X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
4167 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Atmosphere was lacking. A lot of screaming teenagers around which isn't what I expected from a hostel with a bar. The room itself was extremely cramped. Feasibly, only one person could stand in the room at a time. Bit disappointing all around but the breakfast was a good effort.


83%

Good location near King's Cross. No lockers in the room. Breakfast was simple (toast, cereal) but good. The bar and common areas were great, nice atmosphere! Also the kitchen was very clean! It was quiet in our room. The room was VERY small, but they have dividers between beds so you get your privacy.


86%

security was over the top when we came back in early hours of the morning not letting us bring anyone back to our private room but overall was very good value for money. also would be good if the bar would of stayed open later than 2am

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This was my favorite hostel during my trip to Europe. There was a great social atmosphere with multiple places to hang out. I liked the style of the dorm beds because they each had privacy. The staff was very energetic. The breakfast in the morning was great.


69%

I had a room close to the bar which was very annoying!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate your feedback. I am so sorry that you were disturbed by the bar, if you managed to pop back up to reception we would have been more than happy to change your room to another floor, or at least give you some ear plugs if we were unable to. We wish you many more happy travels, Jacqui

100%

These guys were amazing! On top of having amazing facilities, their staff were absolutely amazing! I got quite sick while staying with them and Aziz called every walk in clinic around to find a low price, he called a cab for me and called my insurance :) I felt so well looked after :) way to go Clink 78 !!! Keep putting your customers first!


57%

This was my first stay in a hostel. I guess I am just disappointed because my expectations from the pictures were so high. But maybe this is just because I am new to hostelling. Maybe this is the norm. However, I just checked into my hostel in Amsterdam and am blown away by how much better it is. Next time I go to Lodo. I will look for a different hostel or a hotel.


94%

Very nice stay. Friendly staff, clean bathrooms. Overall very happy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your time leaving us a review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay at Clink78 and hope to see you again soon. Cheers! Indra

100%

Good location to catch early trains. Excellent alternative to larger trains


83%

Room: comfy bed, clean sheets, bottom bunk was like a cosy little cave with a reading light and lock box. Only issue was no powerpoints for each bed and no wifi or phone reception in my basement bedroom. Communal areas: Kitchen was clean and fairly well equipped, however it didn't have an oven. The courtroom spaces and bar are pretty cool. Push button showers aren't enjoyable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review and great rating. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Clink78. Would just like to remind you that none of the rooms have wi-fi at the moment (hoping to change this in the near future though). Have safe travels, hope to see you again! Indra

71%

Very large hostel, good for meeting people at the bar. Nice breakfast. Need more free lockers and Wi-Fi in the rooms.


100%

I was very surprised with the quality of the Hostel, in a positive way! Clink78 was beautifully clean - really couldn't find any problem with cleanliness. The atmosphere was cozy and nice, the painted walls and colors - I loved them! The staff was extremely nice too, and I still can't believe it was so cheap with all these perks, and only 10 minutes from King's Cross!

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I am utterly impressed by this Hostel and its facilities. Me and my friend were staying here four nights and really did not know what to expect. The staff were really friendly and clear on rules, Facilities with several common rooms, and a bar with a pool table downstairs did not disappoint. When we booked two beds in a room with 12 we were a bit scared, but luckily everyone turned out to be very friendly and around our age. Great atmosphere :)

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Beds are comfortable, despite being very cramped. The rooms can be a little smelly and damp, no lockers to store your stuff in the rooms or enough power points for everyone to use. Staff were great - had a few issues with my first room and they were fantastic at finding me another with no hassle! Common movie room is great for relaxing, good kitchen, location was okay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you so much for your review :) We are happy to hear that you found our staff efficient and friendly. Our rooms are pretty basic - you will find only a small locker on top of your bed for small valuables but there are more lockers and power points in our amazing common areas. Hope to see you again soon, safe travels! Indra

49%

Our stay was very unpleasant. Room was TINY and no room for anything. Toilets were gross and if you aren't a size 6 then you will struggle to get in it, clearly in need of a deep clean. All of this was bearable until we spoke to a man on reception who was EXTREMELY RUDE and INCREDIBLY AGGRESSIVE towards us, we asked him a simple question and was given a rude and racist reply. Completely unacceptable!!!

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your time leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Please check your inbox, we have sent you a personal email regarding the issues you have mentioned. Safe travels! Indra

74%

The room should have a lock room for each people.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. The point you have raised is definitely being considered and hopefully we will have more lockers in the near future. Safe trips! Indra

71%

The staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful. It was obvious that they made considerable effort keeping the facilities clean and upbeat feeling. My main dissatisfaction was the facilities themselves, that the room I stayed in had an odor that only left after keeping the window open all day, bunk beds that were too small to sit upright in, and common rooms that felt dingy even after I knew the staff had just cleaned them. Location was also amazing, 10 min walk to Kings Cross Underground.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your time leaving us a review. We are thrilled to hear that our staff efforts were noticed - we are always ready to help! Sorry that the facilities didn't meet your expectations, we have checked the room you were staying in and couldn't smell anything strange but will definitely keep checking just in case. Have safe future travels! Indra

100%

Couldn't be better. Thanks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your positive review and amazing rating! We hope to see you again soon. Happy travels! Indra

51%

The location of this hostel was one of the bright spots. The rooms were super cramped and only had a small locker for wallets. The room smelled and was stuffy. No wifi and the washroom was one of the smallest I've seen. Would not stay here again.


54%

The Clink was our first stop on a 2 month euro trip. At first we thought the facilities we're standard for hostels but since visiting other places our view has changed dramatically. Pros: clean beds, free breakfast with good range, excellent location Cons: no lockers for bags in room, extremely cramped rooms (12 bed dorm), no curtains, very poor showers (2 per floor which had cold water), no powerpoints in room (had to charge at reception), wifi only in reception, poorly designed bunk ladders


(183 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback