X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
3326 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Lockers above the beds were too small, my bed light didn't work. 10 min walk to the Tube, to go anywhere you had to catch it. Prob better staying slightly out of the city and paying less for accommodation, possibly getting more space in your room, and just catch the tube everywhere anyway. The 6xbed dorm in the basement was loud from the bar and so tiny - no room to stand around. I guess typical for London. Facilities were clean, good for catching Top Deck tours.


69%

The location was great! Everything else though not so much. The staff seemed very indifferent to those in the hostel. The luggage room was an absolute nightmare and it was every man for himself! I did not feel good leaving my bag there at all. The bar played music at an unnecessary volume to the point where I had to leave to make myself heard. The bartenders were extremely rude as well! The rooms were average. There were very few bathrooms and showers compared to the numbers of people.


54%

Double decked beds are placed next to each other, no space left in the room. The dorm is really tiny, you can only put your luggage or backpack under the bed, however, its really dirty. There was only two electric plugs for a 12-ppl dorm, you can find electricity supply in the kitchen, yet half of them are not usable. moreover, you cannot connect WIFI inside the dorm. If you look for a place for sleep only, the price is too high for you. However, the kitchen and bathroom are really clean.


66%

Staff were friendly. Was reasonably close to transport. Rooms were very stuffy and hard to sleep. Facilities were ordinary. Wouldn't recommend staying here


91%

Definitely a good place to stay if you're looking to party with the people at the hostel. The downside to that is it stays pretty loud late into the night, but it wasn't too much of an issue. The showers weren't the greatest but they weren't anything to complain about either. Breakfast was good, not much but it was free so no complaints here. Overall, good atmosphere and decent facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for taking your time and rating the hostel, we are glad for your positive feedback and that you had a nice stay with us! If the rooms are too loud because of the music in the bar, we have a 24/7 reception to look into a solution together :) Come to see us on your next visit! Safe trips!

80%

It's nice reception services, and includes breakfast is excellent, but the the room is too crowded and noisy when sharing with 10 girls then.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your review and nice rating! We are happy you found the staff helpful and nice, and that you liked the breakfast! As for sharing with girls, we provide free earplugs to help people having a good night of sleep :) We hope to see you again! Safe travels!

83%

The lobby was really beautiful. I also felt great atmosphere in this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thanks for your feedback! We are happy that you had a good stay and liked the atmosphere and the beauty of this old building! We hope to see you in here again shall you return to London! Take care!

83%

good location near kings cross, felt safe walking alone at night to and from tube stop. stayed in 10 bed female dorm and the room was a bit stuffy, but clean. beds are all on one platform with dividers between each area. it kind of felt like a pod but i didn't' mind. what i did mind was management doing nothing when i asked if they could move the very, very sick girl who was continuously coughing (plague status) out of our room. i paid for a bed, not a disease. change your policies, clink.


60%

Room was very bad, and the shower bad too. Nice bar but terrible room.


91%

Brilliant hostel in Kings Cross but if you want any sleep, ask for anywhere but the basement. Brilliant kitchen facilities, in house bar, great basic breakfast and free wi-fi Not so good was the activation of the fire alarm at 5am, it was at this point i realised I wasn't on the best floor, being disabled.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for the positive feedback and great rating! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, the kitchen and other facilities! As for the basement, it is true the rooms near the bar are noisier but our 24/7 reception staff is always happy to help you move rooms and find the best place for you :) Hope to see you again! Safe travels

83%

Amazing place to meet people. Really big. Hostel use to be a prison/courthouse.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for the great feedback and rating! We are happy you had a good stay and enjoyed yourself :) We hope to see you again shall you come back to London! Safe travels!

83%

Great hostel, but incredibly expensive--I think that just might be because everywhere in London was expensive, but it was 38 quid for one night in a 10-person communal room, which seems very steep to me.


80%

Service was friendly and the environment provides a safe and relaxing atmosphere. All the while making the stay feel contemporary and cool.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great, cheap place to stay. So close to the underground friendly staff. The clash bar is unreal you don't really have to go out to drink.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Friendly staff, great vibe and social hostel. Tidy rooms and great breakfast.


77%

The hostel itself is nice. Great atmosphere and looks just like pictures. The 10bed female delux room was a great size and not too many stairs for carrying luggage. Bathrooms smelled terrible though and the shower was a pain. Sometimes hot, sometimes cold, and you had to press it repeatedly to keep it on. Room great, showers terrible.


91%

Awesome hostel. Activities were set up every night. Actually tried to stay here again but it was all booked... Lively atmosphere so it was easy to come alone and meet new people


69%

This place is fine providing you dont want to sleep. Its a party hostel. A loud announcement throughout the hotel about bar events and prices puts an end to an early night and the never end drunk people put an end to sleeping later on. I did not get the room type I booked.


97%

This hostel was brilliant. Good common areas, quality breakfast, and solid facilities. Also it had a very helpful staff. Nothing is of the most pristine quality, but as far as hostels go, this one felt remarkably tidy and well organized. Great hostel.


77%

Another nice stay in the Clink. lol I've stayed in both clinks in the Kings Cross area and this one is my favorite. It is a little further walk than the other one (about 10-12 minutes walk from the train station with suitcases in tow) but it has a livelier scene. I did enjoy my rooms sleeping arrangements. The sturdy bunk beds were all on one wall and had privacy walls alongside each bed. Each bed had a light and there was plenty of space under then bed for a large suitcase.


(122 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback