X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne Reviews

137-139 Johnston Street, Collingwood, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
474 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Great location, the owner is a nice guy ready to help out.


97%

The Collingwood Backpackers; an eclectic mix of international backpackers is a backpackers that sets the standards of what should be expected of hostels in Melbourne. Minutes walk away from the ever popular streets of Brunswick and Smith, it provides plenty of opportunities for travelers like myself. Partial critiques, it attracts those who wish to – and have an open-mind upon arrival – of experiencing the Australian culture with a laid back environment amongst a world-class hospitality scene.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Very chill hostel, most people here are living here and working around this area so it's not roudy at night and you get to sleep!

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Fairly good location. While the hostel was quite messy during my stay it wasn't dirty. Bathrooms were spotless. Very social environment. Cool cat. Beds were comfy.


54%

Stay at this hostel if you're looking for a big shared house with a family feel where you can smoke indoors. Do NOT stay at this hostel if you're looking for somewhere with conventional hostel services, such as a 24hour reception, good standard of hygiene etc.


71%

The staff were very friendly, as were the other guests. Most people were staying here long term rather than a short city stop. I chose this place because the reviews for the hostels in the CBD said you cant get any sleep because of noise, but i struggled to sleep here sometimes due to other guests talking and playing music in the courtyard until late at night.


89%

forget all the overpriced big name hostel backpacker factories in the CBD because collingwood backpackers is the place to be. The the most chilled out entrepreneur owner will put a smile on your face and he treats his guest like one big roving family. Situated in a great part of collingwood and close to all trams and trains to and from the city. Fantastic old historic 1800's ex bakery oozing with character. Perfect place to stay if you want to meet well travelled, friendly people who enjoy life


100%

I recommend this hostel for : Great location , relaxing atmosphere and nice people, especially the owner a very interesting and nice!

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I loved staying at Collingwood Backpackers, it's a really nice little hostel and it feels more like a shared house than an actual hostel. The people are very friendly and once you get to know all of them it feels like a big family. The building is well used and not the newest anymore, but the atmosphere is great! The location is super convenient- second hand shops everywhere, short walk to 'Lentil as anything' (all you can eat/pay what you want) and only 15 min tram ride to the city center.

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

It was very comfortable here Paul is kind and trustful person, hostel mates as well I felt like a family with them Also here has two cats and they are very friendly cats so you would play with them if you like cats

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place to meet people, very friendly atmosphere :)


100%

Collingwood backpackers is perfect for the traveller who wishes to experience Melbourne and find themselves in a comfortable and friendly hostel environment. The people are awesome and Paul (the manager) is very helpful at giving insider tips from a locals perspective. Beds are comfy and theres a real sense of community at Collingwood backpackers, with a very laid back and easy approach. Right on :-) would definitely recommend to others.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very welcoming and homely - which being on the other side of the world to home is something to really appreciate! Full of easy going travellers, everyone's respectful of each other and there's always a smile and a friendly chat to be had in every room. I must admit I've been spoilt with newer places with nicer facilities of late, but it has everything you could need. I do love the buildings though, really nice set-up for group get togethers and you can still find some privacy - hurrah!


91%

Great hostel, good mix of newbies and longtermers, all of them very welcoming and friendly. Internet is pretty fast for a hostel and best of all its free. Location is also very good. Certainly worth a visit.

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Staff was drunk when I checked in, area is really old and dodgy, cat hair everywhere and broken bathrooms. All this for 29$ a night

Owner Comment (Hide)
If you arrive at midnight on a Friday night (as you did0 at any Backpackers expect the guests to be drinking, before they go out into the old and "dodgy" area that is listed as one of Melbourne's best for entertainment..The staff that waited until midnight for you were not drunk as you allege nor were the bathrooms broken. Your review is somewhat unfair especially for our cats.

100%

Loved it here! All staff are really friendly. Cleaned regularly. The guy who owns the hostel is really nice too. Loads of space for your stuff in the rooms. Loads of local pubs and bars. Great transport links to the city (train,bus,tram) you could even walk if you wanted. While I was staying here I was working in a special needs school. Everyone was really good with the noise when I said I had to be up early. Would defiantly recommend. Great atmosphere and great people.

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Its a great hostel, friendly staff and good location. I will be staying again soon. This place feels like home from home.

  • 12th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

As bohemian as the district, the hostel lives up to being "laid back and easy going". Some give it praise while others might find it too bohemian. Cleaning a bit neglected. Comfortable beds. Some of the patrons smoke indoors (permission not known). There are many long-termers, others return from time to time. No one bothers your stuff. Friendly cat for pet lovers. Easy tram ride to CBD (or 30 min walk), computers available (Windows 7, Office 2010), free WiFi.


100%

Great hostel. Has lots of common areas to chill out, the location is great and the beds are comfy. Lots of long term stays there so its a good place to meet people if you are planning on working in Australia.


69%

Its an "OK"-Place for a night or two. The male dorm downstairs is a mess and so is the kitchen.. The owner seems quite helpfull but this hostel definatly needs some renovation...


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback