Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cologne downtown hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,346 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,346 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.4
Cologne downtown hostel Located at Hohe Straße 30a, 50667 Köln, Cologne.
Cologne downtown hostel
Germany
Cologne 50667 Hohe Straße 30a,, 50667 Köln
87% 1346
50.9352818 6.9566094
Cologne downtown hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Dec 2016
8.3

As noted, it's not a party hostel, but I did find a way to meet some other guests. The facilities were great, big kitchen, great location next to a grocery store and the underground station, close to lots of Christmas markets and shops...overall great experience with the rooms too! Ensuite bathroom was always kept very clean in the 6 bed mixed dorm, storage with lockers in room was convenient, staff was very friendly. (Also loved having a piano to play in the lobby !!!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Dec 2016
8.0

About 10-15 minutes walk from the hbf. Nice place, modern facilities, there's even a piano! Not too much atmosphere though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
18th Dec 2016
8.3

Great hostel, very high quality, almost like a hotel. Unfortunately you need to use a keycard to turn the power on even in the dorms which can become difficult when there are 6 people with different schedules etc. Also no conveniently placed power sockets next to the beds and no individual lights next to each bed which means the room is either fully lit or pitch black - again inconvenient in dorms. Besides that the hostel is very clean, has an excellent kitchen and good showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
16th Dec 2016
7.7

Great hostel for us, as we were a couple just visiting for the weekend. We were able to have a private room with an ensuite, which was clean and really nice. The location was perfect as well for walking everywhere to check out the city of Cologne. However, if you're wanting a place to meet other people and/or party, this would not be the place for you. Pretty quiet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
9.1

Fantastic location, nice rooms. Wasn't anything extraordinary, but I appreciated the simplicity of it. I could come, sleep, and go about my day. I didn't use the kitchen or laundry though, so I can't comment with regards to those facilities. Would definitely recommend to others though, and would definitely stay there again should my journey bring me back to Cologne.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Dec 2016
8.3

The location of the hostel is great with a supermarket right downstairs, and everything is clean so it is quite a good hostel. 2 points though, first the wifi wasn't very good inside the room and second i'm not very sure the use of key card to turn on the power inside the room. I understand this can save energy, but the hostel should consider a buffer time between removing the card and cutting the power inside the room, particularly inconvenient if someone is using the bathroom.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Dec 2016
8.6

The internet in my room was terrible. My phone can connect to internet in the reception room very easily, but it could not connect to internet via my laptop and phone for most of time in my room. I had to come to the reception room to use the internet. Except the internet, all was fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Dec 2016
8.3

A very good and basic hostel which can satisfy all your needs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
12th Dec 2016
9.4

Atmosphere was probably a bit lacking due to the time of year. The rooms were modern and clean though, the kitchen and laundry facilities fantastic (though the kitchen is a bit overly echo-y), and located just off the main shopping avenue. A few more people and this place would be perfect! Stayed an extra night it was so good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Dec 2016
8.6

The staff here were super friendly and helpful and the hostel had a great location. The kitchen was great and was nice and clean, just like the entire hostel. I stayed here during winter so it was pretty quiet and that's the only reason I gave a low mark for the atmosphere but I would definitely stay here again and I definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.