X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3432 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The location was great! Everything else though not so much. The staff seemed very indifferent to those in the hostel. The luggage room was an absolute nightmare and it was every man for himself! I did not feel good leaving my bag there at all. The bar played music at an unnecessary volume to the point where I had to leave to make myself heard. The bartenders were extremely rude as well! The rooms were average. There were very few bathrooms and showers compared to the numbers of people.


54%

Double decked beds are placed next to each other, no space left in the room. The dorm is really tiny, you can only put your luggage or backpack under the bed, however, its really dirty. There was only two electric plugs for a 12-ppl dorm, you can find electricity supply in the kitchen, yet half of them are not usable. moreover, you cannot connect WIFI inside the dorm. If you look for a place for sleep only, the price is too high for you. However, the kitchen and bathroom are really clean.


66%

Staff were friendly. Was reasonably close to transport. Rooms were very stuffy and hard to sleep. Facilities were ordinary. Wouldn't recommend staying here

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your review! We are glad you found the location suitable and the staff friendly. As for the rooms they get a little hot in summer time but we provide fans on reception, next time just come to see us and we can change your room as well :) We have a great and fit kitchen, a TV room to chill out and computer room with free WiFi in all facilities, even in our amazing bar! Come back to see us I'm sure you will enjoy it all! Safe travels!

91%

Definitely a good place to stay if you're looking to party with the people at the hostel. The downside to that is it stays pretty loud late into the night, but it wasn't too much of an issue. The showers weren't the greatest but they weren't anything to complain about either. Breakfast was good, not much but it was free so no complaints here. Overall, good atmosphere and decent facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for taking your time and rating the hostel, we are glad for your positive feedback and that you had a nice stay with us! If the rooms are too loud because of the music in the bar, we have a 24/7 reception to look into a solution together :) Come to see us on your next visit! Safe trips!

80%

It's nice reception services, and includes breakfast is excellent, but the the room is too crowded and noisy when sharing with 10 girls then.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your review and nice rating! We are happy you found the staff helpful and nice, and that you liked the breakfast! As for sharing with girls, we provide free earplugs to help people having a good night of sleep :) We hope to see you again! Safe travels!

83%

The lobby was really beautiful. I also felt great atmosphere in this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thanks for your feedback! We are happy that you had a good stay and liked the atmosphere and the beauty of this old building! We hope to see you in here again shall you return to London! Take care!

83%

good location near kings cross, felt safe walking alone at night to and from tube stop. stayed in 10 bed female dorm and the room was a bit stuffy, but clean. beds are all on one platform with dividers between each area. it kind of felt like a pod but i didn't' mind. what i did mind was management doing nothing when i asked if they could move the very, very sick girl who was continuously coughing (plague status) out of our room. i paid for a bed, not a disease. change your policies, clink.


60%

Room was very bad, and the shower bad too. Nice bar but terrible room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for your feedback! We have many different types of rooms, some bigger than others, some with bathroom inside etc. If you feel disappointed with your room please just come to our 24/7 reception and we will be happy to change your room for you! :) Just try it next time and we are sure you will find something that suits you more! See you soon! Anna

91%

Brilliant hostel in Kings Cross but if you want any sleep, ask for anywhere but the basement. Brilliant kitchen facilities, in house bar, great basic breakfast and free wi-fi Not so good was the activation of the fire alarm at 5am, it was at this point i realised I wasn't on the best floor, being disabled.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for the positive feedback and great rating! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, the kitchen and other facilities! As for the basement, it is true the rooms near the bar are noisier but our 24/7 reception staff is always happy to help you move rooms and find the best place for you :) Hope to see you again! Safe travels

83%

Amazing place to meet people. Really big. Hostel use to be a prison/courthouse.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for the great feedback and rating! We are happy you had a good stay and enjoyed yourself :) We hope to see you again shall you come back to London! Safe travels!

83%

Great hostel, but incredibly expensive--I think that just might be because everywhere in London was expensive, but it was 38 quid for one night in a 10-person communal room, which seems very steep to me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for leaving your thoughts with us! London is a very expensive city and the prices are going up during the weekends. 30-40 pounds a night on a Saturday is quite standard even though it seems a lot of money. We try to provide as much service as possible to make it worth the value of money though, I'm glad you could enjoy it! We hope to see you again when the high season is gone to enjoy more affordable prices :) Safe travels! Anna

89%

I found the staff to be rude and quite 'meh' about their job. We had just landed in England, very excited, only to be met with demure faces that didn't care to be there. This was unfortunate as we thoroughly enjoyed the rest of the facilities and other guests at Clink.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there. Thanks for your feedback! We are disappointed to hear your experience with the staff wasn't all that positive as we always try to provide the best customer service possible. If you would like to tell us more about it (so we can investigate) please contact us back on reception. We are however happy that you enjoyed the facilities and the stay! Hope to see you again and welcome you with a smile :) Safe travels! Anna

80%

Service was friendly and the environment provides a safe and relaxing atmosphere. All the while making the stay feel contemporary and cool.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great, cheap place to stay. So close to the underground friendly staff. The clash bar is unreal you don't really have to go out to drink.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Friendly staff, great vibe and social hostel. Tidy rooms and great breakfast.


77%

The hostel itself is nice. Great atmosphere and looks just like pictures. The 10bed female delux room was a great size and not too many stairs for carrying luggage. Bathrooms smelled terrible though and the shower was a pain. Sometimes hot, sometimes cold, and you had to press it repeatedly to keep it on. Room great, showers terrible.


91%

Awesome hostel. Activities were set up every night. Actually tried to stay here again but it was all booked... Lively atmosphere so it was easy to come alone and meet new people


69%

This place is fine providing you dont want to sleep. Its a party hostel. A loud announcement throughout the hotel about bar events and prices puts an end to an early night and the never end drunk people put an end to sleeping later on. I did not get the room type I booked.


97%

This hostel was brilliant. Good common areas, quality breakfast, and solid facilities. Also it had a very helpful staff. Nothing is of the most pristine quality, but as far as hostels go, this one felt remarkably tidy and well organized. Great hostel.


77%

Another nice stay in the Clink. lol I've stayed in both clinks in the Kings Cross area and this one is my favorite. It is a little further walk than the other one (about 10-12 minutes walk from the train station with suitcases in tow) but it has a livelier scene. I did enjoy my rooms sleeping arrangements. The sturdy bunk beds were all on one wall and had privacy walls alongside each bed. Each bed had a light and there was plenty of space under then bed for a large suitcase.


(176 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback