X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3694 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Much appreciated the nice and helpful staff, but sorry abort the leaking and weak shower, it is a disaster not to have stable hot shower during winter.


89%

I had an okay stay here. The only issue was that the wifi was unreliable. - It wasn't working at all for the first two days that I was there and after that, when it did work, you could only use it in the common areas and it was extremely slow. You're better off going to a cafe for wifi.


91%

Nice size rooms, good breakfast easy to meet people. Staff are helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for the great feedback and rating! We are happy you had good fun and found the rooms big and the staff helpful! We hope you will come back to see us on your next visit to London! Safe travels Anna

89%

Enjoyed my brief stay! Staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were good. Thanks again!

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey! Many thanks for the positive feedback! It's amazing to hear you had a good experience and enjoyed the place and the staff friendliness! We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels Anna

69%

The hostel is a neat place to stay. They've kept the courhouse atmosphere, leaving the old courtrooms as lounges and some of the cells as hostel rooms. Very cute idea. But there are so many people as this is a very large hostel. You do get the feeling that you are just being stuffed into your room and shuffled through.


91%

One of the nicest hostels I stayed in in London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for your positive thoughts and great rating! We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Clink and hope to see you again soon! Take care! Anna

83%

Expensive!


94%

Such a great place to stay, i will definitely use them again in the near future!!

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Many thanks for the positive feedback and great rating! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and would be delighted to see you again soon! Safe travels Anna

83%

I definitely appreciate the cleaning of loos and showers. The room wasn't so clean and it was too hot inside, but the mattress was super comfortable and sheets clean. The worst thing is the lack of lockers in the rooms, I think it's unlikely to leave the luggage in the room without being able to close it with a padlock. Nice hostel, recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thank you for your time and the great feedback! We are happy you had a good stay and found the place clean :) We have some small lockers in each bed for your valuable belongings and we also have some big free ones around the building and more to rent near reception! On your next visit just come to see us and we will show you around! We wish you great travels and hope to see you soon! Anna

86%

This Hostel is a lot of fun! It's a great place to meet people and it's fun to walk around see the old court rooms. I liked how the downstairs had plenty of space to hangout. Fun place to stay for London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Many thanks for the super positive feedback and great rating! :) We are happy to hear that you loved the building and its unique atmosphere! We definitely hope to see you again shall you return to London! Safe travels Anna

66%

I did not find the staff very helpful. We asked for a cab and they ordered us a minicab which charged us double what a black taxi would for the fair and insisted we take it. I waited 20 minutes in the travel office for the staff to return and no one could tell me where she was or find her. Not enough plugs. The location is further from king's cross then I would have liked it's a little sketchy for a girl alone at night walking. PROS: The building is pretty cool being an old police station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your time and the feedback.We are sorry to hear that you didn't find the staff helpful! Usually the black cabs you get on the street are really expensive, especially on pick hours as they charge you per minute. Also it is unfortunate that you had to wait for the Travel Shop assistant: they job consists also in going to buy supplies, going to the post office etc. so they are not always in the Travel Shop. We hope to see you again though :) Take care! Anna

83%

The location is good, a few blocks from King's Cross underground station, you can travel anywhere from there. The hostel is really secure, there are small lockers in each bed for small valuables and bigger lockers that you can rent. The wifi is free, but only works in common areas (and it kept logging out after a couple of minutes so couldn't really use it). The kitchen is big and has all you need. Had a problem with the water in the showers once, but other than that it was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for leaving your thoughts with us :) We are glad that you had a good stay and enjoyed the location and security of this place! Sorry that the WiFi was a little slow - we are currently looking into a different provider that would be better for the guests :) We hope that you will come back to see us someday! Safe travels Anna

86%

Bathrooms aren't great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there, Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear you didn't find our bathrooms great - we are currently refurbishing some of them! We hope to see you again so you can see the changes by yourself! Take care Anna

91%

The hostel is great, very near the King's Cross station. The staff here are very nice. I enjoyed living here. The only Problem is the wifi in the room is not good.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for the great feedback and rating! It is amazing to hear you had a good stay and enjoyed the location and the hostel :) Our staff is also glad for the mention! We are currently looking into improving the WiFi and having it all around the building but right now it only works in the common areas! We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels Anna

51%

Very uncomfortable. A few rude staff. Extremely hot, even in September/October. Too many beds crammed into small rooms. No space to put luggage in rooms. Lockers in rooms are a joke. Most of the overhead bed-lights don't work. Wifi only in common spaces. Common spaces are hot, and lack ventilation. The travel shop is a good idea, and staff were helpful there. Towels smell. Bathrooms aren't cleaned often enough. The shower curtain clings to you, and there is nowhere dry to put your things.

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The rooms were so hot and too small for the amount of beds in the one room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear that the room was too hot for you! We have a 24/7 reception where you can ask for a fan or to be changed to a different room - come and see us next time you're visiting! :) Safe travels Anna

94%

Amazing hotel, gorgeous design, safe, secure and a real pleasure to stay in!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! your comment just made the rainy day a little less sad :) We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and found the hostel beautiful! We love this building too! We hope to see you again shall you return to London! :) Take care! Anna

86%

By far the cleanest of the hostels I stayed in on my trip. The hostel was a great location to the train station which was great because I wanted to get up to Bruges and also had an early morning train to Paris. Not the best part of town, but I wasn't too worried about safety while there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your great review :) Our housekeeping team is delighted for the mention :) We are also happy you found the location convenient and the place safe! We hope to see you in here again shall you return to London :) Wish you good and safe trips! Anna

100%

This was a great hostel to stay. The location, staff, they have bike rental station outside of the hostel so you can go bike the entire town like we did. My only complains were the internet was not in the room, room was hot as heck, the restrooms were super small (so if your a big guy/girl good luck). Besides that great place for the money you pay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for the great feedback you left :) It is amazing to know you had a good stay and could enjoy all our facilities! As for the toilets, the building being very old and weirdly shaped, some of the toilets, bathrooms and rooms are bigger then others! But our reception team is there 24/7 to advise and show the best spot and also give you a fan for the hot room :) Just come to see us on your next stay! We wish you safe travels! Anna

80%

Good hostel!!! Nice and helpfull stuff. Good kitchen. Comfortable location /

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello! Thank you for taking your time and leaving your thoughts with us :) Your review is great and we are happy you found our hostel good and our staff helpful and nice :) We hope that you will come back to see us in the future and wish you safe trips! Anna

(223 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback