Hostelworld.com

Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel Located at 6A Samudra Mawatha, Mount Lavinia, Colombo.
Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel
Sri Lanka
Colombo 6A Samudra Mawatha, Mount Lavinia
81% 365
6.8413214 79.8642754
Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th May 2016
7.7

Location is fine if you like the beach and there are buses to Colombo city. But not many places to eat around. Wifi was spotty but the property is pretty.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
9.1

Great staff. Very nice and helpful. Close to beach and city. . Air con room is a must though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
10.0

Colombo lavinia beach hostel experience was beyond what I expected for the price I paid to stay and I highly recommend it for people who are looking for great accommodation for a very reasonable price. The location was secured and couple of minutes away from the beach which was a great deal for me. The staff was extremely helpful and made their best efforts to keep the place very clean and homely for the guests. Thank you very much for the great hospitality.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
9.7

Very nice and small and cosy place. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Mar 2016
8.6

Really close to the beach and 10 min walk from the train which bring you to downtown. There is a pool!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
10.0

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel and would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Colombo. The owner and the staff were friendly and helpful. Location was two minutes from the beach. Overall nice, secure and clean hostel. Great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2016
9.7

Staying at Lavinia Beach Hostel was the perfect place to start my trip in Sri Lanka. Rita and the rest of the staff were incredibly nice and helpful. Rita went out of her way to make sure I was comfortable . She is also very knowledgeable about using the bus and the train if you plan on using public transportation while you are here, she can definitely get you set up with that. The location was also very nice, super close to the beach and close to the main rode for dining and shopping etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
26th Feb 2016
8.3

Pros : Large private room, really close to the beach. Hosts were lovely and welcoming. Small pool was also handy on the hot days. Coffee available in the kitchen area. Airport transfers were easily arranged. Cons: Wifi only worked half the time, and the power also cut in & out (not so great when you had to pay extra for aircon). Sheets weren't clean when we arrived and the room also attracted many mosquitos.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2016
10.0

G'day, my name is James i am an Australian travelling through Sri lanka. Colombo Lavinia Beach hostel was extremely friendly and welcoming. The rooms and place as a whole a very clean, relaxed, comfortable with lots of trees, places to relax, a little pool and perfect for meeting other travellers over a cold beer. The staff are very lovely and extremely helpful. Wifi conection is excellent. Reasonable prices and great location. I highly recommend staying here if you plan on staying in Lavinia.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2016
10.0

This is the best hostel I have stayed at so far. Cannot compare this place with any other hostel I have visited. Value for money and the rooms are quite good. The owner is very friendly, warm and welcoming. Only a few steps to the beach. A very quite and relaxing stay here since it is away from the city centre. The indoor pool is an added facility here which is awesome just to chill with fellow travellers. A very homely feel and would definitely recommend this place to others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.