Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colombo Sea View Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 165 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 165 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
Colombo Sea View Hostel Located at 45/1 , Initium Road , Dehiwala, Floor 3 , Apartment 2, Colombo.
Colombo Sea View Hostel
Sri Lanka
Colombo 45/1 , Initium Road , Dehiwala, Floor 3 , Apartment 2
88% 165
6.8584502 79.8620975
Colombo Sea View Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jan 2017
4.9

We had a really bad stay here. As soon as we arrived we were told that they had double booked our beds and that we could stay at a different hostel 40mins tuk time away, not by the beach and not where we had booked. Or we could try sleeping two people in one bed, we opted for the latter. This place really is not a hostel it is a small 3 bed flat with each of the rooms rammed with bunkbeds, no mosquito nets, no lockers and very little to keep you cool. The owner seems nice and it is near beach

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
9.1

An absolutely wonderful stay, a bit far from the fort, but I like it so much more. Only a minute walk from the beach. Prema, the one who runs everything is amazing. I feel like this place is a home away from home. She makes breakfast and for 150 Sri Lankan rupees you get a delicious home cooked lunch. (Nice without all the oil for a change) the only thing is the floors need to be swept more regularly since they get very dirty fast. Other than that, Prema is the main reason I came back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
9.1

Location is bit outside of the city centre which might be little inconvenient for some travellers looking to be located more central. However, there are all shops and facilities in the neighborhood as well as train station heading south towards Hikkaduwa and Mirissa.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Dec 2016
7.1

We stayed here for one night. Pros- Close to beach (but not near main part) and 5 minute walk from main street. Very welcoming and friendly hostess. Cons- Bathroom wasn't clean. No toilet paper and floor dirty. Room floor also wasn't clean and old underwear left on the balcony. Room very hot, despite 2 fans. For the price it was ok, but would expect it to be cleaner. Probably wouldn't stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • nathansowell1747
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Dec 2016
9.7

Prema is the best. It felt like having a mother to take care of me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
8.3

The owner is very friendly, always ready to help you out. Just off the beach and only a quick bus ride into Colombo centre (20-25 rupees). Great place to stay for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
10.0

Ouer stay at sea view hostel wos beyond wonderful, we really felt like home and the breakfast Wos also really nice! I wud say, it is the best place to stay in Colombo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Dec 2016
9.4

Great hostel with lovely owner. Very clean and nice rooms. Location is a bit hard to find, and a fair way away from Colombo city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
8th Dec 2016
8.9

We stayed here for 1 night passing through Colombo on our first night in Sri Lanka. Basic accommodation that is great value for money. Free breakfast is egg, toast, tea and fruit. Good for meeting other travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Dec 2016
8.9

Prema was super lovely! She had no problem checking us in after midnight. She was full of useful information to help us get started in Sri Lanka. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.