Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel

  • 6A Samudra Mawatha(Off-Beach Road) , Mount Lavinia (Beach Road - Opposite Mount Grill), Colombo, Sri Lanka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 502 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 502 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
9.7

The place is beautiful, clean, stuff very friendly and smiling. It's very calm place too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
8.0

While the location is not ideal, I can recommend the hostel for its lovely staff (who helped immensely while I was unwell) and its comfortable, good value rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
10.0

The owner was extremely pleasant and helpful... She makes it feel like home... Will definitely return on future trips...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd May 2017
8.9

Very good hostel. Our dorm was almost a house, equipped with a kitchen. It's also the closest hostel to the beach. Just be careful not to stay at the similarly named hostel around the corner, I accidentally stayed there for a night and it's not as good. Thanks for a great stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2017
8.9

Very pretty garden and sitting area. The owner was very helpful and nice. Perfect distance from the beach. However, rooms could do with a/c.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Apr 2017
10.0

Stayed here for 4 weeks while on my medical elective placement at Colombo South Teaching Hospital. Beds were comfortable, facilities were all clean. AC was a must for us. Good places to eat on the beach and around, supermarkets not far away Would highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2017
10.0

Merle and her staff were so wonderful An oasis in the middle of upcoming high rises... the garden was beautiful and the pool was an extra bonus on the hot afternoon. Would definitely stay again. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
9.7

Loved it. The owner was amazing and so sweet. She made us a delicious traditional Sri Lankan meal the last day we were there. Would 100% recommend staying at the Colombo Laviana Beach Hostel. The pool is great as well - super relaxing and will definitely cool you off on a hot day!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2017
10.0

A welcome relaxing oasis after a long travel day! Merle arranged easy and affordable transport in arrival and departure, which was SO helpful! She exceeded in hospitality with juice upon arrival, afternoon tea and a delicious homemade dinner the night before we left! Doom living area was quaint and clean, comfy beds had mosquito nets, beach is a 1min walk, property pool is the perfect spot for afternoon heat, restaurants and stores are close by, and all staff is kind and helpful! Book today!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Apr 2017
7.7

Lavinia Hostel was a great place to start our trip in Sri Lanka. Although the beach is a little dirty it was nice to see locals swimming and enjoying the weather. We loved the pool and atmosphere, very relaxing. We had a great time and recommend it for a few nights while in transit. Merle the host was very helpful and even provided a traditional Sri Lankan meal for all of the guests to celebrate Easter. We would stay again for sure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.