X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Coffee Palace Reviews

24 Grey Street, St. Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
46 Total Reviews
  • 53%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 49%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Stayed in 3 Hostels in Melbourne over 5night, and out of the three this was last and paid more than others because its Saturday. In my room only to sleep for about 5hrs but checked out the facilities. Check in/Checkout was quick and friendly for me but noticed the less experience staff rolling her eyes when asked about service they can't provide at that time (Laundry). Inspected kitchen and eating area and feels dirty. No Lockers but have luggage area. Location is good. Currently Renovating.


54%

A lot of work has to be done and actually, they started already. room: fair, 6 beds and one plug.. clean linen: not perfectly clean kitchen: dark, a bit dirty, taps continuously dripping leaving room: old armchairs and sofas, a bit melancholic toilettes: horrible at the 1st floor, fair enough at the 2nd staff: ok position: cool value for money: bad! I paid 45AUD because of the whitenight but definitely too much. I hope they are all being use for the renewing.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Very poor facilities here. Didnt even have the basics. No sink in the toilet to wash your hands. Most toilets and showers were out of order. Long queues for toilet. Bunk beds had no ladder. So you are stepping on other people's bed trying to get to your bed. Worst hostel I've been to in Australia


49%

Nothing seems to be working properly. Kitchen is not really clean, toilet not flushing, one of the two showers out of order, other shower is full of water constantly. Definetly not worth the money

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a great stay! There were a lot of renovations going on during our stay but the free BBQ and pub crawls were pretty fun. Staff were friendly and welcoming, and the location was great, right near the beach and famous Acland Street. Because of all the renovations and change, there were new mattresses and linen. We met so many wonderful people too mostly everyone was very friendly and great fun. The travel store inside was especially helpful. We'll be back!


60%

Friendly staff upon arrival, the hostel was being renovated as we arrived so our room had no carpets unfortunately. The room also had no air con which meant it wasnt very comfortable to sleep in and the beds were quite uncomfortable too. The location is great right in the centre of st kilda and close to shops and tram stops.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

One of the worst hostels I've stayed in for a while. No lockers at all and staff reluctant to put things in office safe saying if they do it can only be taken out upon check out. Filthy shower rooms and only 2 showers on each level so a half hour wait was likely very day. One of the two showers had no light so it was either shower in the dark or with the door open. Tiny kitchen with only a couple of hobs on all jammed together in the corner. Dirty and falling down building. Don't stay here.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Better than expected for a budget option. Rooms are decent with good beds & power points. Great beach location. Good spot if you want to party but terrible if you want sleep. Simple things like kitchen tea towels, basic repairs (repair the kitchen sink, 2nd floor toilets & shower), and WIFI update would all go a long way. WIFI was terrible and barely worked. Place & staff could use more atmosphere and energy.


49%

With tha price I payed I was excpecting something else, Coffee Palace was one of the worst hostel I have stayed. Many toilets/bathrooms were out of order, kitchen was disgusting and rooms could have been cleaner. I stayed one week and during all that time WIFI was NOT working. However location is pretty good (near tram to city centre, restaurants, beach and night life),staff is nice and they have free rice. They are doing some renovating at this moment so hopefully this place gets better.


37%

Hostel is understaffed so there is a never-ending line to the reception. When it's finally your turn, the staff just answer the phone or deal with some long-staying guests who cut the line. A 6 bed dorm has one tiny fan! The wifi is basically nonexistent, has to be rebooted like every 10 minutes, and it's not done unless you go ask the staff (after waiting 20min in the line). There's no soap in the toilets and luggage room is not looked after, anyone can get the key and take anything from there.

  • 20th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great atmosphere, probably the best one I've eaperienced in a hostel, like a big family, with many long termer. Is in renovation, and it's starting to look better!

  • 13th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Location and atmosphere are really good. The hostel itself is just really old and crappy. Kitchen was closed for 2 days, bathrooms are horrible and the beds are crappy. Staff is very onprofessional when it comes to complains. Free pubcrawl was fun!


100%

Great hostel! Had a really friendly atmosphere which was great as I'm travelling on my own. Spent my whole stay in melbourne there as it also had a good location. Reception staff were especially helpful for someone new to the area. Would recommend.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Staff were volatile. A member of staff stumbled in drunk, knocked over a visitors Mac Pc and dented it. Instead of apologising, she abused everyone in the room and tried to forcibly remove people from the common room. Weird place. Apart from this, it's really dirty and caters for 18/19 year olds. If you are a little older then it's probably not the right place

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! We learnt all about this the next day. This particular person wasn't a member of staff and has since been asked to leave. We take these sorts of incidents very seriously. We have cleaners working around the clock to make sure the joint is spick and span. The building is 120 years old and sometimes gives the appearance of unclean. We'd be stoked if you came back through St Kilda and stayed with us. Love from Coffee Crew!

29%

worst hostel experience ever. the room had no electricity during our entire stay. the no refund policy is to protect them from losing business since we would have left immediately had we not already paid and were on a budget. construction going on with faulty wiring all around. dirty showers that dripped and flooded the floors. worst ever


89%

Great hostel with everything you need.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! Love from the Coffee Crew!

57%

Wouldn't be in a hurry to stay again. Pretty run down and not very clean.


49%

The hostel was disgracefully unclean, I had no clean bedding for when I arrived so I had to personally ask for them to change the bedding for me to sleep in. The bathroom in the bedroom was dirty and looked like it had never been cleaned. The hostel only had stairs, which was difficult for people with suitcase

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This place is a bit run down but they seem to be upgrading. All the linen and mattresses are new and there's some fresh paint on most wall. There's a rooftop where most of the long term crew hang out. It can get a bit rowdy at times, i wouldn't want to be staying in a room next to that. My room was on the ground floor, good because it got the free wifi signal. Free meals at night were pretty good with something different every night. Coming back to stay in December. Great location near the beach

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

They raised the price over the weekend to 40$/night, but obviously not for all guests. Other girls in the same room paid the normal price, which I found out later, but they wouldn't give me any money back. WIFI was not working. You could ask them to reset the internet box, then it was working for about 5 minutes. Building is very old and the kitchen gets disgusting in the evening because the long termers living there never wash there dishes. Free coffee was the only positive thing there!


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback