X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3540 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

I did not find the staff very helpful. We asked for a cab and they ordered us a minicab which charged us double what a black taxi would for the fair and insisted we take it. I waited 20 minutes in the travel office for the staff to return and no one could tell me where she was or find her. Not enough plugs. The location is further from king's cross then I would have liked it's a little sketchy for a girl alone at night walking. PROS: The building is pretty cool being an old police station.


83%

The location is good, a few blocks from King's Cross underground station, you can travel anywhere from there. The hostel is really secure, there are small lockers in each bed for small valuables and bigger lockers that you can rent. The wifi is free, but only works in common areas (and it kept logging out after a couple of minutes so couldn't really use it). The kitchen is big and has all you need. Had a problem with the water in the showers once, but other than that it was great.


86%

Bathrooms aren't great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there, Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear you didn't find our bathrooms great - we are currently refurbishing some of them! We hope to see you again so you can see the changes by yourself! Take care Anna

91%

The hostel is great, very near the King's Cross station. The staff here are very nice. I enjoyed living here. The only Problem is the wifi in the room is not good.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for the great feedback and rating! It is amazing to hear you had a good stay and enjoyed the location and the hostel :) Our staff is also glad for the mention! We are currently looking into improving the WiFi and having it all around the building but right now it only works in the common areas! We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels Anna

94%

Amazing hotel, gorgeous design, safe, secure and a real pleasure to stay in!


89%

Really pleased with my stay at Clink78 - super clean! Our dorm was really small

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good place. Most expensive hostel I have ever stayed in, but still an ok price for London standards. All well arranged and good location not far from King's Cross station

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving your thoughts with us! We are glad you had a good stay with us :) It is true that London is one of the most expensive cities in Europe to visit and so our prices are sometimes going up when it's busy. However we are happy you enjoyed it in here and we hope to see you again shall you return to London! Safe trips Anna

77%

Hostel was good but hair dryer in ladie was broken down stair which was a pain , over wise good feel and enjoyed stay Thank you

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thank you for your comments :) we are happy to know that your stay with us was a good one! Also thanks for letting us know about the hair dryer, we will transfer that info to the maintenance team :) Otherwise we have a 24/7 reception to report those problems and get it fixed straight away! We hope to see you again, safe travels! Anna

94%

Clink 78 was a fantastic place to stay. The facilities were incredible and there was a supermarket close by. The only down side was that wifi was only available in the common room areas (so not in your actual room) and the hostel is quite expensive. But if you are happy to pay a little extra, then it is definitely worth it. The staff are lovely and very helpful. My only other complaint is that the showers are on a timer button (like in public bathrooms for taps) and turn off every 30 seconds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for the great feedback and rating! We are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and found the place fantastic! We choose to have the free wifi in the common rooms to keep our guests in social areas :) As for the showers, the push button is more ecologically friendly but we also have some no-timer button showers! Next time come to see us on reception we will show you where they are! See you soon! Anna

83%

Overall, it was a good experience!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! thank you for your great ratings and positive feedback! We are happy you had a good time with us and hope to see you again! Safe travels Anna

83%

The Clink is a well located hostel, you have no trouble getting around. The staff is very pleasant and helpfull. I enjoyed my stay there. The only two things that were annoying; you didn't have wifi connection in the room, you had to go the the lobby. And it gets really hot in the rooms.... But all in all would definitely recommend this place :)

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello there! Thanks for your positive feedback and great rating! :) We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff helpful and nice. As for the WiFi, we are currently looking into that matter and hoping our guest will enjoy the WiFi all over the hostel soon :) We hope to see you again shall you return to London! Safe travels Anna

80%

Needs air con. The rooms are fitted with a minuscule window so there is no room for ventilation. Way too hot. Terrible nights sleep with the temp.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello! Thank you for taking your time and leaving your feedback with us, it's really helpful for us to keep improving :) We know that in the summertime, it gets quite warm in the rooms, so we provide fans on reception! Next time just pop in and ask, we are here 24/7! We hope to see you again soon Safe travels Anna

77%

One hook in the girls shower is really not enough. Breakfast is good. No smoking area, you have to stand outside the entrance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there! Thanks for leaving your thoughts with us :) We take your comments on board and are currently looking into more hooks to put in rooms and bathrooms :) As for the smoking area, it is unfortunately not possible to put one in this old and listed building, so we invite people to smoke outside! Hope to see you again shall you return to London! Take care Anna

89%

The lack of wifi access in rooms was dissapointing


83%

I love the atmosphere here. There're so many activities and services for the tourists. To me, everything was good. Security, location, cleanliness, atmosphere and staff. But the wifi, there's no wifi in the room, you must go to the common room for internet.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there! Many thanks for your super positive feedback and great rating! We are glad to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay with us :) We are currently looking into the WiFi matter to extend it to the whole building - so if you come back to see us maybe the WiFi would work in your room already? :) Safe travels! Anna

69%

You get what you pay for I guess but the wifi was cutting out all week and a 10am checkout time is pretty poor for a hostel that encourages you to drink and hang out with other hostelers. The beds were fine but there was no place to put your towel to dry if you're on a bottom bed (people tend to use the few coat hooks for their coats). Also, I get that renovations are necessary but do the workers have to start banging and hammering away at 8am everyday to work on the women's shower?!?

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there, thanks for your feedback! We choose to do the check outs at 10am to ensure that all beds in the hostels can be changed for the check in time at 2:30pm and all rooms/bathrooms can be cleaned before new guests arrive :) We have a TV room with very comfortable sofas to chill out in after check out time! As for the workers, it was important to refurbish the bathrooms in the bird's nest for everybody to enjoy them clean and new! We hope to see you again! Safe travels Anna

91%

Big hostel, cool themed chill areas, decent location short walk from kings cross.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Many thanks for your great review and ratings :) We hope to see you in here again shall you come back to London! Safe travels! Anna

46%

I've stayed at a lot of hostels all over the world and this was the most disappointing. The rooms were extremely dark and cramped and the guy with dreadlocks on reception which I was unlucky enough to have to deal with when I first got there was the most rude and unhelpful person I have ever met working at a hostel. The location is good but that's about it. I moved to The Generator Hostel which was 10000 times better and not much different in price. Definitely wouldn't recommend staying here.


74%

The 4-bed-dormroom is very small and narrow, I wouldn´t recommend it for anything else then 1 night or sharing it with friends. Otherwise everything about the hostel is fine.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there! Thanks for your feedback! As you can imagine not all our rooms are the same size and shape due to the uniqueness of this building - some rooms are smaller than others. But we are happy to change it for something bigger, just come to see us on reception! Hope to see you again soon! Safe travels Anna

100%

We had a great time at Clink! The place is really nice, it has a cool bar and most importantly it was very clean and the location's very good. Staff is helpful and really nice. Our room was very small for 6 people but it's probably due to the fact we booked at last minute cause we saw some really nice and bigger rooms for 6 people so make sure you book in advance. All in all it was a great place and we'll be back next time we're in London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Waouw! Thanks for this amazing feedback, it makes us all very happy and glad we could make tour stay a great one! We are also happy to hear you will be back, hope to see you soon then! Take care Anna

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(215 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback