X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Containers Hostels Reviews

98 Ocean Drive, Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
64 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 61%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The Hostel was great, great idea using the containers! The staff were so helpful and friendly from the minute I got there! I had a great time and met loads of new people, it's a great place to meet and socialise with people. There was loads going on, I felt safe and the beds were comfy. Recommend!!

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The best part of this hostel is how easy it is to meet people, I had a great night in with everyone! This place isn't for all but for solo travellers, those looking for a good time or something different this is perfect. Don't expect the Hilton but do expect one amazing experience!


89%

Great guys, made the night very entertaining! A little messy but nothing too concerning. Wish they had one of these in London

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I booked this hostel on a tight budget but I have to say it surpassed all expectations. Its not the cleanest hostel i've ever stayed in but a comfy bed, unique concept, unbelievably welcoming and accommodating staff and one of the best hostel atmospheres I've ever experienced and that that slight shortcoming was peripheral. If you're looking for somewhere that is excellent value for money (and fun!) then I can highly recommend this unique blend of camping and hostel living.


86%

I was attracted to this hostel because of how unique it sounded and had seen an article in The Times about it. I was not disappointed. The atmosphere is innate in the setting, the well fitted out containers surround a large outside communal area where parties and bbqs happen most night. This relaxed traveller-oriented atmosphere is further reinforced by the excellent staff who behaved as concierges, djs, hotel managers, and friends to the guests. I will be seeking out CONTAINERS again.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

An amazing experience. Great friendly staff and a good location. Value for money was excellent.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Afghanistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I was only at Containers for 1 evening

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I had the best time here, great people, great staff, great hostel!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

nice vegetarian reception-guy :-)


60%

About cleanliness, rooms are never cleaned (not ever vacuum done) at least shower and toilets are (even if it's quickly done) About the showers (2 for women) : for the both of them the shower tray take a long time to empty and one of them has the shower head leaking (about 3/4 of the water go away) I had booked a 10 bed room but there where 14, when the 14 beds are used there are no space for bags. The good point of this hostel are the beds : very confortable, we sleep well.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • yura_boliviana_22119990
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Look, it is what it is. It does the trick for low cost when you have no other option in town. Getting too and from isn't a walk but the buses run regularly and easily.


91%

The Containers Hostels was one of the most unique hostels I have ever stayed at! Loved the people and staff.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The idea is interesting and the rooms per se were clean, but considering the rainy weather of Scotland, the open air common area gives the hostel an improvised atmosphere and potentially makes it look less clean than it actually is


89%

The containers provide an amazing atmosphere which you'll probably not find in other hostels. Great people and a pleasant stay.


37%

Good: beds, linnen and it felt like a safe place, always had warm water in the shower, nice people staying. Not so good: staff were drunk when I arrived, common room and reception were outside (which, in August, is pretty muddy and rainy), staff couldn't find my booking at first, showers were broken and clogged, everything was wet and muddy. Staff was mostly drunk or hungover. All in all it felt more like a campsite than a hostel. The place could do with a clean and a fix.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Horrible!! Worst hostel ever! They oversold our room and one person came back drunk and crawled into bed with a stranger and the urinated in the poor girls bed! Another night was oversold so they made people sleep on the floor. Extremely dirty and cold and loud. The "kitchen" was rediculous, only a microwave and toaster oven. The whole place was muddy and flooded the whole time. And NO LOCKS ANYWHERE NOT EVEN THE FRONT DOOR!!!!! DISGUSTING BUSINESS. I hear its closing soon. Thank God!!

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very friendly helpful staff About 5 minutes walk from Leith Walk. Try the eat as muchas you like BBQ for £5. Cheap beer from the bar. Great atmosphere and a chance to meet all nationalities. Coolest place to stay in Edinburgh.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

An experience made cool by the people who stayed there, otherwise a pretty dirty place, not helped by rain. It's a bit like camping really, just with more comfortable beds, which were actually really good. Could do with a larger kitchen and a very good clean out.


66%

could do with a shower clean more frequently

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. You are exactly right. And that is why I have a full time cleaner who does the showers twice a day now. And things look so much better! I appreciate the honest review and wish you all the best in the future my friend.

77%

It was much cheaper than other hostels, which gives it a great advantage, and has a nice, friendly atmosphere. Not too much in the way of security, but given its out-of-the-way location this was arguably not needed.


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback