X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne Reviews

137-139 Johnston Street, Collingwood, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
529 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Collinwgood Accommodation is a wonderful place to stay at if you want a relaxed place to stay in a very nice area. The staff is great and the atmosphere is always nice. It's located very close to Lentils, an amazing pay at will vegetarian restaurant and close to supermarkets, stores and bars without being as noisy as the CBD. The other guests are always respectful of common areas and rooms. Definitely a nice place to stay at

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Good location with a lot of bars and a great atmosphere. The people are very lovely and there is a good balance between long term stayers and new people. It feels more like living in a shared house with some friends than living in a hostel! It's definitely my favorite hostel so far in Australia!

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Super chilled out hostel, laid back staff, extremely accommodating owner, it's a great intro into the city.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice place to stay at. Many guests have stayed there for a longer time so it feels like coming to a house share. I would live there again, definitely.


100%

Brilliant hostel, atmosphere is great, good facilities

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Dirtiest dorm I ever stayed in, good location

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place, a few long term stayers there so had a really nice atmosphere as everyone knew each other. Lovely rustic building and area is a good location.


91%

Brilliant little hostel in a fabulous location! Feels more like a house share than any hostel I've stayed at which is great! Everyone is so lovely


91%

Great hostel in a brilliant location close to the city. Staff are lovely and helpful. Good vibes in the place and so easy to settle in.

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Collingwood really made my move to Melbourne something special. I came here alone looking for a place to stay while I found work. I'm happy to say I'm still here a month later with no plans to move out anytime soon. The people here quickly became my family and I can't understand the reviews here complaining about Paul because he's The best landlord. The cats are a nice touch that make the place feel like home and the free wifi is a definite plus. I'm glad to be able to call Collingwood my home!

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazing atmosphere and a great place to get your bearings in Melbourne! Location is perfect!

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I really liked the location, collingwood has excellent bars, cafes and restaurants. The tram line is a 5 minute walk away and takes you right into the heart of the CBD. The hostel is comfortable, but the people who are staying here make the place, everyone is very friendly. It's a proper backpackers so don't expect a Hilton hotel!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel is a great environment and everyone is friendly and welcoming to newbies by the long-term tenants. The owner is working on renovations and the showers are new, hot & cleaned daily. The common rooms are often occupied & chill, lots of opportunity to make new friends! There's always something to go do & someone who would love to go with you. Close to shops, restaurants, grocery, bars, pharmacy, and major transit. WiFi is spotty, but probably because so many people connecting & resetting


80%

Very relaxed here. Felt like I was back at uni staying over a friend's place.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location and friendly staff and boarders.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel is really good. Great staff, atmosphere, vibe and feeling. Located in Collingwood with alot of cafes, restaurant, small boutiques and streetart where you will get the best out of Melbourne. It´s a very relaxed and and sociable hostel with people that stay both short and longterm. Beautiful people and more of a family/home feeling hostel! Highly recommended!


91%

A solid hostel with a very relaxed vibe. A good place to go for a longer stay. Most residents are there long term and working so it has more of a shared house feel. Don't expect luxury or massive cooking space and you won't be disappointed. Do expect friendly people, a comfy living room and free internet. A place which provides a more homely, relaxed and fun place to stay and explore a cool part of the city, rather than the slightly soulless other hostels which are only after your money.


100%

Love staying here! We originally planned on staying 2 nights but have ended up staying for over 3 weeks so far. Although it's listed as a hostel it has a more homely feel where we've met many other travellers who have also loved their stay. The owner is really friendly and up for a chat giving advice on where to go and what to do in and around Melbourne. The facilities are great... new showers and a big kitchen and lounge area

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel really does have it all; great location, great atmosphere, and great people. Most of the travelers here are staying long term which makes it feel like a big family home, and everybody is so friendly and inclusive. Whether you want to check out the quirky vintage shops and cafes in the surrounding area, go to the nearby beaches or head into the CBD, there will always be someone around who's up for it. Sad to be leaving this place as it was a great first stop in Australia!!

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was my first stop in Australia and initially I intended to only stay for a week in Melbourne then move on. However, I like the hostel and the area so much that I'm still there now and not planning on leaving any time soon. It's a really fun hostel in a great neighbourhood with lots of friendly short and long term guests staying here. Very social, very chilled, would definitely recommend to anyone who likes a cool, relaxed place to stay.


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback