X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3708 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great place, ideally located, nice place

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there! Many thanks for your super positive feedback and rating! We are very happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon :) Safe travels Anna

89%

Such great and helpful staff, great atmosphere, meeting so many wonderful people, the room and showers got a bit stuffy but no more than any other place I've been too! Would recommend it to anyone, hopefully will come back soon! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your amazing feedback and great ratings! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff helpful and great :) We can't wait to see you again! Safe travels Anna

91%

Great hostel, very central, staff were super helpful and friendly! beds are nice and private. Only thing was for a Friday night, it was super expensive

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your nice review and rating! London is an amazing city full of adventures and awesome things therefore it might get a bit pricey, specially if you are staying in central areas... Check Clink website for discounts and package deals next time you decide to visit! Safe trips. Indra, Clink78 Team

74%

Good services. Nice environment. Some lockers (even small) in the rooms needed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review and rating! We are in a process of placing more free lockers in the common areas, there are small overhead lockers in the rooms as well. Come to reception next time - we will help you to find one that meets your needs ;) Safe travels! Indra, Clink78 Team

69%

Very confined beds, and shower only stayed on for 30 secs before you had to restart it. Patchy WIFI

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello there! Thank you for your comments, we take them all on board to improve the hostel. However we choose the push button shower as they are ecologically friendly - less water is being wasted :) We are also currently looking into some better \WiFi options :) We hope to see you in here again to see the changes :) Safe travels Anna

74%

It's a good hostel to meet new people from all over the world. It can support more than 500 people, and everyday it's possible to see travelers leaving and new travellers arriving. The mixed rooms is small. The bed is ok to sleep, and you have a small place to put valueable things like documents and money, and then lock it with your locker. One very positive thing, the Hostel is very close to Kings Cross station, which is connect to several other lines of the tube.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your detailed feedback! We are glad to hear that you had a good time at Clink78 and are hoping to see you again very soon :) Safe travels! Indra, Clink78 Team

57%

The hostel i was expecting to be a higher standard than it was. Serious lack of lockers, i enquired at reception if there were additional lockers available for larger items, they pointed me int he direction of the 3 locker areas in the hostel, they are about the size of a shoe box and have about 20 at each location not really an adequate number when reception told me there were 700 guests! In the room there are small lockers that are suitable for phones but only if the clasp is still attached

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your time leaving us a review!Our free lockers are big enough for a small backpack, if all of them are taken you can lock your valuables in the room - inside the overhead locker. If yours was broken we are always happy to find you a bed with a locker that you can use.We also have paid lockers and we offered you to keep your valuables behind the desk with us which you refused:) Anyway - more free lockers are coming soon so there should be enough for everyone.Safe trips! Indra

66%

Really tiny bedrooms in the basement (which resemble a little bit like a concentration camp display of Dorm) with poor ventilation and a bathroom that would be great for a space shuttle. Although the staff was really great and the room was cleaned everyday, i really can't call it a cozy place... The "bar" inside the hostel is also in the basement so we had a hard time trying to get some sleep even tired. The location of the hostel is great near King's Cross station, it was very handy.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • nanciyuri
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review and rating! Thank you for your nice words about the staff and cleanliness! Our reception is open 24/7 - we are always happy to change your room if you feel uncomfortable or having a hard time to fall asleep :) We hope to see you again soon. Enjoy your travels! Indra, Clink78 Team

83%

Staff were excellent. Really friendly and helpful. Room was cramped with eight beds squished into a relatively small room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your time leaving us a review and your lovely words about the staff! The rooms are a bit on a small side but we are really proud of our common areas where you can hang out and make new friends :) Hope to see you again soon, enjoy your trips! Indra,Clink78 Team

89%

Really good facilities and staff and everything that is important, except for size of the rooms, they are really small. Also quite expensive but what isn't in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your time leaving us a review. We are happy to hear that you had a lovely stay at Clink. Our rooms are a bit on a small side, but you can always hang out in our common areas which are nice and big. Hope to see you again soon, safe travels! Indra

69%

The idea of converting an old courthouse into a hostel is very clever. That is was drew me to Clink78. The lobby had a really nice atmosphere, and I appreciated that breakfast was included. The real downside to the hostel was the dorm room. It appeared that Clink wanted to maximize their capacity by filling every room with as many bunk beds as possible. It made the room very cramped and uncomfortable. The luggage room was also an issue, as all guests just stored their bags in one space.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your time leaving us a review. Really nice to hear that you have liked the building and enjoyed staying in a former courthouse! Some of our rooms are on a small side, come talk to our reception team next time - we can offer you to swap to more spacious dorm. Luggage room gets really busy before the check-in starts but only for a few hours, hopefully this didn't complicate you stay too much:) Really hope to see you again, have safe trips! Indra

80%

A little bit to crowed, if they were fewer beds in the room it would be nicer, cleaner and safer because the lockers are really small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. Not all the rooms are the same size, come to reception next time and we will be happy to find more suitable room for you :) There are also bigger lockers in "The Dock" - one of our common rooms, you can lock your bag for a small fee there. Hope overall you had a good stay with us, safe trips! Indra

74%

It was a good room. We asked for an 8-bed female dorm and we got norm but it didn't have the decor like in the photos online.nevertheless, it was a nice room, apart from the piles of dust under the beds. The beds are very private, with screens over, and they have a cupboard above your head to put your stuff in, just remember to bring a suitcase padlock for it, or it won't be very safe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback and time rating Clink78, also small tips for other travelers. We are happy to hear that you liked your room (we passed your comment about the dust to housekeeping team). Remember that our reception is open 24/7, please fell free to come at any time if you have some difficulties - we will be happy to help you out:) Safe trips! Indra

71%

We reserved a 3 bed suite. However, what we did not know was that the three beds were a single bunk bed that had a twin bed on top and a double sized bed on the bottom. So two of us were forced to share a bed since we did not want to have to pay more to get a different room. Two full grown men do not fit well on a double sized bed. Also, there was very little space in the room. It was impossible for three of us to change clothes, get into our baggage, or move around at the same time.


91%

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The lift was broken but the man on reception happily carried my bag up to the 5th floor for me. There could have been a few more showers and toilets but otherwise an excellent hostel. Value for money and a good variety at breakfast. Will be staying here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for the positive review and amazing rating! You can use any shower or toilet you find in the building not only the ones you have on your floor :) We are waiting for you to come back soon! Happy travels. Indra, Clink78 Team

89%

Great 2 night midweek stay. Dorms small for 8 people. But, £25 including breakfast is great value. I think the rooms will get hot at times, but it was cool during my stay. The night staff couldn't have been more helpful when I managed to lock myself out of the room! I'm happy to report that the facilities / toilets / showers were spotlessly clean. Clash Bar is a loud party bar, but it didn't disturb my sleep on the second floor at all. Location is fantastic. Will stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you so much for your positive thoughts and amazing rating:) You are always welcome to come back! See you soon, safe trips! Indra

83%

Beds and bedrooms were really cramped. Didn't really enjoy having to climb in to the bed. 10 minute walk to kings cross station and bus outside straight to the south bank was great. Bar downstairs was really cool. Would've been nice if there was Wi-Fi in the room or a more comfortable area to chill in. Overall was a cool place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review and rating! We are happy to hear that overall you had a good stay at Clink78, enjoyed the location and the ClashBar :) Hope our rooms didn't put you off and we will see you again soon! Safe travels. Indra

89%

Just had a really random mix of people there. Most hostels have an age limit. We got to our room and there was a construction worker in his 40s who had been living there for 8 months. Also there were plenty of 50 to 60year olds in the hostel bar. Nothing against oldies but weird.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your time leaving us a review. Some hostels around the world have age limit - there are no age restrictions here at Clink78 though, Everyone is welcome despite their race, religion and age. Although most of our guests are in their twenties we get some older travelers as well :) We hope this didn't put you off and we will see you again soon. Safe trips! Indra

71%

felt like a hotel, really clean, nice breakfest, nice staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your nice feedback! it's very nice to hear that we have exceeded your expectations :) Hope to see you again soon, enjoy your travels! Indra

94%

Clink78 is very clean & super friendly. It's a large hostel with various meeting zones: kitchen, bar, lounge, computer room. +Breakfast King's Cross area has somewhat of a bad reputation on safety, but it is getting better. I didn't feel threatened walking to and from the hostel, yet you should be aware of your surroundings. As far as being central and easy to get to other places in London it's a good location. Use your swipe card to get anywhere in the building pass the reception lounge.


(219 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback