X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
3093 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The hostel was fine - apart from the top bunk, which was quite inaccessible and annoying to put bedsheets on. Has good storage lockers for laptops, and a luggage room as well. Everything is electronic-key accessed, so the place is reasonably secure. would definitely stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay with us and have taken your notes under advisement. We’re glad you found everything safe and secure, and will hopefully see you again soon! Thank you, Clink Team.

83%

Really friendly staff who dealt with any queries. Excellent value for money when it also includes a decent free breakfast in the morning. Beds not very comfortable and maybe more plug sockets would have been useful, built into lockers or something perhaps. Main issue was the difficulty in getting in and out of a top bunk. The ladders had holes of random shapes and sizes; a traditional rung ladder would be safer and easier.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Thank you for your feedback. We’re so glad you found our staff helpful and approachable. We appreciate the points you have made about the rooms and have taken it under advisement as well. We hope to see you again when you return to London! Thank you, Clink Team.

94%

Absolutely loved this hostel! Close to everything, friendly people and beautiful beds! Would definitely stay here again :)


77%

The internet is paid, and wi fi does not work in the rooms. The beds are very close to each other. Boxes appear stacked one next to the other. The coffee is good, ambience too, location is not bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. See you soon. Clink team.

49%

The room was incredibly hot, no way to open the window more than an inch, and the noise coming in from staff below kept us up all night

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry you didn't find your stay comfortable. Your room was on the first floor, which is unusual to hear noise from downstairs. See you soon. Clink team.

49%

Wasn't really impressed. Rooms were messy and I didn't like sleeping head to head with others, even if we were separated by a privacy shield. Showers were scalding with seemingly no way to turn the temperature down. It's not my favorite area of London either, but it was convenient for a train out of Kings Cross (the reason I booked the hostel). Fine for a night, but I'm glad I didn't stay longer because there are better options in the city in the same price range.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for the review. We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as expected. We are a very big multicultural hostel with people from all over the world. That is why we need to rely on people's good faith to keep the rooms in order and a bit tidy. Also, there are many showers where you can regulate the temperature. Please, next time, just ask one of our staff members, and they will be more than happy to help you. Enjoy the rest of your travels! Clink Team

86%

My stay was great. My only complaint is that the wifi was both very expensive and pretty crappy. Please consider getting faste/stronger wifi and/or charging less to use it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks a lot for such a nice review! We are happy to hear that you had a great time with us! About the wi-fi, there has been some issues that have been fixed already, so we have a great high-speed internet again! Hope to see you soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels! Clink Team

91%

Decent place to stay in London. About 5 minutes or so from King's Cross station and the Tube. Staff are friendly and welcoming, security is good. The rooms are quite small though and wifi is only available in the common areas. Can't go wrong with free breakfast. Bar and full kitchen available. Would stay here again.


83%

The staff were fantastic. The location also brilliant. Really good atmosphere of your there for a holiday or a good time -I was there for work reasons so unable to join in. The breakfast option was just ok - cereal toast tea and juice but again excellent staff. The building security was very good but in the room there isn't really anywhere safe to keep your valuables. I had to buy a lock to put on locker. Also only four plug sockets for a room of 8 people

  • 10th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks a lot for such a nice review! We are really proud of our staff!! :) About the lockers: there is a little one above your bunk where you can put small valuables, and also free lockers around the building in case you need to storage something bigger. We hope to see you soon again! Clink Team

71%

All in all good. I stayed here for the location as I needed to be at St Pancras and it's only a 10 minute walk away. There was a problem at check in - they insisted the outstanding cost was £10 more per night than it should have been and only when I produced the booking e-mail did they (very reluctantly) back down.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks for taking some time to write a review about us. We are sorry to hear that there was a problem during the check-in. To avoid those sort of misunderstandings we always recommend to print out the confirmation email. We hope to see you soon. Enjoy the rest of your travels! Clink Team

74%

I only stayed one night but very relaxed atmosphere and had a good time. Clean, bright common areas. But it wasn't as close to kings cross as I thought.. Maybe I kept going the wrong way


77%

Just put map in your website.

  • 8th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks a lot for your feedback. We hope you had a great time staying with us. If you check again our website, you will see that there is a map and also directions to get to us from King's Cross Station. Enjoy the rest of your travels! Clink Team

74%

The quality of the hostel was decent. My problem was that I decided to leave a night early but instead of charging me less, they said I had to e-mail their headquarters and explain my situations and they might refund me ... they refused to do it there. I found that very inconvenient and I have yet to receive my re-inbursment for that night.


63%

Great hostel for a party atmosphere, but the rooms are extremely small and bathrooms are on the low end of the hostel scale.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for the review. We are sorry to hear that the rooms were smaller than what you expected. Since Clink is protected as a historical building, the layout of the building was limited in certain occasions. If you come and stay with us next time, please do not hesitate in asking the reception staff if it is possible to swap rooms, they will be happy to do it. :) Enjoy the rest of your travels! Clink Team

97%

Great hostel only a short walk to the train station. No wifi in rooms, but free breakfast, great bar and common areas including kitchen, tv room, Internet room. Definitely a recommended stay.


80%

It shuold be a free small closed box for values, money of a user.

  • 3rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for the review. We do have a small lockers above your bed to store some valuables such as phones, pocket money,etc. You only need a padlock. Also, if you have bigger things that you want to lock there are both free and pay lockers around the building. :) Have fun and enjoy the rest of your travels! Clink Team

80%

The hostel is good. Quite a good location. i stay in a room with windows to the street so it was good because it wasn't that hot inside but you get all the noise and chat talk from the bus stop. The place was really clean and it´s exactly like the pictures on their website. The only problem was that the instructions to get there are really not good at all so I recommend you look for it in a map and print it before heding there (lesson learned) =)

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Good location, amazing building, staff were cool, the bar was big and fun. Wifi isn't free and doesn't work in the dorm. The room I stayed in was large and even though the beds are right next to each other they have privacy deviders. The tiny lockers above the bed are only big enough to put passports / phones / small cameras etc. Laptops and SLR cameras won't fit. Other than that security was good. Have to swipe the card three times from front door to dorm room and the windows are barred.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there ! Thank you for your detailed review! We're happy you enjoyed your stay here! Come back soon! Kind regards Clink78 Team

66%

The rooms are pretty different if you compare them with the pictures on the website, at least mine, and I also, I think that they shouldn't charge for the internet because outside are many places with free WiFi. But in general for was fine, and the breakfast was a very good facility.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for your feedback ! We have a 24 hours reception team, you can come and request a room change if you are not happy with yours :) As for the wifi, we are charging a small fee to be able to offer a quality wifi. We're hoping you 'll be back soon! Kind regards Clink78 Team

69%

We had six bed room was super super small even for 4 beds. No ventilation and the rooms smell like feet always.

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your feedback! We're sorry the room was not up to your standards, due to the hostel being 200 years old courthouse, the room layout are different from others, therefore some room can be smaller. Our reception is opened 24 hours, you can come and ask a room change next time you're coming! :) See you soon Clink78 Team

(1971 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback