X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
4758 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

We stayed at Clink78 for 2 nights and had a great time! The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times, the bathrooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the facilities (bar, tv room and internet lounge) were really stylish. I would definitely stay there again!


74%

Beds in the 8 bed dorm room were little more than cubby holes with only a screen separating you from the person next to you. If you're not spending much time in the room though (which you won't be because there's no WiFi there) it really isn't that bad. Kitchen is good for cooking and there are really cool common rooms on the ground floor to hang out, charge your electronics, etc. It's a huge hostel so get to breakfast early if you want a seat and beware of all the school groups.


60%

This place is very small and the colors are really dark. If you are even a little claustrophobic do not stay here. Customer service was good. Over all it's a very loud place and it's hard to get sleep with all the noise.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thank you for taking the time to leave us review. Our hostel is very lively but that's what make it such a great place. Some of our rooms are little small but this is because of the unique shape of the historical building. I would suggest that if you choose to stay with us again (which we hope that you do!) that if you are not happy with your room and that come to reception that is open 24hrs and ask us to change your room. Thanks for staying and we hope that you will choose us again. Lucinda

83%

The one thing that probably dampened out experience was on our last night we got woken up at just after midnight, as staff needed access to our window as the room next to us the lock was broken on that door and they couldn't get into the room. Any other night it would have been fine but we were being picked up at 5am for our flight home which reception knew as we asked them to book our taxi, and after this neither myself or my friend could get to sleep before our 24 hour journey home.

  • 31st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

No wifi in the rooms. No space for luggage in the room besides under de bed.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was great but the poor WiFi signal that doesn't reach the rooms.

  • 25th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Clink78 was very disappointing. The folks working the front desk were more interested in talking to one another than helping guests, and I got several eye rolls for requesting the key to the luggage room and inquiring about locker space. There aren´t even close to enough lockers for the whole building and the only other suposedly secure space for baggage was a room that everyone in the 500 person hostel had access to. The bed was so depressed in the center that I couldn´t sleep on it. Too loud.

  • 25th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I would have liked some soap dispenser, but the services were already very good anyway.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thank you for giving us such a great rating! and thank you for such a good suggestion. We love that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you see you again next time you need somewhere to stay in London. Lucinda

46%

Went to check in, was told bookings through hostel world was last priority and that my friend and I would have to be in split rooms, when we booked together. Was also told to wait 10 minutes, then they said they resolved the issue, yet we waited another 15 minutes. After this we got put together in a 10 bed mixed dorm when I booked a 6 bed mixed dorm and had to pay same price even though a 10 bed mixed dorm should be cheaper. Rooms were very small and humid with limited power points.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for your email, I'm glad to hear we could resolve this issue and keep you together, apologies for the wait time our staff here try our very best to keep you together however as a very large hostel this may not always be the case. Due to availability prices may change, so please inform staff next time so we can let you know of any changes. Kind regards, Chloe

60%

The hostel itself has a good setup and location and the staff were generally helpful and kind. However the huge size of the hostel and fact that many people are essentially living there for several months while looking for work is overwhelming. I did not feel 100% comfortable in the public areas including the chaos of breakfast, struggling to find a seat every day. My phone charger was also stolen from my room. Unfortunately all of this causes it to lack a friendly hostel vibe for travellers.

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thank you for taking the time to wright a review. I am so sorry to hear that you did you feel comfortable in the public areas as we try to create a warm, inviting and fun atmosphere. Breakfast can get a little chaotic at times but this is beauty of a hostel everyone gets mingles, I always suggest if you want to avoid the 'traffic' then you try to take breakfast between 7-8am. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again next time you need a place to stay in London. Regards, Lucinda

57%

The hostel is nice enough and has a cool vibe and staff were friendly. However, major issues occurred in my 14-bed girls dorm including verbal abuse, physical abuse and a lack of respect demonstrated by some of the girls over trivial matters such as top vs. bottom bunks. I feel like the girls involved in this incident should have been kicked out of the hostel entirely and this was not handled well by staff who essentially gave them a slap on the wrist and that was it.

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the vibe and the friendliness of our staff. We do apologize for the inconvenience of other guests, we understand that having so many people in one room can be a little messy at times but please know we do all that we can to address any issues in a formal matter to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. Kind regards, Chloe

83%

Overall my stay was good. The staff was great and the breakfast was nice. The showers were not bad either. My only concern was how crammed the mixed dorm room was. Not much room for anything and there were not enough lockers as well.

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your email We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at clink. We have many free lockers throughout the building, pay as you go ones for your use and as well small lockers above the beds for valuables. I understand dorms can be a bit tight at times due to the amount of people but i hope all of our facilities and friendly staff make you spend more time out of the rooms then in! We hope to see you again Kind regards, Chloe

94%

Incredibly good value for money. Staff very responsive to requests. Extremely clean and well maintained hostel. Difficult to maintain good control over large numbers of people entering the hostel - there is so much coming and going. However this is the same in many hotels. Good that you have night person to check the entry cards because people can easily slip in behind someone else. Do you also have someone doing this in the daytime ?

  • 20th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your email! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Clink. Yes we do have a lot of people coming and going as we are a large hostel then most we have many staff on at all times to ensure the hostel is well under control. Our security is on during the night times not during the day as it is more busy with check outs and new check ins at this time. Our friendly prices are very good value with all of our amenities, We want to make your stay one to remember! Kind regards, Chloe

77%

Cheap and clean with good hot showers and free continental breakfast - just what you need for a couple of nights. A bit too big for me, with school groups rushing about and a constant fug of smokers on the steps but very good value.

  • 20th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks for your email! Happy to hear you enjoyed all of our facilities here, we often have many groups here as we are very large! Perhaps next time you can stay at our sister clink which is much smaller and same great value! We hope to see you again, Best regards, Chloe

86%

Had a great stay at Clink 78! Staff were friendly, general atmosphere and infrastructure were great! Only downfall was how tiny the double ensuite rooms were, and the lack of wifi in the room itself. Excellent cooking facilities and bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there thank you for your email! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here at Clink! Our WiFi sadly doesn't operate in the bedrooms but only in the common areas. We like to think our friendly staff and large common areas generate the great atmosphere around! We hope to see you next time! Best regards, Chloe

83%

Clink is a huge hostel which is perfect for travellers who are looking for a good time! The bar on the ground floor is really nice and I loved the wifi room. It was quite nosy near my room and our toilets weren't great - I would say this was probably because we were on the ground floor. A friend of mine was staying a few floors up and her room/ toilets were great - so if you're concerned maybe ask for a higher floor!


77%

Just a heads up, but this is an extremely large hostel if you can't tell. It was unlike any other hostel experience that I have had, and I can't decide how I feel about it. There were so many people in the room, which was kind of weird, but at the same time, having that many people staying there made the bar downstairs pretty fun. Everything was good as far as the bed, shower, and bathrooms go. Above average in cleanliness. Location was ok, about a 40 min walk to the Thames.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your email! It can come to quite a surprise in how large our hostel is. Our common areas are a great way to meet other travelers like your self. The hostel is cleaned regularly but as you know so many guests use the facilities we do our best to keep on top of everything to ensure it is a clean environment for everyone. Location is very close to many attractions and just a short walk away from the station and we offer free walking tours and maps! We hope overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Chloe

83%

Great central location and clean facilities. Exactly what one might need for a quick night's stay in London! Would head back here again when in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your kind words! We are very centrally located and we make sure our facilities are up to your standards! with staff around the clock we do all we can to ensure you have a comfortable yet enjoyable stay! We would love to see you back here at Clink Kind regards, Chloe

83%

I was struck by how clean the toilets and showers were! It seems that maintenance throughout the building is a continuous process.

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there thanks for your review we do our best to ensure our cleanliness standards are maintained daily to keep a nice clean environment for our guests! We are glad you were happy with our shared facilities, we look forward to see you again in the future.Safe travels, Chloe

66%

There are too few knives, pots, and pans in the kitchen. At least have one set per cooker top! Shame you do have girls only rooms but you don't have rooms for people who just want a quiet night's sleep. Some of the reception staff are incredibly rude and unhelpful.

  • 11th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Our shared kitchen it is fully equipped for guests to use, I can understand that at times it can be busy with everyone using the utensils provided. It would be nice to have rooms for the quite people but unfortunately due to rooms being shared we can never know, however we have private rooms available you can book if it were any concern. I’m sorry if you encountered a bad experience with our staff as we are always happy to help in any way we can, 24 hours a day if you need anything just ask! We hope to see you again, safe travels Chloe

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(191 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback