Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 666 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 666 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jan 2017
9.7

Very good hostel and very good location. The people can be a little messy and leave everything on the floor, but if you don't care about other people's mess and keep your things organised it's perfect! The facilities are well clean and the staff is very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
8.0

Quirky working hostel in a happening area. Good Wifi, tons of cafes and Coles/woolies near by. Everyone is welcoming and respectful of each other. Decently clean facilities and nice common areas/ outdoor courtyard. Easy to socialise and also able to have your own space as well. Lots of mirrors and plugs in the female dorms which is a pleasant surprise! Owner and accompanying hostel cats are pretty chill. Overall would highly recommend, can't beat the price!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
9.4

This is like no other hostel I have stayed in! I struggled to find accommodation in Melbourne where I was happy to settle in long term until I came here. The vibe is not like a hostel, it is like a family. Most people who stay here struggle to leave, and the owner trusts everyone to look after the place. The facilities are enough for what any backpacker would need, and much better than many other hostels in the area. Overall, I would recommend for anyone looking for a home away from home! ☺️💙

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Nov 2016
10.0

Collingwood Accom is my home away from home in Australia. The people you meet traveling make your experience and the people at Collingwood Accom are no exception! It's definitely best for long termers who are looking for a backpacker family to join.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2016
9.4

If you want a hostel where you feel at home, Collingwood Backpackers is the place to go to!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Sep 2016
4.6

ALL REVIEWS FOR THIS HOSTEL SEEM TO BE FAKE. Read this for the truth. Doors don't lock (they open with a bit of wind). All long term stayers which are fine but not half as sociable as the reviews make out. Hostel is absolutely filthy, it's disgusting!!! Cat hairs everywhere, filthy floors and mice in the kitchen and fridge!!! Wifi slow, very noisy until 2am (ish) hostel owner had advice but very negative attitude to Melbourne and didn't make you feel welcome. Location is okay but not great.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I agree many of the reviews seem fake but fortunately they are only honest opinions of other guests. Remember an opinion is a view or judgement formed about something not necessarily based on fact or knowledge. In actual fact the door locks work the hostel is clean and no mice due to our loved cats. Guests up at 2am on a Saturday night is reasonable. All I said about Melbourne is that you can see it as a tourist in the 3 days that you stayed.

28th Sep 2016
10.0

This place is much more like a home than a hostel. I only left because I found a house, and was still sad to leave. There's an amazing group of people there, and lots come back to hang after they leave. Most everyone is staying longer term, so while that may not be for everyone, you'd have to try to not get involved in the group. Paul and the cats rock too. If you want a swanky hostel with all the amenities this one isn't for you, but if you want chill, come here. Oh and good free wifi!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
8.3

I loved the atmosphere the hostel brought. People were amazing. Very friendly. If youre not to picky about location. I recommend this hostel. Especially if you love meeting new people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Sep 2016
10.0

Collingwood Backpackers is more like a house share than a hostel, with most guests staying long term, therefore perfect for anyone who wants to live and work in Melbourne for a while. Really friendly atmosphere with communal areas to socialise as well as plenty of space and quiet if you want to chill on your own. Super fast wifi, perfect for streaming movies in the comfy beds. Paul the owner is really lovely and helpful and has given us a lot of useful advice. Overall a great place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
8.9

Older hostel, could use a bit of updating...but don't let that sway you. This place makes up for anything it lacks in pure charm & atmosphere. No hostel family could come close to this one. Lots of long termers, but they are the most welcoming and beautiful group of people I have ever met and I miss them every day. There is always something going on here, whether it be parties, movies nights, or adventuring. You won't find a better home. My heart misses the people/place, more than anything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.