X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Coffee Palace Reviews

24 Grey Street, St. Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

61%

Rating
59 Total Reviews
  • 53%Value For Money
  • 63%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 48%Cleanliness
  • 53%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

29%

Toilets were blocked for are full stay. Showers well if you would call them that only one working on are floor. And not in a fit state to use!!! 8 bed dorm with 1socket! Not a very good place to say at all...

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There! Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a positive stay at the Coffee Palace. We are under huge renovations at the moment to fix up this beautiful old building. Bathrooms are next on the list! Hopefully next time you are back in sunny St Kilda, you can come check out our new improved hostel. Love the Coffee Crew!

26%

The worst hostel ever!!! Rooms and bathrooms are dirty, the whole place stinks and the staff is incompentent (took them 20 mins to do the check-in)!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you for the review. We have a brand new housekeeping manager who is going to make sure the Coffee Palace is gleaming to the best of it's ability. We do need to train new reception staff from time to time. Thank you for your patience while they are learning. Love the Coffee Crew!

26%

staff , cleanliness, value for money ( very expensive, do no apply member reductions, ) never seen a so bad hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us at the Coffee Palace. Our rates sometimes go up on the weekends for big events in St Kilda and Melbourne. I can see that you stayed over one of these weekends. I hope you can come back and stay with again soon so you can see all the improvements that we've made! Love from the Coffee Crew!

43%

Two kettles in the kitchen: neither work. Showers: not enough of them. Dirty. Water temp changes from 5 degrees to 95 degrees in seconds. Laundry: closed from 6am til 6pm. Ridiculous. Staff: I extended for 2 extra nights as had limited choice elsewhere. When I came to check in was told no reservation had been made. Thankfully there was a spare bed. Location: good for access to st Kilda but on a street full of druggies, prostitutes and alcoholics.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There! Thank you for your review! We are in the middle of huge renovations and bathrooms and kitchen are top of the list! We now have industrial washers and dryers so laundry is available to guests 24/7. Hope that you can come back to St Kilda soon and check out our improvements. Love the Coffee Crew!

66%

Room 5 for weed

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a great time here. Room was brand new and spotless, staff were awesome (Kim at the travel desk was great!) Free drinks and food on occasion, wifi is a bit iffy but everything else was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review! Kim was very happy with your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Love The Coffee Crew!

57%

Stayed in 3 Hostels in Melbourne over 5night, and out of the three this was last and paid more than others because its Saturday. In my room only to sleep for about 5hrs but checked out the facilities. Check in/Checkout was quick and friendly for me but noticed the less experience staff rolling her eyes when asked about service they can't provide at that time (Laundry). Inspected kitchen and eating area and feels dirty. No Lockers but have luggage area. Location is good. Currently Renovating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There! Thank you for your review! The Saturday you stayed was over whitenight so accommodation was a bit more expensive. We now have industrial washers and dryers so laundry is available to all guests 24/7. We will have brand new bathrooms and kitchen very soon. Watch this space! Hope you can come back and check it out! Love the Coffee Crew!

54%

A lot of work has to be done and actually, they started already. room: fair, 6 beds and one plug.. clean linen: not perfectly clean kitchen: dark, a bit dirty, taps continuously dripping leaving room: old armchairs and sofas, a bit melancholic toilettes: horrible at the 1st floor, fair enough at the 2nd staff: ok position: cool value for money: bad! I paid 45AUD because of the whitenight but definitely too much. I hope they are all being use for the renewing.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There! Thanks heaps for your helpful review! We have started improvements on all parts of the hostel. Every room will have a socket for each bed. All bathrooms and kitchen are getting a complete re-fit. New sofas have already been delivered. Hope to see you in St Kilda again soon so you can see our sexy new building. Love the Coffee Crew!

34%

Very poor facilities here. Didnt even have the basics. No sink in the toilet to wash your hands. Most toilets and showers were out of order. Long queues for toilet. Bunk beds had no ladder. So you are stepping on other people's bed trying to get to your bed. Worst hostel I've been to in Australia

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We are right in the middle of renovating this beautiful old building and bathrooms are next on the list. Thank you for your feedback on the bunks, we will look into fixing this problem. Love the Coffee Crew!

49%

Nothing seems to be working properly. Kitchen is not really clean, toilet not flushing, one of the two showers out of order, other shower is full of water constantly. Definetly not worth the money

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We are right in the middle of renovating this beautiful old building and bathrooms are next on the list. You will see all the bathrooms as beautiful as our white tiled second floor bathroom on your return to St Kilda. Love the Coffee Crew!

91%

We had a great stay! There were a lot of renovations going on during our stay but the free BBQ and pub crawls were pretty fun. Staff were friendly and welcoming, and the location was great, right near the beach and famous Acland Street. Because of all the renovations and change, there were new mattresses and linen. We met so many wonderful people too mostly everyone was very friendly and great fun. The travel store inside was especially helpful. We'll be back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thanks for your great review! See you soon in The Coffee Palace.

60%

Friendly staff upon arrival, the hostel was being renovated as we arrived so our room had no carpets unfortunately. The room also had no air con which meant it wasnt very comfortable to sleep in and the beds were quite uncomfortable too. The location is great right in the centre of st kilda and close to shops and tram stops.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! The new carpets are now down and looking pretty sexy. Every bed now has a brand new big fluffy pillow. Air con is also coming soon so expect to see a brand new Coffee Palace when you return to St Kilda! Love from the Coffee Crew!

77%

Wi-fi didn't work when we got there and we were asked to buy a card for $4 to access the paid wi-fi. Also, nowhere in the reservation confirmation were we told that we needed to secure a deposit by credit card and to our surprise, we found out only once we got there that we needed it, otherwise we couldn't get a room!! Otherwise it was a good place in a good location. No lockers however, which is key for a hostel to have to secure belongings.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We don't offer free wifi just yet (watch this space) Holding credit card details is pretty standard in any hostel or hotel. We hold them in place of key deposits! This makes the check in process a bit quicker. Hope to see you back in sunny St Kilda soon! Love from the Coffee Crew!

37%

One of the worst hostels I've stayed in for a while. No lockers at all and staff reluctant to put things in office safe saying if they do it can only be taken out upon check out. Filthy shower rooms and only 2 showers on each level so a half hour wait was likely very day. One of the two showers had no light so it was either shower in the dark or with the door open. Tiny kitchen with only a couple of hobs on all jammed together in the corner. Dirty and falling down building. Don't stay here.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There! Thanks so much for your review! We are trying really hard to renovate this beautiful heritage listed building! We are putting in all brand new facilities including all new bathrooms and kitchen (including an oven)! We hope you can get back to visit when all our sexy new improvements are finished! Love the Coffee Crew!

63%

Better than expected for a budget option. Rooms are decent with good beds & power points. Great beach location. Good spot if you want to party but terrible if you want sleep. Simple things like kitchen tea towels, basic repairs (repair the kitchen sink, 2nd floor toilets & shower), and WIFI update would all go a long way. WIFI was terrible and barely worked. Place & staff could use more atmosphere and energy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great review! We're all over these issues that you've mentioned and working on them 7 days a week. The power points that you mentioned are part of that improvement list. A power point for every bed in the room! Hope to see you in St Kilda again soon! Love from the Coffee Crew!

49%

With tha price I payed I was excpecting something else, Coffee Palace was one of the worst hostel I have stayed. Many toilets/bathrooms were out of order, kitchen was disgusting and rooms could have been cleaner. I stayed one week and during all that time WIFI was NOT working. However location is pretty good (near tram to city centre, restaurants, beach and night life),staff is nice and they have free rice. They are doing some renovating at this moment so hopefully this place gets better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for the review! We're working on fixing all the issues that you have mentioned in your review. The first project is all new bathrooms! Watch this space! Hope to see you in St Kilda Soon! Love from the Coffee Crew!

37%

Hostel is understaffed so there is a never-ending line to the reception. When it's finally your turn, the staff just answer the phone or deal with some long-staying guests who cut the line. A 6 bed dorm has one tiny fan! The wifi is basically nonexistent, has to be rebooted like every 10 minutes, and it's not done unless you go ask the staff (after waiting 20min in the line). There's no soap in the toilets and luggage room is not looked after, anyone can get the key and take anything from there.

  • 20th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We've just employed a new team of reception staff since your stay and installed a new check in terminal to our front desk thanks to feedback like this. Cheers! Our luggage room as been revamped and secured and our wifi strengthened. Hope to see you back in St Kilda soon! Love from the Coffee Crew!

91%

Great atmosphere, probably the best one I've eaperienced in a hostel, like a big family, with many long termer. Is in renovation, and it's starting to look better!

  • 13th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There! Thank you for your awesome review. We hope to see you back in The Coffee Palace soon. Love the Coffee Crew!

57%

Location and atmosphere are really good. The hostel itself is just really old and crappy. Kitchen was closed for 2 days, bathrooms are horrible and the beds are crappy. Staff is very onprofessional when it comes to complains. Free pubcrawl was fun!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Our pub crawl leader was stoked when we told him that you enjoyed yourself. Our kitchen was out for 2 days due to a blocked pipe that 3 different teams of plumbers had to nut out. Believe me, we were as upset about this as you were. We did offer free meals to the guests to compensate for the closure. We're renovating at the moment so expect to see a brand new Coffee Palace when you return to St Kilda! Love from the Coffee Crew!

100%

Great hostel! Had a really friendly atmosphere which was great as I'm travelling on my own. Spent my whole stay in melbourne there as it also had a good location. Reception staff were especially helpful for someone new to the area. Would recommend.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thanks heaps for the great review! Love from the Coffee Crew

« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback