Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Containers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 269 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 269 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Aug 2017
7.7

Amazing staff, most fun I've ever had in a hostel. Made lifelong friends. Royal Mile accessible by short bus ride, but can be walked (about 30-45 min). Small lockers. Stay here if you are down to rough it but have a great time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
6.3

Security wasn't great, with neither the front gate and the containers having locks meaning anyone could walk in and was at the back of a parking lot-type area - felt unsafe at night/alone. Location was fine, an easy bus ride from the city. The staff were also fine. Atmosphere was nothing special - people in groups but not especially welcoming. The fridge was filled with old food which was gross, but the rooms and showers were clean as can be expected. Wouldn't recommend to solo females at all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
9.4

Great hostel. The staff were the best ever. Very welcoming and super helpful. The location was a bit of a pain but what do you expect for payinfnso little one month before visiting during the fringe?! It's a really unique idea that defiantly works. Would recommend to anyone looking for a fun place to stay in Edinburgh. Thanks guys 🦄

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sophiekittyisobel
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Aug 2017
10.0

When turning up at containers i was so scared but as soon as i walked in i was welcomed and very soon felt more at home then ever. I have met the best people of my life at this place and cried so much leaving. This hostel is the greatest place on earth and i wish i could live here forever! It was a party every night and the staff are absolute legends. I cant wait to stay here again I love you all thank you for the best 2 weeks of my life see you so soon!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
7.4

Very rustic. The facilities are a bit dirty, and it was very cold because everything is outside. However, egt makes this place are the people. Everyone was very friendly and the party didn't stop to well after 4am.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
8.0

If you are looking for a "party hostel", this is a great one. There were 5-20 people drinking late into every night/morning I stayed here. The rooms are minimal, so most people hung out in common areas. Many people cooked their own food, or enjoyed the £5 all-you-can-eat BBQ prepared by the staff. The showers really sucked. Some water heaters seemed to not be working, and two of the showers were broken for my first three days. Water pressure is terrible.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
8.3

Containers is definitely a unique hostel. The people it attracts are very fun as are the staff members. Sometimes when it got really rainy I wished that there was more coverage between the containers and I do wish for a place that had says they have free wifi it was a bit more powerful something that can probably be fixed with a hootoo or a similar product. But still overall a good stay, the containers were kept clean, as was the kitchen and the common areas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ismailvohra
  • Pakistan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2017
8.9

Loved it. It was like a family

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
16th Jul 2017
8.6

An interesting hostel for sure! The containers are spacious enough in a 12 bed dorm and the beds were comfy. The showers were a bit odd as there were 3 in a row with no dividers, so you had to hope no one walked in while you were getting dry (they are separated by gender though). There is also no security at this hostel, the rooms don't lock, there are only small lockers and the front door is open from 9am-midnight, so you have to be trusting. However the atmos and staff were amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
8.3

As a hostel is a good place...good atmosphere and lovely staffs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.