X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3519 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Hostel was good but hair dryer in ladie was broken down stair which was a pain , over wise good feel and enjoyed stay Thank you

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thank you for your comments :) we are happy to know that your stay with us was a good one! Also thanks for letting us know about the hair dryer, we will transfer that info to the maintenance team :) Otherwise we have a 24/7 reception to report those problems and get it fixed straight away! We hope to see you again, safe travels! Anna

83%

Overall, it was a good experience!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! thank you for your great ratings and positive feedback! We are happy you had a good time with us and hope to see you again! Safe travels Anna

83%

The Clink is a well located hostel, you have no trouble getting around. The staff is very pleasant and helpfull. I enjoyed my stay there. The only two things that were annoying; you didn't have wifi connection in the room, you had to go the the lobby. And it gets really hot in the rooms.... But all in all would definitely recommend this place :)

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello there! Thanks for your positive feedback and great rating! :) We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff helpful and nice. As for the WiFi, we are currently looking into that matter and hoping our guest will enjoy the WiFi all over the hostel soon :) We hope to see you again shall you return to London! Safe travels Anna

80%

Needs air con. The rooms are fitted with a minuscule window so there is no room for ventilation. Way too hot. Terrible nights sleep with the temp.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello! Thank you for taking your time and leaving your feedback with us, it's really helpful for us to keep improving :) We know that in the summertime, it gets quite warm in the rooms, so we provide fans on reception! Next time just pop in and ask, we are here 24/7! We hope to see you again soon Safe travels Anna

77%

One hook in the girls shower is really not enough. Breakfast is good. No smoking area, you have to stand outside the entrance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there! Thanks for leaving your thoughts with us :) We take your comments on board and are currently looking into more hooks to put in rooms and bathrooms :) As for the smoking area, it is unfortunately not possible to put one in this old and listed building, so we invite people to smoke outside! Hope to see you again shall you return to London! Take care Anna

83%

I love the atmosphere here. There're so many activities and services for the tourists. To me, everything was good. Security, location, cleanliness, atmosphere and staff. But the wifi, there's no wifi in the room, you must go to the common room for internet.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there! Many thanks for your super positive feedback and great rating! We are glad to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay with us :) We are currently looking into the WiFi matter to extend it to the whole building - so if you come back to see us maybe the WiFi would work in your room already? :) Safe travels! Anna

69%

You get what you pay for I guess but the wifi was cutting out all week and a 10am checkout time is pretty poor for a hostel that encourages you to drink and hang out with other hostelers. The beds were fine but there was no place to put your towel to dry if you're on a bottom bed (people tend to use the few coat hooks for their coats). Also, I get that renovations are necessary but do the workers have to start banging and hammering away at 8am everyday to work on the women's shower?!?

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there, thanks for your feedback! We choose to do the check outs at 10am to ensure that all beds in the hostels can be changed for the check in time at 2:30pm and all rooms/bathrooms can be cleaned before new guests arrive :) We have a TV room with very comfortable sofas to chill out in after check out time! As for the workers, it was important to refurbish the bathrooms in the bird's nest for everybody to enjoy them clean and new! We hope to see you again! Safe travels Anna

91%

Big hostel, cool themed chill areas, decent location short walk from kings cross.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Many thanks for your great review and ratings :) We hope to see you in here again shall you come back to London! Safe travels! Anna

46%

I've stayed at a lot of hostels all over the world and this was the most disappointing. The rooms were extremely dark and cramped and the guy with dreadlocks on reception which I was unlucky enough to have to deal with when I first got there was the most rude and unhelpful person I have ever met working at a hostel. The location is good but that's about it. I moved to The Generator Hostel which was 10000 times better and not much different in price. Definitely wouldn't recommend staying here.


74%

The 4-bed-dormroom is very small and narrow, I wouldn´t recommend it for anything else then 1 night or sharing it with friends. Otherwise everything about the hostel is fine.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there! Thanks for your feedback! As you can imagine not all our rooms are the same size and shape due to the uniqueness of this building - some rooms are smaller than others. But we are happy to change it for something bigger, just come to see us on reception! Hope to see you again soon! Safe travels Anna

100%

We had a great time at Clink! The place is really nice, it has a cool bar and most importantly it was very clean and the location's very good. Staff is helpful and really nice. Our room was very small for 6 people but it's probably due to the fact we booked at last minute cause we saw some really nice and bigger rooms for 6 people so make sure you book in advance. All in all it was a great place and we'll be back next time we're in London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Waouw! Thanks for this amazing feedback, it makes us all very happy and glad we could make tour stay a great one! We are also happy to hear you will be back, hope to see you soon then! Take care Anna

100%

Great place, ideally located, nice place

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there! Many thanks for your super positive feedback and rating! We are very happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon :) Safe travels Anna

89%

Such great and helpful staff, great atmosphere, meeting so many wonderful people, the room and showers got a bit stuffy but no more than any other place I've been too! Would recommend it to anyone, hopefully will come back soon! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your amazing feedback and great ratings! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff helpful and great :) We can't wait to see you again! Safe travels Anna

91%

Great hostel, very central, staff were super helpful and friendly! beds are nice and private. Only thing was for a Friday night, it was super expensive

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your nice review and rating! London is an amazing city full of adventures and awesome things therefore it might get a bit pricey, specially if you are staying in central areas... Check Clink website for discounts and package deals next time you decide to visit! Safe trips. Indra, Clink78 Team

74%

Good services. Nice environment. Some lockers (even small) in the rooms needed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review and rating! We are in a process of placing more free lockers in the common areas, there are small overhead lockers in the rooms as well. Come to reception next time - we will help you to find one that meets your needs ;) Safe travels! Indra, Clink78 Team

69%

Very confined beds, and shower only stayed on for 30 secs before you had to restart it. Patchy WIFI

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello there! Thank you for your comments, we take them all on board to improve the hostel. However we choose the push button shower as they are ecologically friendly - less water is being wasted :) We are also currently looking into some better \WiFi options :) We hope to see you in here again to see the changes :) Safe travels Anna

74%

It's a good hostel to meet new people from all over the world. It can support more than 500 people, and everyday it's possible to see travelers leaving and new travellers arriving. The mixed rooms is small. The bed is ok to sleep, and you have a small place to put valueable things like documents and money, and then lock it with your locker. One very positive thing, the Hostel is very close to Kings Cross station, which is connect to several other lines of the tube.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your detailed feedback! We are glad to hear that you had a good time at Clink78 and are hoping to see you again very soon :) Safe travels! Indra, Clink78 Team

57%

The hostel i was expecting to be a higher standard than it was. Serious lack of lockers, i enquired at reception if there were additional lockers available for larger items, they pointed me int he direction of the 3 locker areas in the hostel, they are about the size of a shoe box and have about 20 at each location not really an adequate number when reception told me there were 700 guests! In the room there are small lockers that are suitable for phones but only if the clasp is still attached

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your time leaving us a review!Our free lockers are big enough for a small backpack, if all of them are taken you can lock your valuables in the room - inside the overhead locker. If yours was broken we are always happy to find you a bed with a locker that you can use.We also have paid lockers and we offered you to keep your valuables behind the desk with us which you refused:) Anyway - more free lockers are coming soon so there should be enough for everyone.Safe trips! Indra

66%

Really tiny bedrooms in the basement (which resemble a little bit like a concentration camp display of Dorm) with poor ventilation and a bathroom that would be great for a space shuttle. Although the staff was really great and the room was cleaned everyday, i really can't call it a cozy place... The "bar" inside the hostel is also in the basement so we had a hard time trying to get some sleep even tired. The location of the hostel is great near King's Cross station, it was very handy.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • nanciyuri
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review and rating! Thank you for your nice words about the staff and cleanliness! Our reception is open 24/7 - we are always happy to change your room if you feel uncomfortable or having a hard time to fall asleep :) We hope to see you again soon. Enjoy your travels! Indra, Clink78 Team

83%

Staff were excellent. Really friendly and helpful. Room was cramped with eight beds squished into a relatively small room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your time leaving us a review and your lovely words about the staff! The rooms are a bit on a small side but we are really proud of our common areas where you can hang out and make new friends :) Hope to see you again soon, enjoy your trips! Indra,Clink78 Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(208 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback