X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne Reviews

137-139 Johnston Street, Collingwood, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
542 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

great location. great atmosphere, amazing people, cool cozy place. 10 bed room is chaotic and dirty with poor ventilation. kitchen and living area and backyard are messy and a bit dirty and you need to wash other people's dish if you need them. toilets are clean but shower are as clean. overall it's a cool place.


86%

Staying at collingwood backpackers was a great way to start my trip around Australia. The people, the atmosphere and the location made me feel instantly comfortable. Some of the reviews state that it's only a good hostel for long term staying and I get where this is coming from but I have stayed only for 8 nights and they were 8 great ones :)

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

A place to enjoy Melbourne from. Located in the most vibrant district - Collingwood/Fitzroy. Great cafe culture & music bars, as well as all facilities & Supermarkets within a stones throw. Collingwood Accomodation Hostel is a place to come and live for a while. Great vibe. Make friends of others doing the same, find work (possibly with help of hostel & other residents) and party with all. Highly recommended vibe.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Free wifi, great atmosphere and perfect location in between CBD and Brunswick. Need I say more.


97%

You will meet many amazing, friendly people here! A very relaxed place in a great location.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

The owner never gave a receipt either by e mail nor on hand even if he was asked many times.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Everybody was very friendly and it's a great location only 15-20 minutes walk from Abbotsford lentil as anything ... I really enjoyed my stay :)

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel great people relaxed atmosphere unfortunately just passing through but will stay again if i get the opportunity

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel like a home, atmosphere is great very good location and staff great and can't fault it!!!

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed here for 2 weeks after moving from another hostek and would definitly have stayed longer. Such a laid back place,everyone including Paul is so friendly and welcoming. In such a good area for bars and restaurants as well as getting into the city. Ideal place to come if you want to meet people.

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Collinwgood Accommodation is a wonderful place to stay at if you want a relaxed place to stay in a very nice area. The staff is great and the atmosphere is always nice. It's located very close to Lentils, an amazing pay at will vegetarian restaurant and close to supermarkets, stores and bars without being as noisy as the CBD. The other guests are always respectful of common areas and rooms. Definitely a nice place to stay at

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Good location with a lot of bars and a great atmosphere. The people are very lovely and there is a good balance between long term stayers and new people. It feels more like living in a shared house with some friends than living in a hostel! It's definitely my favorite hostel so far in Australia!

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Super chilled out hostel, laid back staff, extremely accommodating owner, it's a great intro into the city.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Has been my favourite hostel, the location is perfect. Loads of coffee shops and bars within 5 min walk and a 5 min tram to cbd. The hostel was clean, most people here were long term travellers and it made an amazing atmosphere. Internet is good and staff are relaxed and so accommodating. Would recommend this hostel to anyone

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice place to stay at. Many guests have stayed there for a longer time so it feels like coming to a house share. I would live there again, definitely.


100%

Brilliant hostel, atmosphere is great, good facilities

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Dirtiest dorm I ever stayed in, good location

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place, a few long term stayers there so had a really nice atmosphere as everyone knew each other. Lovely rustic building and area is a good location.


91%

Brilliant little hostel in a fabulous location! Feels more like a house share than any hostel I've stayed at which is great! Everyone is so lovely


91%

Great hostel in a brilliant location close to the city. Staff are lovely and helpful. Good vibes in the place and so easy to settle in.




View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback