X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3692 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

The dorm rooms were very dirty. The shared bathrooms were also in very poor condition. I would not return to this hostel nor recommend it.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are taking your comments on board, however our 24/7 reception is there to help you with any problem such as dirt in the room/bathroom etc. We also have a housekeeping team cleaning toilets and showers many times a day, just let us know and we clean it for you :) We do hope to see you again and change your mind about the hostel :) Anna

66%

I personally didn't like this hostel very much. The room I stayed in was VERY cramped, and the beds were basically connected. The room was very hot and there was little circulation. The bar area was pretty nice, but the hostel was impersonally large and there wasn't a chilled out area just to hang out in besides the bar. The hostel is huge and has a huge number of people, so not the place to be if you want something more personable and less business-like.


80%

This place is very cool and original. The common spaces are old courtrooms. The dorms are definitely warehouses for travelers, where beds are quite literally pigeonholes all lined up and stacked. The breakfast was great. Bear in mind this is a BIG hostel, so the atmosphere will suffer a little. The bar looked cool. Biggest complaint is the lack of free lockers: I ended up paying 2 pounds a day in their pay lockers. Also, not all the beds had a plug (including mine).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your time leaving us a review! So nice to hear that you appreciate the history and uniqueness of the building :) We are currently looking into getting more free lockers for the common areas, they should be here in the next couple of months. Hope to see you again soon, enjoy your travels! Indra

60%

Con: place was loud and right on the street making it hard to sleep at night. beds were uncomfortable too Pro: bathrooms were clean, free breakfast, location was ok

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, thank you for taking your time and rating the hostel :) If you find your room too loud, just come to reception! We can give you some free earplugs or change your room for a quieter one! We are happy you found the place clean though and liked the breakfast :) We hope to see you again shall you return to London! Safe travels! Anna

60%

Sheets dirty, rooms too small and cramped, seems like everything has gone out of the window since I last stayed

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the hostel. We have a 24/7 reception to report any sort of problems, change the bed for you for example :) We hope to see you again and change your mind :) Have a safe trip! Anna

71%

I thought the room was very cramped even more so than other hostels I have stayed in with just as many in a room. The facilities were quite good though.


86%

Overall a pleasant experience...Not all hostels are as clean or well presented as this one I would recommend it.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

An ok hostel. It is too big, simply too many people here - and the vibe isn't that great. A top deck tour meeting point so good for those doing that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your time leaving us a review. Clink78 is a big and busy hostel with a lively bar and awesome common areas. We are all different and have different likes/dislikes, if you felt that Clink78 is too big for you I would really recommend Clink261 - our little sister, for your next stay in London. Clink261 is smaller, quieter and more personal if that's what you're looking for :) Enjoy your travels! Indra

63%

Very secure building, but key card kept de-magnetizing. Overall atmosphere quite loud and busy, even late into the night. Many guests seemed to be quite young. Dining/kitchen/bar facilities were good; no lockers in fridges and had someone take some of my food. Washrooms and showers are cleaned quite often and are very private. Wifi was not at all reliable; only available in common spaces and not in rooms and was kicking us off every 5 mins. Helpful staff overall; had one negative interaction.


80%

The first hostel I was in which I had problem with the card. Not a big deal since they have an atm at the reception. Some of the staff were really nice, some not. I had the impression some of them didnt speak English very well. kinda hot inside the room, breakfast and the bar are amazing!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your time writing us a review. We are thrilled to hear that you loved breakfast and the ClashBar! Every staff member at reception can speak at least 2 or 3 different languages, we always try to accommodate guests needs and answer all the questions in the most clear way possible, sorry if we didn't meet your expectations. We hope to see you again, safe trips! Indra

83%

Funky and upbeat excellent common areas with great cooking facilities and a bar Close to St Pancras International train station Great Staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, thank you for such a positive review, you have definitely put a smile on our faces! :) We hope to see you again soon, enjoy your travels. Indra

43%

We were placed in an interior room that was burning hot at all times. It was nearly impossible to sleep. A fuse blew in our hallway on the first night that also affected the showers and bathroom. When asked if we could switch to a more temperate part of the hostel, I was rudely told that the entire place was the same temperature and that my request was unreasonable. For as much as Clink78 costs, it is a terrible value. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Excellent location and friendly staff. Pretty decent bar in the basement, too. Showers and bathrooms could have stood to be a bit cleaner, and the push-button style showers can be pretty annoying. Otherwise, a pretty average joint.


80%

Clink78 was sufficient for all of our needs, good location (5 minute walk to king's cross tube, good food places around.. crystal kebab). Security was almost too tight, door people were a tad overzealous. Rooms were relatively comfortable except very hot during summer time. Staff were friendly. Atmosphere was ok. Cleanliness was ok, mostly good however shared showers and toilets were less than clean at times, to be expected in such a big place I guess. Value for money was ok for London, extras..

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Great facilities like kitchen and tv rooms, but the hostel is on a main road and some of the dorms are affected by noise from the road which makes for a lousy sleep at night. Bathrooms were clean and tidy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for the lovely review! It's nice to hear that you have enjoyed the TV room and found the kitchen great. We have reception team available 24/7 - just come over and request for a more quiet room, if we can't offer you another room we are always happy to provide you with free air plugs to make your stay at least a little bit more pleasant:) Have safe trips! Indra

94%

This is usually the starting and end points for Topdeck tours, so a lot of 18-20somethings. Power points with each bed, but like with London, most rooms are small. Good bar downstairs, and good Chillout areas. Tour agency at hostel for bookings stuff. Wifi is on/off so unreliable. Good enough showers that seem clean and no need to wait. No power points in bathrooms though for hairdryers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you so much for your review and amazing rating! We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Clink78, found common areas and the ClashBar nice to hang out in. Unfortunately, you won't find power plugs in any of the showers here because of the Health and Safety regulations in UK, although some of the showers have safe hairdryers installed on the walls - just ask our staff next time - we will be happy to point them out for you :) Safe trips!

97%

Brilliant stay! Staff extremely helpful and smiley :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Your super positive comment put even more smiles on our faces! We are really happy you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to see you again soon! Take care! Anna

54%

The hostel was so large and impersonal e.g there were so many people lining up at the reception. As a result, I felt like the staff there were annoyed and just wanted to get through as many people as possible. So the customer service was a bit poor compared to staying in smaller hostels. Also I stayed during the summer and the rooms were so bloody hot and had no fans. It was also very small and had no room to store your stuff. Showers were awful so I didn't bother using it during my stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your time writing us a review! Clink78 is a big hostel therefore it gets really busy at reception from time to time - mainly when the check-in starts. There is a travelshop where all your little or big questions can be answered with a smile without queuing for a long time. We hope you will come back so we could show you that our reception team is cheerful and always ready to help. Safe travels!

46%

Didnt like my stay in there. It was to hot, just 3 showers for a whole floor, my room wasnt clean and I had a lot of problems with wifi in there.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank your for taking your time to rate the hostel! We are sad to hear that Clink78 didn't meat your expectations! However we have a 24/7 reception to solve problems like room temperature or cleanliness :) We have also many showers on each floor, if those on your floor are busy! Next time just come to see us and we will show you the best showers and the hot spot for your WiFi :) Hope to see you again! Safe travels. Anna

97%

Really good hostel with great facilities! Location is great being close to kings cross underground which has basically all the lines you'll need would recommend to anyone! Value for money is brilliant in my opinion!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Many thanks for your super positive comment and great rating :) We are happy you liked the hostel and found the location suitable! We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels! Anna

(2260 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback