X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
4157 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I would stay here again simply because it was in a nice quiet spot of London, just outside of kings cross. Everything about this place was great except that it didn't have an atmosphere in which I felt it was easy to meet other travelers. That, and I wish they replaced their shower handles with one's that didn't turn off after 15 seconds. Either way, as I stated previously, I found the facility to be accommodating, and would stay again


86%

There's a lot to like about Clink78: luggage room for before check-in and after check-out, keycards, free breakfast, great location and excellent staff. The only negatives for me were the small in-room lockers (only could fit valuables like iPhone, wallet and passport) and the fact that you have to pay for a towel. Otherwise, top notch!


91%

Staff is so helpful and friendly! I was there was a fridge though but overall great value for money.


94%

I stayed in the 6 bed female room. It was lovely. The bar and common areas were full of life and well maintained. In error I made whilst booking my stay was easily and quickly corrected by the staff. I enjoys my stay. Plenty of diversity in people and a fun place to stay. I would book a room if I was in London again.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

I had to go to a special bathroom for girls only, because the bathroom I was supposed to use was always dirty, there is not mirrors or anything else.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff exceptionally helpful. Hostel large and spacious. One of my favourite hostels ive stayed in

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everyone was really nice. Rooms were clean! Not a far walk from the tube!


60%

The hostel was quite dirty, the showers were absolutely horrendous to use as you had to keep pressing this button to keep the shower working, and there was nowhere to get changed before or after the shower and nowhere to leave my clothes. I had to put wet feet into my shoes and pull wet jeans on as the shower got them all wet and honestly, after the shower I felt no cleaner. Yuk. It would've been nice if the beds were already made for guests too.


89%

Unfortunately the lift (elevator) broke down during my stay - for me it was a hardship going up and down stairs.


89%

The dorm and facilities were very good and new and there was a nice space with desks to use laptops etc. However, it's a very large hostel so there were huge amounts of people and getting to know anyone would have been hard. There were no lockers to use (only ones you had to pay for), but the security in general was very good with a guard on the door and locks everywhere.


89%

Generally well kept but there are a lot of long-term residents - of course you get your annoying bunkmates once in a whil but, welcome to hostel life.


80%

Good Hostel. Only stayed for one night so it's not an entirely accurate review but I have no complaints. Clean enough toilets (small though) and I never used the shower facilities. Staff was nice and helpful. The 4 bed rooms are very small and don't have much room for luggage. Getting in and out of top bunk can be tricky.


100%

Everything was remarkable :)

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

The atmosphere and priorities of this hostel are obviously for those in age range 16-20. Good location; close to the train station. No lockers in the rooms, precarious (at best) ladders from the bunks, toilets out of order throughout stay, "free breakfast" that consists of toast, jam and hot chocolate and no wi-fi in the room were all really disappointing. The shower curtain also sticks to your body while showering - neither comfortable nor hygienic. And the dorm door didn't lock.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review I am quite intrigued as to why you would say that is our target age when it is fact quite a bit higher. The only showers that have shower curtains are the disabled ones... Not sure why you were using those. We are in the process of installing free wifi into all the rooms. Also in the future if your door does not lock, come down to reception and let us know so we can get the maintenance team to fix it. Safe travels, Jacqui

86%

We stayed in a 10 bed mixed dorm, and it was tiny. Literally 10 bunk beds and a small walkway at the end. No room for everyone's bags and very little circulation around the room. Other than room, it was great. Showers and toilets were clean, there was a great atmosphere in the common area/bar. Lovely and close to both underground and main train stations. Will stay there again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, We have just finished renovating our rooms to make them more spacious :) We hope to see you again. Jacqui

80%

Our room was incredibly hot. It was very hot to sleep in and the staff wouldn't help. Beds were uncomfortable

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Unfortunately the heating is automatic and there isn't much we can do to change it without the maintenance team. I hope you have better travel experiences in the future, Jacqui

54%

I travel to London for work usually for just one night -and stay in hostels because I'm 29 and alone and don't see the need to pay more. This one is great for low budget young travelers. Super loud. Bar downstairs. Everyone drunk. Hallways echo into the rooms. So big with so many people = Not very clean. The clerk hit on me when I arrived, but was helpful. I wouldn't stay again. Palmers Lodge Swiss Cottage/YHA Holland Park are the best overall hostels in London and I've stayed in ALL of them.


94%

I was impressed. It's really big and professional, equipped with a kitchen guests can use, free breakfast, and a room (usually full) where people can use the internet (they also have one or two paid computers to use). The internet only works downstairs, which was a bit annoying but it's good because people are in the common areas more. The bar opens at 5 and they have music on the weekends, which I missed. Location is great, you can catch the 63 from Kings Cross or walk 10 mins.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us :) We are in the process of installing free wifi into all the rooms to make it more accessible for our guests . We hope to see you get again! Jacqui

63%

We were disappointed in our stay at Clink78. It felt far away from everything, not much was walking distance at all. The girl on the front desk was rude and unhelpful, plus the toilets were really gross. But good breakfast in the morning, though wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, if you could please give me more details about the staff member that you found rude. We take complaints against our staff very seriously. The River is only 20 minutes walking from where we are and from there everything is close to walk to, I guess it takes a bit longer if you aren't sure on where you are going. Happy travels, Jacqui

71%

The rooms are old cells! Toliets ok but showers a bit rough.... I wouldnt stay here again...

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, We only have 6 of the old prison cells that we have converted to novelty rooms as this used to be a courthouse for 150 years. The rest are standard dorms and private rooms. We have just finished renovating our showers. I hope you have better travel experiences in the future. Happy Travels, Jacqui

(2478 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback