Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombo City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 58 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 58 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.4
Colombo City Hostel Located at No 177, R.A.de Mel Mawatha, Colombo 03, Colombo.
Colombo City Hostel
Sri Lanka
Colombo No 177, R.A.de Mel Mawatha, , Colombo 03
84% 58
6.9145549 79.8508371
Colombo City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
8.6

I stayed in Colombo City Hostel twice. On my first day in Sri Lanka and on the last. The stay was nice, most important thing is Sam, the manager. He makes sure that each of his guest is comfortable and taken care of. I loved the fact that this place truly has a home away from home kind of feeling. Most of the guests mingle up with each other and actually that's how I found my travel partner for next two days. Loved the total vibe at the hostel and I feel Sam is very much responsible for it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
5.4

So the staff were really helpful and lovely, and arranged for our airport transfers which was really great. However, the curtains had fallen down in the room we were staying in so it was very bright, and the dorms had no locks so didn't feel that secure!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2016
8.6

Good place to stay in Colombo, friendly staff and breakfast is included. AC wasn't working but wasn't too bad with the fan. Location is a bit tricky to find - tuk tuk driver got lost!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
8.6

Had a lovely 2 night stay at the Colombo city hostel. Great location with extremely helpful staff that are happy to provide advice and assistance in any way possible. Definitely an ideal place to stay if you are in transit or plan on spending a few days in Colombo.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
9.7

An amazing place to stay in Colombo! Staying here I met people traveling through Colombo and people who live here! The location is central and safe! The rooftop area is a great place to meet fellow travelers and the staff are really good fun and very helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
10.0

Great place, good staff, good location. Would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
8.3

Lovely staff. A little walk to the main attractions but honestly not too far. Just make sure to take plenty of water with you, the humidity is unreal. No air-con, but fans fixed above every bed. Big storage locker: bring your own padlock. Bathrooms fine, if a little dark. Can rent towel for small fee. Breakfast standard tea and toast. Nice, chilled atmosphere where its easy to meet people. Staff lovely and accommodation. Water and beer available on terrace. Would recommend for the budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
8.0

Really good stay people where so nice basically sorted our trip out for us!! Would advise to anyone staying in Colombo! Thanks guys

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
9.7

This hostel is really great, especially compared to some of the places I have seen in Sri Lanka! I ended up staying here at both the beginning and end of my stay. It's clean, has nice beds, a great roof, nice bathrooms, and a really friendly staff (Elena is super friendly and helpful!). I ended up staying at their sister hostels in Kandy & Dambulla - all great! I would highly recommend. Only thing is it can get quite hot in the dorm rooms, but each person is given a small fan above their bed :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.