X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3596 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Mostly everything was great there. Just two points that need to be fixed: 1. the beds are so narrow and packed in so tightly to each other that it's really uncomfortable to sleep (compared to most other hostels). 2. The doors make a loud sound when they close locked...can't you dampen it someway as in other hostels 'cos it's hard to sleep

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Standards of room sizes are a bit different in London but for a low price we're trying to offer as comfortable and as big beds as we can. There are also spacious common rooms in the hostel where you can spend your free time. I'll pass the message about the doors to our maintenance team, they'll try to solve it. Please come again and grab your free earplugs to make your sleep better! :) Enjoy your stay! Agata

94%

This hostel is awesome! The building is really nice! It's cool that it used to be an old courthouse. The common area, kitchen and bar are huge and nice and a great place to meet people! It's really fun at night. Kings Cross is a great station to be near because a lot of the metro lines connect there


97%

I'd originally booked in for 3 nights, this turned into 2 weeks! Love the staff here and the atmosphere. Great place for a solo traveller to meet other people, very social without being too loud at night. Will definitely come back here when I return to London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there :) We are very happy to hear that your experience was so great that you decided to stay for longer! We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels! Anna

86%

No complaints here. I have stayed twice now, and plan to stay again in a few weeks time. Staff are usually friendly. Good kitchen facilities although i have not used them. Very basic breakfast but appreciate that it is free. Usually pretty clean bathrooms etc. I would recommend to anyone backpacking. Also walking distance to the tube!

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello! thanks for leaving your thoughts with us! we appreciate it and are happy to know you always have a good time with us at Clink! We will be more than happy to see you again soon of course! So enjoy your trips and see you in a few weeks! Anna

71%

Clink 78 is a very good hostel overall, despite its horrible staff working at clashbar, yeah the bartenders, he was very rude and unprofessional.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there! Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear that our bar team seemed unprofessional and rude to you thought! In order to investigate, we will need more details from you, could you please email us on joffrey@clinkhostels.co.uk? Many thanks and we hope to see you again shall you return to London!

86%

Very clean hostel, really good vibes and atmosphere staff are good and the bar was excellent

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello! thanks for the great review and rating! we are really happy to hear you had a great experience at the Clink and liked its unique atmosphere! Our staff is very pleased with your comment too :) We hope to see you again! Safe travels! Anna

57%

Room was not cleaned thoroughly and smelled like wet dog

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback! I'm sorry you had a bad experience. Our HK room is cleaning the rooms daily and working 24/7 so if there's any issue please next time report it to the reception. Hope you'll come again and give us another chance. Enjoy your travels! Agata

74%

For those who accept to reside in a hostel, clink 78 is a good choice, the staff was friendly and acces to public buses and underground is very good.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The guys who work at the reception are really nice and generally the atmosphere is really good! There are a lot of young people and the hostel is really good with a lot of spaces where you can chill out! The position is perfect, just right to the center, you'll not be disappointed!


20%

my money is gone.


89%

Brilliant atmosphere only con was the rooms got far too hot in the morning and ventilation was hard to get even with windows open. But planning on coming back before the trip is over - its that great a place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for your great comment it's awesome to hear that you had a good stay! It is true that the weather in London is particularly hot (we are all amazed!) so the rooms get a bit hot. We provide some fans on reception, make sure you ask for it next time you come to visit us! Have a great trip and see you soon! Anna

69%

The rooms has no AC And in summer its a little annoying. The beds are completely together one and another.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thank you for leaving your feedback with us! Our beds have special separating panels between them to give our guests some privacy :) And we provide some fans on reception, just come to see us next time and we will be happy to give you one! See you soon! Safe travels Anna

80%

Ii really liked my stay. Last year I stayed at the Clink261 and this year I wanted to try the Clink78. This hostel is much nicer, the interior is great. But I must say I was much more able to sleep at the Clink261. When Infinally slept I didn't find it much of a problem,but I could imagine people being not able to sleep.Especially on saturdaynights, there were people yelling, screaming and singing outside and though the singing was pretty fun to here, it was quite loud and impossible not to here

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello :) Thanks for your review and great rating! Clink 78 is very different from our little sister 261; more lively because of the bar and so a little noisier too :) We provide some free earplugs for guests who decide to have an early night thought! We are really happy you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again in Clink 78 or 261 or both! Take care! Anna

94%

Way better than I was expecting! The location was very close to King's Cross. Clink78 has a wonderful, friendly atmosphere, I got to know the other girls staying in my dorm which is unusual- very friendly. The bathrooms were out of TP a few times but it was restocked. There are plenty of bathrooms/showers for everyone. Breakfast is included and has cereals, toast, teas, etc. and was very good. staff was friendly and helpful but could not keep up with a fully booked hostel.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Many thanks for your great review and ratings! We are so happy we managed to exceed your expectations! It is true that the hostel gets really busy at this time of the year but it's only more cool travelers to meet and speak to! :) We are glad you had a good time and hope to see you again shall you return to London! Safe travels! Anna

100%

Have stayed here three times now and always friendly comfortable and great location and value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello there! We are great that you choose us over any other place and always enjoy your stay! We are happy to have been helpful and definitely hope to see you again and again :) Safe travels! Anna

80%

I wasn't there long but the place seemed cool and the staff were helpful

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Have stayed here four times now, I keep thinking, this time when I go to london I will stay somewhere else. But I end up back at clink. The hostel is not great, showers are horrible, you sleep in pigeon holes, and the rooms are always too hot or too cold, but you stay there because the breakfast is decent, the wifi good, and a bar down stairs

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving your feedback with us! We are taking all your comments on board but we do hope that next time you visit London you will end up at Clink again! :) We will be happy to show you some rooms/bathrooms more at your taste, just come to reception :) Enjoy your travels and see you soon! Anna

74%

Clink78 is a busy hostel that had a lot of young tour groups coming through to stay. The 12 bed dorm I booked was tiny, the luggage of 12 people could barely fit, but luckily I was moved to a female 10 bed dorm which was much more comfortable. Staff were generally helpful but quite busy and the facilities were clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there! Thanks for taking your time to leave your feedback with us! We are glad your experience ended up being a good one after you changed your room! Summer time is the busiest time of the year and we have a lot of tours departing/coming back to our hostel (so many travelers to meet!) We are happy you found the staff helpful though and the hostel clean :) We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels! Anna

91%

would've been nice to have lockers for bags, and having to press a button every 20 seconds to keep the water running in the shower was a bit lame, but other than that clink was really great. everything was clean and tidy, awesome overall atmosphere.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello :) Thanks for your feedback and great rating! We are happy your experience was a good one, even though you found the showers annoying (the push button is for environmental reasons). We do have some lockers in every bed for small valuables etc, some bigger outside of the rooms are even more in the computer room! :) Next time just come to reception and we will be happy to show them to you as well as the non-push button showers on some floors! See you soon, safe travels! Anna

66%

Rooms were pretty small for the amount of beds, with no lockers and no wifi available there. Bar and kitchen were nice and big enough, specially the kitchen. Missed having big and more lockers to leave my stuff secure. Clink261 was a better choice for me although not having bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you liked the facilities. Clink261 and Clink78 sort of complement each other so some guests have preference choosing one hostel over the other. Both hostels offer access to the bar so when you're staying at Clink261 you won't miss it. The Wi-Fi doesn't reach the rooms to encourage guests to socialize more :) Hope to see you again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

(231 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback