X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3083 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This is a great hostel. It's a few minuets walk from Kings Cross, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the hostel is very clean and secure. I'll definitely book here again and recommend my friends to do the same


86%

I really enjoyed my stay here. I will definitely consider it on my next trip to Edinburgh!


80%

Lovely hostel, but the rooms a bit small for the amount of people sleeping in it with only a small window to ventilate the room.

  • 14th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

I guess it's just a London thing, but I've yet to stay in an adequate hostel in London. All over-crowded, horrible value for money, and rarely clean. Try offering better breakfasts, and DON'T CHARGE FOR WI-FI. That was a slap in the face. It also didn't work half of our stay and only one spot in the hostel.


66%

The hostel was adequate.


83%

Nice common areas and abundant breakfast. But they charge for many things including towel, internet, lockers...Restrooms do not have air circulation (no windows, no vents working).


71%

The Clink is fine. It was a bit expensive for a hostel, but London is expensive in general. The showers were blistering hot and no one seemed to care. The guy at the front desk said that if they changed that then everyone would complain about more so they were leaving it that way. The staff was friendly and helpful (even the aforementioned guy was nice when it came questions about the city.

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there :) Thank you for your feedback; as per the showers we maintain the temperature set out by the Health and Safety guidelines given to us by the city of London. We’re glad you found our team friendly and helpful, we are always here to help our guests in any way we can. Thank you, Clink team

74%

The overall experience at Clink was fine, there were just a couple things that were a little strange. Our basement room was painted dark green and even with the light on, we couldn't see anything in the bottom bunks, we couldn't even open out lockers because we couldn't see our pad locks. Night lights would be awesome so we wouldn't have to keep waking up the others on late nights by flicking on the only light available. Also any sort of ventilation would have been nice. It was so hot at night

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there :) Thank you for your feedback, we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. As for the situation with your room, every bed in the hostel does come equipped with a night light above the bed so you can avoid turning on the main lights in the room. We’re also sorry the room was too hot, the heat wave that struck London was a surprise to all, but our reception team have fans that are available to rent during your stay. Thank you, Clink Team

86%

All staff interactions were friendly and helpful. Stayed in two rooms and the last one could have used a bit more ventilation or at least a fan.

  • 7th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our staff company :) Next time you stay with us, please come to reception, we are here to help with any of your queries and most important: We have lots of fans to survive to the London summer heatwave. The Clink team

86%

Great situation. Clean room, comfortable bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us :) Enjoy the rest of your travels, The Clink Team

69%

The main issue I had whilst staying at the Clink was that the showers were on too short of a timer. I would press the button and it seemed like before I had even had time to enjoy the shower it was already off. I would like to maybe two minutes of shower time or a shower I can control.

  • 4th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there :) Thank you for your feedback. As for the showers, the timer goes for 20 seconds as to conserve water usage so we can avoid using it to excess. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us, and we hope to see you again should you return to London. Thank you, Clink Team.

54%

Camera was stolen from a private dorm on the 2nd night. Therefore Had to be staff or a cleaner


94%

lovely hostel, friendly staff had a brill time

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you so much for your nice comments. It's great to hear that you had an amazing time here with us. We all hope to see you very soon :) The Clink team

54%

This is a terrible hostel. No way would I pay that much again for such a terrible room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us your thoughts. We take all feedback very seriously and it would be great if you could give us more details on your comments. We have a 24 hours team ready to help our guests with any queries. We are very sorry to hear that your assigned room was not of your taste. Please, next time, do not hesitate to ask for a room change. Enjoy the rest of your travels, The Clink Team

40%

A stay at Clink78 is a stereotypical "hostel" experience.... There were no lockers to place valuables, the bathrooms were uncomfortably dirty, and the environment was certainly a young, loud one. Though we too are young, we still wanted a peaceful place to come back to after a long day of site-seeing and Clink was NOT this type of place. We have stayed in 3 other dorm-style hostels that were of equal price to Clink that provided much better cleanliness, security, and atmosphere.


46%

Your staff were in no way helpful and in many encounters very rude. We asked for assistance with a tour company but your staff did not assist us in any way and it seemed as though it was a burden upon them. The fact you have to pay for wifi is terrible considering how many offer it for free and the bathroom facilities were disgusting. The showers were cold and only work intermittently!! And they constantly smelt like sewerage! Your hostel is overpriced and terrible I will never stay again!

  • 23rd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. Regarding your comments: -Staff. It's a shame that you don't recognize our staff efforts to help you out. Our staff members went the extra mile to solve out your own personal issues. -Showers and bathrooms are cleaned several times a day. - WIFI. it's a £3 paid-off fee that gives you great access for the whole of your stay. It's a temporary measure as we are working on setting up free WIFI very soon The Clink team

97%

Great location. No WiFi in the room was a pain as all communal spaces were pretty crossed and noisy, but facilities were great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your comment. About the noisy facilities, you need to understand that we are a hostel and for so we want to have a lively atmosphere where you can meet new people and enjoy your time with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels! Clink Team

91%

The atmosphere at Clink is always super-friendly and welcoming, and the bar is always lively. I love staying here! It gets mega-warm though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, hello! Thanks a lot for the review. Next time do not forget that if it gets too hot we can get you a fan to make everything easier. Do not hesitate to coming to reception at any time, please. Hope to see you soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels! Clink Team

71%

Nice accommodations, though bunk beds in my room were very tight. Enjoyed the free breakfast. Clean showers and washrooms, overall clean hostel. Nice common areas, but they're no good for meeting anyone, would never recommend this hostel to any solo travelers. Staff were friendly enough. I liked it, but I wouldn't come back or recommend it, unless to a large group. Good location, less than ten minutes to King's Cross-St. Pancras.


71%

The hostel is pretty and has plenty of character, but the ventilation leaves to be desired... it's a bit stuffy in there.


(1966 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback