Hostelworld.com

Colombo Sea View Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 131 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 131 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.5
Colombo Sea View Hostel Located at 45/1 , Initium Road , Dehiwala, Floor 3 , Apartment 2, Colombo.
Colombo Sea View Hostel
Sri Lanka
Colombo 45/1 , Initium Road , Dehiwala, Floor 3 , Apartment 2
79% 131
6.8584502 79.8620975
Colombo Sea View Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
10.0

Everyone here was very friendly and kind! It was also a great location near the beach. Breakfast is served by a very friendly host, frama!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2016
7.4

The best part of Sea View Hostel was the staff. The lady running day to day operations was super kind and accommodating. She made me feel right at home immediately. She also cooked a tasty breakfast. The same goes for the doorman. He was polite, friendly and made every effort to make my stay enjoyabye. Other pros are good location. It is near the train and beach. The major issue with the place is it is small and rundown. Fresh sheets, paint and a good clean would be good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th May 2016
10.0

The lady who runs this little host is just the kindest woman you could ask for. Good location, good breakfast and comfy beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 59 reviews
13th Apr 2016
6.9

I had a good stay here. The host was very accommodating and made the stay nice. Supplied breakfast was great. The rooms were very basic and there was no protection against mosquitoes in the room. No lockers available in the rooms either. Nice location to the beach and cheap accomodation

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
10.0

I stayed for 4 nights and i feel like home, nice enviroment, close to the beach is perfect to take rest and also good connected with Colombo! Prema always cooking, cleaning and taking care of everyone was like a mother! I really apreciated her and the way that make me feel special there! Defenitly i will recommended and coming back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jesselliott5585
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 50 reviews
13th Mar 2016
6.6

Close to the beach, but kind of strange location. Staff was nice and breakfast included. Owned by same owner that has several in different cities and my favorite of the island.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Feb 2016
8.3

Right next to the beach! Not in the city but you can get a tuk tuk for 400 r. Close to restaurants. The lady that owns it is very nice. Feels like you have a mom again for a few days Small hostel, capacity of 10 people. It can get hot in the rooms. Ask for the dorm that has a view to the beach you will get more wind! Would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Feb 2016
9.7

Staff were incredibly friendly and really made you feel like home so it felt more of a home stay than a hostel. Dorms are small but clean, and in a secure building with swipe card to get in. Breakfast included was a nice touch. Only slightly negative point is that it's quite far out from Colombo city centre but on the other side the beach is a few metres away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Feb 2016
9.7

This hostel is made excellent by the lovely lady who cooks and cleans and looks after the place working very hard all hours of the day. She is very friendly more like a homestay than a hostel. She even got up early to make us breakfast as we had to get our visas done very ealry. Thank you we may return at the end of our trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2016
8.6

Just double check and confirm your stay with the host. When we arrived, there was no room for the 2 of us. The lady was amazing: she felt so sorry that she organised a tuktuk to drop us in a similar place but in different area. It was a bit disappointing cause we were very tired after 2 days of flights and travelling. I think they will fix this overbooking problem very soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.