X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Colonial House Quito Reviews

Olmedo E 432, Vicente Le�n, Quito, Ecuador

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
249 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This hostel is perfect by my standards! Very tranquil, very artsy, very comfortable! The ducks, bunny, and cuy all agree... it feels like a home. We stayed 3 days and enjoyed cooking meals, playing pool, having a beer in the garden, and chatting with fellow travelers. There is a lot of respect amongst the guests and wasn't any loud partying. Fast wifi, secure front door with camera, very attentive and helpful staff. Loved it! Wish we could've stayed longer!

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Great staff, but kind of unclean rooms (thoroughly venting the rooms will definitely help). Also the security in the rooms was.very primitive (being robbed in the streets might have made us feel unsafe...). Great breakfast!!!

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

A nice hostel but unfortunately came in the years...the central market is just around the corner, what is very cool to buy food and go to eat!! Overall it was a good stay.


91%

Cozy hostel. Good location. Basic kitchen and good working wifi. The staff is really helpful. Would stay here again.


89%

Great hostel. Very relaxed atmosphere, close to the old town and they put on a good breakfast. Thanks for looking after us!!

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Good quiet hostel with kitchen Sweet staff and good value for money! :)

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

When I showed up with advanced notice , the staff was disorganized, the lock needed to be found and maybe even the room was not quite prepared. The floor still was dirty from the previous quests. A couple was checking out as I was arriving and was having a problem with comunication with staff and commented on that to me and this was also a problem for me at times and just might have been a laungage issue?

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

We were only here one night but the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was big and did us for the night. We had a private bathroom which was not in the room but in another room next door but that was fine for one night. The location was good and near some cheap places to eat.


83%

Showers weren't too good..trade off between pressure or hot water


86%

Really good place for the price. Nice and clean


83%

Very helpful staff


91%

A lovely hostel on the outskirts of Quito's old town. Fantastic garden and chill out area with hammocks. Pretty basic kitchen. Good sized private bedroom although in the day itgot colder than outside! Can definitely recommend.


83%

Nice hostal. Arrived at 6:00 am off a night bus and the room was ready for us, which was nice. Clean, cheap, good location.


86%

Family of 3 (2 adults, one 10-year-old child) found this a comfortable stay in a convenient location. We had a private room with shared bath.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

We are a couple in our 60's and don't usually stay in hostels but thought we'd give Colonial House Quito a try and were very glad we did. We loved it here and would highly recommend it. The staff and volunteers were very friendly and helpful, location is within walking distance to the Old Town and about 3 blocks from what some describe as "the best pizza in Quito". The hostel is old but clean and we felt safe there. The breakfast was impressively tasty and healthy and only $3.50 each!

  • 13th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Average run down place in hard to find location, one night we didnt get any sleep at all, kept awake by campers drinking and shouting in the garden untill sunrise. This lack of sleep spoilt the first few days of our trip.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Struggling to think if anything really positive to say. American girl on reception was helpful but that's about it. Shared bathroom was awful. Smelt vile. Kitchen was small, with just two hobs and looked dirty. Wifi connection poor. Only curtain in room was a net curtain. Oh and during a thunderstorm it rained in our room! Not just a tiny leak but proper catch the water in pots. Room had not been cleaned properly since last guests as old rubbish was under the chair.


57%

We didn't have a window to outside, but the Most annoing Thing is, that the door of the Rom is not really closable, you hear everything from the reception and the other guests, especially the doorbell, that also rang through the night.When we turned on the shower, there were Sparks, because the electricitycable was just hanging arround!and they charged us for the Taxi from the airport 30 Dollar, which is normally 25. not nice!

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
77%

Could be cleaner,

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Good stay but just for a night. the staff is really helpful and nice. the room is tiny but clean, without windows tough. the atmosphere is really good with a lot of foreigners, all langagues are speaked all the time. free access to a computer, free wifi et and free pool. we ll definitely come back there.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(149 results)


View all Quito Hostels

Please give us your feedback