Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 396 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 396 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel Located at 6A Samudra Mawatha, Mount Lavinia, Colombo.
Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel
Sri Lanka
Colombo 6A Samudra Mawatha, Mount Lavinia
87% 396
6.8416511 79.8641921
Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
8.9

Our stay at Lavinia beach hostel was very nice! We only stayed for 1 night but there was a misunderstanding and we payed for 2 nights. The owner did not hesitate to refund us, she was lovely. Would reccomend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rebecevangeline
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Aug 2016
7.4

Beach, bars and restaurants are 2 minutes away - very pretty place to stay but no air con so we English folk found it pretty uncomfortable. Also there wasn't anywhere to store our bags in the shared dorm, just a little locker which wouldn't fit my iPad. Owner is a lovely lady who liked to know our plans and made sure we were safe. Would like to stay again but perhaps in a private room so my belongings were secure and at a colder time of year or when they fit aircon.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2016
2.9

A very clean place, with a very helpful women. I strongly recommend this place

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
8.6

Arrived at midnight and was afraid no one would be up; however staff woke up and checked me in. Facilities are nice, theres a (small) pool, a kitchen, a few refrigerators, and many places to hang out and mingle. Most people Ive met only stay for a night, however I stayed for 3, and can stay the staff remain kind and helpful. The location is a bit away from Colombo centre (30 min bus ride) but there are still plenty of places to eat around. And the beach is less than a 5 min walk away!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
9.1

Was a wonderful surprise to walk in and see how much effort had been put in to make the place look wonderful! Alot of detail and very cute! Worth that bit extra money. The staff were wonderful, very welcoming and helpful! Many areas to sit and chill and meet other people. Rooms were surprising spacious and clean. The shower was the best one I used while in Sri Lanka. All over a very good stay and would definitely go back even though it's not central to columbo. The beach restaurants outside

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
10.0

This place is really, really lovely. The owner and staff are wonderfully friendly and hospitable - I turned up late in the evening for my first night in Sri Lanka after a long day of flights, and still received a welcome full of care! My room was really private - round the back and with it's own wee shower/toilet room. Mount Lavinia hasn't got much going, but I liked this hostel's location as it was quiet and out of the way but well connected to the city. There is a pool for splashing and tea! X

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
9.4

Really nice clean place outside of the main city but still only a short tuk tuk away (350rs) or a bus for much cheaper. A few nice local places to eat close by on galle rd as well as a supermaket and posh cafe. The hostel is situated around 400 mtrs to the beach where theres some nice places to eat or have a beer in the sun or an afternoon swim. Overall ive enjoyed my stay here over the last 7or 8 days one of the better places ive stayed in shrilanka with nice staff and a homely atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • janewei0907
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
9.1

A bit far from the city centre, but close to the beach and railway stations, the whole facility is clean and tidy. We arrived very late at night, but the tuktuk was waiting patiently at airport to pick us up, and the owner was up waiting and showing us the room after we arrived.staff are friendly and helpful. Lavinia railway is less than 2km away, can take the train to Fort, enjoy the sea ride on the train. Very nice place. Recommend it for budget travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jul 2016
10.0

Had an incredible stay at mount Lavinia beach hostel. Merle and preyanthy are very kind and accommodating, great atmosphere and location in brilliant. Perfect place to stay when you arrive in Colombo. Thanks for everything, see you next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels I have ever been to. The owner is a lovely lady who looks after you like family. Always with a smile and helpful. They even arrange tours to go see places on request. The pool which is open 24/7 is a lovely addition to the property to wind down and chill with fellow travellers at any time. I highly recommend this place and as for location if you want a hostel near the beach you have a 1 minute walk, to the shops 2 minute walk and to the bus station 10 minute bus journey!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.