Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel

  • 6A Samudra Mawatha(Off-Beach Road) , Mount Lavinia (Beach Road - Opposite Mount Grill), Colombo, Sri Lanka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Mar 2017
9.7

20 seconds from the beach, friendly staff, very fairly priced and a lovely hostel. Really enjoyed my stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Mar 2017
9.7

Had a wonderful stay in this hostel, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful! The rooms are clean and it's only a stones throw away from the beach! I think the deluxe rooms include air con whereas the others don't. We booked into a normal room assuming it would have ac, when we arrived we were able to upgrade no problem at all! If your getting a taxi from the airport to here, be careful you don't get dropped off at 'Colombo beach hostel' it's just around the corner, but not nearly as nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Mar 2017
8.0

Great location just off the beach, overall good value for money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
8.6

I was only there for a few hours but it was all good. I arrived in the middle of the night and the accommodated me which was very nice! All I needed was there and the host was very kind and helpful. I would certainly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Don't be tricked into being taken anywhere else. I have been traveling for 6 years and have been to Sri Lanka 7 times and this is the best I've been to. location, price etc is perfect. The team here will do anything for you and won't hassle you ever. There are no gimmicks, no trying to constantly sell you overpriced tours like everywhere else. If you want a peaceful start or end to your time in Sri Lanka you will find nowhere better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
8.3

Lovely place to stay in Mt Lavinia which is about 10km for Colombo. Room was nice and large with AC. Staff and other guests where nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Feb 2017
10.0

So good I've stayed here twice! Located just outside Colombo's city centre so its perfect if your on your way down south or on your way back! Located in a nice safe area away from the busy main road. Rooms are well equipped with lockers. Comfy beds. Fans. Kitchen appliances etc. The beach is literally a minutes walk away with plenty of local restaurants and bars available. Also the staff and the owner are wonderful. Very polite and constantly working to keep the place clean for guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • naharries5062
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Feb 2017
9.1

Close to the beach, warm homely feel. Will stay here again when I'm next in colombo

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
9.7

Very good value for that price. Very warm welcome . Hot water ,Rooms are clean the staff lady tidy up everyday. Located 100 m from the beach .All the shops are nearby. Awesome! I really recommend that place. FILIP , POLAND:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
6.0

nice location , near beach,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.