X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
4763 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I was struck by how clean the toilets and showers were! It seems that maintenance throughout the building is a continuous process.

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there thanks for your review we do our best to ensure our cleanliness standards are maintained daily to keep a nice clean environment for our guests! We are glad you were happy with our shared facilities, we look forward to see you again in the future.Safe travels, Chloe

66%

There are too few knives, pots, and pans in the kitchen. At least have one set per cooker top! Shame you do have girls only rooms but you don't have rooms for people who just want a quiet night's sleep. Some of the reception staff are incredibly rude and unhelpful.

  • 11th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Our shared kitchen it is fully equipped for guests to use, I can understand that at times it can be busy with everyone using the utensils provided. It would be nice to have rooms for the quite people but unfortunately due to rooms being shared we can never know, however we have private rooms available you can book if it were any concern. I’m sorry if you encountered a bad experience with our staff as we are always happy to help in any way we can, 24 hours a day if you need anything just ask! We hope to see you again, safe travels Chloe

77%

The room itself stunk so badly i could barely stomach spending any time in it. I had to open a window to even sleep in it. It stunk from the moment I got in and someone who had been there for a week said it had been like that for a long time. When I mentioned that to a staff member they said only that I should open a window but that barely helped.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there thanks for taking the time to address this to us! We are very sorry to hear your experience wasn’t a 100%, our 24/7 staff are here to help if you have any issues with the rooms you stay in. Shared dorms can sometimes have some odours due to the amount of people therefore it’s good to generate some air flow with the windows being open. It’s not always possible to change rooms but we do our best so next time please let us know! We want you to have a comfortable stay after all! Best regards, Chloe

77%

Rooms too crammed and stuffy. Bar was super cool

  • 9th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks for leaving us a review, we are always happy to hear your thoughts on our hostel. Unfortunately our shared dorms can be a bit of a tight space when there is a lot of people staying. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the bar, with many drink specials, travellers to socialize with and excellent staff we try our very best to keep up the great atmosphere! Happy travels, Chloe

71%

Our room we stayed in was very cold and was not taken care of. breakfast was good. I could not get Wi-Fi in room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello thanks for taking the time to leave us your thoughts! We are very sorry to hear your stay wasn’t 100%, our 24/7 reception would have happily helped with extra blankets or made sure the heating was working in the room. Our free breakfast sure knows how to settle the stomach before a big day! We are glad you enjoyed it. As for the Wi-Fi sadly it doesn’t operate in the bedrooms, only in our common areas. Was a pleasure to have you stay with us, we hope to see you again in the future! Best regards, Chloe

100%

didn't expect to get so much for my money! spacious, super clean, really helpful staff, fab breakfast, great location! can't wait to visit again!!!

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks’ for your awesome review! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here at Clink! With all of our amenities and friendly staff we make sure you have an overall great experience when you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Best regards, Chloe

94%

The rooms were too small for so many people. But everything else was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks for your review! We are currently in the middle of making our rooms a little more spacious by moving some beds around or out, We hope in doing this it will accommodate more room space for our guests! I am super happy to hear you enjoyed everything else we have to offer here at Clink! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best regards, Chloe

60%

I was in an 8 female dorm, the beds were really cramped with no space in between. You had to push the button for the shower every 20seconds. Water so a good temperature though. Breakfast was really nice, cereals and toast with juice, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. Wifi was only available in common areas not in the rooms which was inconvenient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Unfortunately due to the unique shape of our historical building some of the rooms can be a little small but this only makes it more cosy especially on the cold winter nights. Only a few of our showers feature the push button and this is to try and be environmentally friend and preserve precious water, but I am glad that you enjoyed the temperature nothing better than having a nice hot shower. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will come and stay with us again the next time you need a bed in London. Regards, Lucinda

77%

The room didn't have any curtains or blinds, and it was very noisy - mainly outside noise as opposed to other hostel residents. Probably the worst sleep I have ever had at a hostel. Location is convenient as its walking distance to the train station, but honestly wouldn't stay here again based purely on how uncomfortable and loud it was.

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello lovely to hear from you! We are sorry for the noise level of outside and that your sleep was interrupted, unfortunately it being in a busy residential area we can’t control the noise from the street. Our shared rooms have privacy screens on our bunks in which we hope is privacy enough for most, but we will take into consideration the curtains for the main windows. We are perfectly located close to shops, restaurants and of course the tube station which is ideal in getting around in London. Thanks for booking with us and we hope you enjoyed your time here in London. Best regards, Chloe

46%

I booked for three nights, after the second I checked out. The room was constantly cold as the radiator was only ever warm, there were no blinds so it was constantly light, the windows are thin which adds to the cold and the noise from the busy street. The bed wobbled as it was unevenly built and the bathroom? My god, it was disgusting... There are bleach stains all over the shower walls, mould were the water leaks from the shower. This was a private room, god only knows what dorms are like!

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are sorry to hear you weren’t satisfied with your stay here. Our Bathrooms are cleaned very regularly on a daily basis, as for the bed if you had let us know at reception we would have gladly asked our maintenance to come and take a look. We will definitely take into consideration curtains on the windows. We appreciate the feedback and will make sure our facilities are kept up to our standards. Kind regards, Chloe

77%

Location is safe to walk to at nighy by yourself from kings cross station. It is about 10min walk which makes it easy to then get to things but not much around other then that. Had an issue with door and they just tried to stickytape it open which was at 3am and didnt make me feel very safe in room. Common rooms are great but people tend to keep to themselves. Great breakfast. Different bunch of travellers as lots live there temporaily and are of all ages. Showers were not cleaned regularly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving us a review! Our centrally based location is an excellent way to get around London with a tube station close by and many shops and restaurants. I’m sorry about the door situation I’m sure our staff had offered a quick solution to fixing the door at 3am so that you can get some rest as we don’t have our maintenance team on at this time of night. We have our security on during the night time so we make sure we look out for our guests and their safety. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and meeting new people from all over the world! Best of luck in your travels and we hope to see you again! Regards, Chloe

77%

Stayed one night in the 6 bed female dorm, not ensuite. The room was small, with only bunk beds inside (no lockers or wardrobes), but clean and cosy. Each bed had a lot of individual privacy. Service was good,arrived at 2 but was able to check in, staff were very friendly and helpful. Atmosphere of hostel was great, a lot of mingling was possible but also if you wanted to be alone you could as well. Bathrooms were numerous and individual, good for privacy! Would happily recommend this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thank you taking the time to write such a great review. We are so happy to hear that you had such a great stay with us here. We hope that you will come back to us again the next time you need a bed in London. Regards, Lucinda

80%

Overall the experience was great .location was perfect and night staff was very helpful .

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad to hear to you had such a great time staying with us and we hope to see you again next time you need a bed in London. Regards, Lucinda

83%

Good overnight stay. Bar was a good addition. Free breakfast was well set out and there was lots of it. Toilets were a little small but it was bearable.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are so happy to hear the you had such a great stay with us. Given the unique shape of our building some of our rooms/ areas are of an odd shape and can sometimes be on the smaller side. But we have loads of wash facilities scattered all over the building which are available to everyone. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you need a place to stay. Regards, Lucinda

66%

The photoa are misleading. The rooms are so tiny and the bathrooms are dirty. The bedrooms are so misty. Would not stay here again.

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so sorry that you did not have an enjoyable experience, however if you were not happy with the room that you were in you could have always come to reception and have you room changed at no extra charge. If you choose to stay we us again (which we do hope that you do) please come to reception next time if you have any problems as we are hear to help you and we always to our very best to meet your needs. Regards, Lucinda

63%

No power points in the rooms, average hostel in an average location with bored staff


51%

I stay in a 6-female dorm and the lighting was poor. Not only that, there is limited space for storing my luggage in my room. Even though there is a locker, I cannot put a luggage into it as it is too small.


86%

I have stayed in Clink 261 before and the experience was pretty nice. Therefore, I tried Clink78 this time. It's also a good place.


80%

Good hostel. Room was pretty noisey during the evening - right next to some alleyway or something.


66%

3rd visit to this hostel in 2015. This was my least enjoyable experience out of the three. Mainly because the lift was not working, a bit on the busy side, lockers a bit scarce and awkward, plus not as clean as it could be. Worst thing though, was i booked an extra night, informed a member of staff, who said it would be okay to stay in the same room. Then i was told by the stern cleaner to vacate the room! Guests, if you aware of the fact that you ' snore ' do something about it; and be clean!


(190 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback