X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3895 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

This was my first bad hostel experience. Bottom bunks are equivalent to a coffin, sneezing sick people in the room, no soap in the bathrooms...We decided to stay someplace else within 1 hour! When we asked for a refund they said they didn't have the authority...if you have the power to take money you should have the power to refund it! Unacceptable.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for leaving this feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that the Clink didn't meat your expectations! If you encounter any problem like the soap being empty in the bathroom, the best would be to speak directly to the reception supervisor who then will do his best to help you and make you happy. They are also the person in charge of refunds, depending of the reasons. We hope to see you again shall you give us a second chance! Take care Anna Front of House Supervisor

94%

Great place, full of character, staff are completely amazing. Staff are so friendly, so helpful and so nice. Locker facility with code was amazing. So easy to use and so secure. Breakfast was a bit too basic for me sorry. Bed layout wasnt the best but works ok. Was comfortable, clean and privacy was great too due to partitions. Everything was spotless clean. Amazing.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Many thanks for this truly amazing feedback! We love to hear that people enjoy the hostel, find it clean and great and the staff is always happy to here how nice they are :) We hope to see you again soon! Take care Anna

71%

Didn't stay here for very long, but overall had a fairly good experience. Wasn't too happy with the staff though, I understand it is busy running a hostel however they were quite snappy. I would recommended other hostels to stay at over this one

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for your feedback! We are happy you had a good experience with us, however we apologize if you found our staff snappy. Maybe you could provide us with a few more details about the situation by sending an email to kevin@clinkhostels.co.uk so we can investigate and make sure it will never happen again? We hope to see you again prove that our customer service is as good as advertised! :) Anna

77%

I liked this hostel though the rooms were small. I stayed at Safestay hostel a week later and I much preferred that.


77%

Much appreciated the nice and helpful staff, but sorry abort the leaking and weak shower, it is a disaster not to have stable hot shower during winter.


89%

I had an okay stay here. The only issue was that the wifi was unreliable. - It wasn't working at all for the first two days that I was there and after that, when it did work, you could only use it in the common areas and it was extremely slow. You're better off going to a cafe for wifi.


91%

Nice size rooms, good breakfast easy to meet people. Staff are helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for the great feedback and rating! We are happy you had good fun and found the rooms big and the staff helpful! We hope you will come back to see us on your next visit to London! Safe travels Anna

89%

Enjoyed my brief stay! Staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were good. Thanks again!

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey! Many thanks for the positive feedback! It's amazing to hear you had a good experience and enjoyed the place and the staff friendliness! We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels Anna

69%

The hostel is a neat place to stay. They've kept the courhouse atmosphere, leaving the old courtrooms as lounges and some of the cells as hostel rooms. Very cute idea. But there are so many people as this is a very large hostel. You do get the feeling that you are just being stuffed into your room and shuffled through.


91%

One of the nicest hostels I stayed in in London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Many thanks for your positive thoughts and great rating! We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Clink and hope to see you again soon! Take care! Anna

83%

good hostel but a bit expensive thanks London for that !


83%

Expensive!


94%

Such a great place to stay, i will definitely use them again in the near future!!

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Many thanks for the positive feedback and great rating! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and would be delighted to see you again soon! Safe travels Anna

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
83%

I definitely appreciate the cleaning of loos and showers. The room wasn't so clean and it was too hot inside, but the mattress was super comfortable and sheets clean. The worst thing is the lack of lockers in the rooms, I think it's unlikely to leave the luggage in the room without being able to close it with a padlock. Nice hostel, recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thank you for your time and the great feedback! We are happy you had a good stay and found the place clean :) We have some small lockers in each bed for your valuable belongings and we also have some big free ones around the building and more to rent near reception! On your next visit just come to see us and we will show you around! We wish you great travels and hope to see you soon! Anna

86%

This Hostel is a lot of fun! It's a great place to meet people and it's fun to walk around see the old court rooms. I liked how the downstairs had plenty of space to hangout. Fun place to stay for London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Many thanks for the super positive feedback and great rating! :) We are happy to hear that you loved the building and its unique atmosphere! We definitely hope to see you again shall you return to London! Safe travels Anna

66%

I did not find the staff very helpful. We asked for a cab and they ordered us a minicab which charged us double what a black taxi would for the fair and insisted we take it. I waited 20 minutes in the travel office for the staff to return and no one could tell me where she was or find her. Not enough plugs. The location is further from king's cross then I would have liked it's a little sketchy for a girl alone at night walking. PROS: The building is pretty cool being an old police station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your time and the feedback.We are sorry to hear that you didn't find the staff helpful! Usually the black cabs you get on the street are really expensive, especially on pick hours as they charge you per minute. Also it is unfortunate that you had to wait for the Travel Shop assistant: they job consists also in going to buy supplies, going to the post office etc. so they are not always in the Travel Shop. We hope to see you again though :) Take care! Anna

83%

The location is good, a few blocks from King's Cross underground station, you can travel anywhere from there. The hostel is really secure, there are small lockers in each bed for small valuables and bigger lockers that you can rent. The wifi is free, but only works in common areas (and it kept logging out after a couple of minutes so couldn't really use it). The kitchen is big and has all you need. Had a problem with the water in the showers once, but other than that it was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for leaving your thoughts with us :) We are glad that you had a good stay and enjoyed the location and security of this place! Sorry that the WiFi was a little slow - we are currently looking into a different provider that would be better for the guests :) We hope that you will come back to see us someday! Safe travels Anna

86%

Bathrooms aren't great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi there, Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear you didn't find our bathrooms great - we are currently refurbishing some of them! We hope to see you again so you can see the changes by yourself! Take care Anna

91%

The hostel is great, very near the King's Cross station. The staff here are very nice. I enjoyed living here. The only Problem is the wifi in the room is not good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Many thanks for the great feedback and rating! It is amazing to hear you had a good stay and enjoyed the location and the hostel :) Our staff is also glad for the mention! We are currently looking into improving the WiFi and having it all around the building but right now it only works in the common areas! We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels Anna

51%

Very uncomfortable. A few rude staff. Extremely hot, even in September/October. Too many beds crammed into small rooms. No space to put luggage in rooms. Lockers in rooms are a joke. Most of the overhead bed-lights don't work. Wifi only in common spaces. Common spaces are hot, and lack ventilation. The travel shop is a good idea, and staff were helpful there. Towels smell. Bathrooms aren't cleaned often enough. The shower curtain clings to you, and there is nowhere dry to put your things.

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(2354 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback