Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombo City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Aug 2017
9.1

Fantastic staff who will happily show you the city and are super friendly and extremely helpful. This place is definately the place to stay in Colombo for a great time. It was very easy place to make new friends as a solo traveller and very central. Loved it and will go back before leaving the country.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jul 2017
10.0

Great vibe, perfect location, nice staff. Stayed here for one night and wish I could've stayed longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2017
9.4

Really friendly staff were incredibly helpful to a first time traveller! The perfect place to stay straight off the plane or to reconnect with other travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th May 2017
9.4

One of my favourite hostels: great staff, clean facilities, social atmosphere. The washrooms are cleaned multiple times a day and the showers are great. The A/C in the bedrooms is excellent. They 'honesty' system used to pay for drinks from the fridge works really well and means you can always help yourself whenever you need. There's no bar but the rooftop lounge area is brilliant and there are shops to get your own drinks very nearby. The hostel seems quite open but it feels safe staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Apr 2017
6.0

Stayed here for one night while hostel had a very strange vibe... felt uncomfortable asking questions to staff especially male staff felt I was in the way all the time. The room had a funny smell but was clean and bathrooms were very nice overall think there must be better places to stay with better vibes. Breakfast was included which was nice and yeah that's about it deffinatly worst hostel I stayed in my one month in Sri Lanka

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.9

Great rooftop chill out terrace. Moden facilities. No A/C but Individual bed fans and a free breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Apr 2017
7.4

Cool rooftop area with a good little kitchen you can use. Most of the lockers in the room I stayed didn't lock but the beds were pretty comfy and everyone got a personal fan.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
10.0

We had a really good time in the hostel. Sandra the hostel manager is very friendly and we had a lot of fun in the pub crawl that was arranged. The hostel has good Air conditioning in all the dorms which was really helpful when dealing with the heat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
24th Mar 2017
8.0

Hostel was well run, free breakfast included. We came late at night and the hostel is down some back routes so we were a little worried about our tuk tuk driver but it is right next to a government building so has guards about 20-30 feet from the doors. Location is alright and from the bus station in central stand it should be no more than 250-300rps. All in all a reasonably priced stay. Wifi not in dorms and no a/c but that wasn't the end of the world.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Mar 2017
9.7

About a 40 minute drive from the airport and close to markets and ATMS, basically everything you'd want if you're transiting in Colombo. One of the cleanest hostels I've ever stayed at! The staff are soo friendly and want everyone to join their little community with events organised every few nights and they say they do a walking tour of Colombo too :) would stay if I'm in Colombo again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.