Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 409 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 409 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel Located at 6A Samudra Mawatha, Mount Lavinia, Colombo.
Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel
Sri Lanka
Colombo 6A Samudra Mawatha, Mount Lavinia
87% 409
6.8416511 79.8641921
Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
10.0

This is a beautiful hostel. It is so clean and they are extremely helpful. I needed a lot of help with things as here for a short time to get done They have a airport taxi to bring you here. I left last minute so didn't see email but taxi driver may wish to drop you at Colombo Beach Hostel. It is not the one and this one is much nicer. It is a few blocks down from Colombo Beach Hostel so tell driver to keep going on the road, he will see the sign. I will definitely return here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Sep 2016
8.6

Lovely place with tiny pool, garden and seating area inside and out and a real 'homely' feel to it. I was greeted with tea and a bottle of water by the kind owner and given good info about public transport into the city. The dorm was good with plug socks next to beds and a little security locker for your valuables. The only downside id say is it is quite far from the city centre, but then you do get the beach and the space to enjoy and buses to Colombo are so so cheap! Recommend for a quiet stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Sep 2016
9.7

We stayed twice at this hostel; at the beginning of our sri Lanka trip, when we needed some rest after travelling around India for a month, and almost a month later at the end of our journey. In the end we stayed here for a week, in two different rooms. Both our stays were perfect and the owner takes great care to please her guests. She arranged taxis to and from the airport for us and gave us nice tips and information. The prices are very fair and the facilities very good. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Aug 2016
9.1

Great stay and it was so close to the beach and accessible via train (1.4km away from the nearest train station) or buses/taxis with 500m walk from the main road. There were food stalls and convenient stores around, don't suppose one have to go far to get their essentials. The Mount Lavinia beach was literally down the road, although you'll have to cross the train tracks (which made life more interesting right?). Only kidding, it's very safe. Seafood restaurants all within reach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
8.9

Our stay at Lavinia beach hostel was very nice! We only stayed for 1 night but there was a misunderstanding and we payed for 2 nights. The owner did not hesitate to refund us, she was lovely. Would reccomend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rebecevangeline
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Aug 2016
7.4

Beach, bars and restaurants are 2 minutes away - very pretty place to stay but no air con so we English folk found it pretty uncomfortable. Also there wasn't anywhere to store our bags in the shared dorm, just a little locker which wouldn't fit my iPad. Owner is a lovely lady who liked to know our plans and made sure we were safe. Would like to stay again but perhaps in a private room so my belongings were secure and at a colder time of year or when they fit aircon.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2016
2.9

A very clean place, with a very helpful women. I strongly recommend this place

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
8.6

Arrived at midnight and was afraid no one would be up; however staff woke up and checked me in. Facilities are nice, theres a (small) pool, a kitchen, a few refrigerators, and many places to hang out and mingle. Most people Ive met only stay for a night, however I stayed for 3, and can stay the staff remain kind and helpful. The location is a bit away from Colombo centre (30 min bus ride) but there are still plenty of places to eat around. And the beach is less than a 5 min walk away!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
9.1

Was a wonderful surprise to walk in and see how much effort had been put in to make the place look wonderful! Alot of detail and very cute! Worth that bit extra money. The staff were wonderful, very welcoming and helpful! Many areas to sit and chill and meet other people. Rooms were surprising spacious and clean. The shower was the best one I used while in Sri Lanka. All over a very good stay and would definitely go back even though it's not central to columbo. The beach restaurants outside

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
10.0

This place is really, really lovely. The owner and staff are wonderfully friendly and hospitable - I turned up late in the evening for my first night in Sri Lanka after a long day of flights, and still received a welcome full of care! My room was really private - round the back and with it's own wee shower/toilet room. Mount Lavinia hasn't got much going, but I liked this hostel's location as it was quiet and out of the way but well connected to the city. There is a pool for splashing and tea! X

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.