X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne Reviews

137-139 Johnston Street, Collingwood, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
536 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

You will meet many amazing, friendly people here! A very relaxed place in a great location.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

The owner never gave a receipt either by e mail nor on hand even if he was asked many times.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Everybody was very friendly and it's a great location only 15-20 minutes walk from Abbotsford lentil as anything ... I really enjoyed my stay :)

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel great people relaxed atmosphere unfortunately just passing through but will stay again if i get the opportunity

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel like a home, atmosphere is great very good location and staff great and can't fault it!!!

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed here for 2 weeks after moving from another hostek and would definitly have stayed longer. Such a laid back place,everyone including Paul is so friendly and welcoming. In such a good area for bars and restaurants as well as getting into the city. Ideal place to come if you want to meet people.

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Collinwgood Accommodation is a wonderful place to stay at if you want a relaxed place to stay in a very nice area. The staff is great and the atmosphere is always nice. It's located very close to Lentils, an amazing pay at will vegetarian restaurant and close to supermarkets, stores and bars without being as noisy as the CBD. The other guests are always respectful of common areas and rooms. Definitely a nice place to stay at

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Good location with a lot of bars and a great atmosphere. The people are very lovely and there is a good balance between long term stayers and new people. It feels more like living in a shared house with some friends than living in a hostel! It's definitely my favorite hostel so far in Australia!

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Super chilled out hostel, laid back staff, extremely accommodating owner, it's a great intro into the city.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Has been my favourite hostel, the location is perfect. Loads of coffee shops and bars within 5 min walk and a 5 min tram to cbd. The hostel was clean, most people here were long term travellers and it made an amazing atmosphere. Internet is good and staff are relaxed and so accommodating. Would recommend this hostel to anyone

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice place to stay at. Many guests have stayed there for a longer time so it feels like coming to a house share. I would live there again, definitely.


100%

Brilliant hostel, atmosphere is great, good facilities

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Dirtiest dorm I ever stayed in, good location

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place, a few long term stayers there so had a really nice atmosphere as everyone knew each other. Lovely rustic building and area is a good location.


91%

Brilliant little hostel in a fabulous location! Feels more like a house share than any hostel I've stayed at which is great! Everyone is so lovely


91%

Great hostel in a brilliant location close to the city. Staff are lovely and helpful. Good vibes in the place and so easy to settle in.


100%

Collingwood really made my move to Melbourne something special. I came here alone looking for a place to stay while I found work. I'm happy to say I'm still here a month later with no plans to move out anytime soon. The people here quickly became my family and I can't understand the reviews here complaining about Paul because he's The best landlord. The cats are a nice touch that make the place feel like home and the free wifi is a definite plus. I'm glad to be able to call Collingwood my home!

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazing atmosphere and a great place to get your bearings in Melbourne! Location is perfect!

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I really liked the location, collingwood has excellent bars, cafes and restaurants. The tram line is a 5 minute walk away and takes you right into the heart of the CBD. The hostel is comfortable, but the people who are staying here make the place, everyone is very friendly. It's a proper backpackers so don't expect a Hilton hotel!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel is a great environment and everyone is friendly and welcoming to newbies by the long-term tenants. The owner is working on renovations and the showers are new, hot & cleaned daily. The common rooms are often occupied & chill, lots of opportunity to make new friends! There's always something to go do & someone who would love to go with you. Close to shops, restaurants, grocery, bars, pharmacy, and major transit. WiFi is spotty, but probably because so many people connecting & resetting


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback