Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel

  • 6A Samudra Mawatha(Off-Beach Road) , Mount Lavinia (Beach Road - Opposite Mount Grill), Colombo, Sri Lanka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 446 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 446 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel Located at 6A Samudra Mawatha(Off-Beach Road) , Mount Lavinia (Beach Road - Opposite Mount Grill), Colombo.
Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel
Sri Lanka
Colombo 6A Samudra Mawatha(Off-Beach Road) , Mount Lavinia (Beach Road - Opposite Mount Grill)
87% 446
6.8416879 79.8638417
Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jan 2017
9.7

We stayed here for 2 nights as we had just arrived into Colombo airport and we wanted to be outside the city - was worth it for this. Really lovely stay. The woman in charge was fantastic, always around to help if needed. The hostel is very safe and has a nice relaxed atmosphere. A stones throw away from the beach which considering it's just outside the city is nice. Also a short walk from the train station. Overall really good stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

I had really amazing two days in this beach hostel. This place is like a villa with lots of trees and a pool. I'm going to come back and stay here if visit Colombo again. Highly recommend this place:-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Dec 2016
8.6

Simple, but comfortable room very close to the beach. Lovely garden! Not a lot of eating options in the immediate area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
10.0

I arrived at Sri Lanka int airport at midnight expecting to have a car waiting for me but due to a mix up with my arrival date, no car. Contacted the hostel owner around 1:00am to my surprise the owner, Merle answered. After a few minutes of clarification Meerle arrange for a car to be dispatched and was picked up at A/port about an hour later.I was impressed, considering the time , early am.Hostel was very homely quite, convenient & ideally located. Extended my stay. From 1 week to two.*****

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
7.7

It was a nice place to stay... the fan was broken and made a clicking sound all night, had to turn it off so I could fall asleep. I'm fine not wearing shoes indoors but the bathroom wasn't clean and I didn't like not wearing shoes there. The ladies were wonderful and helpful, and it is right near the beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • louiswh7285
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Dec 2016
9.7

This is hands-down the best hostel in Mont Lavinia! Look no further. Merle is very helpful and kind, always looking out for her guests. It sometimes feels more like a homestay than a hostel. All the facilities are top-notch and the wifi is fast. Location could not be better, a minute away from the nicest stretch of the Lavinia beach. I was here over Christmas and we were treated to an incredible Xmas breakfast: thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Dec 2016
9.1

The rooms are dispersed through the property of the local owner and have a very homely feel. The owner and her daughter are very friendly and willing to help you when needed. I stayed in a dorm room which was cosy and had comfortable beds. The attached toilet and shower was a high standard and very clean. There is a great outside communal area with a small pool setup in the beautiful gardens. Great location and close to beach . It was pretty quite when we were there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Dec 2016
8.6

The most kind and helpful staff going. Unfortunately there wasn't many other people when I arrived there but if the hostel is busy not many better places to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Dec 2016
8.9

Amazing location, so close to the beach. The bus is close by, cheap and really easy to use. The host is so kind and helpful. Our fan was broken so it was a little hot at night, but other than th heat very comfortable. We didn't see any other people while we were there, so very quiet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Dec 2016
9.4

Great hostel in a great location. Very close to the beach and restaurants are only a 5 minute walk away. Very clean. Very quaint and peaceful atmosphere at the hostel. There's lots of different hangout spots both outside and inside. Lots of charging ports in the rooms. High speed fans in all the rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.