Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombo City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 94 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 94 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5
Colombo City Hostel Located at No 177, R.A.de Mel Mawatha, Colombo 03, Colombo.
Colombo City Hostel
Sri Lanka
Colombo No 177, R.A.de Mel Mawatha, , Colombo 03
82% 94
6.9146159 79.8514147
Colombo City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Nov 2016
5.7

I've seen higher quality beds in the hostel even in Sri Lanka. There was no hot water shower. The security was sketchy. There were no keys for the lockers in the room, anyone could have just walked out with our bags. There are small lockers in the hallway where you can use your own but they weren't for guests but stuff. I did meet some nice travelers on their rooftop. The location was okay. Oh, and they charged us full price for the beds and did not remove the deposit from the price at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
29th Oct 2016
8.0

It is a good -location Hostel.The staff is nice,just stay one night there,Value for money,but there are no AC room even it mentioned there,but Colombo was raining when I was there,so its cool with FAN.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Oct 2016
8.6

Really good hostel located quite central within the city. The hostel offers everything you need, decent enough bed, clean showers and lockers to secure your things. The best bit is the roof top area which is very relaxed and great for meeting other guests. Staff, including one of the owners, were really friendly and very helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Oct 2016
6.3

The dorms themselves were fine and the bathrooms were plenty clean but I did not like the overall atmosphere of the hostel. There were many smokers and the receptionist was a bit intimidating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
16th Oct 2016
10.0

Only there for one night but really easy and great place to stay with awesome vibe on the rooftop.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
9.4

Hung out with the staff there, very cool and helpful. Met plenty of great people there too. The breakfast was great. I stayed in both sister hostels in dambulla and kandy, both were good. Personal above-head fans are the bomb.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
9.1

Really helpful staff and an overal nice hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Oct 2016
6.9

Room was very hot. Location is weirdly packed in behind a wall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Oct 2016
7.1

Great social area on the rooftop, free breakfast, good wifi and nice facilities. Nice escape from the madness of Colombo! Met some great people there. Although the cleaner that works there and sorts the room out was really really creepy and inappropriate. Very weird man.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Sep 2016
8.3

Hanna from Poland who works here is awesome, she took us to a street food market on the beach and made sure we enjoyed our time. She's amazing, so much great advice about Sri Lanka and traveling (especially as a solo woman)! Hostel has a nice rooftop, great wifi and electricity and great location. There are large rats that come out at night, but that's everywhere I've found in Colombo to be honest. Also they no longer lock the doors during the night=safety is dubious. But personally I liked

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.