Hostelworld.com

Containers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 140 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 140 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
Containers Hostel Located at 97 Ocean Drive, Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh.
Containers Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH6 6JJ 97 Ocean Drive, Ocean Terminal
79% 140
55.9805888 -3.1760960
Containers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2015
8.3

Awesome place to stay! Really unique set up. Staff were amazingly friendly and everyone there was really lovely! Would 110% go back, was sad to leave!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Aug 2015
6.0

Be forewarned: They bribe guests with free beer for a good review! That said, I enjoyed my stay, mostly because the staff has trivia nights and other activities. It's a 20-min. bus ride to Edinburgh and pretty rough around the edges, in that it's like a swamp when it rains; many folks party loudly all night; the bathrooms periodically run out of TP and soap; pretty much NO ONE washes their dishes; there are no instructions for the TV (and some hog it to watch cartoons)...just sayin'! ;-)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Aug 2015
8.0

Great cheap place to lay your head after visiting the fringe festival

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Aug 2015
6.6

The staff were amazing! The only problem was that it is a bit far from town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
20th Aug 2015
5.1

Very low price - performance ratio (location, staff, security) but nice to meet some really open-minded people

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Aug 2015
9.7

Very friendly and welcoming staff at the hostel, who gave us a hilarious Quiz night. Very clear, helpful and approachable staff. The hostel itself is lovely to stay in, sleeping quarters lovely and warm. Showers, toilets etc all clean and good quality. The only issue was finding the hostel - the containers were smaller than we expected and we drove past a good few times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2015
8.9

Good value. Great atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff. Quite a quirky place, certainly adds to the fringe feeling. Really enjoyed my 3 night stay. Nick located something I left behind and is sending it on. Some might not like the outdoor aspects of the hostelhostel, but for me they really made it. Well done guys such a great concept.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2015
10.0

Love this hostel! unique atmosphere everyone was very friendly perfect for socailising. The 24/7 bus links just outside the front door were a great help. I did read some of the comments about the security before coming however I would disagree there are lockers provided, CCTV around the site and staff constantly on duty i felt safe and secure the whole time I was there. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone, hope to come back again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2015
6.3

Nice idea for a hostel, however the location is not the best. Located near the ocean terminal which is really nice, but if youwant to explore the city living in the centre comes in more handy. Wouldn't recommend to stay there in winter as I imagine it becomes quite cold and wet then.. however the staff were very nice and trying to make everyone happy, thanksfor that :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your review We are only a summer hostel and are only open for June, July and August. :) Maybe see you next Summer! Enjoy the rest of your travels! Bryn

  • adrianlui7335
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 46 reviews
13th Aug 2015
6.0

no locks on anything so anyone could walk in. facilities are decent and will get the job done. not enough storage space in kitchen. wifi only worked in the common area which was outside which was super cold. if youre into partying than this place does that very well. however an enforcement of a curfew in the sleeping containers needs to be implemented. every night the same guy walked in at 2am, turned the lights on and made a lot of noise while getting into bed. while people were sleepin

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your honest review. We are taking on board all comments and will be implementing all kinds of security updates next summer. Including a front door code lock, more cameras and more lockers. That said, there are lockers on site you could use. The hostels that I've stayed at that have a curfew are rubbish mate, I'm afraid in Edinburgh during the Fringe festival that 100% isn't happening. Someone coming in and turning on a light will happen at any hostel worldwide. Bryn

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.