Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel

  • 6A Samudra Mawatha(Off-Beach Road) , Mount Lavinia (Beach Road - Opposite Mount Grill), Colombo, Sri Lanka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 463 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 463 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Feb 2017
6.0

nice location , near beach,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ElynxDeSilva
  • Canada, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Feb 2017
10.0

Felt like home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2017
9.4

Really nice hostel with amazing staff. The owner was so nice and helpful and also organised a great airport transfer for very little money. The location is great, only 2 min from the beach. It is a nice hostel if you don't want to stay in Colombo, but still be close :) I would definitely come back here :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Zimbabwe, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jan 2017
10.0

The hostel so amazing! It is located so close to the beach and very clean with hot showers. I really loved my stay here and the owner was very hospitable. I arrived at 1am and had booked a dorm room and instead she put me up in a private room so as not to wake up the other guests. I had the best sleep! The staff are all helpful and friendly. I definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a good place to stay in Mount Lavinia! Cannot say enough good things about it:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bituwilliams3117
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
21st Jan 2017
10.0

Fantastic Hostel. The single room was big enough for one with shower and WC. Wifi was good. The place is spotless, very clean and there is loads of seating aswell around the property. Very homely and comfortable stay. Highly recommended if you are in Lavinia. Also if you are returning to go to the airport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
20th Jan 2017
7.4

The lady who is keeping the house is very friendly, but speaks only a little bit of english. The room itself was big and the beds with the mosquito nets. Shower/ toilet wasn't the cleanest and the there's separate showers for cold and hot water so you are not able to mix them up. Wifi works every now and them for a minute or two. You need to walk to the main road to get some food which is around 500 meters away. From train station 2 km away. Okay for one night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jkahrs1989
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
10.0

I stayed here twice on my trip. Both times were fantastic. The owner is extremely nice and will make sure you have everything you need. It's a two minute walk from the beach and a five minute walk to the train station. Comfortable beds and cold beer and water on site for good prices.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jan 2017
10.0

Great atmosphere and great staff. Thanks for being so supportive while I was recovering from my injury hahaha!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
8th Jan 2017
9.7

We stayed here for 2 nights as we had just arrived into Colombo airport and we wanted to be outside the city - was worth it for this. Really lovely stay. The woman in charge was fantastic, always around to help if needed. The hostel is very safe and has a nice relaxed atmosphere. A stones throw away from the beach which considering it's just outside the city is nice. Also a short walk from the train station. Overall really good stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

I had really amazing two days in this beach hostel. This place is like a villa with lots of trees and a pool. I'm going to come back and stay here if visit Colombo again. Highly recommend this place:-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.