X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cologne downtown hostel Reviews

Hohe Straße 30a, 50667 Köln, Cologne, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
299 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Too difficult to find it.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Really nice, only nitpicky complaints are that it smelled a little funny in the room - I think because of the heater - the internet failed one evening, the kitchen didn't have anything to handle hot dishes with, and the lighting system in the room - must have key card inserted by door in order to work - was vexing as people came and went and we had to juggle cardato insure the person in the shower wasn't left without light. The beds were comfortable, room was clean, facilities nice.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location. Great spacious rooms. Friendly staff. Thin walls, very loud and inconsiderate guests - not hostels fault but that was my only complaint. Also rooms should have a few more hanging hooks to hang coats etc. None in the room and only 2 in the bathroom for a room of 4.


94%

I love the kitchen and the bathroom at this place. Would've been even better if the bathroom has soap. The staff are wonderful and really go out of the way to resolve problem and make you feel welcomed. Marco at the front desk is most helpful in giving advice and suggestions on where one should go and explore Cologne. I will definitely come back to this hostel again.


94%

Good hostel, great location 10min aways from Hauptbahnhof/Dom down a shopping street. Friendly staff and superb rooms.


100%

Fantastic Hostel, well placed in the City and a hostel of great quality.

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

There's really nothing I could fault it on. The room was absolutely spotless and the staff were extremely helpful. Make sure you ask for a smoking room even if you don't smoke, you'll get a lovely balcony overlooking the cathedral. Definitely be staying here next time I go to cologne

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The most clean hostel I've stayed in! In such a great location especially if you love shopping. The kitchen facilities were amazing and so clean!


86%

Downtown hostel's major advantages are it's location, right on Hohe Strasse which is the shopping strip of Cologne, and it's cleanliness. It is immaculate indeed. But please note: no soap in the bathroom. Lockers do not fit backpacks. And the major negative point is that there is no ambiance at all. Unlike any other hostel I've been too: no bar, no organized walks, etc. Nice place to stay and sleep

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

We had an awesome stay here. The location is ideal to get to all the places we needed to get to. I was very impressed with how clean the place was in both the rooms and the communal areas. The only downside was that the wifi did keep cutting out on all our mobiles and had to keep getting new codes from the reception - they provided them no questions asked.


100%

This place is just amazing. The rooms were impeccably clean and the location is great!


89%

The kitchen is amazing! On the first floor there is a supermarket, where you can buy some ingredients and to do your own food... very cheap!


86%

Staff supportive & excellent, very good place.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Needs to specifically cater for cyclists, safe storage of bikes.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location, clean and new, easy to find, staff were great, could lock valuables, atmosphere is def lacking


89%

The staff was always kind and very friendy. Location was perfect, but a little tricky to find because it's around the corner. It's on a sixth floor. There is a mini super on the same building, which was very convenient to get something for breakfast or dinner. Kitchen was really nice. It was a good choice to stay there.


77%

Nice hostel, would be nice to have more plug ins.


100%

Great Hostel! Great Staff! Everything was very fine! Thanks!

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Wonderful and spacious. very clean and full of nice ppl.


80%

Not what I expected for a hostel, it's more of a hotel kind of vibe but either way it was good.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(82 results)


View all Cologne Hostels

Please give us your feedback