X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Coogee Beach House Reviews

171 Arden st Coogee, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
247 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Nice hostel in an excellent location (30m from the beach) Its good its has its free coffee and tea 24/7 and it also offers a simple breakfast. its not true there are free surfboards for the price there should be free wi fi in order to be a good value for money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Luca , there is 10 surfboards and body boardson the back balcony for guests to use free of charge .

91%

The towels for rent were a bit small and grungy (clearly been used a lot!), but otherwise it was a pleasant enough stay!

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very friendly and helpful staff, fantastic location next to the beach. All facilities provided for a comfortable stay.


66%

Just 2min.walk to Coogee Beach and bus stops. You have to pay for the Wifi, no alcohol allowed, stright breakfast times, clean bathrooms, nice tv room. The Hostel is under video control, but the door is open during the day and the reception is not open.


97%

Can not say a bad word about this hostel, the staff were lovely, they cleaned the place top to bottom every single day, there wasn't a time I didn't notice someone cleaning actually, I thought to myself "do any of these staff take a break?!" The kitchen was so cute and well clean, again - the staff always cleaned up after you even when you tried washing up yourself they just insisted you didn't! The lounge was so comforting with an amazing tv to watch. It was so homely and I was sad to leave.


63%

The hardest working staff except management you'll find. the clientele makes this place like hell at night and could be an asylum for insomniacs. if you like the out of control lifestyle, this is your Mecca. weekends are the best time to experience the street noise in addition to the resident hooligans, which make the english soccer fans blush.


77%

Top location, friendly, clean, massive TV. Fair share of experiences in hostels around the world, and for Australian standards for me it did not meet requirements, very disappointed in the dorm rooms particularly the bunk beds no railing on the top to stop you rolling over, no ladder to climb up, very flimsy and wobbly. After having a family member die from a bunk bed accident, it's a big shock to me. For the money you pay I expect better. Mostly long termers.


80%

Nice friendly vibe with quite a few long termers. Amazing location. Would stay again :)


80%

Large kitchen and common room, sufficient showers, toilets and breakfast. Cleanliness was fine and this hostel was better than any in bondi beach area. Arrived out of office hours and key left on side luckily untouched (but don't see what another option would have been however). Great location to beach.


69%

Good location and ok size rooms. No aircon meant that even though there were only 4 of us in the room it was really hot and stuffy. Coogee is a great place to stay..but the most expensive hostel I have stayed at..cause I stayed for New Years. Just didnt feel the price reflected the standard of the place.


74%

Wifi package is not very good. Other places would be free or unlimited for much less.


86%

It was a great place to stay. Very clean and comfortable. Close to the beach and walking distance to everything. Met some very nice people while staying there too.

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

We had difficulty finding this hostel as we arrived after hours, the voicemail didn't provide the after hours number so this resulted in us having to stay elsewhere the first night of our stay. The room we had was great although the tv reception went after the second day. The breakfast although basic was a welcome addition and the kitchen was spotless ( must invest in some butter knives tho...none at all as far as I could se). Also a few of the showers were out of order and no soap in the sinks.


91%

Loud doors that slam and at times annoying for when trying to fall asleep..Location is awesome! Nice showers and kitchen.


57%

Staff were rude, tried to overcharge me for key deposit. Other guests were extremely noisy at night, not a friendly vibe at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Frank, everyone pays a key deposit and it is refunded on check out. I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. Rgds CBH.



View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback