Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 653 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 653 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.6
Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne Located at 137-139 Johnston Street, Collingwood, Melbourne.
Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3066 137-139 Johnston Street, Collingwood
81% 653
-37.7996286 144.9894583
Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Nov 2016
10.0

Collingwood Accom is my home away from home in Australia. The people you meet traveling make your experience and the people at Collingwood Accom are no exception! It's definitely best for long termers who are looking for a backpacker family to join.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2016
9.4

If you want a hostel where you feel at home, Collingwood Backpackers is the place to go to!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Sep 2016
4.6

ALL REVIEWS FOR THIS HOSTEL SEEM TO BE FAKE. Read this for the truth. Doors don't lock (they open with a bit of wind). All long term stayers which are fine but not half as sociable as the reviews make out. Hostel is absolutely filthy, it's disgusting!!! Cat hairs everywhere, filthy floors and mice in the kitchen and fridge!!! Wifi slow, very noisy until 2am (ish) hostel owner had advice but very negative attitude to Melbourne and didn't make you feel welcome. Location is okay but not great.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I agree many of the reviews seem fake but fortunately they are only honest opinions of other guests. Remember an opinion is a view or judgement formed about something not necessarily based on fact or knowledge. In actual fact the door locks work the hostel is clean and no mice due to our loved cats. Guests up at 2am on a Saturday night is reasonable. All I said about Melbourne is that you can see it as a tourist in the 3 days that you stayed.

28th Sep 2016
10.0

This place is much more like a home than a hostel. I only left because I found a house, and was still sad to leave. There's an amazing group of people there, and lots come back to hang after they leave. Most everyone is staying longer term, so while that may not be for everyone, you'd have to try to not get involved in the group. Paul and the cats rock too. If you want a swanky hostel with all the amenities this one isn't for you, but if you want chill, come here. Oh and good free wifi!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
8.3

I loved the atmosphere the hostel brought. People were amazing. Very friendly. If youre not to picky about location. I recommend this hostel. Especially if you love meeting new people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Sep 2016
10.0

Collingwood Backpackers is more like a house share than a hostel, with most guests staying long term, therefore perfect for anyone who wants to live and work in Melbourne for a while. Really friendly atmosphere with communal areas to socialise as well as plenty of space and quiet if you want to chill on your own. Super fast wifi, perfect for streaming movies in the comfy beds. Paul the owner is really lovely and helpful and has given us a lot of useful advice. Overall a great place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
8.9

Older hostel, could use a bit of updating...but don't let that sway you. This place makes up for anything it lacks in pure charm & atmosphere. No hostel family could come close to this one. Lots of long termers, but they are the most welcoming and beautiful group of people I have ever met and I miss them every day. There is always something going on here, whether it be parties, movies nights, or adventuring. You won't find a better home. My heart misses the people/place, more than anything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
10.0

Collingwood Backpackpackers is my favorite Hostel in Melbourne. (I hopped around many hostels in Melbourne to check every area.) fantastic atmosphere guests & staff are like a big family brilliant location, close to Fitzroy, great shops, restaurants & nightlife Free & unlimited wifi/internet (essential nowadays, other hostels always try to make some extra dollars with this) entertainment: TVs, game consoles, PCs Thanks for the great time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
10.0

Smaller hostel with some of the friendliest and open-hearted bunch of people I've met. Mostly long-termers who welcome you right away and make you feel at home (even though I only stayed a few nights). I left feeling like I've known them for quite some time! Towels provided and free wifi make for great value! Not your typical in/out hostel experience. Located in an artsy and hipster neighborhood. Paul the owner is laid back and holds great conversation! The people truly make this hostel great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
9.1

I planned on staying at this hostel for my final few weeks but unfortunately had to leave early. Paul (the owner) was really nice and understanding about the whole thing. The hostel itself has such a chilled atmosphere and the people are really friendly. The location is the main thing here as it's right next to Smith St and a quick train/tram/bus to the city (all within a 5 minute walk) Would stay here again without a doubt, thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.