Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colonial House Quito

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 428 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 428 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Feb 2017
9.7

The only "ding" would be on the atmosphere and that is mostly due to the lack of other people staying at Colonial House. The staff never missed an opportunity to help.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • howardjones88
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.0

Friendly and helpful staff. Location was good and area felt safe. People staying at hostel were usually talkative and sociable which is a good sign. Top value breakfast optional. I stayed their twice in Quito so gets the thumbs up from me

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
6.6

If you are trying to just chill and plan more of your trip this is not the place, Wifi is horrible. Staff was brand new and knew less about the city than we did. Someone got mugged at the door to the hostel at 10pm one of the nights we were there. But there's a tasty brewery at the bottom of the hill and they are very accommodating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
8.0

Had a nice stay here at Colonial House. Paying additional for their on-site breakfast was worth it - very good w/ eggs and lots of fruit - but you can also walk down a few blocks to the central market. The walking tour they recommended was excellent too. The hostel itself was nice, but when arriving around 4pm in the afternoon, the staff was at a loss to recommend something for us to do... Fortunately there's at least the billiards table at the hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2017
7.4

Despite a nice clean room with great views of the gothic church and old town, our stay at Colonial House was only ok. The real downside was the lack of common room. Though we weren't looking for a party hostel, we do like a space to share a beer and exchange stories. The hostel is a short walk to the old town, but the area isn't safe at night (although many hostels are in the same vicinity). The shower was more of a dribble. Staff seemed a bit bored. Recommend looking elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
9.7

Had a wonderful time at Colonial House Quito. Great folks passing through and good common area. Try chicha, the local alcohol... but not too much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
10.0

Best location, so close to the market and a local brew pub, right in the Old Town. We had so much fun with the other travelers we extended our stay for four more days. Cool pool table and chill area outside to enjoy the weather and meet people. We had no problem making friends. The staff will do whatever it takes to make sure you are comfortable and know where you are going (Quito is initimidating at first). 500 year old buildings are a few blocks away. No where better in Quito.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
4th Jan 2017
8.9

Very nice hostel in the heart of Quito. It's placed in a quiet area but 5 minutes walk from the historic center. The rooms were very good and so were the bathrooms (hot water was working). Breakfast was awesome and the staff was very helpful. Would definitely stay here again ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
9.4

Lovely place to stay and chill out, close to the mercado central and staff friendly and informative. Cute rabbits and duck in the garden! Double room was very cosy and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Dec 2016
9.7

The Colonial hostel is amazing! There is a garden with hammocks and chairs, a billiard table and a lot of cozy rooms. The staff is very helpful too! They even cooked us a New Year's dinner for free! Try the breakfast it is delicious :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.