X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clock Inn Colombo Reviews

457, Galle Road, Colombo 03, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
191 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

great breakfast....helpful staff...


91%

One of the best city hostels I've ever been!


74%

everything is good except the door lock in toilet is too high for me to touch


91%

We had an amazing stay at the Clock Inn Hostel. It was a really clean (for european rates), charming place. The Breakfast was really good and the Value for the Money is unbeatable. The Staff is nice and chill out area is great to meet other travellers. I really can recommend this Hostel!

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Very clean hostel, with tasteful interior design. Beds were comfortable. Their staff do not make you feel welcome though. Most hostels in Sri Lanka have very warm and accommodating staff but not this hostel. Also, location is far from the center.


71%

Rooms and bathrooms quite basic all around but did the trick for the money. Clean enough. Pretty thin walls with a glass door which didn't do much for keeping the light out and night! Location pretty easy to get to and from Fort and such like.


77%

Stayed in the private rooms the first time we stayed here and they were a lot better than the dorms, but not for the obvious reasons. The individual dorm rooms you cannot lock, there is one door that once you are through you can access any room on the floor. I did not like this at all. The shared bathrooms were ok, but the storage for clothes and towels in the showers would only work if you are super tall (above the shower head), which I am not.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our dorm room doors do not lock due to security reasons as this is a shared floor. However, the entrance to the dorm floors do have a security access system in order to maintain security. I assure you that security is one of our highest priorities and we ensure that all of our guests are safe with us. Your feedback on hanging space in the showers is noted and we promise to fix that. We hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future!

97%

Great budget hostel, clean rooms, decent sized lockers, good breakfast, own bedside lamp and plug socket, late night check in possible. Staff were helpful and friendly at all times.


63%

Very basic place to stay, basic good service. Very quiet, you don't really see other guests that much. Shower and toilet facilities are basic but the showers are a bit difficult to use, since there isn't really a good place to hang your stuff while you shower. Breakfast is basic but good. Dorm room was good and there is a good locker with a lock. The neighbourhood isn't that special but it's clean and safe. And of course you can always get a tuk tuk to go where ever you want.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us! We are very sorry about the lack of hanging space in the showers and we promise you that it will be fixed in the next few days! We are glad that you found our dorm rooms to be good and sufficient. Our communal lounge is a great place to meet fellow travelers and we hope that you get to visit us again on a busier day!

83%

very good and clean and friendly and helpful staff.... ;-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Clock Inn Colombo and hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future! Happy Travels!

57%

We booked a double room for one night, but we had to move to a dormitory because the room was very noisy due to planned working (in the middle of the night). It was impossible to sleep with drills and hammers on the wall. The manager refused to charge us the price of the dormitory in which we slept, instead he charged us the double room which we only used for about 2h. Really disappointing...

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are extremely sorry about the negative experience you had at Clock Inn Colombo. This was a overnight construction that was taking place in the neighboring building. We had absolutely no control over this situation even after sending several complaints and eventually getting the police involved. Once again, we sincerely apologize for this terrible experience. We hope that you had a great holiday in Sri Lanka and hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

100%

Staff were really brilliant and extremely helpful.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your 5 Star Review! We are delighted to here of your positive experience at Clock Inn Colombo and hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future! Happy Travels!

94%

One of the best hostels I have stayed in. The staff are very helpful and professional! Enjoyed every bit of my short stay here.


83%

clean and comfortable, friendly staff and OK breakfast, good nights sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Clock Inn Colombo and hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future!

97%

The hostel is excellent! Its clean, the staff is helpful, breakfast is good! I think the shared room can be still a little cheaper especially for Sri Lankan standtards but its a nice hotel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great review! Nothing makes us happier than to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay at our hostel. At $12 to $15 per bed, we offer A/C dorm rooms, with lockers, linens, free Wifi and unlimited breakfast. I assure you that we are one of the cheapest in the area! We are working harder to offer even better rates in the future. We hope that you had a great holiday in Sri Lanka and hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future!

89%

Staff were very friendly, good restaurants near by, clean and safe rooms, breakfast was quite nice. We had a blocked drain in our shower, but staff were up to fix it within 2 minutes. After that, no problems. Would recommend!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review and recommending us! We are delighted to hear of your positive experience at Clock Inn Colombo. We hope that you had a great holiday in Sri Lanka and hope that you get to visit us again in the future. Happy Travels!

94%

Only down side was the kitchen facilities are restricted to only using a microwave. I don't want to microwave water for a cup of tea..maybe add a kettle!?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for very much for taking the time to review us! Sorry about that experience in the kitchen. We will look into that ensure that we will fix it! Your feedback is important to us. Apart from that we hope that you enjoyed your stay at Clock Inn Colombo and hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future!

89%

Easy to find, close to bus stops and stores, good value for money. Calm but relaxing. Staff- excellent! For them I would give higher score.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your fantastic review! We are delighted to hear of your positive experience at Clock Inn Colombo! We hope that you had a great holiday in Sri Lanka and hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future. Happy Travels!

83%

Good place for price paid. Not too touristy a place, not much guidance on city, tours etc but staff were lovely. Very clean. Good breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in process of adding an information desk at our location and we hope to have it up soon! Until then, we are now offering free maps and train and bus schedules for the convenience of future guests. We value your feedback. We hope that you had a great holiday in Sri Lanka and hope that you get to visit us again in the future. Happy Travels!

97%

Had a great stay at this hostel! Bathrooms are spotless. Rooms are quiet and peaceful. Lockers are big and secure for my backpack. Breakfast was very generous. This is value for money and I would highly recommend Clock Inn!

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are delighted to hear of your experience at Clock Inn Colombo and looking forward to have you stay with us again.

« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Colombo Hostels

Please give us your feedback