X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3435 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Get wifi for the entire hostel! But we had a nice time. The bar was great and fun but the housekeeping came in our room but we din't want that! so we sent them away everytime but we weren't sure they got the message.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a really good stay at the clink. Great atmosphere in the bar which makes it easy to meet new people. Bar staff could have been a bit more friendly though. Location is ideal and overall I really enjoyed my stay. Would recommend it to anyone.


94%

Great hostel, I really enjoyed my stay! Only wish that the wii-fii could work in the dorms and not only in the common rooms. Everything else was amazing- great stuff, great hygiene and great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Many thanks for taking you time and leaving you thoughts with us! We are thrilled you had a good stay with us! As for the WiFi, we love to see our guests in the common rooms chatting and making new friends, that's why we decided to have the free WiFi in those common rooms :) But it's amazing to know you enjoyed the cleanliness and location and found our staff helpful! We hope to see you again! Anna

86%

At night time, it's quite noisy because it's located beside the road. Also there are ants on the floor and some manage to get to my bed. The stair for upper bed is hard to climb too.


57%

The basement rooms were sweltering, with only tiny windows offering meager ventilation. Think "sauna" except you're trying to sleep. The showers are push-button operated, meaning you only get about 5 seconds of water before you have to push them again. The bar and overall atmosphere was decent, but I won't stay here again.


71%

Definitely don't recommend putting your luggage in the luggage room, the staff seem to care more about there pool sticks rather than there customers belongings, we were given the key without even double checking we were staying there and the room was filled with bags piled up everywhere, someone I had met got there bag stolen and the reception did nothing about it. We also weren't shown our room or told where to go, clink is a maze! Plus the bartenders were rude as well. Clean bed though!


89%

Loved this hostel! As a solo traveler there were tons of opportunities to meet new people and socialize. Overall great atmosphere and great crowd!


71%

I enjoyed my stay, however I stayed in a girls dorm which was quite different to the one described on Hostelworld. The service was great, and the bar was good aswell. Location was fab! The only issues I had were that the wifi wasn't available in the rooms, and the showers were really annoying, you have to press a button every 30 seconds for water, never knowing what temp it'll be... A game of chance!


69%

too narrow bed space

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Many thanks for your feedback! Our building being very old (and listed!) all rooms have a different shape and size! At reception we are always happy to check if any of the biggest ones are available for the guests to change to :) Next time you visit feel free to come and ask! See you soon :) Anna

97%

Loved my stay with Clink78. The atmosphere is awesome, the staff was great

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Your amazing review left us all with big smiles on our faces! It's great to hear you had a good stay and enjoyed the hostel that much :) We are delighted you found the staff awesome and hope you will come back to see us next time you are in London! Safe travels! Anna

77%

Best for large groups. I went alone and often found it difficult to meet people. The bar is great, the bartender was very friendly. Kitchen is well-stocked, best place to meet people, breakfast was lively (and there was Nutella). The beds are a little off-putting, there's not much space to put your bags, though there is a small locker above your pillow for valuables. Showers are roomy. The red couch in the computer room is amazing! Location was fine, closer to Camden Market than anything.


91%

Everything we needed for a cheap overnight stay in Central London. Good location, easily accessed from Kings Cross station. staff were very friendly and helpful. plenty of food at breakfast and the room was clean albeit a little bit small.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! We are grateful you took some time to write this positive and nice feedback and we are happy you fully enjoyed your experience at Clink :) Your comment about the staff made us feel special as we always try our best to provide guest with an excellent customer service; it's nice to see you appreciated it! We wish you a lovely day! Anna

97%

Clink78 was so awesome! One of the best hostels that I have ever stayed in and I have stayed in many hostels through my travels! I would recommend it to anyone traveling in the London area. It has a perfect location as well! The only downfall was the rooms didn't have lockers for book bags! But they definitely make up for it!

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Reading you comment just made my day! I am so happy you had a great stay with us! Many thanks for all those positive thoughts and energy :) Regarding the lockers, we are currently working on it and will be getting new ones soon :) We will be delighted to see you again in here, shall you return to London! In the meantime enjoy the rest of your travels! Anna

86%

Everything you need in a hostel. Has big common area and a bar to get drunk if you dont want to go to london/ have time Only things that i found me were showers that reminded me of auschwitch (b-floor) with concrete walls and no place to leave clothes or towel during showering. Location is kinda bad if you want to see city center. I was in london only for one night stopping by so it was ok. Kings cross is quite near and you got few groceriestores around the neighbourhood

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thank you for taking some time and writing your thoughts down! We are happy you liked the bar and our common areas too! As for the showers, not all of them are in the basement :) Next time you visit us we will be happy to show you some awesome showers and see if you like them better :) Wish you great travels! Anna

80%

All round, a very nice hostel! Very good value for money, not to far away from central London (only a short walk from major Rail and Tube stations). It has a very good atmosphere, and good facilities. Would definitely recommend!


83%

Location was great. Right by Kings Cross Station. Really enjoyed our stay. The only complaint I had was the bathrooms could have been cleaner. Other than that though I would deffinitly recommend Clink. Neat atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Cheers for the great feedback! We are delighted to see that you had a good stay with us! As for the bathroom, we do have a 24h housekeeping team to sort this kind of problems straight away; do not hesitate to come to us and report any bathroom you don't find clean enough and we will be more than happy to clean it for you! :) But we are so happy you will recommend us and hope to see soon again! Anna

86%

: very clean, location, prices, big bar, breakfast -: small rooms, staff no welcoming,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Thank you for taking some time and leaving your feedback :) We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hostel clean and cozy! We are however disappointed to hear you didn't find out staff welcoming - it is definitely not the impression we are trying to give to our guests! Come to see us again and we promise to make you feel like a prince :) See you soon! Anna

97%

A great hostel to stay at in London. Great athmosphere and setup, the staff of Klink is very helpful and genuine. Would recommend to anyone that wishes to stay in a vibrant environment.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Your positive feedback made all of us very happy today! We love to know that you had a great stay and enjoyed the vibe at Clink :) It's also awesome to know you would recommend us to other travelers! We hope to see you again soon! Anna

86%

Great atmosphere! Lots of energy and young people floating about. Really easy to meet people. The location is not central to London life. However, it is close to King's Cross Station which makes it easy to get around via tube, bus, or train.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Many thanks for taking your time and writing this great feedback :) We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our unique atmosphere! As you say, we might not be in the very center of London but we have loads of connections to all busy places to be! We hope to see you again shall you return to London! Take care Anna

97%

A very cool place to stay! Our only complaint was that the breakfast area is so small for the quantity of people staying there. It was a nice breakfast though. Probably not much they can do about the size of space, but maybe organizing the materials a bit more would be handy. It was packed! Other than that, a great spot to stay. Not too far of a walk from the Tube/Train station. We walked to downtown and it was a good way to see a lot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Many thanks for sharing your thoughts and views with us! We are thrilled you had a great stay in here and enjoyed the location of the hostel! As for the breakfast area, we are aware that even though breakfast is served from 7 to 10am, many people come at the same time and the kitchen gets quite packed. We try our best to advise people to go a little earlier and enjoy their first meal of the day in a serene place! We hope to see you again soon! Anna

(2133 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback