Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombo Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2017
10.0

The Colombo Beach Hostel, was the ideal place for me to start my journey of Sri Lanka, plenty of guests on their way out (of Sri Lanka) to learn of their experiences in the Island. Cool roof top area common room to hangout with people, and a kitchenette to make your own meal. will definitely recommend you star gaze using their sun beds. Clean comfortable dorm beds, with new mattresses is plus to have a good night. Great staff. Will definitely be back here to share my learning's with in comers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Apr 2017
7.4

nice rooms, decent location near beach no restaurant/breakfast or common areas to speak of. However would happily stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for review, but not too sure if you went to the roof top, as that is our common area, where guests exchange their experiences of Sri Lanka with the guys who have just arrived. We do have a kitchen on the roof top, but thought better of having a restaurant as there are many places on the beach.... But thanks for the heads up, Enjoy your travels, and do come back on your way out of the island. Thanks, Dinesh

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
8th Apr 2017
7.7

Stayed here with my friend the first night we got to SL. We did not realise how far it is from the airport (around 1 hour drive due to traffic). The hostel is right near the beach (2min walk). We paid for breakfast included room. The hostel owner, Michael, told us we would get out free breakfast next door in this little restaurant. The man running the restaurant had no idea what Michael was talking about as he had no connection with him. Hostel had a lovely roof terrace. Room was clean and ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, I am sorry if there has been some miscommunication, but breakfast is not included, Glad you enjoyed the roof top terrace. Thanks Dinesh

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Apr 2017
5.7

The rooftop is very nice and a good place to cook food and meet others. Manager is lovely. Unfortunately the dorm wasn't very clean, sheets and pillowcases were stained, was also extremely hot, even with the one fan. It's impossible to sleep in +35 degree heat.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Noted your concerns, and have taken measures to improve on this. Thank you for your review. Dinesh

31st Mar 2017
10.0

A fantastic hostel with a great location and a the best rooftop chill out area. This is the second time we have stayed here on out 1 Kong triplease in Sri Lanka. We enjoyed it so much on the way in that we stayed on the any back out too. The hostel has great facilities and a really good atmosphere while the location is hard to beat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your kind review, appreciate it :)

  • lauraheather
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
18th Mar 2017
6.3

This is one of the more disappointing hostels I've stayed at. Their rooftop terrace is really beautiful, but I was pretty disgusted with the state of the pillows and mattresses. The bathroom was also a little rough. Decent location though, and a great price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Mar 2017
9.1

Excellent hostel, really close to the beach. Nice roof garden. Kitchen and lockers. There are no laundry facilities and it can get a bit sweaty with just the fans, but generally a great hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
5.7

The hostel is ok in general. Pretty far from Colombo and the airport tho, it's around 40 minutes of public bus to Colombo. We stayed in the 10 beds dorm which is pretty big, but the shower smelled really bad and the main door was also broken for a couple of days so we couldn't lock it properly when leaving the room. For the price, the hostel should provide at least free breakfast or maybe something else. It's not the best hostel we've been in, but it's also not the worse !

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Feb 2017
5.7

I booked 3 nights here as was the first place I started my 2 week trip in Sri Lanka bit only stayed for one as one day was enough in the area. It was fairly close to the beach and some shops but no atmosphere there and even though the staff were approachable, when I asked for things to see and do around the area, the owner gave me an old price of paper with things to see and do and wasn't very helpful. The roof terrace was lovely and the rooms very clean and tidy but overall, was very basic.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Feb 2017
8.0

Only stayed here one night but Michael was very lovely to us and helped us out a lot. We had booked a 4 female room but they actually have 6 beds in there in case a girl needs a room without having booked! We thought this was a lovely touch. The roof terrace was very good however the lights didn't work in the outside bit so we were sitting in the dark because the seating area was full. Good rooms but only one fan in the room so the night was quite hot

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us :), i am sorry that the lights for the rooftop garden are hard to find, we will put where to find it on our notice board go forward....enjoy your travels!!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.