had a lot of ideas for cool tours and activities for travels to get involved in. A bit pricey (60pounds for two nights), but we did book pretty last minute as well as for a weekend, so I suppose it's to be expected.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for your great feedback and nice ideas :) We are currently looking into refurbishing some of the showers in the building to solve this kind of problems :) We are glad you had a good stay with us though and enjoyed the Clashbar! We would be happy to see you again shall you return to London! Anna

80%

Unfortunately the lamps in the beds didn't work which meant it was really dark in the bottom bunks even with the main light on. Other than that everything was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the feedback! We're sorry to heat the lamps weren't working properly, next time please report it to reception so we can get the Maintenance team to fix them :) But we're happy your stay was generally good! We wish you safe and great travels and hope to see you again soon! Anna

23%

There are several problems with this hostel, they try to differentiate themselves but at the same time they are focus on cost, the rooms are really small for 6 bed, no lockers, the reception desk is always crowded, I sent an email before my arrival about the availability of the lockers, they told me that there is any problem at the end I didn't have lockers, the clerk didn't believed me until she verified my room. Bathrooms aren't clean, elevator doesn't work...


77%

Upon arrival the lady checking us in was very rude. I understand that it was a busy time but we were not asking anything extra of her and her attitude wasn't hospitable. The room which we paid a lot of money for was extremely small for three people there was no floor space once we had our bags in the room. I was impressed with the security of the place, the common areas and the breakfast served. Over all I had a fairly pleasant stay but I wouldn't feel the need to come back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for the feedback! We're sorry to hear that you found the receptionist rude - we would like to investigate a little further if you want to send us an email on reception.supervisor@clinkhostels.co.uk so we can see exactly what happened and make sure it doesn't happen again. We're however happy that you had a good stay and hope to change your mind and welcome you again! Anna

80%

I would have liked to have a few shelves or more space for the luggage in the dormitory. There was no wifi anywhere but in the reception area, and that also didn't really work properly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for taking some time to write this review. We take your comments on board of course regarding the shelves - we are looking into different solutions to make the dorms a bit more practical :) The free WiFi works in all common rooms - lobby, TV and Computer rooms, kitchen, dinning area and Clashbar, just try it next time and let us know if you have any problems! Hope to see you again! Anna

51%

No TV in common room, only in bar!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(234 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback