Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cocomama

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
8.9

This hostel is very laid back. It's a much quieter atmosphere than the hostels downtown and near the Red Light District. The beds in the 6-person dorm have curtains for privacy, which I found very nice to create an individual space within a hostel. I would definitely recommend Cocomama for those who want to explore Amsterdam but aren't necessarily looking to party all the time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
6.0

Its good but nothing crazy to be excited about. The beding wasnt so clean. Tons of hairs all over, I assumed it was from average washing/drying. The toilet was sure leaking in the wall of our room and it was stinky a bit. Most of the staff member seemed very bored of all the tourists passing by. Finally, I would say the pictures provided on the Internet are "wow" but this place is "just ok".

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Frederic, thank you for taking the time to submit this review, we appreciate all feedback. We are sorry that you were not woowed but just OK. We take cleanliness very seriously and can assure you that we apply really high standards for our staff to follow. We'll keep an eye on it & hope you enjoyed a nice stay in Amsterdam. Safe travels during your future trips!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
10.0

We loved our stay here! The place is adorable and the staff were very friendly. We booked this trip last minute so we payed a little more than we usually do for a hostel, but we definitely got what we payed for! The curtains for the beds were great and the bathrooms were very nice. We also did the red light district tour through the hostel which was great! The tour was so informative and I felt so much more comfortable walking through with a tour guide. Definitely recommend staying at Cocomama!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
8.3

Good hostel, safe with good staff. Room was very cold even with the heat on, as the old windows let the air in. Had to sleep wih my jacket on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Mathieu, thank you for taking the time to share with us, we really appreciate it. I am sorry to hear you were cold, ask for an extra duvet next time around, our team would be happy to assist! Thx for the shout out to the staff, really appreciate it. Hope to see you back soon.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
10.0

Really really cool private rooms. Will return, the best staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the shout out to our staff Jake, really appreciate it. See you around!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
10.0

Two of my friends and I stayed here for our weekend holiday to Amsterdam, and it was one of the best hostel experiences I've ever had. The location is amazing and all the main sights are an easy walk away. All the staff was really friendly, and the hostel accommodations themselves are gorgeous, cozy, and welcoming, as well as super functional. Great programming put on as well, we joined for drinks night and the Red Light District tour. Definitely recommend if you're looking to visit Amsterdam.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Sarah, thanks so much for your great feedback and taking a moment to submit a note here. We're super happy to hear you had such an amazing stay & can't wait to have you back. Definitely let us know when future travels bring you to Amsterdam. Take care.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Feb 2017
6.9

Cocomama was ideally located, only 10 mins walk from rembrandt square with easy access to central station via tram. The staff were lovely and joop was a delight making the hostel very homely. My only negative was our room. Advertised as a deluxe double, the bedding was very old and worn making it quite an uncomfortable 2 nights. The bed frame was very dirty and marked making us question the overall cleanliness. The online photos beared no resemblance to our room which was quite disappointing.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Leah, thank you for taking the time to submit this review, we appreciate your feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed our location & experienced Cocomama to be very homely. We are sorry to hear that the bedding looked old. You can be assured we have high standards in place when it comes to cleanliness so we'll definitely look into this. Thanks for the great note about our staff, appreciate it! Hope to have the pleasure though of seeing you again during your next visit to Amstedam. Take care.

10th Feb 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel. Love the way they do things. Great staff. Location was good. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yeeay! Thanks so much for the thumbs up Andrew! See you around.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
10.0

This hostel was very friendly and welcoming from the start. The common room was really nice for meeting people and getting a family-like atmosphere. Wish I had more time in Amsterdam to enjoy the planned events put on by the hostel. No complaints at all and would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Happy to read you've enjoyed our family-like atmosphere. Stay a bit longer next time around & we'll make sure you adventure the city like a local. Looking forward to having you back with us!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
9.4

Beautifully decorated, chilled out hostel. Great kitchen/common area with all the facilities you could need. Charging points in the common area, big back garden, Very comfortable beds. A bit more expensive than the alternatives, but you get what you pay for. Also the staff were cool and helpful, and they hold social activities every night for the guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your awesome review and shout out to our staff!! Pretty cool of you to mention them. Looking forward to having you back soon!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.