X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3599 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Expensive!


94%

Such a great place to stay, i will definitely use them again in the near future!!

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Many thanks for the positive feedback and great rating! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and would be delighted to see you again soon! Safe travels Anna

83%

I definitely appreciate the cleaning of loos and showers. The room wasn't so clean and it was too hot inside, but the mattress was super comfortable and sheets clean. The worst thing is the lack of lockers in the rooms, I think it's unlikely to leave the luggage in the room without being able to close it with a padlock. Nice hostel, recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thank you for your time and the great feedback! We are happy you had a good stay and found the place clean :) We have some small lockers in each bed for your valuable belongings and we also have some big free ones around the building and more to rent near reception! On your next visit just come to see us and we will show you around! We wish you great travels and hope to see you soon! Anna

86%

This Hostel is a lot of fun! It's a great place to meet people and it's fun to walk around see the old court rooms. I liked how the downstairs had plenty of space to hangout. Fun place to stay for London!

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Many thanks for the super positive feedback and great rating! :) We are happy to hear that you loved the building and its unique atmosphere! We definitely hope to see you again shall you return to London! Safe travels Anna

66%

I did not find the staff very helpful. We asked for a cab and they ordered us a minicab which charged us double what a black taxi would for the fair and insisted we take it. I waited 20 minutes in the travel office for the staff to return and no one could tell me where she was or find her. Not enough plugs. The location is further from king's cross then I would have liked it's a little sketchy for a girl alone at night walking. PROS: The building is pretty cool being an old police station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your time and the feedback.We are sorry to hear that you didn't find the staff helpful! Usually the black cabs you get on the street are really expensive, especially on pick hours as they charge you per minute. Also it is unfortunate that you had to wait for the Travel Shop assistant: they job consists also in going to buy supplies, going to the post office etc. so they are not always in the Travel Shop. We hope to see you again though :) Take care! Anna

83%

The location is good, a few blocks from King's Cross underground station, you can travel anywhere from there. The hostel is really secure, there are small lockers in each bed for small valuables and bigger lockers that you can rent. The wifi is free, but only works in common areas (and it kept logging out after a couple of minutes so couldn't really use it). The kitchen is big and has all you need. Had a problem with the water in the showers once, but other than that it was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for leaving your thoughts with us :) We are glad that you had a good stay and enjoyed the location and security of this place! Sorry that the WiFi was a little slow - we are currently looking into a different provider that would be better for the guests :) We hope that you will come back to see us someday! Safe travels Anna

86%

Bathrooms aren't great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there, Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear you didn't find our bathrooms great - we are currently refurbishing some of them! We hope to see you again so you can see the changes by yourself! Take care Anna

91%

The hostel is great, very near the King's Cross station. The staff here are very nice. I enjoyed living here. The only Problem is the wifi in the room is not good.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for the great feedback and rating! It is amazing to hear you had a good stay and enjoyed the location and the hostel :) Our staff is also glad for the mention! We are currently looking into improving the WiFi and having it all around the building but right now it only works in the common areas! We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels Anna

77%

The rooms were so hot and too small for the amount of beds in the one room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear that the room was too hot for you! We have a 24/7 reception where you can ask for a fan or to be changed to a different room - come and see us next time you're visiting! :) Safe travels Anna

94%

Amazing hotel, gorgeous design, safe, secure and a real pleasure to stay in!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! your comment just made the rainy day a little less sad :) We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and found the hostel beautiful! We love this building too! We hope to see you again shall you return to London! :) Take care! Anna

86%

By far the cleanest of the hostels I stayed in on my trip. The hostel was a great location to the train station which was great because I wanted to get up to Bruges and also had an early morning train to Paris. Not the best part of town, but I wasn't too worried about safety while there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your great review :) Our housekeeping team is delighted for the mention :) We are also happy you found the location convenient and the place safe! We hope to see you in here again shall you return to London :) Wish you good and safe trips! Anna

100%

This was a great hostel to stay. The location, staff, they have bike rental station outside of the hostel so you can go bike the entire town like we did. My only complains were the internet was not in the room, room was hot as heck, the restrooms were super small (so if your a big guy/girl good luck). Besides that great place for the money you pay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for the great feedback you left :) It is amazing to know you had a good stay and could enjoy all our facilities! As for the toilets, the building being very old and weirdly shaped, some of the toilets, bathrooms and rooms are bigger then others! But our reception team is there 24/7 to advise and show the best spot and also give you a fan for the hot room :) Just come to see us on your next stay! We wish you safe travels! Anna

80%

Good hostel!!! Nice and helpfull stuff. Good kitchen. Comfortable location /

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello! Thank you for taking your time and leaving your thoughts with us :) Your review is great and we are happy you found our hostel good and our staff helpful and nice :) We hope that you will come back to see us in the future and wish you safe trips! Anna

89%

Really pleased with my stay at Clink78 - super clean! Our dorm was really small

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for your super positive and nice feedback and rating! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our Housekeeping team is grateful for the mention too! As for the rooms we know that some of them are smaller then others - it's due to the strange shape of this old building! But next time come to reception and we can find you a bigger room :) Hope to see you again soon! Anna

80%

Good place. Most expensive hostel I have ever stayed in, but still an ok price for London standards. All well arranged and good location not far from King's Cross station

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving your thoughts with us! We are glad you had a good stay with us :) It is true that London is one of the most expensive cities in Europe to visit and so our prices are sometimes going up when it's busy. However we are happy you enjoyed it in here and we hope to see you again shall you return to London! Safe trips Anna

77%

Hostel was good but hair dryer in ladie was broken down stair which was a pain , over wise good feel and enjoyed stay Thank you

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thank you for your comments :) we are happy to know that your stay with us was a good one! Also thanks for letting us know about the hair dryer, we will transfer that info to the maintenance team :) Otherwise we have a 24/7 reception to report those problems and get it fixed straight away! We hope to see you again, safe travels! Anna

94%

Clink 78 was a fantastic place to stay. The facilities were incredible and there was a supermarket close by. The only down side was that wifi was only available in the common room areas (so not in your actual room) and the hostel is quite expensive. But if you are happy to pay a little extra, then it is definitely worth it. The staff are lovely and very helpful. My only other complaint is that the showers are on a timer button (like in public bathrooms for taps) and turn off every 30 seconds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for the great feedback and rating! We are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and found the place fantastic! We choose to have the free wifi in the common rooms to keep our guests in social areas :) As for the showers, the push button is more ecologically friendly but we also have some no-timer button showers! Next time come to see us on reception we will show you where they are! See you soon! Anna

83%

Overall, it was a good experience!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! thank you for your great ratings and positive feedback! We are happy you had a good time with us and hope to see you again! Safe travels Anna

83%

The Clink is a well located hostel, you have no trouble getting around. The staff is very pleasant and helpfull. I enjoyed my stay there. The only two things that were annoying; you didn't have wifi connection in the room, you had to go the the lobby. And it gets really hot in the rooms.... But all in all would definitely recommend this place :)

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello there! Thanks for your positive feedback and great rating! :) We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff helpful and nice. As for the WiFi, we are currently looking into that matter and hoping our guest will enjoy the WiFi all over the hostel soon :) We hope to see you again shall you return to London! Safe travels Anna

80%

Needs air con. The rooms are fitted with a minuscule window so there is no room for ventilation. Way too hot. Terrible nights sleep with the temp.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello! Thank you for taking your time and leaving your feedback with us, it's really helpful for us to keep improving :) We know that in the summertime, it gets quite warm in the rooms, so we provide fans on reception! Next time just pop in and ask, we are here 24/7! We hope to see you again soon Safe travels Anna

(231 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback