Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cocomama

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2,344 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2,344 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
Cocomama Located at Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, , Amsterdam.
Cocomama
Netherlands
Amsterdam Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam
86% 2344
52.3588154 4.8987436
Cocomama
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
15th Sep 2016
10.0

Cocomama is spot on. I can't wait to come back. It's the most chilled, friendly, authentic place. It has real staff, who are relatable, and from what I gather genuinely enjoy getting to know the guests and helping them out. P.S. Moe's alternative pub crawl was elite, thanks Moe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
4th Sep 2016
8.9

Had a great stay at Cocomama! All of the staff were super friendly and helpful, and the new common room/kitchen is so nice! The dorm was a bit smaller than I expected, a wee bit hard to move my giant bag around, but thats also my fault for shopping to much! Awesome over all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2016
7.4

Knew common area was under reno when I booked; most things were done by Day 2, but was told kitchen sink would be ready that day and there was still no water in kitchen when I left. Staff were friendly, but felt kinda detached. House cat was cool. Bathroom was ridiculously tiny (toilet partly under sink). Room and sleeping nook felt a little grungy. Bed too soft for me, but some might like that. Great location near Albert Cuypmarkt, tram, and a canal. Walking dist to many cool places.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
6.3

The pictures are misleading...the cocomama is an annex of the ecomama (15min away) which actually has a lounge/kitchen area. The cocomama kitchen area was apparently "under construction." I wish they'd made note of this before booking because one of the key things I look for in a hostel is a common area where guests are able to interact. There's no space for it at the cocomama. As for the room, I got a private room "the Farm" room which was very strangely adorned with amateur

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Aug 2016
7.7

Kitchen and common room still out of action when i was there which affects rating a bit. No compensation. I found it a nice walk into the city and the canals from here. Would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Aug 2016
7.4

Not bad hostel, just no common room. We only needed one night stay so didnt spend much time in there but good enough

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.3

Pretty cool place to stay. Filled with young vibrant people. Beds were SUPER comfy. Own private bathroom. I liked the location, close to supermarket, markets, museumplein. But not too close to the hussle. While we stayed there the kitchen was being renovated, so that's the only downfall for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Aug 2016
7.7

Great hostel in a good location. Will be an excellent choice once the common room and kitchen is open for use again. Staff were a great bunch of guys, super friendly. Shower was awesome. Security was excellent and the location was safe. Was a bit pricey especially as there was no common room but Amsterdam is expensive and a 5 euro refund was given. Would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
8.9

Our private room was gorgeous and really comfortable, the common room was under construction which we weren't aware of at the time of booking but we received a discount. The pub crawl and red light district tour was awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rodgers77533
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Aug 2016
6.6

Cool hostel, great staff, shame about the work going on in common room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.