Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombo City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 113 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 113 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7
Colombo City Hostel Located at No 177, R.A.de Mel Mawatha, Colombo 03, Colombo.
Colombo City Hostel
Sri Lanka
Colombo No 177, R.A.de Mel Mawatha, , Colombo 03
83% 113
6.9146159 79.8514147
Colombo City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
9.4

Great stay, the team is very helpful. They have a very cute little bunny on the terrace which brings a homely feel for the ones who miss their pet! Colombo is safe but just don't go out when it's dark.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2017
9.4

Great hostel! The very first night the manager spoke with me and gave me a 2 week itinerary fr Sri Lanka and 1-day one for Colombo. Getting here is tricky though. The closest you can get is the Prime Minister's house neighborhood then as the police guys by the gate to go to the hostel and they will show you the way

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • willsdavid4623
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.9

The owner is super nice and helpful. The hostel is maybe a bit hard to find but worthwhile and in a decent location. The upstairs chill out area is nice and quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Dec 2016
10.0

This place is the best. Really Good for solo traveler and really well valued for money. Anthony was an awesome host really friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was awesome and will definitely be back on when I return to Colombo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
25th Dec 2016
7.1

Decent crowd to meet and talk to about Sri Lanka plans. But nothing particularly exciting about this hostel otherwise. There's a decent rooftop terrace which is nice and a common area for people to hang out, although not much in the way of "facilities". The most unfortunate thing about this hostel is the noise. The dorm rooms have creaky doors and you basically hear everything going on in the hallways (and outside). I'd say bring earplugs, and bring an eye mask. Otherwise, clean and OK.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
6.0

It's called City Hostel but the location wsdn't that good. It took the tuk-tuk driver one hour to find the place. If you say by the vice president house then it's easy. Unfortunately the hostel didn't give me better ininstructions although I asked for. Rooms are ok. Lockers available. Common bathroom is ok.no hot water. Toilet paper and soap was available. Stuff is friendly.breakfast is good: eggs, toast, butter, jam and bananas. You get 10% off if you stay in other City Hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
7.7

Good hostel for a night or two in Colombo. Clean, friendly staff and good breakfast! Although it is in a good location in the city, my tuktuk drivers all had trouble finding it so just be aware that it is a bit hidden :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Dec 2016
9.4

Friendly staff, chilled roof top to hang out, tuktuk for 160 rupees plus tip from the Railway station, therefore a good transit hostel for a short stay in Colombo. But could also stay there longer, of course.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Dec 2016
9.1

Very very helpful friendly staff. They pretty much planned my day in Colombo. Great location and facilities. Top stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
10.0

Had a brilliant stay at the hostel. The team were lovely and really helpful; they took us out and made everyone feel really included. Would recommend to everyone!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.