X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
4347 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Very large hostel, good for meeting people at the bar. Nice breakfast. Need more free lockers and Wi-Fi in the rooms.


100%

I was very surprised with the quality of the Hostel, in a positive way! Clink78 was beautifully clean - really couldn't find any problem with cleanliness. The atmosphere was cozy and nice, the painted walls and colors - I loved them! The staff was extremely nice too, and I still can't believe it was so cheap with all these perks, and only 10 minutes from King's Cross!

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I am utterly impressed by this Hostel and its facilities. Me and my friend were staying here four nights and really did not know what to expect. The staff were really friendly and clear on rules, Facilities with several common rooms, and a bar with a pool table downstairs did not disappoint. When we booked two beds in a room with 12 we were a bit scared, but luckily everyone turned out to be very friendly and around our age. Great atmosphere :)

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Beds are comfortable, despite being very cramped. The rooms can be a little smelly and damp, no lockers to store your stuff in the rooms or enough power points for everyone to use. Staff were great - had a few issues with my first room and they were fantastic at finding me another with no hassle! Common movie room is great for relaxing, good kitchen, location was okay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you so much for your review :) We are happy to hear that you found our staff efficient and friendly. Our rooms are pretty basic - you will find only a small locker on top of your bed for small valuables but there are more lockers and power points in our amazing common areas. Hope to see you again soon, safe travels! Indra

49%

Our stay was very unpleasant. Room was TINY and no room for anything. Toilets were gross and if you aren't a size 6 then you will struggle to get in it, clearly in need of a deep clean. All of this was bearable until we spoke to a man on reception who was EXTREMELY RUDE and INCREDIBLY AGGRESSIVE towards us, we asked him a simple question and was given a rude and racist reply. Completely unacceptable!!!

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your time leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Please check your inbox, we have sent you a personal email regarding the issues you have mentioned. Safe travels! Indra

74%

The room should have a lock room for each people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. The point you have raised is definitely being considered and hopefully we will have more lockers in the near future. Safe trips! Indra

71%

The staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful. It was obvious that they made considerable effort keeping the facilities clean and upbeat feeling. My main dissatisfaction was the facilities themselves, that the room I stayed in had an odor that only left after keeping the window open all day, bunk beds that were too small to sit upright in, and common rooms that felt dingy even after I knew the staff had just cleaned them. Location was also amazing, 10 min walk to Kings Cross Underground.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your time leaving us a review. We are thrilled to hear that our staff efforts were noticed - we are always ready to help! Sorry that the facilities didn't meet your expectations, we have checked the room you were staying in and couldn't smell anything strange but will definitely keep checking just in case. Have safe future travels! Indra

100%

Couldn't be better. Thanks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your positive review and amazing rating! We hope to see you again soon. Happy travels! Indra

51%

The location of this hostel was one of the bright spots. The rooms were super cramped and only had a small locker for wallets. The room smelled and was stuffy. No wifi and the washroom was one of the smallest I've seen. Would not stay here again.


54%

The Clink was our first stop on a 2 month euro trip. At first we thought the facilities we're standard for hostels but since visiting other places our view has changed dramatically. Pros: clean beds, free breakfast with good range, excellent location Cons: no lockers for bags in room, extremely cramped rooms (12 bed dorm), no curtains, very poor showers (2 per floor which had cold water), no powerpoints in room (had to charge at reception), wifi only in reception, poorly designed bunk ladders


89%

The room was very small and cramped, and the bathrooms were not particularly clean. But the hostel has a great atmosphere, friendly staff, and a good continental breakfast. It was absolutely worth what we paid.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. Happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay even though the room size was not up to your liking. We would love to see you again:) Safe travels! Indra

77%

Had a good stay,nice staff. Only not enough powerpoints in rooms. Other points in hallways but in weird spots.other than that good place.love the courtroom cinema


77%

The girls bathroom was honestly disgusting. There was hair in every shower and they should really enforce cleaning up after themselves. The staff was super friendly and helpful to whatever I needed. It did kinda suck that the wifi wasn't throughout the entire hostel and restricted to only the common rooms, but overall, I give this place an 8 out of 10.


94%

Fantastic hostel is a good part of the city. Walking to anywhere didn't take long at all. Everything was clean and the staff were amazing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you for taking the time to leave us review, we appreciate the feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here and that you made use of our fantastic location ;) We hope to see you again! Jacqui

91%

My stay at the Clink was bril,very good friendly helpful staff very clean toilets and room and bedding clean and fresh to.will stay again as do like this place great value for money.

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so happy that you found the staff friendly, the room and toilets clean and that you thought it was good value for money. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy travels, Jacqui

100%

Stayed one night and were welcomed in by the biggest smile :) our room had been upgraded from a multi bed mixed dorm to a 4 bed dorm which was lovely and bar was a welcoming site after a night out and it was still that bit to early to hit the sack. My bf and I loved it and will stay back here again! Also, a brief walk from kings cross so central to the lot!!


63%

Expensive price to pay for a 4 bed room, that is very small in size, prces can be much cheaper


77%

The building itself was really cool. The beds, we're not all that comfortable, but the other facilities were very nice. It's a perfectly nice hostel, it just wasn't my style. Too big. I like something with a bit more heart. This place felt like more of a corporate location. If you want a fun place with more of a party scene, go for it.


97%

10/10 , first time i ever been in a hostel and this was top of the pops . would stay there again .


80%

Overall pretty good. Only down sides were my basement dorm regularly smelt musty and damp and I felt there could be more done to promote socialising.


(2577 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback