X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
4751 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Besides the broken door knob inside my suite and the bad faucet in one shower room, this hostel has everything a backpacker can ever dream of. The building is gigantic. The vibe is powerful. I would recommend this place to anyone who come to London the very first time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the to leave us review! I am so glad that you enjoyed the vibe at our unique hostel and that you had a good time while you were here. Our reception staff is available 24 hours and are always there to pass on the message to maintenance when something needs to be fixed. If you had come down to see us they would have had those two problems sorted in a jiffy :) Happy travels, Jax

100%

I stayed in the 12 person mixed dorm. It was small and very cozy, but the people were amazing and made the experience wonderful. The socializing places were great - kitchen area with lots of seating, the TV room where you can make noise and chat, and the courtroom where you can sit and do work. Met wonderful people, as wireless internet cannot be found in the rooms, everyone was congregated in the social areas.


51%

+: good common area and kitchen. -: the staff needs to improve. They are not helpful/ friendly. The hostel works similar as a hotel and the breakfast need a lot of improvement. Rooms are really small.


94%

I really enjoyed my stay at Clink78, the staff and the hostel itself were excellent. The showers/bathrooms were always clean and had hot water at several different times of the day. The shower is a push button but there is plenty of water pressure and it doesn't cut out in a couple of seconds. The room was clean, tidy and the bed was comfortable. No mirror or area with sockets/mirror to do hair and no lockers in rooms or anywhere that I could see for valuable items. I'd stay again though 100%


63%

Temperature in the showers couldn't be controlled. The water was boiling hot. In general the shower infrastructure is completely outdated.


66%

Unfortunately there were no lockers or wardrobes an not enough outllets in the room.


86%

Great location, friendly staff and free breakfast

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I am so glad that you found our location convenient and had the time to enjoy our free breakfast. Our lovely staff are here 24 hours to help you in any way we can :) We wish you many more happy travels, Jax

63%

For being located in a former jailhouse this place seemed very insecure. Stayed in a four person room which was quite cramped. There was a door to the outside which was secured with a flimsy looking cable lock. No luggage locker in the room which added to the sense of insecurity.


100%

Very good place to stay with good facilities and private.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon! Jorge

66%

A very pleasant stay but for a hostile and rude receptionist who wore dreadlocks and metal pins through his nose and lips who seemed to take a dislike to older visitors.


100%

Pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed it. Value for money and great central location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, We are glad that you had enjoy your stay with us, surprises are always the good excitement when you are travelling. Keep Travelling. Thanks HELOISA

97%

It was amazing, The only thing is that there is no WiFi everywhere in the hostel. Other then that the staff was nice, The beds really confortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we are working to extend our Wifi coverage. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon! Jorge

89%

We walked everywhere in London from this hostel. It has a great vibe and is right next to King's Cross station. Only downside is that Wifi is only available in the common rooms, which was disappointing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for taking a moment and leaving us a review, we are happy that you had a good time with us! Regarding the Wi-Fi we are working on it and planning to have it accessible everywhere in the building by the end of this year. Safe Travels. Thanks HELOISA

100%

Really enjoyed it and good value for money

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Clink! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! Have a nice day :) Isabel

97%

They know what they're doing and they do it well. Grade A. Staff fluctuate between very cool and okay. Location is walking biking to everything and monster mover Pancras is 5 minutes walk. Recommend


94%

Great base for walking or catching the tube in central London. Staff are friendly, rooms are clean and spacious enough, I really enjoyed my time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Stephen, Thanks for your comments, we are really happy that you enjoy your stay with us, hope to see you again. HELOISA

74%

A good hostel. Great location and great staff. However, a lack of maintenance on some of the facilities really ruins the appeal of the place. For 2 levels to not have one shower where the lock on the door works is pretty appalling. No wifi in the rooms is also a big negative. That being said, it has a great bar and cool atmosphere, a success as far as London hostels go.


80%

All around very nice hostel. Staff was very nice and helpful, sockets everywhere and the bunks are absolutely ok. Bar, Breakfast, Kitchen and Travel Shop are also a big plus. Showers and toilets could be a little better, since you don't have a lot of hangers for your stuff. Loacted very central. Would definetly recommend it to others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there ! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're working to improve but meanwhile we're glad you had a positive experience at Clink 78! Have a wonderful day! Isabel

89%

Really lively, probably easy to meet people, I only stopped a night though just passing thru. Very clean

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thanks for you positive remarks! Glad you enjoyed your stay! Have a nice day! Isabel

100%

Great Hostel.....far better than the hostel after,Pub Love at the Crown an absolute dump of a hostel with the worst staff imaginable.


(191 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback