X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Coogee Beachside Budget Accommodation Reviews

178 Coogee Bay Road, Coogee, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
43 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Not a bad hostel, a bit warm in the evening due to aircon being just a single fan above room door.. Abit pricey for what you get


54%

It was impossible to create any atmosphere as there was no social space. No sitting room or place to chat with other hostel users. The kitchen was very poorly equipt and we had to pay $20 to hire crockery. Teaspoons weren't provided. There was 1 tiny sink in the unisex toilet/shower block to cater for about 16 beds, so most days I had to wash my hands in the kitchen after using the bathroom. Not hygienic at all.Room stifling hot.Wouldn't recommend it, we left a day early.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The backyard table & chairs is where guests can converse. We hire cutlery out to ensure kitchen is stocked & clean for the next person to use- the $20 was refunded to you upon its return. Please feel free to ask for tsp's. There are also 2 more b/rooms downstairs. We have fans in all our rooms but it's quite hot this time of year. We also have spare fans I would have been happy to put one in your room had I known. It's also nice to leave the window open that way you get a nice ocean breeze! CBS

77%

Clean pand very good staff. lace

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place in a brilliant location. Good balance between socialising/getting rest.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

After hours management left a lot to be desired. We informed of time of arrival when we booked. Arrived on time but could not raise the after hours manager by phone. If it was not for a guest going in and rousing him we would have waited a lot longer.

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we followed this up with our night manager & found out it was a due to the phone being switched to silent, an unfortunate accident. He was however aware you were coming and was cleaning the kitchen at the end of the hall at the time so we don't believe you would have been waiting much longer. We are sorry about this but glad you enjoyed your time with us despite this! Cheers, CBS

71%

The location was great. Nice and close to Woolworths and a short walk from the beach. Staff were nice and friendly. My room was clean, TV was good and bed was comfortable enough. I would visit again.


51%

Very good location but lacked atmosphere and very basic and no common room


69%

Arrived late could not get through to night manager for 5 or 10 minutes. We were panicking a bit.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The rooms are not very well insulated, could hear people walking above you and in the hall. No common area really hard to meet people. Expensive for what it offers.


100%

Great location, lovely staff, clean rooms will definately stay again!

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

Nice quiet place to stay close to the shops and beach. Booked 3 nights but ended up staying a week. People here were great, loved it!

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

I really missed the lockers there.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Strict, 'zero tolerance' rules about alcohol and noise (which you get a copy of at check-in and which are posted), but there is no one there during the night to enforce them. People burst into the room at 4 in the morning throwing a football around. I was dragged out of bed by a drunken fool and nearly got in a fight. I was lucky enough to be moved to a more civilized and friendly room. I would have left immediately but every other hostel was booked the next night. I will not be back.


57%

I already wrote to Hostelworld regarding this hostel, but didn't get any reply


71%

The place is in an awesome location, close to the beach and to main stuff like supermarket, post office and nice bars. The wifi is expensive, it's mainly full of Irish workers and the security guard is far from friendly.. but the two girls that work there are very friendly and helpful. There is no proper common area to meet new people except a tight kitchen and a outside barbecue area that for some reason seems to be always chained up

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

It's a great location, clean and friendly staff. There is no communal area, except the kitchen or in the big back garden where you're sure to meet some friendly faces. Had a mix of short & long term stayers. Not a party hostel, but there are plenty of other places to go and party :)


66%

The location was great, there is only 2 big hostels in coogee so limited for choice but this one was very strict. No drinking in the hostel at all, not even during the day or in your room and got told off for having a conversation with our roommates for being too loud which we're wasn't. There's no common room to go and chill if u want to get away from your dorm. If your looking for a really really quiet stay then this place is perfect.

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Really nice staff, very helpful (especially Karina) and excellent location, so close to the beach, shops, restaurants, bus stops etc. However, the people in the hostel have no respect for others when it comes to washing up dishes and keeping the kitchen clean. Unable to use washing line as same clothes on it for days. Strange smell around the downstairs area! Not a place for couples or if youre looking to meet people.


74%

Nice place, friendly visitors and the staff were great! but there are far too many rules that are not on the website as well as there being no common room. Great if you want somewhere quiet to stay!

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This place was really good value for money, in a excellent location, just up the road from the Coogee shops and the beach! The hostel was very clean and quiet, there weren't many people there when I was there. You have to hire cutlery, but this meant the kitchen was clean. Kitchen is a little under equppied, but was very clean. Food storage shelves had spaces for each room which was a really good idea. Not a party hostel at all, I had a private room with my own fridge. A great holiday!


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback