X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
4747 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Really great place 10/10 would stay again. Free breakfast is a nice perk and the courtroom which now serves as a quiet area is an amazing feature.

  • 16th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Need better guaranteed ventilation in the dorms. Check out IAQ - Indoor Air Quality recommendations.


89%

We arrived early from a huge flight and they allowed us to store our luggage and even eat breakfast which was so nice. They upgraded our room for us and we had a 6 bed-room to ourselves which was great due to the limited space in the room. Breakfast was great value! Showers was a horrific experience. Pushing the buttons every 3 seconds for an inadequate burst of steaming hot water that scalded your skin was not pleasant. Location was on point and so close to Kings Cross which was perfect.


69%

I stayed in the female dorm on the first floor for my first 4 nights in London. The bunk beds are all squished right up next to each other with only a 'privacy screen' in between. I saw photos online, but they are so close together! If you get one of the free standing beds against the wall, it's much better. They provide super small lockers at each bed, but not big enough for a laptop so you'll have to pay to rent a bigger locker. Breakfast is included. Staff was nice, location was good.


74%

Overall pretty nice experience! One issue with the security is that they say they have individual lockers, but they're pretty small and kinda cylindrically shaped. So if you want to lock a laptop, you have to get up early to secure one of the downstairs lockers that are first come first served, and there aren't many of them. Some staff were very friendly, others were sometimes a little snippy when I had a question. Location is pretty good; abt 10min walk from kings cross station


66%

This hostel is huge and busy and and has a nice atmosphere, but the room we stayed in was stuffy and cramped and didn't have anything to hang coats on, let alone storage for anything else or even a mirror in the room. Beds were comfy, once you got into them, and as long as everybody didn't want to open their suitcases at once we managed. You pay for location in London though, and it's very close to Kings Cross tube station and the Eurostar. Can't fault the staff either.

  • 13th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Stayed in a basement room that was stuffy, damp and smelled bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Reception is open 24/7 so if you have a problem you can always come and speak to us and we will help you out, in your case we would have tried to change your room for you. I hope that you will come and stay with us again sometime soon. Regards, Lucinda

77%

good that the hostel is very near king's cross station very nice buiding and atmosphere comfortable bed, relatively clean toilets/bathroom pretty good breakfast, especially considering it's included in the price ! efficient staff, though not particularly friendly conclusion: very good value for money, nice atmosphere, enjoyable breafast… I warmly recommend it for short stays of for backpackers

  • 12th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for such as lovely review. We are so happy that you had such a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our facilities. Yes, the location of our place is very convenient for travellers and makes it very easy to access all the best tourist attractions. We hope to see you again next time you are in London. Regards, Lucinda

57%

The staff is not the brightest when it came to asking questions we had about the hostel, the area, touristy things, or London in general. The wifi is very spotty and it's only in the common rooms- not the bedrooms. One night I, and all 10 girls in the room were awoken to a staff member telling me that I was assigned to the wrong bed by mistake and that I needed to change in order for another girl who just got there to sleep there. The situation was handled poorly and the staff was not apologetic

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

clean,good location to get around the city.


80%

The hostel is at a great location and the staff is very friendly and helpful. All in all a great hostel but it was extremely loud during the nights because of other guests partying in the hallways.

  • 9th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thank you for such a nice review. We are so happy that you had a good stay with us. We are a big hostel and because we are essentially a youth hostel and that we have a bar in that basement means that sometimes you can hear people in the hallways however this is something that we try to manage. We hope that you will stay with us again sometime soon. Regards, Lucinda

100%

The stuff are so nice, and everything was really good. Probably we come back to the same hostel. Thank you so much

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Maria! Thanks for staying with us and We are happy to know that you enjoyed you stay here and we be glad to host you and your friends at our hostels Jorge ( Night Receptionist.)

57%

The common areas are fine but the room was very messy, dirty and with bad smell

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you like our facilities. Unfortunately due to the nature of dorm rooms and sharing with multiple people rooms can get a little messy due to guests. However reception is open 24/7 so we can help you at anytime if you have a problems. We hope you come and stay with us again sometime soon. Regards, Lucinda

60%

I only stayed here for one night and had a poor experience which was not entirely the hostel's fault, but I've had better experiences at others hostels in London. The location is not great, it's near King Cross Station but it's still a bit of a walk, not much else to do in the area within walking distance. The bathrooms were tiny and not clean. I stayed in a large female dorm and it was extremely cramped. There's only wifi in the common spaces, not the rooms.


100%

This hostel must be the best one where I stayed. Really.

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Faustine! Thanks for your feedback as it is very important to us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and we will be happy to host you again at Clink Hostels. Thanks for your time! Jorge (Night Receptionist)

77%

No curtains so very light. Lots of road noise. Window banged all night despite trying to stop it - keeping us awake most of the night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We are so sorry to hear that you had a bad night sleep, we do hope that the rest of your experience with us was enjoyable. Reception is open 24/7 and we are here to help you with anything at anytime, so I hope that you choose to stay with us again and that if you have any more problems that you would come to speak to us about them. As we would do our best to accommodate you. Regards, Lucinda

83%

The Location was very good, close to King's Cross Station and lot of bus stops! Good atmosphere, with a vey friendly staff. Facilities clean. The only thing was the wifi, signal too weak to connect in the bedroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Nicolas! We are happy to know that our hostel has met your expectations and your feedback is very important to us. Feel free to stay with us anytime again soon! Thanks for your feedback! Jorge (Night Receptionist)

100%

Amazing place to stay, extremely convenient for using public transportation to get around the city. Loved the free breakfast! Would love to stay here the next time I am in London


86%

It was the first time in a hostel for me, and wow what a hostel! The atmosphere is the most important thing in Clink. You really feel like a "Clinker" after one week. I would like to congratulate the cleaning staff, they are really kind and do a perfect job. The free breakfast is a huge bonus as well! The rooms are clean and the beds are really comfortable! The only downside is the fact that wifi isn't installed in the bedrooms but only in the common areas. Really had a blast in Clink72!

  • 1st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Linsey! Thanks for your feedback! We are happy to know that our hostel has met your expectations and your feedback is very important to us. Feel free to stay with us anytime again soon! Jorge (Night Receptionist)

91%

Really nice hostel, also for long stay, but: Basement rooms could be cheaper than ground floor and so on. Showers near rooms B07, 306 (on that side) way too hot, there should be some adjustment possibilities.


(192 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback