Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Containers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.6
Containers Hostel Located at 357 Gorgie Road, , Edinburgh.
Containers Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH11 2RP 357 Gorgie Road
78% 225
55.9353395 -3.2411234
Containers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Sep 2016
8.3

The container hostel was a pretty cool place. When you arrive theres a common area which is outdoors between the containers, they have a pool table, hot tub and several couches to sit and chill. The staff are friendly and good fun, and will join you for drinks too. In the rooms there's lockers to keep your stuff safe. The communal areas and toilets were kept clean. I Would definitely stay here again. This is the kind of place where you will meet the more interesting backpackers with good stories

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Aug 2016
8.3

A bit far from city centre. The appearance outside is like a refugee camp at first glance but the insides is pretty OK as a hostel. Good atmosphere and lovely staff. It seems a little less secure as there is actually only one door, the main entrance has lock (which does not lock until midnight), though I haven't heard of any problem. Quite economical and worth a try for such an experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Aug 2016
8.9

I had a great time at the hostel.Its a lively place. We would share drinks,play games or barbeque every night. I would highly recommend this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
25th Aug 2016
8.3

Bit far out from the centre but the buses are 24 hours and regular. Comfortable beds and lovely staff. Decent facilities but lack of security. Had a lovely stay there though, very welcoming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
8.9

It is a very lively place to stay, but quiet place to sleep . Plugs and radiators available in containers. It is clean and the kitchen is very spacious , with several fridges , cupboards and cooking pots . The personnel is very friendly. It is a bit far from the center and we had some trouble finding because the entrance is just around the corner . We really liked staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
7.7

I had a great time staying at Containers Hostel and would definitely stay with them again. All the staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming and it was very easy to meet new and interesting people in the common areas. The overall atmosphere was laid-back and informal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
3.7

Ok you definitely get what you pay for here. But it's about 20 mins out of the city by bus, costing minimum £4 per day. If you add that cost on top of what you're paying for this hostel you might as well save yourself the effort and book somewhere closer, cleaner and friendlier - the cost will work out the same but you won't be stuck on buses all day. The hostel was unclean, security very lax and owners sleazy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
9.7

Best atmosphere we have ever had at a hostel, awesome staff, the highlight of the fringe fest for us!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
9.4

This was a great hostel. No, it's not in the city center but if you don't mind walking it's not a bad walk and the buses are very easy to manage and run late. My only complaint is the WIFI DOESN'T WORK AFTER RECEPTION CLOSES. It only works when reception is open, which is not good if you need to plan something before 9am in the morning or do anything important with the internet. The common areas are usually full of fun and drinking until late but when I was in my bunk I could never hear it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
8.3

During the fringe festival, it was the cheapest place to stay around Edinburgh. Staff were friendly, knowledgeable and easy going. Very nice atmosphere welcoming people from all over the world to a very beautiful city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.