Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colonial House Quito

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 435 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 435 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Mar 2017
9.7

I loved staying here, no one standout just the mix of everything Delicious breakfast, comfy and spacious room, super friendly and helpful staff. And rabbits in the garden!!! Don't hesitate to stay here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
8.6

The staff were very friendly and helpful and really made our stay that much better. The hostel is an old colonial house (hence the name) that has been painted in many bright colors with every room different. Very funky vibe. Lots of nice travelers who were very friendly and sharing of information. Several kitchens for use by guests. We were there in the winter and it was cold and thankfully the beds had many blankets which were needed!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • abbeyisgood
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Mar 2017
8.6

Great spacious room, free tea and coffee, nice outdoor area and social room. Located in the middle of old town. Easy to arrange any tours you want. Staff were helpful. Comfy beds!! Only critique is the shower pressure was super low but otherwise great place to stay. Awesome brekky for $3.50!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
9.1

The staff was very helpfull. They helped us make reservations for hotels, helped us check in airlines and get boarding passes as well as taxis . Good central location .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
9.7

The only "ding" would be on the atmosphere and that is mostly due to the lack of other people staying at Colonial House. The staff never missed an opportunity to help.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • howardjones88
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.0

Friendly and helpful staff. Location was good and area felt safe. People staying at hostel were usually talkative and sociable which is a good sign. Top value breakfast optional. I stayed their twice in Quito so gets the thumbs up from me

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
6.6

If you are trying to just chill and plan more of your trip this is not the place, Wifi is horrible. Staff was brand new and knew less about the city than we did. Someone got mugged at the door to the hostel at 10pm one of the nights we were there. But there's a tasty brewery at the bottom of the hill and they are very accommodating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
8.0

Had a nice stay here at Colonial House. Paying additional for their on-site breakfast was worth it - very good w/ eggs and lots of fruit - but you can also walk down a few blocks to the central market. The walking tour they recommended was excellent too. The hostel itself was nice, but when arriving around 4pm in the afternoon, the staff was at a loss to recommend something for us to do... Fortunately there's at least the billiards table at the hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2017
7.4

Despite a nice clean room with great views of the gothic church and old town, our stay at Colonial House was only ok. The real downside was the lack of common room. Though we weren't looking for a party hostel, we do like a space to share a beer and exchange stories. The hostel is a short walk to the old town, but the area isn't safe at night (although many hostels are in the same vicinity). The shower was more of a dribble. Staff seemed a bit bored. Recommend looking elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
9.7

Had a wonderful time at Colonial House Quito. Great folks passing through and good common area. Try chicha, the local alcohol... but not too much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.