Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombo Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jun 2017
9.7

Staff are so lovely and great place to meet people. The hostel is a little bit out from the main centre but it's what I was looking for. I'd definitely stay again☺

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review, please do come again :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2017
10.0

One of my favourite hostels, great staff, clean facilities and most importantly an amazing roof top terrace to meet other travelers. it has a really cozy feel to it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review, please do comeback on your return :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
12th May 2017
8.9

Perfect location if you want to stay out of the hustle and bustle of colombo city. 5min walk to the beach. The manager Denish spoke English and was very helpful going over and above with every thing we asked. His advise to catch local transport to save money and too see more, and purchase train tickets the day before travelling onwards was more than helpful! We stayed two nights at the start of our trip and will return for our last night before flying out!!! Stuti!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review, and please do come back, enjoy Sri Lanka!!

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
10.0

Amazing rooftop, lovely to meet people. Clean and comfy beds. Will be back. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, and would love to have you back :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th May 2017
9.1

The staff was SO helpful in helping us with transport, logistics, be waking up in the middle of the night to check us in. It was a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, you are most welcome, and a pleasure having you... do enjoy your travels !!

  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2017
10.0

The Colombo Beach Hostel, was the ideal place for me to start my journey of Sri Lanka, plenty of guests on their way out (of Sri Lanka) to learn of their experiences in the Island. Cool roof top area common room to hangout with people, and a kitchenette to make your own meal. will definitely recommend you star gaze using their sun beds. Clean comfortable dorm beds, with new mattresses is plus to have a good night. Great staff. Will definitely be back here to share my learning's with in comers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for your kind feedback, do enjoy your travels, and do come back :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Apr 2017
7.4

nice rooms, decent location near beach no restaurant/breakfast or common areas to speak of. However would happily stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for review, but not too sure if you went to the roof top, as that is our common area, where guests exchange their experiences of Sri Lanka with the guys who have just arrived. We do have a kitchen on the roof top, but thought better of having a restaurant as there are many places on the beach.... But thanks for the heads up, Enjoy your travels, and do come back on your way out of the island. Thanks, Dinesh

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
11th Apr 2017
6.9

Dorm room only had 2-3 fans for 8 people and it got very hot at night. Pretty bare and only 1 shower and 1 toilet for 8 people. Rooftop upstairs was nice to chill out and meet people. Location is in Mt. Lavinia which is a bit of a way from Colombo.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your input, and for staying with us. March/April is basically "Summer" in Sri Lanka, an us locals also do have tough time of it. Having said that we are planning on putting a larger fan for the 8 bed dorm, which does have two toilets.(one just outside the door). We also plan to have an AC in the female dorm by end June. Thanks, and do return to the female dorm when you come back to Colombo :) Thanks! Dinesh

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
8th Apr 2017
7.7

Stayed here with my friend the first night we got to SL. We did not realise how far it is from the airport (around 1 hour drive due to traffic). The hostel is right near the beach (2min walk). We paid for breakfast included room. The hostel owner, Michael, told us we would get out free breakfast next door in this little restaurant. The man running the restaurant had no idea what Michael was talking about as he had no connection with him. Hostel had a lovely roof terrace. Room was clean and ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, I am sorry if there has been some miscommunication, but breakfast is not included, Glad you enjoyed the roof top terrace. Thanks Dinesh

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Apr 2017
5.7

The rooftop is very nice and a good place to cook food and meet others. Manager is lovely. Unfortunately the dorm wasn't very clean, sheets and pillowcases were stained, was also extremely hot, even with the one fan. It's impossible to sleep in +35 degree heat.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Noted your concerns, and have taken measures to improve on this. Thank you for your review. Dinesh

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.