X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3293 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I loved this hostel! There is a great vibe as soon as you enter the reception. Staff was friendly and very helpful, included breakfast was nice (even the accompanying music was great). The room was small, but I only consider that a problem, if you plan on spending your entire trip in there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Your amazing feedback just made my day :D we are so happy to hear that you had a great stay here at the Clink and you enjoyed all facilities! Being friendly and helpful is our slogan - how awesome you got the right feeling about it! We can't wait to see you again! Safe travels! Anna

71%

Wifi very poor in the room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Wi-fi connection is available only in the common areas, some rooms can reach it as well but the signal is weak there. Hope you had a pleasant stay, enjoy your future trips!

77%

very efficient staff, good atmospher, good description of how to find the hostel, walking distance from a metro station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice review. Happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Clink78 and hope to see you again. Safe travels!

51%

Hostel was good for what I needed it for, an early morning trip to Kings Cross. However spent a few days in London and it was a trek to anything. The front desk staff were wonderful, but the bar staff I found incredibly rude. Was just a very busy hostel, and didn't quite feel like what they were hyping it up to be. Would have been better if the rooms hadn't been so expensive (booked in advance as well). Probably wouldn't stay here again, but wouldn't tell people not to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your time leaving the review. We appreciate your nice words. Sorry to hear that you found the bar staff rude, please feel free to contact us at info78@clinkhostels.co.uk - we would like to hear more details about this matter. Safe travels!

89%

I think Clink 78 has awesome vibes and a great atmosphere. The staff are very friendly more the most part. The clash bar is a great way to meet people and have a good time. Only thing I was not impressed with was watching the way the "bouncer" , I guess you would you would call him, treated people. Very rude. Other than that I had an awesome time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Clink78. Hope to see you again, have safe trips!

89%

This was my second time staying at Clink (last year at 261) in London. I enjoyed this location; the building is awesome, and it is a quick walk to St. Pancras and King's Cross.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there! thank you for your great feedback! We are happy you liked our both hostels and had a good stay with us again :) We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards The Clink Team

77%

The hostel is pretty good, the only problem for me was the size of the room. In the pictures they look bigger and when you get there is kind of a surprise how small they are. I stayed in a room for 6 people and if someone wanted to open their luggage all the short space to move in the bedroom was gone! Another thing is the number of toillets. During the morning was quite difficult to find a empty one!

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We had an amazing time at Clink, best hostel so far. Really clean rooms and kitchen, super friendly staff, and free breakfast. Definitely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice review and amazing rating! Hope to see you again soon, enjoy your trips :)

86%

Cool people!! Fun place!! Could use a cleaner feel in general, but it wasn't that dirty. Maybe just a freshness or something. Maybe try and add something creative to the hallway. Thanks for everything!

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello :) many thanks for your review and your helpful ideas! We are glad you had a good stay with us and definitely hope to see you again soon, shall you return to London! Kind regards The Clink Team

74%

I now know what's it like to sleep in a coffin. The bar was great - even with the countless people on a tour. Great location if you're entering/leaving from platform 9 and 3/4.


97%

Excellent everything - especially free WiFi and tasty breakfast. The only let down was the stuffy bedrooms - the air was stale/stagnant even though the windows were open.


77%

I had heard a lot of bad things about Clink 78 and was hesitant to stay there, but I was pleasantly surprised. King's Cross is a good location to get around throughout London, so that is nice. When I checked in, the staff seemed to be having a bad day and were not the most pleasant- they didn't give the information for wifi or really offer to introduce me to the hostel or the city. It wasn't a huge deal for me because I am in London every weekend, but if this was a first trip, I would be mad.


83%

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Clink78. The staff were incredibly accommodating and friendly. Although the location is a little out of the way, it isn't a bad walk to the tube station. Breakfast was good and the rooms were clean. My only complaint was that I wish I would have stayed longer! Cheers!

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there! Many thanks for taking a minute to write your feedback, it's really helpful for us! We are glad you had a great stay with us and definitely hope to see you again shall you return to London! Kind regards The Clink Team

83%

Bit far away from the tube station with heavy luggage, but reasonably clean.


74%

Good comfy beds, but very tight between the beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello there! thank for taking time to write this feedback, it's very helpful :) We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! As for the beds, some of the rooms are smaller than others, next time just come to reception and we will be more than happy to help you finding something bigger :) Kind regards The Clink Team

97%

The best hostel I have ever stayed!! The building, the rooms, people, environment... FANTASTIC! Perfect location, very easily reachable, close to the underground, full of bus stops that takes to the main spots very close. The breakfast is a real surprise, I didnt expect that to be so good :) I just love this hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you for your kind review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Clink. We hope to see you again should you return to London :) Kind regards, Clink Team

71%

This hostel was what I needed : a bed for a night before an early train in St Pancras. Room was cleaner than the common areas. When you opened the door from the bathroom it didn't exactly smelled cleaned but I guess that's a hostel...

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello :) many thanks for your feedback! We are glad you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again if you come back to London! Kind regards The Clink Team

80%

I can just confirm the good reputation Clink78 has...good rooms..location just a walk far from king cross station...friendly atmosphere....a bar inside for whom feel like partying at the hostel or just having games with other people.Breakfast is average and normal but if you want something better it will be plenty of bar outside.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there, thanks for your review! We are glad you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again shall you return to London! Kind regards The Clink Team

80%

Clink78 is a lively, friendly place. I used it just as a place to put my head down for one night and it served this need very well - there are wooden sides on the beds, meaning you get a bit of privacy, and the free breakfast was very good indeed. If you were looking for a party place I think Clink78 would be a good choice too, as there is a bar with daily events and the breakfast hall is huge so you are able to meet people there also. I would recommend it most for groups of young travellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Clink. We hope to see you again should you return to London. Kind regards, Clink Team

54%

Location was farther from the station than anticipated. My room was in the basement, and was incredibly small and stuffy. There were two outlets for 4 people, and the light for my bed didn’t work. I was also near the ‘club’ section of the hostel: incredibly loud and busy until VERY late. Also, my bed sheets smelled like cigarettes. If you are into ‘club’ hostels, with tons of people and music and you want to be a part of that, this place might be fine. If you want a good place to sleep, no

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay with us here at Clink. We have a 24 hour reception team that are always here to help with any issues you encounter, feel free to come to them with any queries. They are always happy to change your room if you're not satisfied with the one you are allocated. We hope to see you again should you return to London. Kind regards, Clink Team

(104 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback