Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Colonial House Quito

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 485 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 485 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Aug 2017
10.0

I really loved this hostel! Breakfast for 3.50 is amazing! The backyard with the bunnies is the cutest thing ever. Super clean rooms and bathrooms. Nice location. And the best part, the staff, awesome!! Really nice people. I would definitely like to come back! 😃

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • VanessaHopeW
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
9.1

The staff at Colonial House was very friendly and helpful. The bed was hard and squeaky but the room was cozy. There is hot water in the shower so that is a plus. I gave a low rating for location because there is a lot of street noise. Everything from delivery trucks to dogs barking into the wee hours of the night. Be prepared for a steep spiral staircase. Breakfast is $3.50 and very tasty and ample. Crossiants, eggs, juice, tea, coffee and fruit. Walking distance from the bus station

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • paddyjmchugh713
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
8.9

great little spot with rabbits out the back yard, although we only spent 1 night in Quito we were unable to fully experience the hostel. Beds and room were clean however there was a foul smell from the WC.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
9.1

Really friendly staff, super helpful about the area and tours from Quito. Free tea and coffee which was nice. Bunny rabbits running around, big backyard with hammocks and places to chill. Massive room, somethings like bathroom, furniture and plugs tired but still good value for money. Overall we had a good stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2017
8.3

What really impressed me was the staff went to when I needed help. I had issues with my bag not arriving on time with issues I experienced with my airline. I would like to make a special mention to Ivan who went above and beyond what was necessary he was a massive help by calling the airline to ask when my bag would arrive and would chase them daily until they said it was on the way and he emailed me to let me know it arrived whilst I was away in the Amazon.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
9.7

Such a friendly, welcoming place with helpful and caring staff. Close enough to get to everything by walking or bus in the historic district. There was a considerable amount of street noise that interfered with my sleep, especially in the early AM, but that is to be expected in Quito. I look forward to staying there again when I'm next visiting.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jun 2017
10.0

It's a great hostel with a very good atmosphere. There are lots of spaces to hang out in the hostel and it was in a very convenient location to explore the old town. My only slightly negative comment is that the bathrooms do not have great ventilation. However, overall, an excellent place to stay in Quito

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2017
8.9

Perfect hostel for someone looking to relax and be away from the busy noise of Quito. Good location in the historic center, however many places to eat close early around the area during the week. However, during the weekend, the hostel is close to la Ronda, a really fun strip of food. The hostel itself was great. Good staff, clean kitchen. My biggest complain is the really squeaky bed. My partner and I stayed in a private room. It felt like any subtle move I made the bed squeaked really loud.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
28th Jun 2017
8.0

Little to no atmosphere and the hostel in general was a bit odd. The family/3 bed room was good value for money though and the staff were friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lossarango2951
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

Stayed two nights in Colonial House and had a very pleasant time. The volunteer staff as well as the owner were very involved in making sure our stay was enjoyable and were very helpful when it came to fusing us into getting around Quito. The beds were super comfortable and it was nice that it wasn't a party hostel. The night we arrived we did have a BBQ in the yard which got everyone together for some beers and good conversation. Highly recommend this beautiful hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.