X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Colonial House Quito Reviews

Olmedo E 432, Vicente Le�n, Quito, Ecuador

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
262 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

NIce hostel: friendly staff, good location in town, good breakfast and beatifull characteristic building.


100%

Great hostel!

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Pros: Staff is very helpful and friendly; they invited us to have pizza (homemade) dinner with them; people who work there are well-traveled and fun to talk to. Cons: Bedbug alert! They are no big deal to me, but was afraid they might crawl to my luggage and spread wherever I go next. They were visible on my sheet, duvet cover, and wall. Towels are poor quality. There was only ONE hanger in a room that can house three people. Room lights were all-or-none: too bright when lit!

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Spacious Hostel over 3 floors with good facilities and friendly staff. Wifi is very instabel which is source for frustration for the staff too. Had a good hostel dinner and there is coffee and tea for free. Only negative thing is the "lack" of privacy. Stayed at 3rd floor and rooms are kind of open at ceiling level or not fitting doors. You can hear the private bathroom use on the whole floor.


91%

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Great security going in and out, we had a Iock for our room. Breakfast, each morning, was excellent. Much better than the usual scrambled eggs and toast. Fruit, granola, yogurt, eggs, fruitie, rolls, butter, marmalade. Cleanliness is good. Warm showers and towels, soap at the sink and in the shower. Quito has hills; Colonial House is away from the city center a bit, so you have hills to climb or take a taxi, very reasonable.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Some of the best staff we've come across in South America! Super nice and friendly. Kitchen was a bit lacking in tools but we loved our stay here!


100%

great hostel in Quito. the food is great and worth every penny


89%

We stayed for 3 nights in a private double room with ensuite bathroom. Shower was ok and the light there Couleur have been brighter. Nevertheless the Hostel is definately worth going to as staff is very helpful, location is close to the historic centre and the main bus station from where exploring the different parts of Quito is easy by using public buses. One of our better hostels. Only real negative thing is the super slow internet. Apart from that our stay was great.


100%

Staying at Colonial House was one of my favorite parts of Quito. The staff is friendly, helpful and just plain fun, the location in the Historical Center makes for a great base up to the park or down to the Plaza, the house itself is very cool, and the atmosphere overall is just terrific. Loved it. Thank you guys!


100%

This was one of my favorite hostels I have ever stayed in. It was very safe and there were lots of things to do around Quito. The location was very nice and most things were walking distance. It was not in a very loud part of town which was nice because it was quiet at night. The staff was A1 amazing!!!!!!! So helpful and so nice. also the dinners that the staff volenteers made were delicioso!!!

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

stayed in a very generous double bed twin room for the price of peanuts. Hostel is bright and colourful and friendly set in beautiful Old Town. showers were ok, rooms quirky. generous backyard with pets and loads of communal space


100%

This hostel is perfect by my standards! Very tranquil, very artsy, very comfortable! The ducks, bunny, and cuy all agree... it feels like a home. We stayed 3 days and enjoyed cooking meals, playing pool, having a beer in the garden, and chatting with fellow travelers. There is a lot of respect amongst the guests and wasn't any loud partying. Fast wifi, secure front door with camera, very attentive and helpful staff. Loved it! Wish we could've stayed longer!

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Went here twice, before and after Quilotoa Loop. They looked after our luggage. Staff were really nice, it's an easy walk to old town area, the rooms were clean, and they have a pull up bar. Great stuff!


66%

Great staff, but kind of unclean rooms (thoroughly venting the rooms will definitely help). Also the security in the rooms was.very primitive (being robbed in the streets might have made us feel unsafe...). Great breakfast!!!

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

A nice hostel but unfortunately came in the years...the central market is just around the corner, what is very cool to buy food and go to eat!! Overall it was a good stay.


91%

Cozy hostel. Good location. Basic kitchen and good working wifi. The staff is really helpful. Would stay here again.


89%

Great hostel. Very relaxed atmosphere, close to the old town and they put on a good breakfast. Thanks for looking after us!!

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Good quiet hostel with kitchen Sweet staff and good value for money! :)

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

When I showed up with advanced notice , the staff was disorganized, the lock needed to be found and maybe even the room was not quite prepared. The floor still was dirty from the previous quests. A couple was checking out as I was arriving and was having a problem with comunication with staff and commented on that to me and this was also a problem for me at times and just might have been a laungage issue?

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

We were only here one night but the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was big and did us for the night. We had a private bathroom which was not in the room but in another room next door but that was fine for one night. The location was good and near some cheap places to eat.


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Quito Hostels

Please give us your feedback