Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombian Home Hostel

  • Calle 3 bis # 35a - 70, Barrio San Fernando, Cali, Colombia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
12th Mar 2017
6.9

From the reviews, I expected it to be incredible. It's clean, area is nice & quiet, the kitchen & breakfast is good, but we were put off by the passive aggressive signs everywhere (including front gate), listing rules & fines if you break them. We had hot water once in 3 days, and the beds were v hard. Also we were made to feel awkward when we wanted to go somewhere that was different from the 'group' (eg trying a different salsa school than where they went). Not a very nice feeling!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
10.0

Great Staff, they organise day trips out of town sometimes, Nights out to salsa club even managed to convince me in the end (tough one) ! Breakfast is lovely, hostal is very clean, showers are good, beds too. Spacious living room for indoor salsa class on a rainy day! Supermarket and restaurants and private salsa dance school 5 min walking distance! Look no further!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for choosing us as your hosting site Thank you for sharing your joy and each of the beautiful moments at colombian home hostel. We are always ready to give you all the information and help you in what you need so that you can know our great city cali. Thank you for sharing your experiences and teaching us something of your culture the truth was a pleasure to meet you and share great moments, salsa, spanish, rio, mountains and party ..... Thanks for everything we hope you come back soon ;)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Mar 2017
9.7

Mauricio and Carolina are amazing people and along with the other super amable volunteers they create the most hospitable of environments. Always willing to answer questions about the city, and offer help in any way they can you will feel like a member of the family. I found it hard to leave, arriving for 3 days and leaving after 2 weeks. Salsa centric, there are also plenty of excursions available through the hostel and everyone is involved when it's time to hit the dancefloor. Muchas gracias!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your recommendations Thank you for sharing and integrating us with the things we do at the hostel. We are always ready to provide you with the necessary information so that you can fully know our great Cali city, we hope you will return soon and continue to share great experiences.

  • justgoulding8124
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Feb 2017
10.0

Probably my favourite hostel in South America! Everything about this place is great - very friendly, very sociable and welcoming but without being too 'party'. Amazing staff who will help you with whatever you need. Great safe, central location. And clean dorms with comfy beds. Perfect! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cali!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your recommendations Thank you for sharing your joy and enjoying the excellent moments with all the guests of colombian home hostel. We are always here to help you and provide you with all the information you need to know our great Cali city. Thanks for living the experience of being here at colombian home hostel and enjoy all the great things that our big city has We hope you return soon and continue to share great adventures and pleasant moments;)

8th Feb 2017
9.7

Staff make this great hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your recommendations We are always here to provide you with all the information you need to know our excellent city Cali, Enjoy your trip and your experiences in Colombia ;)

4th Feb 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed my stay at the hostel. It is fairly small so you feel like home and get to know the other guests. All of the staff are great and helpful. The common areas are nothing special but perfect for socializing. And it's a perfect place if you want to practice your salsa. With group lessons, private teacher and a very good salsa school within walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for choosing us as your hosting site Thanks for sharing your joy with us and the other guests of the hostel, great experiences to dance salsa and enjoy every night of party. We are always ready to give you all the information necessary so that you can know our great city Cali and our beautiful country, we hope you have an excellent trip and enjoy colombia.

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
9.7

Such a nice hostel with a really good vibe that will make you feel right at home. The staff is amazing, so helpful from the beginning, and they will take you out to the best salsa clubs, Colombian football games and nearby waterfalls. The breakfast is really good and the kitchen is big and clean. Located in a very safe area and close to two big supermarkets and many really good cheap restaurants. Can only recommend it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your recommendations We are always here to help you and provide you with all the necessary information so that you can visit the different tourist sites of our excellent city. It was a pleasure for us to share great experiences with you and most importantly your joy. Thank you for choosing us as your accommodation site was a pleasure to attend and make you feel at home. We hope you have an excellent trip and everything goes very well for you. Enjoy life and the world;)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Jan 2017
9.7

We had such an amazing experience here! Firstly, the atmosphere is great because you feel like you're living in a house rather than a hostel, and Maurizio (amazing guy!) really tries to encourage everyone to join activities together - he makes everyone feel welcome and included. If you're travelling alone, you'll definitely make friends here. Try the free salsa lessons, they're really helpful! The house is clean, breakfast is great (freshly cooked for you every morning) - wonderful! Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • monicachackal8154
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
10.0

Incredibly clean, great breakfast, amazing staff and wonderful people. If you stay here you will end up extending your stay in Cali for sure!! Everyone did at the hostel. I will miss my week at the Colombian home hostel :(

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for choosing us as your hosting site Thank you for sharing your joy and each of the beautiful moments at colombian home hostel. We are always ready to give you all the information and help you in what you need so that you can know our great city cali. Thank you for sharing your experiences and teaching us something of your culture the truth was a pleasure to meet you and share great moments, salsa, spanish, rio, mountains and party ..... Thanks for everything we hope you come back soon ;)

8th Jan 2017
7.7

The hostel was mediocre in my opinion. Way too many rules. Also credit cards were not accepted. It wasn't a bad hostel by any means, but when it has a really great rating, you expect an amazing hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Mr. AND MRS Remember that you reserve the cheapest room and we gave you better room (more expensive) for the same price that the cheapest. If we are as mediocre as you say, you would have canceled your reservation at first when you arrive at colombian Home Hostel. We are here 24-7 to help you with everything you need but you never asked us anything so it is impossible for us to know your expectation. Our hostel is ready for any atmosphere you would like to create. We also create the atmosphere as well. We have many nights were we organize B.B.Q.s, free salsa lessons, futbol, movie night, group cooking & dinners, parties, hike to the hill, go to the river and we even take our guests out to the nightclubs. I'm sorry but when people never leave the room it is impossible to relate to other people from the hostel and I can not do anything. Yes, there are house rules here in our hostel. There are rules in every single hostel throughout the entire world. These rules are in place so we can coexisted together. This is why we have a 96% guest satisfaction at our hostel. for some people there is no common sense. you have only 3 blocks very close to restaurants, ATM, pharmacy, bars, discos, laundry, bakery, bus stations, everything you need. friends, I recommend you to learn spanish if you travel in south america it will help you to understand to understand how south america works.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.