X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3647 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Worst hostel i have stayed in, in terms of dorm rooms, they pile as many people as possible into one room, I had a 14 bed dorm that should of had max 6 people in it (all rooms have the same problem). Very over priced for what you actually get, the overall atmosphere is average at best, plus there is terrible wifi, showers and eating area. Only positives are a good location near kings cross station, and the staff do you help you out a lot.


71%

Great breakfast downstairs, staff and overall atmosphere is fantastic. Rooms are a bit small and packed in tight but is what you come to expect. Shower and toilet facilities fine, could use a fan/dehumidifier in the showers as it is very steamy (but not necessarily a bad thing on a cold London morning) Clink261 around the corner is probably a better deal if you're happy to not have a bar.


97%

We were very pleased with our 4 nights at clink78. Clean and safe hostel with cool facilities, pretty good location and decent breakfast included. Only downside was that the room was tiny (we stayed in a 8 bed dorm), but except for that great value for money. Would def consider staying there again for my next visit to London :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for taking your time and leaving your feedback with us! We are happy to hear you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the facilities and breakfast :) We hope to see you again shall you return to London! Cheers! Safe travels! Anna

86%

Lovely hostel! Highly recomended (:

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Clink. Please come again :) Enjoy your travels! Agata

43%

The room was unbearably hot all day and night, even with the (very small) fan that reception provided and all windows open as much as they could. We were only able to get a fan for the last half of our stay as they had run out over the weekend. There was no ventilation in the shower rooms making them disgustingly hot and humid. All 3 shower rooms that I was in had black mould growing on the ceiling.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for your review! We are sorry to hear that you found the room too hot though. We provide fans but as you said over the weekend it gets really busy so sometimes we are out of them. We are taking your comments on board and hope to see you again when the heat wave is gone! Safe travels!

71%

Mostly everything was great there. Just two points that need to be fixed: 1. the beds are so narrow and packed in so tightly to each other that it's really uncomfortable to sleep (compared to most other hostels). 2. The doors make a loud sound when they close locked...can't you dampen it someway as in other hostels 'cos it's hard to sleep

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Standards of room sizes are a bit different in London but for a low price we're trying to offer as comfortable and as big beds as we can. There are also spacious common rooms in the hostel where you can spend your free time. I'll pass the message about the doors to our maintenance team, they'll try to solve it. Please come again and grab your free earplugs to make your sleep better! :) Enjoy your stay! Agata

94%

This hostel is awesome! The building is really nice! It's cool that it used to be an old courthouse. The common area, kitchen and bar are huge and nice and a great place to meet people! It's really fun at night. Kings Cross is a great station to be near because a lot of the metro lines connect there


97%

I'd originally booked in for 3 nights, this turned into 2 weeks! Love the staff here and the atmosphere. Great place for a solo traveller to meet other people, very social without being too loud at night. Will definitely come back here when I return to London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there :) We are very happy to hear that your experience was so great that you decided to stay for longer! We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels! Anna

86%

No complaints here. I have stayed twice now, and plan to stay again in a few weeks time. Staff are usually friendly. Good kitchen facilities although i have not used them. Very basic breakfast but appreciate that it is free. Usually pretty clean bathrooms etc. I would recommend to anyone backpacking. Also walking distance to the tube!

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello! thanks for leaving your thoughts with us! we appreciate it and are happy to know you always have a good time with us at Clink! We will be more than happy to see you again soon of course! So enjoy your trips and see you in a few weeks! Anna

71%

Clink 78 is a very good hostel overall, despite its horrible staff working at clashbar, yeah the bartenders, he was very rude and unprofessional.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there! Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear that our bar team seemed unprofessional and rude to you thought! In order to investigate, we will need more details from you, could you please email us on joffrey@clinkhostels.co.uk? Many thanks and we hope to see you again shall you return to London!

86%

Very clean hostel, really good vibes and atmosphere staff are good and the bar was excellent

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello! thanks for the great review and rating! we are really happy to hear you had a great experience at the Clink and liked its unique atmosphere! Our staff is very pleased with your comment too :) We hope to see you again! Safe travels! Anna

57%

Room was not cleaned thoroughly and smelled like wet dog

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback! I'm sorry you had a bad experience. Our HK room is cleaning the rooms daily and working 24/7 so if there's any issue please next time report it to the reception. Hope you'll come again and give us another chance. Enjoy your travels! Agata

74%

For those who accept to reside in a hostel, clink 78 is a good choice, the staff was friendly and acces to public buses and underground is very good.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The guys who work at the reception are really nice and generally the atmosphere is really good! There are a lot of young people and the hostel is really good with a lot of spaces where you can chill out! The position is perfect, just right to the center, you'll not be disappointed!


20%

my money is gone.


89%

Brilliant atmosphere only con was the rooms got far too hot in the morning and ventilation was hard to get even with windows open. But planning on coming back before the trip is over - its that great a place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for your great comment it's awesome to hear that you had a good stay! It is true that the weather in London is particularly hot (we are all amazed!) so the rooms get a bit hot. We provide some fans on reception, make sure you ask for it next time you come to visit us! Have a great trip and see you soon! Anna

69%

The rooms has no AC And in summer its a little annoying. The beds are completely together one and another.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thank you for leaving your feedback with us! Our beds have special separating panels between them to give our guests some privacy :) And we provide some fans on reception, just come to see us next time and we will be happy to give you one! See you soon! Safe travels Anna

80%

Ii really liked my stay. Last year I stayed at the Clink261 and this year I wanted to try the Clink78. This hostel is much nicer, the interior is great. But I must say I was much more able to sleep at the Clink261. When Infinally slept I didn't find it much of a problem,but I could imagine people being not able to sleep.Especially on saturdaynights, there were people yelling, screaming and singing outside and though the singing was pretty fun to here, it was quite loud and impossible not to here

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello :) Thanks for your review and great rating! Clink 78 is very different from our little sister 261; more lively because of the bar and so a little noisier too :) We provide some free earplugs for guests who decide to have an early night thought! We are really happy you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again in Clink 78 or 261 or both! Take care! Anna

94%

Way better than I was expecting! The location was very close to King's Cross. Clink78 has a wonderful, friendly atmosphere, I got to know the other girls staying in my dorm which is unusual- very friendly. The bathrooms were out of TP a few times but it was restocked. There are plenty of bathrooms/showers for everyone. Breakfast is included and has cereals, toast, teas, etc. and was very good. staff was friendly and helpful but could not keep up with a fully booked hostel.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Many thanks for your great review and ratings! We are so happy we managed to exceed your expectations! It is true that the hostel gets really busy at this time of the year but it's only more cool travelers to meet and speak to! :) We are glad you had a good time and hope to see you again shall you return to London! Safe travels! Anna

100%

Have stayed here three times now and always friendly comfortable and great location and value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello there! We are great that you choose us over any other place and always enjoy your stay! We are happy to have been helpful and definitely hope to see you again and again :) Safe travels! Anna

(2237 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback