Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.8
Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne Located at 137-139 Johnston Street, Collingwood, Melbourne.
Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3066 137-139 Johnston Street, Collingwood
83% 638
-37.7996286 144.9894583
Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
10.0

Collingwood Backpackpackers is my favorite Hostel in Melbourne. (I hopped around many hostels in Melbourne to check every area.) fantastic atmosphere guests & staff are like a big family brilliant location, close to Fitzroy, great shops, restaurants & nightlife Free & unlimited wifi/internet (essential nowadays, other hostels always try to make some extra dollars with this) entertainment: TVs, game consoles, PCs Thanks for the great time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
10.0

Smaller hostel with some of the friendliest and open-hearted bunch of people I've met. Mostly long-termers who welcome you right away and make you feel at home (even though I only stayed a few nights). I left feeling like I've known them for quite some time! Towels provided and free wifi make for great value! Not your typical in/out hostel experience. Located in an artsy and hipster neighborhood. Paul the owner is laid back and holds great conversation! The people truly make this hostel great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
9.1

I planned on staying at this hostel for my final few weeks but unfortunately had to leave early. Paul (the owner) was really nice and understanding about the whole thing. The hostel itself has such a chilled atmosphere and the people are really friendly. The location is the main thing here as it's right next to Smith St and a quick train/tram/bus to the city (all within a 5 minute walk) Would stay here again without a doubt, thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Sep 2016
10.0

I am proud to call collingwood backpackers my new home. Thank you Paul for making us feel at home and being the best landlord in the world to the most amazing group of people. This is hands down the best hostel I have been/will go to in my entire life. I love it here and I'm never going to leave, EVER. For those who call it complain and call it dirty, Basil Fawlty can sum you up nicely: “You snobs! You stupid, stuck-up, toffee-nosed, half-witted upper-class piles of pus!”

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
9.7

Incredibly relaxed, friendly and easy-going hostel, in an amazing location and brilliant value for money. Almost feels more like a share-house, with many people (myself included) settling in for longer than originally planned and getting to know each other. Facilities (books, sofas, kitchen, bathrooms, fridges, courtyard, TVs, games etc) are all great, and Paul who runs the place is as laid-back as they come. Would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Jordan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
10.0

extremely chilled people , amazing location and price , initially booked for a 3 night stay ended up extending it to a 3 week stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.6

I stayed there for only 10 days, but in that time I really felt like a part of the hostel. There is a very casual atmosphere in the hostel, it feels more like a huge sharehouse than an actual hostel, and while there were some of the people that hardly ever showed themselves, there were room for those as well. The hostel is in an old building, and the rooms/facilities are not as sterile as you might see in other, newer hostels. In short, I really enjoyed my stay. And I would stay there again!m

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • dennyshess361
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
3.1

this was probably the worst Hostel I've ever seen. If you are looking for a dirty, stinky place, go there...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2016
2.6

Dirty. Cold. And a total waste of money

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2016
8.6

Great relaxed and laid back atmosphere and all round great hostel. I would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.