X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3772 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

When We arrived, there was a large crowd drinking and smoking outside the front door. Once inside seemed secure and the autmosphere was nice till we arrived in our room. 3 bunk beds shoved together with a piece of wood separating the beds. Then on the other side another 2 sets of beds. Not enough outlets and you slept with a piece of wood separating you and the person next to you. Not what was expected. Very disappointed.


83%

Great value for money. I would definitely recommend Clink78.

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location, staff have been very helpful. Rooms are a good size and very clean. Would recommend that they have more showers and bathrooms. Not nearly enough for the amount of people at this hostel. Good wifi but not available in rooms. Breakfast is basic but good. Overall a comfortable stay at this hostel.


100%

Almost perfect. To improve: - Breakfast (it was really basic) - To add wardrobe or shelves in rooms.


66%

No running water on the saturday. So had to buy bottled water just to wash before we went out. Staff simply stated water pipe had broke and gave no knowledge of when it would be fixed or offer any solutions. We had to spend more money to clean. Simply wrong!!!!

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place for our stay-great location, great staff and great value. When we arrived we were assigned to a mixed dorm; however, on the phone I had requested a female dorm. Staff were very helpful-for the 1st night we were moved to a female dorm (which was booked out after the 1st night) but Anna arranged for another female dorm. We stressed over it the 1st day (and probably annoyed staff) but team dealt with it so well, we were really impressed. Definitely booking again for my next visit!

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I stayed in a four bed female dorm for three nights mid-november. The beds were loud and the room was tiny and wayyyyyyy too warm, even with the window open. The worst part was the showers. They ran for 10 seconds at a time, don't have a separate area for your clothes so mine got all wet, and I would highly recommend bringing shower shoes or flip flops (which I didn't do - in a six week trip this was the only hostel where I needed them) because the floor was flooded and slimy.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Facilities were good but would have liked wifi in the rooms not just in the common areas


83%

I stayed only for one night, so didn't get to see all the hostel had to offer. I booked an 8-bed room which I only had to share with one other person, so don't know what it'd be like if it was full. But plenty of room under the bunks to put your luggage, so space shouldn't be an issue. Very generous 8 sockets in the room, although I do question the safety of having one right next to your head. Plenty of leisure areas to choose from, and free breakfast with good choice of cereals and drinks.


89%

I missed lockers and they don't have lockers big enought


97%

Best Hostel I stayed. Really great!


80%

Everything about this hostel is really nice, excepto for the dorms, the beds are all over each other, no room whatsoever. But as I said everything else is good, kitchen, it's clean, etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for this feedback! We are happy that you found the place nice and enjoyed your stay with us! As for the rooms, the size depends of how big the dorm is, how many people do you share with and also on the shape of the room, next time just come to reception and we can change your room for you! Hope to see you again shall you return to London! Anna

60%

The hostel was very busy! Crammed a lot of people into one building! There were lockers available but they were located in hallways and there were none located near our room therefore we felt that security was a bit of an issue. There were renovations going on near our room so it was very noisy, very early! - no apology. Breakfast was chaotic and could barely find somewhere to sit and eat! Although there were so many people there wasn't very much of an atmosphere at the bar! Good location!


100%

A stone's throw from Kings Cross Station means location is a huge plus. Bed was very comfortable and the shower and toilet facilities also merited many brownie points. Free breakfast was a relatively simple affair-as much cereal, toast, tea or coffee as you desired and the staff were a pleasure to meet. Spotlessly clean as well and so many areas to hang out in and meet fellow travellers. All in all look no further if coming to London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for this amazing review and perfect ratings :D We are delighted to hear all your great comments about the location, beds, facilities and cleanliness, it puts a big smile on our faces :) We hope to see you again soon and wish you amazing travels! Anna

49%

Desk staff unhelpful, no hot water in private room and I had to go ask them why rather than being informed, had to use communal showers on separate floor. Security let themselves into the room while we were in it, did not ask to enter

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The bar is amazing and the staff is really great. The atmosphere is super cool and the location is easy to access from the bus or a quick walk from Kings Cross. However, there is NO space in the room for baggage and the shower has to keep being pressed to stay on.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! It's awesome to hear that you had a great time with us and enjoyed the bar! We are happy you found the atmosphere cool and the Hostel easy to access from the station :) There are a few showers in the building without this push button - come to ask on reception next time you visit us and we will be happy to show then to you! See you soon! Anna

94%

That is very good place. I left my IPad and when I returned after 6 hours I got it back. I met so many good people. Staff was nice even they were very busy. I would recomment it to everyone who come to London.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Many thanks for your very positive feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and met cool travelers! Our staff is also grateful for the mention! We hope to see you again shall you return to London! Wish you safe travels! Anna

74%

In a 6 bed room; one female paying guest had a male guest for the night and they shared a bed, had lights on past midnight and chatting throughout the night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are sorry to hear about this incident, unfortunately it is very hard to control this sort of situations. The best would have been to come and report it on reception when it happened for the staff to take action and check the room for any extra people. We hope that other then this small problem you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! Anna

86%

Nice hostel, clean and with a decent breakfast. Not the place to come if you want total silence but good value for money given the location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking some time and writing this feedback! We are glad you had a good stay with us and found the hostel nice :) If you're however looking for a quieter place, our little sister 261 might be the right place for you! It is smaller and quieter and also closer to the King's Cross Station! Don't hesitate to check it out on your next trip to London! Hope to see you soon! Safe travels Anna

80%

Nice and cheap

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review! We are happy that you found the hostel nice and good value of money :) We hope to see you again soon! Wish you safe travels! Anna

(191 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback