Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colonial House Quito

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 469 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 469 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2017
8.3

What really impressed me was the staff went to when I needed help. I had issues with my bag not arriving on time with issues I experienced with my airline. I would like to make a special mention to Ivan who went above and beyond what was necessary he was a massive help by calling the airline to ask when my bag would arrive and would chase them daily until they said it was on the way and he emailed me to let me know it arrived whilst I was away in the Amazon.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
9.7

Such a friendly, welcoming place with helpful and caring staff. Close enough to get to everything by walking or bus in the historic district. There was a considerable amount of street noise that interfered with my sleep, especially in the early AM, but that is to be expected in Quito. I look forward to staying there again when I'm next visiting.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2017
10.0

It's a great hostel with a very good atmosphere. There are lots of spaces to hang out in the hostel and it was in a very convenient location to explore the old town. My only slightly negative comment is that the bathrooms do not have great ventilation. However, overall, an excellent place to stay in Quito

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2017
8.9

Perfect hostel for someone looking to relax and be away from the busy noise of Quito. Good location in the historic center, however many places to eat close early around the area during the week. However, during the weekend, the hostel is close to la Ronda, a really fun strip of food. The hostel itself was great. Good staff, clean kitchen. My biggest complain is the really squeaky bed. My partner and I stayed in a private room. It felt like any subtle move I made the bed squeaked really loud.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lossarango2951
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

Stayed two nights in Colonial House and had a very pleasant time. The volunteer staff as well as the owner were very involved in making sure our stay was enjoyable and were very helpful when it came to fusing us into getting around Quito. The beds were super comfortable and it was nice that it wasn't a party hostel. The night we arrived we did have a BBQ in the yard which got everyone together for some beers and good conversation. Highly recommend this beautiful hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Jun 2017
8.9

The hostel and the staff were very nice, we already booked the same hostel for the last nights of our trip when we're back in Quito. There's a nice courtyard (with bunnies!), computers to use, pool table, hot water, safety boxes in the reception. One night of our stay there was a barbecue evening on the yard. The location was ok, close to bus station and the centre of the old town. There are some places to eat nearby, but most of them were closed when we needed them - only minus of the place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ssheffields
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
9.7

I loved this hostel! Very clean, helpful staff. the guests were also very nice and the place was overall pretty quiet. No using the game rooms and kitchen after 11pm which means you won't be woken up in the middle of the night! Helpful with setting up tours. Only complaint would be wifi. Would have full bars but the internet was very slow or wouldn't work at all. Luckily I had cell service but could see how thatd be frustrating for those w/o international cell use. They do have computers though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jun 2017
8.0

We stayed in a private room with our own bathroom and the room itself was good and clean. However it was facing the road so around 5am it got really loud because you could hear every car passing. Apart from that the staff was very friendly and helpful, the kitchen was well equipped and we enjoyed our stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
30th May 2017
9.7

Great hostel! One of our favourites in South America so far! Had very big rooms, lots of communal areas and some adorable baby rabbits. Staff were very friendly and helpful and let us leave our bags in storage there while we went on a trip to the amazon. Only thing that would make the hostel better is a free breakfast! (It's only $3.50 but you can find places nearby for only $1.50 - $2.50)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
10.0

The Colonial House is a wonderful place! The staff is friendly and they were tremendously hospitable and helpful. I had a wonderful experience staying here ,and I wish I had more words to say other than I loved it there. Thank you, Colonial House!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.