X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3514 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The first hostel I was in which I had problem with the card. Not a big deal since they have an atm at the reception. Some of the staff were really nice, some not. I had the impression some of them didnt speak English very well. kinda hot inside the room, breakfast and the bar are amazing!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your time writing us a review. We are thrilled to hear that you loved breakfast and the ClashBar! Every staff member at reception can speak at least 2 or 3 different languages, we always try to accommodate guests needs and answer all the questions in the most clear way possible, sorry if we didn't meet your expectations. We hope to see you again, safe trips! Indra

83%

Funky and upbeat excellent common areas with great cooking facilities and a bar Close to St Pancras International train station Great Staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, thank you for such a positive review, you have definitely put a smile on our faces! :) We hope to see you again soon, enjoy your travels. Indra

43%

We were placed in an interior room that was burning hot at all times. It was nearly impossible to sleep. A fuse blew in our hallway on the first night that also affected the showers and bathroom. When asked if we could switch to a more temperate part of the hostel, I was rudely told that the entire place was the same temperature and that my request was unreasonable. For as much as Clink78 costs, it is a terrible value. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Clink78 was sufficient for all of our needs, good location (5 minute walk to king's cross tube, good food places around.. crystal kebab). Security was almost too tight, door people were a tad overzealous. Rooms were relatively comfortable except very hot during summer time. Staff were friendly. Atmosphere was ok. Cleanliness was ok, mostly good however shared showers and toilets were less than clean at times, to be expected in such a big place I guess. Value for money was ok for London, extras..

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Great facilities like kitchen and tv rooms, but the hostel is on a main road and some of the dorms are affected by noise from the road which makes for a lousy sleep at night. Bathrooms were clean and tidy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for the lovely review! It's nice to hear that you have enjoyed the TV room and found the kitchen great. We have reception team available 24/7 - just come over and request for a more quiet room, if we can't offer you another room we are always happy to provide you with free air plugs to make your stay at least a little bit more pleasant:) Have safe trips! Indra

94%

This is usually the starting and end points for Topdeck tours, so a lot of 18-20somethings. Power points with each bed, but like with London, most rooms are small. Good bar downstairs, and good Chillout areas. Tour agency at hostel for bookings stuff. Wifi is on/off so unreliable. Good enough showers that seem clean and no need to wait. No power points in bathrooms though for hairdryers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you so much for your review and amazing rating! We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Clink78, found common areas and the ClashBar nice to hang out in. Unfortunately, you won't find power plugs in any of the showers here because of the Health and Safety regulations in UK, although some of the showers have safe hairdryers installed on the walls - just ask our staff next time - we will be happy to point them out for you :) Safe trips!

97%

Brilliant stay! Staff extremely helpful and smiley :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Your super positive comment put even more smiles on our faces! We are really happy you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to see you again soon! Take care! Anna

54%

The hostel was so large and impersonal e.g there were so many people lining up at the reception. As a result, I felt like the staff there were annoyed and just wanted to get through as many people as possible. So the customer service was a bit poor compared to staying in smaller hostels. Also I stayed during the summer and the rooms were so bloody hot and had no fans. It was also very small and had no room to store your stuff. Showers were awful so I didn't bother using it during my stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your time writing us a review! Clink78 is a big hostel therefore it gets really busy at reception from time to time - mainly when the check-in starts. There is a travelshop where all your little or big questions can be answered with a smile without queuing for a long time. We hope you will come back so we could show you that our reception team is cheerful and always ready to help. Safe travels!

46%

Didnt like my stay in there. It was to hot, just 3 showers for a whole floor, my room wasnt clean and I had a lot of problems with wifi in there.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank your for taking your time to rate the hostel! We are sad to hear that Clink78 didn't meat your expectations! However we have a 24/7 reception to solve problems like room temperature or cleanliness :) We have also many showers on each floor, if those on your floor are busy! Next time just come to see us and we will show you the best showers and the hot spot for your WiFi :) Hope to see you again! Safe travels. Anna

97%

Really good hostel with great facilities! Location is great being close to kings cross underground which has basically all the lines you'll need would recommend to anyone! Value for money is brilliant in my opinion!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Many thanks for your super positive comment and great rating :) We are happy you liked the hostel and found the location suitable! We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels! Anna

43%

The bathrooms were very dirty and smelly, the smell of urine makes the shower impossible to enter. The room was too small and there was no plug near my bed. Some people on the staff are rude and have no patience to give informations. Definitely, I don`t recommend this hostel to nobody.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello, thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear the hostel didn't meat your expectations. We have a 24/7 reception to report any problem you may experience during your stay; we can also change your room :) We would like to investigate more the rudeness problem you encountered though, could you contact us on clinkhostels with some more details? We hope to see you again and change your mind! Safe travels, Anna

51%

This was the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. There are too many people in too small a space, which made it feel like military barracks instead of a hostel. The bathroom was gross - I went down the road to a coffee shop and paid for something to use the bathroom instead. The wifi connection was a joke with so many people trying to access it at the same time and it didn't work in the rooms because of the concrete prison walls. I don't recommend this place at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there, thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't fully enjoy your stay. We take all your comments on board of course but we have a 24/7 reception for problems such as dirty bathrooms or WiFi problems. The rooms get quite hot of late because of the heat wave in London but we can gladly change your room for a different floor maybe :) Come to see us again and we will change your mind! Safe travels

57%

Worst hostel i have stayed in, in terms of dorm rooms, they pile as many people as possible into one room, I had a 14 bed dorm that should of had max 6 people in it (all rooms have the same problem). Very over priced for what you actually get, the overall atmosphere is average at best, plus there is terrible wifi, showers and eating area. Only positives are a good location near kings cross station, and the staff do you help you out a lot.


71%

Great breakfast downstairs, staff and overall atmosphere is fantastic. Rooms are a bit small and packed in tight but is what you come to expect. Shower and toilet facilities fine, could use a fan/dehumidifier in the showers as it is very steamy (but not necessarily a bad thing on a cold London morning) Clink261 around the corner is probably a better deal if you're happy to not have a bar.


97%

We were very pleased with our 4 nights at clink78. Clean and safe hostel with cool facilities, pretty good location and decent breakfast included. Only downside was that the room was tiny (we stayed in a 8 bed dorm), but except for that great value for money. Would def consider staying there again for my next visit to London :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for taking your time and leaving your feedback with us! We are happy to hear you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the facilities and breakfast :) We hope to see you again shall you return to London! Cheers! Safe travels! Anna

86%

Lovely hostel! Highly recomended (:

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Clink. Please come again :) Enjoy your travels! Agata

43%

The room was unbearably hot all day and night, even with the (very small) fan that reception provided and all windows open as much as they could. We were only able to get a fan for the last half of our stay as they had run out over the weekend. There was no ventilation in the shower rooms making them disgustingly hot and humid. All 3 shower rooms that I was in had black mould growing on the ceiling.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for your review! We are sorry to hear that you found the room too hot though. We provide fans but as you said over the weekend it gets really busy so sometimes we are out of them. We are taking your comments on board and hope to see you again when the heat wave is gone! Safe travels!

71%

Mostly everything was great there. Just two points that need to be fixed: 1. the beds are so narrow and packed in so tightly to each other that it's really uncomfortable to sleep (compared to most other hostels). 2. The doors make a loud sound when they close locked...can't you dampen it someway as in other hostels 'cos it's hard to sleep

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Standards of room sizes are a bit different in London but for a low price we're trying to offer as comfortable and as big beds as we can. There are also spacious common rooms in the hostel where you can spend your free time. I'll pass the message about the doors to our maintenance team, they'll try to solve it. Please come again and grab your free earplugs to make your sleep better! :) Enjoy your stay! Agata

94%

This hostel is awesome! The building is really nice! It's cool that it used to be an old courthouse. The common area, kitchen and bar are huge and nice and a great place to meet people! It's really fun at night. Kings Cross is a great station to be near because a lot of the metro lines connect there


97%

I'd originally booked in for 3 nights, this turned into 2 weeks! Love the staff here and the atmosphere. Great place for a solo traveller to meet other people, very social without being too loud at night. Will definitely come back here when I return to London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there :) We are very happy to hear that your experience was so great that you decided to stay for longer! We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels! Anna

(204 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback