Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Cologne downtown hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,097 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,097 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
Cologne downtown hostel Located at Hohe Straße 30a, 50667 Köln, Cologne.
Cologne downtown hostel
Germany
Cologne 50667 Hohe Straße 30a,, 50667 Köln
90% 1097
50.9352818 6.9566094
Cologne downtown hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
8.3

Overall experience was good. Rooms and facilities are clean and new. It's 10-12 mins walk from the Cathedral/ main train station, very easy to access as it's advertised. However the wifi was annoying. The codes they gave us only valid for 24 hours. And the connection kept cutting off; you have to login in every other 10 mins. Basically you cannot do calls.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • adrieltjokro
  • Indonesia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
8.0

I must say that this hostel is actually pretty good. I got the 8-bed dorm (mixed) and definitely there's a feeling that this used to be a hotel. Bathroom is located inside the dorm and is pretty clean in general (although smells a bit musky). Location-wise is not the most strategic, but sufficient enough if you use the Underground (right in front of the "5" station). My only complaint is the wi-fi connection, which doesn't work very well in the dorm rooms. Perhaps this is something to improv

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
6.6

This hostel had some great things and some terrible things. Great things: the kitchen was the best I've ever seen in a hostel. The location is conveniently above a grocery store and they had a nice patio. Terrible things: the wifi was the worst I've ever had at a hostel. I had to go to a cafe twice just to book my travel to Berlin because the internet was so slow. Also, the bathroom in our room constantly smelled and had dirty standing water all the time. Also, very little atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
7.4

Overall this hostel was really nice. It was in a very nice location, the rooms were spacious and clean. And the AC kept me much more comfortable than in my last hostel in Cologne. I had two major issues though with the hostel, the wifi was absolutely horrific, and one of the staff members was incredibly rude to me for absolutely no reason. I've never had a receptionist talk to me in such a degrading manner. All the other staff was very nice but this girl was very condescending and rude.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
7.1

The place was very clean and spotless, rooms were spacious and beds were clean, every bed had a private locker (not very big though) and then location was also very handy and close to the central station. The only thing I disliked a bit was the atmosphere which was very serious and not so chilled out.The place follows no party policy and they have a no noise rule after 11. The one thing which was very disappointing was that the air condition in the room was not working , it was blowing hot air

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
9.4

Very clean, well located modern hostel with friendly and helpful staff. Other guests were quiet and very respectful. Wi-fi was pretty strong, good enough to get work done.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
8.9

Great modern hostel right in the city centre, with very clean rooms and quiet atmosphere. There is no breakfast, but you can buy groceries in the supermarket downstairs or have breakfast in the bar downstairs. I liked the views from the 6th floor and the roof terrace. The parking building is very convenient, but we were unaware of the costs before checking out, which made it a hassle. You can only pay in cash and you have to use a discount coupon from the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2016
9.4

Wifi connection was bad inside and outside the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2016
9.7

Stayed here with my girlfriend for 2 nights in July. The hostel is more like a hotel with its facilities and cleanliness, great value for money. Was a bit hard to find on arrival (it's sandwiched between an entrance and exit to a supermarket and you take an elevator up to the top floor). The younger lady was working for most of our stay and she was so friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hostel to people wanting to meet some new people whilst having space for a quiet stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
9.4

Overall, quite a nice place. Friendly staff, good location, and a not-empty common area. If you're headed to Cologne, this is a quite nice place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.