Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombo City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 131 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 131 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Feb 2017
8.3

Overall a good hostel, i just stayed here to be closer to the airport. Its so easy to get from the hostel to the airport for very cheap! I met some cool people here also, very nice people! The rooms are very clean, I have nothing to complain about!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.0

friendly staff, big kitchen to use, not that far away from fort trainstation

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • louisa_3414
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
1st Feb 2017
9.1

I loved this hostel. Great relaxed atmosphere really easy to meet people. Try not to arrive at night if you're alone, it's a bit weird to get too as you have to walk down side path, the road doesn't extend to the hostel doors. Or make sure you ask your taxi driver to agree to walk you to the door before you leave. There are a few security guys around for the government building next door though. Also don't pay more than 2500 for a cab from the airport to the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • catherineanna94
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
28th Jan 2017
6.6

Can't say too much about this place, arrived at 12am, left at 7. Didn't explore Colombo at all so not sure about location. It didn't seem very clean and it was a bit dated. Wouldn't of wanted to stay for more than a night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Jan 2017
10.0

Great place; perfect stopover in Colombo, really sociable and cool. Has artwork throughout the building, a good sized kitchen and free breakfast. Staff are great and all beds have their own personal mini fan which I think is a great touch!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jan 2017
9.4

Great stay, the team is very helpful. They have a very cute little bunny on the terrace which brings a homely feel for the ones who miss their pet! Colombo is safe but just don't go out when it's dark.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
10.0

Colombo city Hostel was my first stop on my journey. I found it on Hostelworld and I am so greatful I did! The owners and staff are supperb. Had many great memories & laughs. They really go out of their to make you feel at home. If you have any questions at all they are there to help. Communication is definitely no problem they speak very good English. The hostel itself is awesome they have a wonderful rooftop and common area which is important to me! I would recommend anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2017
9.4

Great hostel! The very first night the manager spoke with me and gave me a 2 week itinerary fr Sri Lanka and 1-day one for Colombo. Getting here is tricky though. The closest you can get is the Prime Minister's house neighborhood then as the police guys by the gate to go to the hostel and they will show you the way

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • georgeklim
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
9th Jan 2017
7.7

there were no locks to enter the facility and our lockers didn't have a latch to put the padlock. Only fans in the room and cold water showers. Easy enough (and cheap) to catch a bus to Colombo Fort. Other comments were accurate that it is a little hard to find if you haven't been there before so maybe a direction map may help travellers? Once you've been here, it's real easy to get to.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • willsdavid4623
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.9

The owner is super nice and helpful. The hostel is maybe a bit hard to find but worthwhile and in a decent location. The upstairs chill out area is nice and quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.