Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Colombo Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
Colombo Beach Hostel Located at 30, De Saram Road, Mount Lavinia, Colombo.
Colombo Beach Hostel
Sri Lanka
Colombo Western Province 10370 30, De Saram Road, Mount Lavinia
83% 301
6.8400191 79.8645048
Colombo Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Jul 2016
8.6

A nice hostel, really big dorm rooms. No hot water at all or A/C. Mosquitos are everywhere. Owners are really nice. When I was there there wasn't much of an atmosphere, only because there was 5 guests. It is a clean hostel, 3 minutes to the beach and close to bus stops and supermarket.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.6

Mr Michael is good manager. Help us with info and any kind of our need. Location is 3 minutes walking to the beach. 10 minutes to main street, buses, caffee, supermarket, etc. Hard to find the hostel building at first. Will be nice if they put a sign on the street. The rooftop is great. Meet some traveller while chilling out here. Will stay here for coming back to Colombo.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
7.7

The manager was nice but when I ordered a taxi to get me to the airport, he ordered it a day too early and tried to blame me. There was only one fan in a six bed dorm and with two people sleeping in there it was way too hot. The window wouldn't shut properly and after asking them to fix it, they just tied a string to it, still leaving it open. No mosquito nets available. Other than that the room was clean and rooftop pretty. It's quit a long walk to the train station though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sezorgan
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Jul 2016
8.3

Lovely place with lot of nice people near the beach. Michael was very helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jogarey
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Jul 2016
8.6

Good value hostel given the facilities, location, and price. I stayed here one night before touring Sri Lanka and can't complain. Clean bed, decent shower, and tidy room. The wifi was a bit dodgy but as I stayed only one night it wasn't a huge issue. Would recommend for short stays in Colombo

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
6.0

First place I stayed in Colombo, price is relatively adequate for what you get, but speaking to other backpackers, a few thefts of minor things occurred in dorms and in the kitchen. Overall was okay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jun 2016
8.9

Very friendly staff and a beautiful room. The rooftop is amazing. Good place to hang out and meet other people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
9.1

I had a really good time. There's a really good beach near by and Michal was very helpful in helping me to plan my trip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
8.6

The hostel is conveniently located within walking distance of the main street and beach. Rooms and beds are clean and the atmosphere at the hostel was very friendly, with many people to meet and helpful staff that will give you invaluable advice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th May 2016
9.1

Great common area on the roof. Located close to the beach and just a few minutes walk from some great cheap and local eating places. The staff were great, spoke excellent English. Many people had said the fan was no good and the rooms were too hot, I didn't have any issues with this when I stayed here. The fan was perfectly adequate and the room was quite cool at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.