Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombo Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
Colombo Beach Hostel Located at 30, De Saram Road, Mount Lavinia, Colombo.
Colombo Beach Hostel
Sri Lanka
Colombo Western Province 10370 30, De Saram Road, Mount Lavinia
86% 322
6.8400191 79.8645048
Colombo Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Sep 2016
8.0

All in all it was a nice and easy stay at this Hostel. Easy to get into the city by bus and close to the beach, which is unfortunately not that nice. Supermarket near by, as well as an ATM and nice restaurants. Staff is really nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Sep 2016
3.1

The pictures doesn't correspond to the reality! The hostel looks old and neglected. My room was dirty and needed maintenance. It is far away from the airport and the neighborhood in which is located is ugly and missable. The staff seemed nice but the manager wasn't honest when I asked about a motorcycle rental place (there was a cheap one on the street behind and he was surpresed that I figured it by myself). The price is far to high for the quality (US$30?!).

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey dear, Sorry to say, but i do not agree with what you say. As for Bike rental, one of our previous guests had an issue with the deposit he kept, and thus the reason for us not to recommend any place around. Happy travels!! Dinesh

  • mazen89
  • Saudi Arabia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
15th Sep 2016
7.7

1. There is a non spoken kinda of curfew, you've to be back before 11.30pm 2. Mosquitos were the worst I have come a cross of in all of Sri Lanka .. It's like monsters they suck you all night long . Me and one of dorm's mate went to sleep in the rooftop which is felt the same with good breeze. 3. The old man who works at reception was a good with advices and where to go and all that stuff. 4. There was a parking so you could park your Tuk Tuk. 5.Dorm was clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi M, Thanks for staying with us. Sorry about the curfew interpretation. Yes the gates are closed up at that time for the security of the guests who are inside the premise, but anyone coming in later just have to ring the bell and you are in .... As for mosquitos , we do provide mosquito nets on request. There is also a notice of this in all rooms. Thanks again! Dinesh

8th Sep 2016
9.1

Great place to stay designed for travellers to meet up and share stories

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
7.4

The staff was friendly and nice. He let us check-in early like 8 am in the morning. That was nice of them. But he also said that i have to pay 2-days-fee in advance although it was a flexible reservation and on the reservation it says i could cancel 1 day prior to my stay.. Receptionist was too insistent to take that money. And the location is far from airport. 10 km further south of city centre. So although it was close to a nice beach, i would not stay a place that far from the centre.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Sep 2016
7.4

Very basic dorm - no mosquito nets so got bitten a lot. Clean, and cleaned regularly but limited number of fans in the 8 bed dorm. Safe provided and staff friendly. Basic facilities for the bathroom but rooftop was nice and kitchen was a proper kitchen if you wanted to cook. Easy to get buses in and out of Colombo for a cheap price and Michael the manager gives you lots of information on what is best to do here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your kind review, and am glad you enjoyed your stay here.... we have 3 fans for the 8 bed dorm, and also, on request we provide mosquito nets... Thanks again and hope to see you all back on return :) Thanks, Dinesh

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Aug 2016
8.9

A bit out of the main city but a nice place to stay and find your feet in Sri Lanka. Easy enough to catch a bus/ tuk-tuk into Colombo and Michael is very good at suggesting the must-see sights. Right on the beach which is good for a lazy afternoon. Roof top terrace is fab! Nothing fancy but meets all needs :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
8.6

The staff is very helpful and they improve the hostel with musquito nets, fan's and more colors on the rooftop! Amazing place to stay. I'll stay here when I arrived and came back before I leave. Good atmosphere, especially on the nice rooftop!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Jul 2016
7.1

First impression wasn't great due to the appearance of the reception area. The room is fine- basic enough. Shower is cold but in the heat it doesn't really matter plus the pressure is good. Would benefit from more plug sockets in the room. Rooftop area is nice for meeting fellow travellers. Wifi was decent. Nice place next door for a cheap and tasty breakfast. Overall you get what you pay for and it did the job!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th Jul 2016
8.6

A nice hostel, really big dorm rooms. No hot water at all or A/C. Mosquitos are everywhere. Owners are really nice. When I was there there wasn't much of an atmosphere, only because there was 5 guests. It is a clean hostel, 3 minutes to the beach and close to bus stops and supermarket.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.