X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3078 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Decent place to stay in London. About 5 minutes or so from King's Cross station and the Tube. Staff are friendly and welcoming, security is good. The rooms are quite small though and wifi is only available in the common areas. Can't go wrong with free breakfast. Bar and full kitchen available. Would stay here again.


83%

The staff were fantastic. The location also brilliant. Really good atmosphere of your there for a holiday or a good time -I was there for work reasons so unable to join in. The breakfast option was just ok - cereal toast tea and juice but again excellent staff. The building security was very good but in the room there isn't really anywhere safe to keep your valuables. I had to buy a lock to put on locker. Also only four plug sockets for a room of 8 people

  • 10th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks a lot for such a nice review! We are really proud of our staff!! :) About the lockers: there is a little one above your bunk where you can put small valuables, and also free lockers around the building in case you need to storage something bigger. We hope to see you soon again! Clink Team

71%

All in all good. I stayed here for the location as I needed to be at St Pancras and it's only a 10 minute walk away. There was a problem at check in - they insisted the outstanding cost was £10 more per night than it should have been and only when I produced the booking e-mail did they (very reluctantly) back down.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks for taking some time to write a review about us. We are sorry to hear that there was a problem during the check-in. To avoid those sort of misunderstandings we always recommend to print out the confirmation email. We hope to see you soon. Enjoy the rest of your travels! Clink Team

74%

I only stayed one night but very relaxed atmosphere and had a good time. Clean, bright common areas. But it wasn't as close to kings cross as I thought.. Maybe I kept going the wrong way


77%

Just put map in your website.

  • 8th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks a lot for your feedback. We hope you had a great time staying with us. If you check again our website, you will see that there is a map and also directions to get to us from King's Cross Station. Enjoy the rest of your travels! Clink Team

74%

The quality of the hostel was decent. My problem was that I decided to leave a night early but instead of charging me less, they said I had to e-mail their headquarters and explain my situations and they might refund me ... they refused to do it there. I found that very inconvenient and I have yet to receive my re-inbursment for that night.


63%

Great hostel for a party atmosphere, but the rooms are extremely small and bathrooms are on the low end of the hostel scale.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for the review. We are sorry to hear that the rooms were smaller than what you expected. Since Clink is protected as a historical building, the layout of the building was limited in certain occasions. If you come and stay with us next time, please do not hesitate in asking the reception staff if it is possible to swap rooms, they will be happy to do it. :) Enjoy the rest of your travels! Clink Team

97%

Great hostel only a short walk to the train station. No wifi in rooms, but free breakfast, great bar and common areas including kitchen, tv room, Internet room. Definitely a recommended stay.


80%

It shuold be a free small closed box for values, money of a user.

  • 3rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for the review. We do have a small lockers above your bed to store some valuables such as phones, pocket money,etc. You only need a padlock. Also, if you have bigger things that you want to lock there are both free and pay lockers around the building. :) Have fun and enjoy the rest of your travels! Clink Team

80%

The hostel is good. Quite a good location. i stay in a room with windows to the street so it was good because it wasn't that hot inside but you get all the noise and chat talk from the bus stop. The place was really clean and it´s exactly like the pictures on their website. The only problem was that the instructions to get there are really not good at all so I recommend you look for it in a map and print it before heding there (lesson learned) =)

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Good location, amazing building, staff were cool, the bar was big and fun. Wifi isn't free and doesn't work in the dorm. The room I stayed in was large and even though the beds are right next to each other they have privacy deviders. The tiny lockers above the bed are only big enough to put passports / phones / small cameras etc. Laptops and SLR cameras won't fit. Other than that security was good. Have to swipe the card three times from front door to dorm room and the windows are barred.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there ! Thank you for your detailed review! We're happy you enjoyed your stay here! Come back soon! Kind regards Clink78 Team

66%

The rooms are pretty different if you compare them with the pictures on the website, at least mine, and I also, I think that they shouldn't charge for the internet because outside are many places with free WiFi. But in general for was fine, and the breakfast was a very good facility.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for your feedback ! We have a 24 hours reception team, you can come and request a room change if you are not happy with yours :) As for the wifi, we are charging a small fee to be able to offer a quality wifi. We're hoping you 'll be back soon! Kind regards Clink78 Team

69%

We had six bed room was super super small even for 4 beds. No ventilation and the rooms smell like feet always.

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your feedback! We're sorry the room was not up to your standards, due to the hostel being 200 years old courthouse, the room layout are different from others, therefore some room can be smaller. Our reception is opened 24 hours, you can come and ask a room change next time you're coming! :) See you soon Clink78 Team

100%

This was the first hostel experience my girlfriend had and it couldn't have gone better. Everyone is friendly and helpful, the bar is great and prices are reasonable. There's always people making some concoction in the kitchen. Easy to meet new people and make friends. Great location being so close to King's Cross Station. Will definitely book again!


71%

The twin rooms are tiny- like really small so if you're looking for a lot of space for money this is NOT the place but after about 10 the bar got pretty and good, especially on toga night, was really good fun! I went with another British friend and even the staff admitted that they rarely get British tourists so if you'd feel uneasy about that then maybe this isn't the place for you. Breakie was good- had nutella and honey for toast! The check-out was also pretty flexible! Great party hostel!

  • 29th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

On arrival, staff were very grumpy and not as helpful as they could have been. The room (6-bed dorm) was overcrowded (barely room to put bags down) and very poorly ventilated (we were sweating all night). The washrooms were tiny, and the showers very difficult to use as they were gender neutral and the individual stalls were small with no curtains in them. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • 29th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed for one night to attend a gig in the O2 academy near by. It has a great loction near Kings Cross and Angel Stations definatly a great base for exploring the city. Staff were so friendly and were really helpful! Great bar, great building- no complaints!

  • 29th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! We are glad to hear that you had a good time staying with us! :) We hope you had at the gig and see you soon! :) Clink Team

37%

When I arrived there my bed is already occupied and they did not do proper cleaning process to me. After that, i came back at night, my bed linen was disappeared. Therefore, I said to them, and then they came to my room, people who next to me use my linen. However, they said it is clean linen , so you can use it. I said i did not use this one, They changed it but they did not say sorry just said it is not my fault.


94%

Location was great, must bring own lock for lockers. Great atmosphere and facilities, very friendly staff. Pretty clean, beds are like pods so there's a bit of privacy. The provided breakfast was much better than expected! I'd definitely stay here again (and I'm a bit of a hostel/hotel snob :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hiya! Thanks for such a nice review! :) It is a pleasure for us to have great guests at Clink 78. Enjoy the rest of your travels! See you soon! Clink Team

86%

Rooms are quite small but there was an all round friendly and relaxed atmosphere

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(1964 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback