Hostelworld.com

Compass del Sur

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 263 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 263 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.5
Compass del Sur Located at Klenner 467, , Puerto Varas.
Compass del Sur
Chile
Puerto Varas X Region Klenner 467
87% 263
-41.3139505 -72.9854928
Compass del Sur
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
10.0

The staff was friendly and warm. The house was so comfortable and cozy. Great place for travelers to stop by and feel welcome and comfortable. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2016
6.6

The beds were nice, and the breakfast was decent with some great additions for not a lot of money. Very helpful with planning tours. The staff was hit or miss, some really nice, some not nice at all. Not enough bathrooms for number of people. Laundry service almost twice the price of everywhere else I've been. Felt a little nickel-and-dimed and not always respected. I wouldn't recommend this one for more than a day or two stop.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Feb 2016
8.9

We stayed six nights at Compass del Sur and enjoyed it very much! The location in Puerto Varas is quiet and still very close to the centre. The staff helped a lot with planning our trips and hikes in the area (Most of them spoke excellent German :-) ).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2016
9.7

This was in a great location for walking into the center of town. The people were very helpful with information of good restaurants. We had a flat tire and they told us where to go to get it fixed. Breakfast was typical for the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Feb 2016
6.0

Comfortable beds, only 3 bathrooms, poor water pressure, overpriced in comparison to other hostels!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2016
6.6

Overall, I had a good experience at Compass del Sur. I enjoyed the penguin/Chilié tour offered by the hostel, and though it's a small hike to and from downtown, the location isn't bad. A few minor things I would have enjoyed more: top sheets on the beds, a few more bathrooms, and a bit more for breakfast than just bread (there are more options, but they cost extra).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2016
9.1

5' walking to downtown, quiet place, all facilities for touring

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
5th Feb 2016
8.3

Good hostel and very friendly and helpful staff. Walls where very thin so not too quite. Garden could be nicer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • thehealthconnection6000
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Jan 2016
9.4

Kitchen staff delightful, so hard working and offer to do extras like carrying heavy luggage. Reception workers very helpful and knowledgeable. Very refreshing to have good English spoken. Private bathroom so well designed and appointed. First time I sawca plug in Chile. Wonderful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jan 2016
9.4

Nice hostel, not too far from everything. They charge a horrible exchange rate if you're paying with USD or credit card so make sure you have Pesos.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.