Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Containers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 159 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 159 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
Containers Hostel Located at 357 Gorgie Road, , Edinburgh.
Containers Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH11 2RP 357 Gorgie Road
83% 159
55.9353395 -3.2411234
Containers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
8.6

This place is incredible. You stay inside shipping containers that are made to create their own city inside of the city. It took me 20 minutes at night to get from Princess street back home. 7 minute walk from the bus. Aussie Jack and the staff are chill! I came in late one night they were all playing games and hanging out and invited me in. These guys I plan on staying with again! Very unique experience

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
9.1

This was a great hostel!! Very creative idea of converting containers into dorms, showers, kitchen, TV-lounge and reception. The staff are very welcoming. The hostel had a bit of "camp"-feeling to it, but the bathrooms were perfectly clean. Good cooking facilities, and a large grocery store right by. The hostel is a bit away from the city, but there are several buses, and the hostel has two excellent bikes which they let you borrow charge free.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
7.4

After reading reviews and quickly surmising this was the cheapest hostel in Scotland, I booked it. About 15 min from Edinburgh's main center by bus. That's fine. In a sketchy looking lot, not much for atmosphere. It is just a bunch of shipping containers with fake grass. Still, super cheap. The facilities were all clean. There's places to hang out in the chilly cold. The best part about it was the staff, very friendly and engaging, but it's hard to make up for the lack of indoor hostel feel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
4.0

Accommodation is way out of town. I had a car thankfully but even so parking outside the containers was ill thought out and defined. It's very basic which is fine, but it wouldn't take much to organise more regular BBQ's or stock up the shop with some pop noodles or likes as it can be a quite a walk to find an open shop.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2016
10.0

An absolutely perfect hostel. I bloody loved this place. It's clean, beds are great, the atmosphere is welcoming, fun and lively. There are plenty of lockers too to put your things in. I would recommend this to anyone who is visiting Edinburgh! Big shout out to Bryn the owner who goes above and beyond to make you feel included in activities and informed on the stuff to do in the city!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2016
10.0

To be honest, when I was walking up to the front door I thought I'd made a mistake, then I walked into a really cool setup. Great friendly staff. Really chilled atmosphere. Beds are comfy. Showers and toilets very clean and heaps of room. Water hot. This is a great social hostel. Very friendly and helpful. Nightly activities. They have everything you need. This is the best hostel I've ever been too. Made friends easily and did not want to leave. 💜

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Jul 2016
8.0

I have stayed in this hostel for 1 night and the reason I chose this hostel was because the concept appealed to me. It felt a bit like camping in terms of comfort but I like camping so that was part of the fun for me. In our opinion this hostel was clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
10.0

10/10 hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.