Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Clown and Bard

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 2067 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 2067 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jun 2017
8.6

Okay location, very good value for money, nice staff would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
9.7

Absolutely loved it. From the moment you walk in to the last minute of your stay, the staff makes you feel at home. Prompt reactions to any issue, great knowledge of the city and its offerings ... and funny as hell. As for the accommodation, it's very clean and comfortable. Even staying in a dorm type room, as I did, feels like a private suite. You can tell the staff is really looking after the place. Prices are more than satisfactory. Am definitely coming back to this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2017
6.9

no frills, but also nothing to complain about. perhaps I have stayed in places with nicer furniture, more cosy, a little warmer staff, etc. but, hey, we spent there just nights. and let's make it clear - we had all we needed for: having breakfast and dinner, and a good sleep. what should be noted it is the distance from the railway station, which was approx. 30 mins. apart from that - all was quite fine, even if not impressive. budget place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jun 2017
8.0

It look a little run down because the house is a bit old and the breakfast wasnt all that special but overall its a great place to stay with wonderfull staff, good beer and in a sort of good location, would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
9.7

Really loved our stay at the clown and bard, staff were really friendly and helpful, within walking distance to the city and train station. Super sweet cafe a couple of blocks over with GOOD coffee. Basic beds and facilities but what more do you need when travelling? Oh and the water pressure is amaaaazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jun 2017
7.7

Only one shower and toilet for over a dozen people to share. Beds not particularly comfortable. Bar downstairs nice for socialising. A bit of a walk from the centre all uphill

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jun 2017
9.1

We stayed in a private double room. Good location, close to a lot of bars and only a 20 minute walk from the town centre. All staff were excellent and so helpful! Would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2017
6.0

So much noise so late. Shut up the drunks in the hallways and lounges please.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
6th Jun 2017
6.0

First and foremost, rudest staff. My friend and I would ask the staff questions about what to do/where to go in town, and the majority of staff members would say "I dunno" or give one word answers. There are better hostels located closer to the town square (22 minute walk from the main area). Also - not social at all. I was here for 5 days and didn't see one person drinking a beer in the bar. If you come with friends and stay in private rooms, I'm sure this would be better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, We are sorry if one of our staff members were rude to you. We take pride in our staff which loves to talk and hang out with our guests. In regard to nothing happening in the hostel, we had a full hostel with around 100 people in the building who were hanging in the bar and also in our garden. To top that off we had a BBQ party organized during your stay on Saturday, which I'm sorry you missed. Best regards, Clown and Bard hostel team

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jun 2017
5.4

Old building, very noisy, odd smell in room, one guy peed on floor, loud noise 1.00-5.00, not a place for good sleep, bad beds. Overall pretty bad. Wi-fi was ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, We are sorry about the situation with another guest that peed on the floor in the dorm room you were in. After the situation we moved you to a different room and dealt with the guests that were a problem. Unfortunately some guests in the dorm rooms have no respect for other guests. We are sorry that because of this incident you resented your whole stay with us. Best regards, Clown and Bard hostel team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.