X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Clink78 Reviews

78 Kings Cross rd, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3083 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

Too dirty Not various menus for breakfast

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your comments. Here at Clink we have a 24 hour housekeeping team that works tirelessly to maintain the high standards we have for our hostel. However, with so many guests in such a busy hostel, sometimes we cannot control their actions. We’re sorry you did not enjoy our continental breakfast, but we do provide various options so you can enjoy your meal to the fullest; with a variety of jams, juices, coffee and teas, breads and cereals. See you soon, The Clink Team

83%

Overall good place to stay. Rooms are very warm at night, makes it uncomfortable to sleep but everything else is ok.

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

BIG AND NICE PLACE, CLEAN, A LITTLE BIT FAR FROM TUBE. VERY GOOD.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your kind words! We’re very glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Clink, we hope to see you again when you return to London! Once you are back, ask in reception or travel shop the short way to get to the tube. It's only five minutes away and we are always here to help you :) Thank you, Clink Team.

77%

The hostel itself was ok. The staff were great. My room was very hot, and cramped with beds touching each other. The room also smelt musky. The bathrooms wee clean, and the breakfast provided was sufficient. The wifi worked well in the common rooms. It would of been good if security lockers were provided free of charge.


31%

Worst place I've ever stayed!!!!

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. We take all feedback, good and bad, very seriously. It would be great of you could give us more details on your comment. Constructive feedback is the key to our success. Thank you, Clink Team

83%

Clink was a very good hostel to stay,however ro

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you for your comments. It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us :) Enjoy the rest of your travels, Clink Team.

83%

We loved the bed, like being a bee going home! :) they are some lights and small box on each bed. The dormitory are very small but i guess nobody go to London to stay in room, right? Breakfast rich and good! And there is a small pub in front Of the hostel with good cider. And Finally, the look is very cool.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi :) Thanks for your kind words. We are glad to know that you loved your stay us and, most important, that you felt like at home. Come to visit us very soon, The Clink team

49%

- Rather expensive for the facilities and room space provided...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you for your comments; we appreciate all kinds of feedback from our guests. We’re sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay with us here at Clink; we hope that if you should return to London we will see you again so we can change your mind. Thank you, Clink Team.

57%

way too hot beds were cramped in the rooms and nowhere to put your bags.so hot went and tried and sleep in the hallway but the lights would come on when someone walked past.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, We apologize if your room was too hot. As the London heat wave took us by surprise, we did try very hard to get more fans to help our guests during their stay, however there were none available in London at the time. We hope you can return when the weather is a bit cooler so you can enjoy your stay with us :) Thank you, Clink Team.

71%

No free wifi! They obviously get a lot of business from Topdeck, but honestly you can stay somewhere way nicer for much less that includes wifi. Breakfast was ok, fun events. Comfy beds! The little lockers near your bed only just fit my iPad, it took some manoeuvring!


46%

Travelled europe for 3 months. This was easily the worst hostel I stayed in. I had spiders in my bed, it was dirty, the bathrooms sucked and the overall vibe was horrible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We’re sorry you did not enjoy your time with us here at Clink. Regarding your comments, we do have a 24 hour housekeeping team who work tirelessly to ensure that the building is properly maintained. Clink 78 is a busy hostel with many guests, and sometimes we cannot control their actions as much as we may try. We also have a team that comes in once a week to maintain the building and inspect for pests, and we always maintain a high standard when it comes to this. The Clink team

77%

Too hot. They should have provided us with a fan during the summer

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, We apologize if your room was too hot, but our reception team does have some fans that you can rent during your stay. As the London heat wave took us by surprise, we did try very hard to get more fans to help our guests during their stay, however there were none available in London at the time. Thank you, Clink Team.

91%

I stayed here before in the deluxe female dorm and this time in a 6 bed female dorm. The 6 bed felt less crowded and better value IMO. Good bar and breakfast. Kept very clean. Could use laptop size lockers in the rooms though.


94%

Clink 78 is my home in each summer.

  • 21st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, We’re so happy to provide you with a home each summer! We hope to see you back in the Clash Bar for a game of Beer Pong! Clink will always be your home away from home ;) See you soon, Clink team.

100%

I had a great stay! All the staff were super friendly and helpful. I also met a lot of nice people passing through. Thank you!!

  • 21st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you so much for your kind comments, you put big smiles on all our faces! We’re glad you found new friends within the hostel and enjoyed the company of our staff; they’re a very sociable team! We hope to see you again when you come back to London! Thank you, Clink Team.

77%

We liked it here, although we didn't have much time. It's a bit of a trip to see the main touristy sites of London, but if you're going to be using St. Pancras as you leave (as we did) the location is quite nice. The staff was friendly enough. As college students, we fit in well with the mostly college-aged crowd. There is a fantastic place for breakfast on your left about midway down King's Cross road as you walk to the station that looks like a hole in the wall but was a true gem.


43%

Do not stay here! utter waste of money! Extremely hot rooms with no ventilation no baggage storage in rooms, dirty showers, noisey as there is a bar below, no wifi (none free). Don't just think of it as a place to sleep because you won't.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback; we’re sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us this time. The London heat wave took us by surprise as well. However, our reception team endeavours to make everyone as comfortable as possible throughout this hot period. We have fans that you can rent during your stay. We tried to get more to provide to our guests, however the supply in London was depleted entirely. Enjoy your travels, The Clink Team

60%

It just isn't for me. I need my space. The toilet area was too small and unclean, mainly because of the clientelle who were mainly young "adults". The room itsef contained six beds, a small sink, a couple of power outlets that were inconveniently placed within the frame of the bed. It was really awful for me because the temperatures in London were very hot, the hostel didn't have air conditioning, my room was in the basement; it had a window, but no circulation. I couldn't breath.

  • 16th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

pretty average place.... one of the girls in my dorm had to move, as she apparently did not feel safe.. the hot weather prob did not help


86%

Great location if you are setting off for euro rail and national rail services. All restraints and food services around the hostel are cheap and reasonable I would definitely recommend this place to friends who are traveling to London.


(1966 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback