X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3600 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Very nice hostel. We had a great stay in Clink 😊

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and great ratings! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay at Clink. Please come again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

80%

This hostel was very close to the King's Cross station, which was very convient. The atmosphere was very nice and there were a lot of people, which can be good or bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback! I'm glad you liked the atmosphere here. Please come again! :) Enjoy your travels! Agata

80%

good hostel, I wasn't there all that long as it was a awesome day. good bar only problem it shut about 12:45 but it was a sunday which is understandable I guess. only problem was I thought the rooms were a bit hot, the room was given a fan but if the window opened more than a inch then maybe it would be better but I get health and safety is baring down on many businesses.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback! I'm glad you had awesome time in London and got a chance to check the ClashBar :) Yes, at Sunday we're closing the bar earlier but it's open till 3 at weekends and 2 on other days. Yes this unusual weather and health and safety rules made it a bit difficult to keep rooms cool but we have fans available at the reception. Hope to see you again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

66%

Nice hostel. Good for a short stay and easy access to Kings Cross Station. Became quite noisy throughout the night with street noise and people arriving late into the night. Room was very hot and stuffy but the bed was comfy enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback! I'm glad you liked the hostel. With central location come some disadvantages like noisy street. We offer free earplugs to our guests to have a good night sleep. Since it's a shared accommodation people can come and go at any time, if they're to noisy - please report it to the reception. Hope to see you again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

66%

Extremely dirty rooms without anyone to clean them up! Disgusting rooms!! We had cockroaches and ants as guests....so Ido not think that's coexisting with nature!

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there, thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you have been disappointing with your room. We do have 24/7 reception and housekeeping teams to sort those problems out straight away if you just come to report it to the reception :) We hope to see you again to show you other rooms and prove our spotless cleanliness! Safe travels Anna

57%

Absolutely tiny dorm rooms, with grubby bathrooms. I was there during summer, and there was no airconditioning for the bedrooms - the window only opened a crack and it was really sticky! The kitchen, bar, TV and computer rooms were all fine, but I'd still prefer to hang out in a pub nearby. The hostel is also the base for Top Deck Europe tours, so about half the people there are rowdy 18-24 year olds about to start one of those tours - good if those are your type of people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for your feedback! We are Sorry to hear the rooms didn't meat your expectations. We provide some fans for summer time on reception (opened 24/7) as we know the heat wave makes the rooms a little too hot. As for the Top Deck tours they chose our hostel as leaving point but there are many other travelers from all over the world to socialize with in the common rooms! Hope to see you again! Safe travels! Anna

83%

Room is too small but serve well.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and for appreciating the service! Smaller dorms are more private but some guests prefer more spacious bigger and a bit cheaper dorms, maybe you can try them next time? Please come again and we'll find the best option for you! :) Enjoy your travels! Agata

83%

Was good , except it was so uncomfortably hot it was impossible to sleep. There was no aircon or any fans in the room, and the window only opened a crack. Everyone complained and a lot of people checked out early to find other places to stay (even though they had to pay the remaining nights as they wont give you back your money due to their 48hr cancelation policy). The bar downstairs is awesome and everyone was really friendly :)

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback! I'm glad you liked the hostel, people and our awesome bar! :) I'm sorry you found the room too hot. This weather is not normal here so at other times it won't be so warm. We have fans ready to rent to guests but we didn't expect the temperatures to get so high. Hope to see you again in more "English" weather :) Enjoy your travels! Agata

86%

Rooms are too small and room ventilation was very difficult.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and good ratings! Smaller dorms are more private but some guests prefer more spacious bigger and a bit cheaper dorms, maybe you can try them next time? Hope to see you again at Clink! Enjoy your travels! Agata

63%

Was not happy... The room got too hardly...hardly any ventilation... The location was not the easy to reach...20 mins walking to closest station... Shower shopped in between for 20 mins... In all never went like staying in the room ... But other areas if hostels were good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback! I'm sorry you weren't happy here. We try to give directions on our website but for first time in a big city getting lost can happen, hope later it took you less to find Clink. I passed the message about the showers to our maintenance team. Since the rooms are cheap for London they're quite basic so we gathered everything a travel may need in the common areas - I'm glad you liked them :). Hope to see you again! Enjoy your travels! Agata

77%

Helped us out at a very stressful time- and it worked perfectly for our needs- my grandson aged 18 loved it and wanted to stay longer but we had a train to catch and had to leave

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review and the rating! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and hey, you're always welcome to come back and stay longer ;) Hope to see you soon!

91%

I had a really great time at Clink78. As this was my first hostel, I was quite worried about the cleanliness and security. This hostel was very clean - the washrooms and showers were cleaned daily and smelled clean. There was always security on location. I did have a broken "safe" above my bed and was unable to lock my valuables away. The atmosphere is great and travelers here are very fun to be around! The staff were also friendly. Overall, this was a great place to stay!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for such nice words! I'm happy your first hostel experience turned out to be a positive one and I'm even more happy it was with us :). I hope the reception advised you where to find additional lockers for situations like this. See you again at Clink! Enjoy your travels! Agata

83%

A half hour walk from the major attractions and 5 minutes from King's Cross, it is very convenient, but at the same time when you are trying to sleep at night, buses continuously run through the streets and can make it quite difficult to sleep (plus the guy outside yelling obscenities until sunup did not help either). Great environment and great company to be had, full kitchen is very nice. Wifi is slow and cuts out every 2 seconds. Would stay again though. Average price for a hostel in London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you for your time leaving us a review and amazing rating :) Nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Clink78 and enjoyed the atmosphere. Sorry you had to listen to some crazy guy yelling outside - we have security staff working at night, they can deal with the trouble makers even if they are not staying at the hostel. Hope to see you again, safe trips!

77%

A very descent hostel in London despite the poor attitude of some staff members, especially that Spanish-speaking dread locks guy... He was totally impolite, patronising and unhelpful...

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel isn't clean, there isn't fan ceiling or air condition, so there isn't ventilation, only a small window. The bed is so close to another, it's so uncomfortable. In the showers sometimes doesn't have water. The key wasn't working, so everytime i had to go down for solving this problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback! I'm sorry you didn't find our hostel clean, the housekeeping team is working 24/7 but things are in constant use so if there's any problem please report it. I passed the message about the showers to our maintenance team. The magnet on the key unfortunately can demagnetize if kept with other cards or phone so we advise to have it separately. Hope you'll come again and give us another chance! :) Enjoy your travels! Agata

71%

I was staying at a 6men mixed bunk. Room was very cramp and walking area was only barely enough for 1 of us to open our luggage up. Room did not came with charging power points for people on the top bunk but came with 4 on the lower bunk, of which they are inaccessible to the other guys without disturbing the lower bunk. The steps on the bed to the upper bank were terrible and painful to step on. On in all, I will prefer st christopher's inn to clink78.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. The 6 bedded dorms are more private but some guests prefer more specious 8 or 10 bedded dorms which are also a bit cheaper. Maybe you can try these next time? Also we have a lot of cool communal area. We will have a look into installing better accessible plugs in the room. If you have trouble reaching the upper bank please next time ask for a bottom one when you book. Hope you'll give us another chance :) Enjoy your travels! Agata

97%

wonderful hostel, perfect location just 2 minutes from king's cross station and with lots of pubs and minimarket just on the doorstep. the dorms were really good, toilets and showers clean and with hot water running at any time. will definitely come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and the excellent rating. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. see you soon. Younis

100%

Exceedingly friendly and helpful staff from all around the world. Friendly guests as well. Really cool building, great location, fun bar downstairs, excellent kitchen area. I'll be staying again.


74%

The hostel was very big with a lot of people. The rooms were okay - but nothing extra in them - only the beds (which were designated for you). By the bed there was a small locker to put your valuables into and lock with your own lock. The hostel was easy to find but a 10-15 (or so) minute walk from the underground. Nice extras were that there was a big room with computers for guests to use and that breakfast was included which was awesome! (Basic toast, juice, coffee/tea, cereals..) :)


97%

Absolutely loved this hostel, the staff were so extremely helpful and the big commune rooms are great! Definitely the best hostel I've stayed at.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, big thanks for the review and amazing rating! We are always excited to have happy people here at Clink78 :) Hope to see you again, cheers!

(2211 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback