Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Containers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 199 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 199 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
Containers Hostel Located at 357 Gorgie Road, , Edinburgh.
Containers Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH11 2RP 357 Gorgie Road
80% 199
55.9353395 -3.2411234
Containers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Aug 2016
9.4

This was a great hostel. No, it's not in the city center but if you don't mind walking it's not a bad walk and the buses are very easy to manage and run late. My only complaint is the WIFI DOESN'T WORK AFTER RECEPTION CLOSES. It only works when reception is open, which is not good if you need to plan something before 9am in the morning or do anything important with the internet. The common areas are usually full of fun and drinking until late but when I was in my bunk I could never hear it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Elliegirl77
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Aug 2016
9.1

Definitely a party hostel perfect for the younger groups. I wouldn't recommend unless you fit into that life because there will be loud music and everyone will be up late. It's not impossible to sleep in your room away from the party and the staff are genuinely fun and social and make you feel at home. A few miles from the city center but its only a bit over 3 pounds round trip to it. Definitely a good time and I will be back for a longer visit next time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2016
2.3

This hostel was a disgrace. Very dirty very uncomfortable we left after the first night because we hated it so much. I strongly recommend to anyone who wants to stay there to think twice.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
8.6

Great place if you're looking for something simple. The staff are really friendly and will go out their way to help. Toilets are very clean and well stocked. Beds are reasonably comfortable. Over all great atmosphere, everyone makes you feel very welcome and you are always invited to join in with their conversation and activities. I would definitely be back again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
8.9

Great hostel with a great staff. The atmosphere was wonderful and made the stay in Edinburgh even more enjoyable than it would have ordinarily been.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
9.4

Containers is one of the most fun hostels I've ever been to. The staff are especially helpful, friendly and they work hard to make sure your stay is a blast! Great place to meet people and there's always a social event going on, Mario kart, trivia, cards and jenga were some of the shenanigans we all got up to. Really hot showers and comfy beds also added to it all :) can't wait to go back to Edinburgh to stay there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
9.7

The hostel was so amazing. Staff were hilarious and the value for money was bloody fantastic as the fringe festival was on and most hostels and hotels were so over priced. Defiantly go back there next year!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
9.1

though security didn't seem to matter much, it probably needn't to. it would be great if they could add a container as dining room and have one just as kitchen, since it got crowded easily ( the hostel being fully booked). the atmosphere and staff were great, very nice people all of them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
7.7

Neat concept, and just far enough out to be a nice chillout space away from the central city (easy bus access though), especially since I was there during the Fringe. The staff were awesome and friendly. Good basic facilities, hot showers, comfy beds, laundromat nearby. No option to lock the door on the 'dorms' (containers), though there are lockers; the kitchen space can get a bit overwhelmed but the staff work super hard to keep it clean. Overall a fun, different experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Aug 2016
2.9

I would not recommend to stay here . It's out of the way ( 40 -60 min walk to the city centre ) it's really dirty we couldn't even cook in the kitchen it was so dirty/messy I wouldn't use anything from in there yuck ! The room that we were sleeping in absolutely stunk and the light didn't work. The bathrooms were awful and dirty the shower was blocked so you were standing in the water from the previous shower . There were cigarette butts and empty bottles everywhere and smelt . Do not st

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, I'm honestly really surprised to hear that's how you felt, so many people here really love it and get the concept. I respect your point of view but to say we aren't value for money when we are the cheapest hostel in Edinburgh hands down, isn't fair. Anyway I really hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. :) Warmest Regards Bryn (owner + better than a 2/10 member of staff)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.