Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel

  • 6A Samudra Mawatha(Off-Beach Road) , Mount Lavinia (Beach Road - Opposite Mount Grill), Colombo, Sri Lanka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 491 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 491 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2017
10.0

Merle and her staff were so wonderful An oasis in the middle of upcoming high rises... the garden was beautiful and the pool was an extra bonus on the hot afternoon. Would definitely stay again. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2017
10.0

A welcome relaxing oasis after a long travel day! Merle arranged easy and affordable transport in arrival and departure, which was SO helpful! She exceeded in hospitality with juice upon arrival, afternoon tea and a delicious homemade dinner the night before we left! Doom living area was quaint and clean, comfy beds had mosquito nets, beach is a 1min walk, property pool is the perfect spot for afternoon heat, restaurants and stores are close by, and all staff is kind and helpful! Book today!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2017
7.7

Lavinia Hostel was a great place to start our trip in Sri Lanka. Although the beach is a little dirty it was nice to see locals swimming and enjoying the weather. We loved the pool and atmosphere, very relaxing. We had a great time and recommend it for a few nights while in transit. Merle the host was very helpful and even provided a traditional Sri Lankan meal for all of the guests to celebrate Easter. We would stay again for sure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Apr 2017
10.0

Loved our stay in this beautiful little oasis! Knowledge and friendly staff. Strong wifi. Felt like home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2017
10.0

We stayed 2 nights at the hostel and were very very happy! The owner and staff were super friendly, extremely helpful, and beyond accommodating. The hostel has a locked gate which made us feel very secure and is only a few 100 meters walk to the beach! The room was comfortable and had a great mosquito net. The bathroom was very clean, had gray hot water, and all of the linens were exceptionally clean and fresh! As an added bonus, there were 4 pillows on the bed! A must stay if you're in Colombo

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
7.1

Great location if you want easy access the the beach! Staff willing to accommodate you at all hours. Key entry to the main gate but no lock on room doors. Small lockers provided. Beds were okay with mosquito nets and fans but room was quite hot with no bed sheet provided, not that you would want to use one anyway! Shared bathroom could have been cleaner and stocked more frequently but everything worked as expected with hot water! Overall it was a decent place for a few nights

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Mar 2017
9.7

Had a great stay! Lady who runs the place is super friendly! Good location next to the beach

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Mar 2017
7.7

Hostel is very pretty although it seems like more time is spent cleaning the rooms and common area than the bathroom and under mattress etc. Very reasonable cost and very close to the beach. Supermarket not too far away and you get a locker and gate key for the hostel so it's very secure. Staff were helpful and flexible.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
9.1

A great stay - just a few minutes from the beach - much better than staying in Colombo!! Meryl (manager) was really helpful and even let us use her kitchen when we wanted to cook something. It was a quiet and comfortable place, and we very much felt at home. Thanks and hope to see you again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Mar 2017
9.7

20 seconds from the beach, friendly staff, very fairly priced and a lovely hostel. Really enjoyed my stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.