X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
4244 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Fantastic hostel is a good part of the city. Walking to anywhere didn't take long at all. Everything was clean and the staff were amazing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you for taking the time to leave us review, we appreciate the feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here and that you made use of our fantastic location ;) We hope to see you again! Jacqui

91%

My stay at the Clink was bril,very good friendly helpful staff very clean toilets and room and bedding clean and fresh to.will stay again as do like this place great value for money.

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so happy that you found the staff friendly, the room and toilets clean and that you thought it was good value for money. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy travels, Jacqui

63%

Expensive price to pay for a 4 bed room, that is very small in size, prces can be much cheaper


77%

The building itself was really cool. The beds, we're not all that comfortable, but the other facilities were very nice. It's a perfectly nice hostel, it just wasn't my style. Too big. I like something with a bit more heart. This place felt like more of a corporate location. If you want a fun place with more of a party scene, go for it.


97%

10/10 , first time i ever been in a hostel and this was top of the pops . would stay there again .


80%

Overall pretty good. Only down sides were my basement dorm regularly smelt musty and damp and I felt there could be more done to promote socialising.


80%

Didnt realise breakfast was included and a towel. Bonus

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

I was placed in a room in the basement right next to the Clink bar. the bar didn't close till 1AM, but before and after that there were a few group of people just stood around the basement area chatting right outside the rooms. So needless to say, I (and from what I heard, also the girl in the room next to mine) didn't fall asleep until the crowds dispersed. And I had an early flight to catch the next morning.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice dorm but quite far from underground about 10 minutes walking. Overall it made my day as a sinngle backpacker.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Nothing bad about this hostel. Its near kings cross about 10 min walk and you can get any where. Kings cross is also the place where harry potters 9 and 3/4 platform is ;) the hostel staff are amazing really helpfull the free breakfast was the best off all my stays. The bar and kitchen area are great and the rooms are good also only thing i would change is the wifi to have it all through the hostel. I was lucky to have it in my room as i had a room next to the wifi area. Do stay here!


94%

Thanks guys! I had great time even though I travelled alone. I stayed for one night and really enjoyed this hostel. :-) receptionist were very friendly and eager to help. Bonus points for the touristic counter with tickets, guides, tips etc.! Breakfast was delicious in my opinion and kept going for a long time. Seriously, great value for money. Wifi worked perfectly, room was clean and kitchen very well equipped. Definitely will stay here again! (+Pimm's at the bar was too good to be true :--))

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there my friend :) Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our facilities, the friendly staff, the breakfast, our travel shop and made time to check out our bar! We hope to see you again soon :) Jacqui

83%

Good facilities, friendly hostel staff. Not in the greatest location but it's only a slight walk to the underground. Wifi only downstairs which makes it crazy busy but adds to ability to meet other people though.


69%

Beds are literally on top of one another with only a plastic board to separate you from your neighbor. Lockers above bed were nice, but the lights didn't work. As for bathroom/shower = college dorm style. Inconvenient not having a sink or hooks in the room. Breakfast was included, but it was just toast and cereal.. So not much in terms of substance. If you are on a top bunk then you don't have direct access to a charging outlet, which was very inconvenient. Cool staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review I am sorry that you found your stay inconvenient. Most people quiet enjoy the wooden partitions between the beds. In future if you come down to reception and let us know that the bed light does not work we can get the maintenance team to fix it. We have plenty of charging outlets in the common areas for the guests to use. We wish you happier travels in the future Jacqui

66%

This hostel was nothing special, but not terrible. A few small things I thought were missing: No hooks to hang wet towels and clothes. London is a rainy city, but there was NOTHING to hang our wet clothes on. There are no lockers in the rooms. It was a huge disappointment to learn that the lockers were elsewhere in the hostel. When we finally found them, they were all taken. Also, no wifi in the room, only in the common rooms. I mean, come on, it's 2015.


86%

Elevator was out and I didn't think there was enough secure locker space available. On the flip side, beds were comfy, amenities were clean and the building was great. Would stay there again

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review We are sorry about the elevator, it is taking us longer than expected to get fixed but it will be up and running soon! There are free lockers on 3 of the floors that we try to keep free but we are looking into getting more installed. We look forward to seeing you again. Jacqui

69%

The location was the biggest drawback to the hostel because it was far away from sights and pubs. It made it less accessible to the areas of the city that had the same vibe as the hostel. The bar in the hostel was a good idea but it was very expensive, making it limiting, along with the fact that having a bar there meant you could not purchase and drink your own alcohol on the premises.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry that you found the location inconvenient, it is rather surprising as almost all our guests comment on how suitable it is to explore London with Kings Cross station being only 5 minutes away as well having lots of the central line buses that come past us. Did you pop by reception to ask for directions before you went out? We hope you have better travel experiences in future, Jacqui

77%

It's a great hostel but I didn't expected to be that huge!!! so many people it's crazy, but it was nice to see all this people coming from everywhere, but it must be the biggest hostel I have ever seen. the staff is very nice, specially at the reception...the location is just great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. The property used to be a courthouse for 150 years before we bought it 8 years ago. We are so glad that your enjoyed your time here, found the staff friendly and made use of our great location :) We look forward to seeing you again, Jacqui

83%

Kitchen hygiene hard to match and utensils and fridge space immaculate.and well designed kitchen. Some rooms better than others , The dock and Video rooms are very welcoming attributes and wifi is pretty consistent . Luggage room scores heavily too..nice people stay there ..mostly..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for leaving us such a positive review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the kitchen, the common areas and that you found the luggage room useful.

63%

Friendly, helpful staff. Although they had a system for preventing access through the front door without a key or being buzzed in, the front door was usually wide open. Fairly close to main metro hub makng it easy to get around.

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so glad that you found the staff friendly and helpful. We do always keep the doors closed at night but during the day we sometimes open them to get some of that lovely London fresh air in. We hope to see you again! Jacqui

83%

Overall it was a really good visit. The staff was nice enough for the most part, the place was clean, and only a 10-15 min walk from King's Cross Station. . The beds are fairly comfortable, but getting onto the top bunk could be somewhat of a challenge. The WiFi does not reach throughout the whole hostel, it's only in the common areas, which can get pretty loud if you are looking for a quiet spot. The breakfast arts is very hectic and crowded in the mornings and definitely on the warm side.

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! You will be happy to know that we are in the process of installing free wifi into all the rooms and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Safe travels, Jacqui

(2520 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback