Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel

  • 6A Samudra Mawatha(Off-Beach Road) , Mount Lavinia (Beach Road - Opposite Mount Grill), Colombo, Sri Lanka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 522 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 522 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Aug 2017
10.0

First of all, the lady owner was very welcoming and made sure that I had all I need. Even went the extra mile to serve me a freshly squeezed mango juice as a welcome drink. I did not expect that from a hostel and it was quite amazing! Her assistant was also very accommodating. The room was spotless clean and well kept. The ambiance was very homy and serene especially the garden area. I would stay here again. And it's a stone throw away from the infamous Lavinia beach with restos and bars!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2017
10.0

It was a good start for our holiday in Sri Lanka. This hostel really makes you feel like home. Good clean rooms for a great value. I booked only 2 nights but ended up extending my stay for 2 more nights. I recommend this hostel for travellers who are looking for a relaxed stay as the owner and the staff go out of their way to help you with whatever you need. Will definitely come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jul 2017
7.7

Nice and helpful staff. Close to the beach. Nice atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jul 2017
9.7

A very chilled atmosphere right near the beach, lovely staff, and nice little pool to cool off in :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2017
8.6

Beautiful place. Looked just like the photos. Visited during low season, so few people around. Location is far from city centre but very close to the beach. Only stayed a night so I can't speak to other needs. The woman who runs this place is super helpful and kind.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2017
8.3

The staff is good and friendly. I met two women from Switzerland and we had a deep talk about lives, happiness, and cultures of countries.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
8.0

Nice, comfortable, basic home-stay in Mount Lavinia, which is a 15/20 minute train ride away from Colombo centre. Complimentary tea and juice on arrival :) no breakfast served in the morning. Beachfront a few minutes away.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2017
9.1

The owner and her daughter welcomed me. Were very patient, answered all of my questions. The bed has a mosquito net which was great. I had a room next to the washing machine so a bit noisy at the morning, but ather then that, nice place to spent the night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • maddyswanson3285
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
9.1

Amazing staff! They will make you feel so comfortable and at home. The front garden was a great place to chill out, the only downside was the pool not being full. Great location, only 2 minutes from the beach and about 5 minute walk to the Main Street where you will find shops and restaurants. Thanks so much! Connor and Maddy (Aus)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
26th Jun 2017
8.0

The hostel is about 15 mins away from Colombo city centre but a short 5 min walk from the beach. We arrived here on our first day in Sri Lanka and the host was so helpful with helping us plan our trip!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.