X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Clock Inn Colombo Reviews

457, Galle Road, Colombo 03, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
209 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Friendly, helpful, clean

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Stayed at ClockInn a few times and loved it! Super friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, good facilities, centrally located and really good value for money! Can highly recommend to stay at ClockInn while your stay in Colombo


91%

Had a nice stay. Good value for money. Great for meeting people.


83%

Great location, luggage storage, clean and nice common room. However, it seemed like there was more staff than visitors and it didn't have a friendly social vibes.


83%

Clean, functionnal and safe space, which might come as a relief after some time in Sri Lanka. I would definitely recommend it. The only issue we had was with the airport pick-up, which never found us. Take a cab to get there, 3000 rs max.


94%

One of the BEST hostel I've stayed at. Great staff and facilities.


74%

I enjoyed my stay here, it is a nice hostel to just chill out at after a day of traveling. The common room is comfy and a good place to hang out and chat to people. The breakfast was decent and the rooms adequate and clean. There are a few things that need improving however. The kitchen in the common room needs a serious cleaning, even the provided dish cloth etc were disgusting, and there is nowhere in the shower to hang your towel or clothes to avoid them getting wet. Overall would stay again.


86%

Security was greatly good as no one could get on your floor without a lock, and you had decent sized lockers. You were given fresh pillows towel and blanket and the bed was super comfy. Hot shower was amazing. The communal area is really nice but the air con whacked on high so you're freezing. And while several of us were sitting watching a film we were all told to leave as they wanted to clean the room... Very annoying. But otherwise a decent place, although not in the most exciting location.


77%

They could make the lounge more sociable maybe serve beer or wine so people would stay longer and chat. All in all the stay was comfortable and I would stay agan


100%

great breakfast....helpful staff...


91%

One of the best city hostels I've ever been!


74%

everything is good except the door lock in toilet is too high for me to touch


91%

We had an amazing stay at the Clock Inn Hostel. It was a really clean (for european rates), charming place. The Breakfast was really good and the Value for the Money is unbeatable. The Staff is nice and chill out area is great to meet other travellers. I really can recommend this Hostel!

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Very clean hostel, with tasteful interior design. Beds were comfortable. Their staff do not make you feel welcome though. Most hostels in Sri Lanka have very warm and accommodating staff but not this hostel. Also, location is far from the center.


71%

Rooms and bathrooms quite basic all around but did the trick for the money. Clean enough. Pretty thin walls with a glass door which didn't do much for keeping the light out and night! Location pretty easy to get to and from Fort and such like.


77%

Stayed in the private rooms the first time we stayed here and they were a lot better than the dorms, but not for the obvious reasons. The individual dorm rooms you cannot lock, there is one door that once you are through you can access any room on the floor. I did not like this at all. The shared bathrooms were ok, but the storage for clothes and towels in the showers would only work if you are super tall (above the shower head), which I am not.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our dorm room doors do not lock due to security reasons as this is a shared floor. However, the entrance to the dorm floors do have a security access system in order to maintain security. I assure you that security is one of our highest priorities and we ensure that all of our guests are safe with us. Your feedback on hanging space in the showers is noted and we promise to fix that. We hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future!

97%

Great budget hostel, clean rooms, decent sized lockers, good breakfast, own bedside lamp and plug socket, late night check in possible. Staff were helpful and friendly at all times.


63%

Very basic place to stay, basic good service. Very quiet, you don't really see other guests that much. Shower and toilet facilities are basic but the showers are a bit difficult to use, since there isn't really a good place to hang your stuff while you shower. Breakfast is basic but good. Dorm room was good and there is a good locker with a lock. The neighbourhood isn't that special but it's clean and safe. And of course you can always get a tuk tuk to go where ever you want.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us! We are very sorry about the lack of hanging space in the showers and we promise you that it will be fixed in the next few days! We are glad that you found our dorm rooms to be good and sufficient. Our communal lounge is a great place to meet fellow travelers and we hope that you get to visit us again on a busier day!

83%

very good and clean and friendly and helpful staff.... ;-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Clock Inn Colombo and hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future! Happy Travels!

57%

We booked a double room for one night, but we had to move to a dormitory because the room was very noisy due to planned working (in the middle of the night). It was impossible to sleep with drills and hammers on the wall. The manager refused to charge us the price of the dormitory in which we slept, instead he charged us the double room which we only used for about 2h. Really disappointing...

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are extremely sorry about the negative experience you had at Clock Inn Colombo. This was a overnight construction that was taking place in the neighboring building. We had absolutely no control over this situation even after sending several complaints and eventually getting the police involved. Once again, we sincerely apologize for this terrible experience. We hope that you had a great holiday in Sri Lanka and hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Colombo Hostels

Please give us your feedback